DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in figure 1, the lead line of the reference number 8 does not point to a hinge. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The language should avoid using the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,”… Therefore, the legal phrase, “comprises (line 3)” should be changed to “includes”.
Claim Interpretation
If claim limitations in this application that use the word "means" (or "step"), they are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, if claim limitations in this application that do not use the word "means" (or "step"), they are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1-3, the limitations begin with an upper case letter in the body of the claims should be changed to lower case letter. For example: “Base Plate (claim 1, line 2)” should be changed to -- base plate --.
Regarding line 1 of each of claims 2-6, a comma should be added before “wherein” in each of the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Saldana (US 10,709,141).
Regarding claim 1, Saldana disclose a press comprising:
a base plate (A1) having a cavity (see “concave” in col. 2, line 30) formed therein (see col. 2, lines 29-32);
a handle (11) hingedly (at 12) coupled to the base plate (figs. 8-9) at a first end thereof (fig. 8);
a compression plate (10) hingedly (at 14) coupled to the base plate (figs. 8-9) at a second end thereof (fig. 8), the compression plate (10) having a protrusion block (9) formed on a first surface thereof to insert into the cavity (figs. 3-5).
Regarding the recitation "tamale" in the preamble, said recitation is used to describe an intended use of the press device. Recitations of intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art teaches the structures of the claimed invention, then the prior art is capable of performing the intended use, therefore, the prior art meets the claimed limitation. See In Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See MPEP 2111.02 and 2114(11). Saldana discloses that the press is used to form tortilla, then the tortilla is stuffed with filling (see the abstract), it is well known the culinary art that tortillas are typically made from a corn masa dough, and the filling is made before the sides are folded over to create the tamale shape. Tamales are fundamentally made from masa dough. Therefore, the press of Saldana is capable of pressing tortillas for making tamales.
Regarding claim 4, the press of claim 1, Saldana discloses wherein the press is comprised of wood (col. 3, line 5).
Regarding claim 5, the press of claim 1, Saldana discloses wherein the press is comprised of metal (col. 3, line 6).
Regarding claim 6, the press of claim 1, Saldana discloses wherein the press is comprised of plastic (col. 3, line 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saldana (US 10,709,141) in view of Castaneda (US 5,667,821).
Regarding claim 1, Saldana disclose a press comprising:
a base plate (A1) having a cavity (see “concave” in col. 2, line 30) formed therein (see col. 2, lines 29-32);
a handle (11) hingedly (at 12) coupled to the base plate (figs. 8-9) at a first end thereof (fig. 8);
a compression plate (10) hingedly (at 14) coupled to the base plate (figs. 8-9) at a second end thereof (fig. 8), the compression plate (10) having a protrusion block (9) formed on a first surface thereof to insert into the cavity (figs. 3-5).
Saldana does not expressly disclose the press is used for making tamale. However, Saldana discloses that the press is used to shape a dough (col. 2, lines 63-76).
Castaneda discloses an apparatus (22) is placed on a surface to form a cavity (24) for forming masa dough (col. 6, lines 51-59) in order to make tamale (col. 6, lines 60-67).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the press of Saldana to make tamale, since it has a cavity for forming a masa dough, as disclosed by Castaneda.
Regarding claim 4, the press of claim 1, Saldana discloses wherein the press is comprised of wood (col. 3, line 5).
Regarding claim 5, the press of claim 1, Saldana discloses wherein the press is comprised of metal (col. 3, line 6).
Regarding claim 6, the press of claim 1, Saldana discloses wherein the press is comprised of plastic (col. 3, line 5).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saldana and Castaneda, in further view of Chapman et al. (hereinafter “Chapman”) (US 2023/0009369 A1).
Modified Saldana discloses the invention substantially as claimed as set forth above. Saldana does not disclose the compression plate further includes a fulcrum block formed on a second surface thereof, and the handle engages the fulcrum block to apply pressure to the compression plate.
Chapman discloses a dough press (1) comprising a handle (3) including a projecting section (32), a compression plate (23) having a first surface for pressing a dough (fig. 3) and a second surface having a fulcrum block (see a central region of an upper surface of the compression plate (23) in fig. 3, where a reference number 231 pointed to). Chapman discloses when a user of the dough press (1) compresses the dough via the handle (3) and the upper press-plate (23), the projecting section (32) of the handle (3) abuts against and presses a top surface of the fulcrum block (i.e. central region) so that downwardly force exerted by the user is distributed evenly, and the upper press-plate (23) is able to exert a steady compressing force on the dough so that when the user finishes the compression of the dough, the dough has a uniform thickness (see para. 23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handle of Saldana to include a projecting section, and the compression plate of Saldana to include a fulcrum block on a second surface, as taught by Chapman, in order to form a dough having uniform thickness when the handle engages the fulcrum block to apply pressure to the compression plate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed on the attached PTO 892 are cited to show:
US 11,297,843 discloses a press (108) for pressing a corn masa dough.
US 2018/0206506 A1 discloses a device for pressing dough.
JIMMY T. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3725
/JIMMY T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725