DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II in the reply filed on November 13, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-30 are readable on the elected species, and the examination of claims 1-30 is set forth below.
Priority
The examiner would like to note that the elected embodiment of Species II in Figures 8-23 is not disclosed in the provisional application 63/482,637, and therefore, cannot claim the benefit of the filing date of the provisional application.
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “56” has been used to designate both mount openings for fasteners and wire hangers (Paragraph 55 of the specification). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because the instance of reference character “238” located to the left of reference character “234” in Figure 11 should be changed to “236.” Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the access opening of the door frame, as recited in claim 10, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In Paragraph 5, line 7, the phrase “for electrical engagement to communicate electrical power” should be changed to “for electrical engagement for electrical communication,” and in Paragraph 60, line 5, the phrase “can provide electrical power” should be changed to “can provide electrical communication.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-12, 14, 15, 17, 19-23, 26, 29, and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 1, line 5, the phrase “a catch assembly for selective engagement to block opening of the storage door” should be changed to “a catch assembly for selective engagement with an electronic lock assembly to block opening of the storage door from the closed position,” in line 6, the phrase “a catch receiver of the door frame” should be changed to “a lock opening defined by the door frame,” in lines 7 and 8, the phrase “for electrical engagement to communicate electrical power” should be changed to “for electrical engagement with the electronic lock assembly for electrical communication,” in lines 8 and 9, the phrase “wherein the catch receiver includes a lock opening defined by the door frame for locking engagement” should be removed, in line 10, the phrase “an electronic lock assembly” should be changed to “the electronic lock assembly,” in lines 13-16, the phrase “an latched position extended from the latch housing to engage with the catch assembly to block against movement of the storage door out from the closed position and a unlatched position retracted relative to the latch housing to disengage with the catch assembly to allow” should be changed to “a latched position, in which the hasp extends from the latch housing to engage with the catch assembly to block opening of the storage door from the closed position, and an unlatched position, in which the hasp is retracted relative to the latch housing so as to disengage the hasp from the catch assembly so as to allow” to correct some unclear language and to ensure that it is clear that the latched and unlatched positions are that of the hasp,” in lines 18 and 19, the phrase “the catch receiver” should be changed to “the lock opening,” and in line 19, the comma after the phrase “locking engagement” should be removed and the word “is” should be inserted before the phrase “configured for electrical engagement” such that it is clear that the hasp is configured for both engagement with the lock opening and electrical engagement with the electrical assembly.
In regards to claim 3, line 1, the phrase “wherein electrical engagement” should be changed to “wherein the electrical engagement,” and in line 3, the phrase “coupled with the storage door” should be changed to “configured for coupling with the storage door” so as to be consistent with the language of claim 1.
In regards to claims 4-6, line 1 of each claim, the phrase “wherein electrical engagement” should be changed to “wherein the electrical engagement.”
In regards to claim 7, line 3, the phrase “in at least one direction” should be changed to “in a first direction.”
In regards to claim 8, line 3, the phrase “includes complimentary toothed connection” should be changed to “includes a complimentary toothed connection.”
In regards to claim 9, line 2, the word “complimentary” should be changed to “complementary,” and in line 3, the phrase “a first direction” should be changed to “the first direction.”
In regards to claim 10, line 3, the phrase “when the storage door is open” should be changed to “when the storage door is in the open position.”
In regards to claims 11 and 12, line 3 of each claim, the phrase “for electrical engagement” should be changed to “for the electrical engagement.”
In regards to claim 14, the claim should read as follows after the preamble: “wherein the terminal housing is resiliently mounted so as to extend within the carriage for resilient movement along a longitudinal direction of the terminal housing to promote resilient engagement between the at least one electrical terminal of the terminal housing and the at least one electrical terminal of the hasp.”
In regards to claim 15, the claim should read as follows after the preamble: “wherein the terminal housing is resiliently mounted with a spring resiliently biasing the terminal housing to extend outward from the carriage.”
In regards to claim 17, line 2, the phrase “a least one resilient suspension member” should be changed to “at least one resilient suspension member.”
In regards to claim 19, line 2, the phrase “the location” should be changed to “a location.”
In regards to claim 20, the claim should read as follows after the preamble: “wherein a magnetic member is arranged within each of the hasp and the terminal housing to magnetically encourage physical contact between the at least one electrical terminal of the carriage assembly and the at least one electrical terminal of the hasp when the hasp is in the latched position.”
In regards to claim 21, the claim should read as follows after the preamble: “wherein the magnetic member of the terminal housing is arranged to be magnetically attracted towards the hasp, such that the terminal housing is moved from the default position towards the haps so as to provide the electrical engagement between the hasp and the electrical assembly when the hasp is in the latched position.”
