DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on January 03, 2026
Claims 1-14 are under examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of 1-14 in the reply filed on 03/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/06/2024, 01/14/2025 and 04/30/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Feng et al (USP 2024/0292398 A1)
As per Claim 1 Feng teaches an apparatus for transceiving a signal, applicable to a reduced capability UE (Redcap UE), the apparatus comprising:
a processor configured to obtain configuration of a first initial downlink BWP, the first initial downlink BWP being an initial downlink BWP that is separately configured for the Redcap UE (Paragraph 0024, 0057 FIG. 1 illustrates an initial downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) and initial downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) and/or a separate/additional common control-resource set (CORESET #0) for RedCap UES are ongoing issues. Currently, an agreement has been achieved that RedCap UEs and non-RedCap UEs (e.g., legacy UEs) can coexist in the same cell.); and
a receiver configured to receive a signal by using the first initial downlink BWP during random access procedure initialization in an initial access procedure or a random access procedure (Paragraph 0061, 0204 the initial DL BWP before and during the random access processing (as shown in Table 1). The initial DL BWP configured in system information block one (SIB1) only takes effect after random access. The initial DL BWP for RedCap UEs before and during the random access processing, the new initial DL BWP becomes effective only after random access.).
As per Claim 2 Feng teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, the receiver receives the signal by using the first initial downlink BWP before the initial access procedure or the random access procedure (Paragraph 0208, 0216 the DL messages are still operated in the legacy CORESET #0 before and during random access. This means that the new initial DL BWP may not be used immediately after being configured or enabled. Transmit DL messages to the RedCap UEs in the new initial DL BWP) even before or during or after random access.).
As per Claim 3 Feng teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, wherein, the receiver receives the signal by using the first initial downlink BWP upon reception of the configuration of the first initial downlink BWP or after receiving the configuration of the first initial downlink BWP (Paragraph 0218, 0238 the new initial DL BWP may not be used immediately after being configured or enabled. In other word, when the new initial DL BWP cannot be used immediately after being configured. The following mainly describes the case in which initial DL BWP is in effect during or before random access. With reference to FIG. 22, when the new initial DL BWP is configured in SIB1, and the gNB 20 doesn't recognize the type of UE in transmitting non-on-demand).
As per Claim 4 Feng teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, the receiver is further configured to receive the signal by using the first initial downlink BWP after selection of a carrier for random access (Paragraph 0080, 0239 The base station may recognize the extended UE type based on at least one of a separate initial uplink BWP, a separate random access channel (RACH) preamble, or a separate RACH occasion of the extended UE type the third downlink message may comprise a random access downlink message, and the random access downlink message comprises msg2, msg4, or msgB. For example, the gNB 20 transmits to UEs a SSB in the legacy CORESET #0, a SIB1 and a SIBx in new CORESET #0, a m ).
As per Claim 5 Feng teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, the receiver receives the signal by using the first initial downlink BWP upon reception of the configuration of the first initial downlink BWP or after receiving the configuration of the first initial downlink BWP (Paragraph 0058, 0061 Shared initial DL BWP between RedCap and non-RedCap UEs may have a congestion issue when a large number of RedCap UEs are in a cell. Non-RedCap UES may be affected. A separate initial DL BWP may be used to offload the traffic. The initial DL BWP configured in system information block one (SIB1) only takes effect after random access. ).
As per Claim 6 Feng teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, the receiver receives the signal by using the first initial downlink BWP when a first initial uplink BWP is used, wherein the first initial uplink BWP is an initial uplink BWP separately configured or defined for the Redcap UE (Paragraph 0080, 0137 The base station may recognize the extended UE type based on at least one of a separate initial uplink BWP, a separate random access channel (RACH) preamble, or a separate RACH occasion of the extended UE type. At least one of a separate initial uplink BWP, a separate random access channel (RACH) preamble, or a separate RACH occasion of the extended UE type is used for recognition of the extended UE type by the base station. ).
As per Claim 7 Feng teaches the apparatus according to claim 3, wherein, the receiver receives the signal by using the first initial downlink BWP during or after a random access resource selection procedure (Paragraph 0082, 0207 FIG. 8 shows examples of selecting a CORESET #0 according to which the gNB 20 transmits messages and RedCap UEs receive messages when a new CORESET #0 is configured in MIB. The FIG. 20 shows examples in which the gNB 20 selects a CORESET #0 and transmits messages in the selected CORESET #0, and the RedCap UEs receive messages in the selected CORESET #0 when a new CORESET #0 is configured in MIB. ).