In regards to claim 22, the claim should read as follows after the preamble: “wherein the carriage assembly includes a carriage slidably arranged within the catch housing so as to slide between a distal position away from the door frame and a proximal position proximate to the door frame.”
In regards to claim 23, the claim should read as follows after the preamble: “wherein the carriage assembly includes rails mounted within the catch housing, such that the carriage is slidably mounted on the rails for sliding between the distal and proximal positions.”
In regards to claim 26, line 2, the phrase “the carriage bias” should be changed to “the carriage to bias.”
In regards to claim 29, the claim should read as follows after the preamble: “wherein the hasp, when arranged in the latched position, is configured to contact the lock opening under movement of the storage door in an attempt to move the storage door from the closed position to the open position.”
In regards to claim 30, line 2, the phrase “a catch assembly for selective engagement across a storage door-door frame threshold” should be changed to “a catch assembly for selective engagement with an electronic lock assembly across a storage door-door threshold,” in line 3, the comma after the phrase “a catch housing” should be removed, in lines 3 and 4, the phrase “for electrical engagement for electrical communication” should be changed to “for electrical engagement with the electronic lock assembly for electrical communication,” in line 5, the phrase “an electronic lock assembly” should be changed to “the electronic lock assembly,” in lines 7-12, the phrase “an latched position extended from the latch housing to engage with the catch assembly and associated with blocking against storage door movement relative to the storage door-door frame threshold and a unlatched position retracted relative to the latch housing to disengage with the catch assembly and associated with allowing movement relative to the storage door-door threshold” should be changed to “a latched position, in which the hasp extends from the latch housing to engage with the catch assembly and block a storage door from movement relative to the storage door-door frame threshold and an unlatched position, in which the hasp is retracted relative to the latch housing to disengage from the catch assembly and thereby allows movement of the storage door relative to the storage door-door frame threshold,” and in line 15, the phrase “the electronic assembly” should be changed to “the electrical assembly.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 1, line 5, it is unclear with which structure of the device the catch assembly is “for selective engagement to block opening of the storage door.” It is understood from the specification that the catch assembly cannot block opening of the storage door on its own without engagement with the electronic lock assembly, and will be examined as such. Furthermore, the relationship between the blocking of the opening of the storage door and the positions of the storage door recited in lines 3 and 4 is unclear from the claim language. It is understood from the specification that the storage door is blocked from opening from the closed position, and will be examined as such. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 1, line 8, it is unclear how the “electrical power” communication recitation of claim 1, which suggests actual electrical power transfer, can include the communication of signals in claim 5. It appears that the term “power,” based on Paragraph 70 of the specification, is meant to refer to electrical communication, like that in line 20 of claim 1, and not specifically “power” transfer. It is understood from at least Paragraph 70 of the specification that the electrical communication can include power transfer and/or data transfer, and therefore, such that the language of claim 1 and the specification is consistent and consistent with the definition of the term “power,” claim 1 will be examined as reciting that the electrical assembly is for electrical engagement with the electronic lock assembly for electrical communication so as to provide the broad category of “electrical communication” in which the electrical power and data of dependent claims 3-6 falls. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 1, lines 8 and 9, the phrase “wherein the catch receiver includes a lock opening” suggests that the catch receiver, which based on the specification is an opening in the door frame, includes further lock opening structure. Furthermore, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, the claim recites the broad recitation “a catch receiver,” and the claim also recites “a lock opening” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For examination purposes, the claim has been examined with the language set forth in the claim objections above.
In regards to claim 1, the relationship between the “blocking against movement of the storage door out from the closed position” recited in lines 14 and 15 and the blocking of the “opening of the storage door” recited in line 5 is unclear from the claim language. It is understood from the specification that the “blocking against movement” and the blocking of “opening of the storage door” are equivalent, and will be examined as such. The claims should use consistent language. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 1, the term “locking engagement” in line 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “locking engagement” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, the “locking” of the storage door occurs due to the movement of the hasp to the latched position and cooperation between the hasp and the catch assembly as recited in lines 13-15, and therefore, it is unclear to what “locking” applicant refers with the phrase “locking engagement.”