As per Claim 8 Feng teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in the random access resource selection procedure, after the processor selects an SSB from SSBs defined by a cell, the Redcap UE receives the signal by using the first initial downlink BWP (Paragraph 0064, 0199 A gNB provides the initial DL BWP configuration in SIB1. DL messages mentioned in the disclosure may comprise one or more of synchronization signal block (SSB), paging, remaining minimum system information (RMSI) (e.g., SIB1), other system information (OSI) (e.g., SIBx), and physical random access channel (PRACH) DL messages (e.g., msg2, msg4, and msgB) during random access. The first downlink message may comprise an SSB, the second downlink message may comprise a SIB with an index one (SIB1) or a SIB with a greater index (SIBx), and the third downlink message may comprise a random access downlink message, and the random access downlink message comprises msg2, msg4, or msgB.).
As per Claim 9 Feng teaches the apparatus according to claim 3, wherein, the receiver receives the signal by using the first initial downlink BWP before receiving a random access response (RAR) or upon reception of a random access response (Paragraph 0061, see table RAR from gNB msg 3 (UE −> gNB) Initial RRC connection request UL BWP msg 4 ).
As per Claim 10 Feng teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, wherein, the receiver receives the RARafter transmitting a random access message 1 (Msg1, preamble) or a random access message A (preamble+PUSCH), or in starting a random access response window (ra-ResponseWindow) (Paragraph 0061 see table msg 1 (UE −> gNB) Initial Random access request to gNB UL BWP RAR from gNB ).
As per Claim 11 Feng teaches the apparatus according to claim 3, wherein, when a random access message 3 (Msg3) is transmitted or after a random access message 3 (Msg3) is transmitted, the signal is received by using the first initial downlink BWP (Paragraph 0061 see table RAR from gNB msg 3 (UE −> gNB) Initial RRC connection request UL BWP ).
As per Claim 12 Feng teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, the receiver receives a random access message 2 and/or a random access message 4 by using the first initial downlink BWP during the initial access procedure, and the first initial downlink BWP partially overlaps or does not overlap with a control resource set 0 (CORESET #0) (Paragraph 0062, 0064, 0130 physical random access channel (PRACH) DL messages (e.g., msg2, msg4, and msgB) during random access. Embodiments of the invention addresses on which resources (e.g., legacy CORESET #0, new CORESET #0, new initial DL BWP) these DL messages are transmitted or received. The initial DL BWP of course can be used for other messages. Sharing the legacy initial DL BWP between RedCap UEs and non-RedCap UEs.With reference to FIG. 1, in a serving cell, an initial DL BWP is associated with a CORESET #0, and the initial DL BWP generally contains the entire CORESET #0 of this serving cell in the frequency domain. During the random access phase, CORESET #0 is actually used as the initial DL BWP. The initial DL BWP configured in SIB1 takes effect after random access.).
As per Claim 13 Feng teaches an apparatus for transceiving a signal, applicable to a network device, the apparatus comprising a transmitter configured to: transmit configuration of a first initial downlink BWP to a Redcap UE, the first initial downlink BWP being an initial downlink BWP that is separately configured for the Redcap UE(Paragraph 0024, 0057 FIG. 1 illustrates an initial downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) and initial downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) and/or a separate/additional common control-resource set (CORESET #0) for RedCap UES are ongoing issues. Currently, an agreement has been achieved that RedCap UEs and non-RedCap UEs (e.g., legacy UEs) can coexist in the same cell.); and transmit a signal to the Redcap UE by using the first initial downlink BWP during random access procedure initialization in an initial access procedure or a random access procedure (Paragraph 0061, 0204 the initial DL BWP before and during the random access processing (as shown in Table 1). The initial DL BWP configured in system information block one (SIB1) only takes effect after random access. The initial DL BWP for RedCap UEs before and during the random access processing, the new initial DL BWP becomes effective only after random access.).
As per Claim 14 Feng teaches the apparatus according to claim 13, wherein, the configuration of the first initial downlink BWP transmitted to the Redcap UE comprises: configuration of at least one control resource set (CORESET) and/or configuration of at least one common search space (CSS) (Paragraph 0063, FIG. 2, the master information block (MIB) provides CORESET #0 and common search space (CSS #0) configuration for monitoring PDCCH that carrying SIB1. The parameter “controlResourceSetZero” indicates an index which determines a common CORESET #0 ).
Examiner’s Note
Examiner is open for discussion if the applicant’s representative need further clarifications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (See form 892).
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ASAD NAWAZ can be reached on (571) 272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SYED ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463