In regards to claim 9, the relationship between the “first direction” of claim 9 and the “at least one direction” of claim 7 is unclear from the claim language. It is understood from the specification that the “first direction” of claim 9 is equivalent to the “at least one direction” of claim 7, and will be examined as such. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 10, the relationship between the storage door being “open,” as recited in claim 10, and the “open position” of the storage door, as recited in claim 1, is unclear from the claim language. It is understood from the specification that the door is open when in the open position, and will be examined as such. The claims should use consistent terminology. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 14, it is unclear how the at least one electrical terminal of the catch assembly is resiliently mounted to the terminal housing, when it is understood from Paragraph 76 and Figures 19 and 20 that the terminal housing, which includes the at least one electrical terminal, is resiliently mounted to extend within the carriage for resilient movement, so as to promote resilient engagement between the terminal housing, carrying the at least one electrical terminal, and the at least one electrical terminal of the hasp, and will be examined as such. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 15, it is unclear how the at least one electrical terminal is biased out of the terminal housing, when it is understood from Paragraph 76 and Figure 19 and 20 that the terminal housing is biased by the spring so as to be biased to extend outward from the carriage and will be examined as such. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 20, the claim as written because of the phrase “at least one of” does not require that both the haps and the terminal housing have magnetic members, and therefore, the recited magnetically encouraged physical contact cannot occur. Furthermore, the claim does not set forth in which position of the hasp the magnetic members cooperate. It is understood from the specification that the magnetic members cooperate when the hasp is in the latched position, and will be examined as such. For examination purposes, the claim has been examined as requiring each of the hasp and the terminal housing having a magnetic member. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 21, it is unclear which magnetic member is referred to in line 1 of the claim. It is understood from the specification that the magnetic member of the terminal housing is magnetically attracted towards the haps, such that the terminal housing is moved from the default position towards the hasp so as to provide the electrical communication between the hasp and the electrical assembly when the hasp is in the latched position, and will be examined as such. The current claim language does not provide a clear relationship between the closing of the “electrical connection” and the language used in claim 1. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 23, the metes and bounds of the phrase “a number of rails” is unclear because the term “number” suggests more than the two rails disclosed in the specification and shown in the drawings. For examination purposes, the claim will be examined as reciting “rails” instead of “a number of rails.” See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 29, it is unclear to what instance of operation of the storage door applicant refers to in the claim. It is understood from the specification and the state of the art that the claim must be referring to an attempt by a user to move the storage door out of the closed position when the hasp is in the latched position, causing the hasp to contact the lock opening, and will be examined as such. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 30, line 2, the claim language suggests that the catch assembly is structured to extend across the storage door-door threshold, however, the catch assembly as understood in light of the specification does not extend across the threshold. It is understood from the specification that the catch assembly in engagement with the electronic lock assembly extends across the threshold, and will be examined as such. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 30, lines 3 and 4, it is unclear with which structure of the device the catch assembly is “for electrical engagement for electrical communication.” It is understood from the specification that the catch assembly must engage with the electronic lock assembly such that the electrical engagement and the electrical communication can be present, and will be examined as such. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 30, lines 9 and 11, it is unclear what structure is blocked from movement in the phrase “associated with blocking against storage door movement” and what structure is allowed to move since the storage door has not been recited in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim has been examined with the language set forth in the claim objections above.
In regards to claims 2-8, 11-13, 16-19, 22, and 24-28, these claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because they depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 4, 5, 11, 12, 16, 22-27, 29, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Perplies (EP 2385193 A2).
In regards to claim 1, Perplies discloses a secure access assembly, comprising: a storage door assembly including a storage door 3 and a door frame 4, the storage door arranged movable relative to the door frame between a closed position (Figure 1) blocking access through the door frame and an open position allowing access through the door frame (movement away from the closed position in Figure 1); a catch assembly (Figure 4) for selective engagement with an electronic lock assembly (Figure 4) to block opening of the storage door from the closed position, the catch assembly including a lock opening 12 defined by the door frame, a catch housing 15, 16 configured for coupling with the door frame, and an electrical assembly 23, 35 for electrical engagement with the electronic lock assembly for electrical communication (Paragraphs 4-11 of the Computer Generated Translation), the electrical assembly arranged within the catch housing (Figure 4); and the electronic lock assembly comprising: a latch assembly configured for coupling with the storage door (Figure 4), the latch assembly including a latch housing 9 and a hasp 8 arranged at least partly within the latch housing, the hasp being movable relative to the latch housing between a latched position (position shown in shadow in Figure 1), in which the hasp extends from the latch housing to engage with the catch assembly to block opening of the storage door from the closed position, and an unlatched position (position shown in solid lines in Figure 1), in which the hasp is retracted relative to the latch housing, so as to disengage from the catch assembly and allow movement of the storage door between the closed and open positions, wherein, in the latched position, the hasp is configured for engagement with the lock opening to establish “locking engagement” (Figure 1) and is configured for electrical engagement with the electrical assembly for electrical communication (Paragraphs 4-11 of the Computer Generated Translation).
In regards to claim 2, Perplies discloses that the hasp and the electrical assembly of the catch assembly each include at least one electrical terminal 22 and 23 configured for engagement with one another for electrical communication.
In regards to claim 3, Perplies discloses that the electrical engagement between the electronic lock assembly and the electrical assembly includes configuration to provide electrical power to the electronic lock assembly coupled with the storage door (electrical power or energy, Paragraph 11 of the Computer Generated Translation).
In regards to claim 5, Perplies discloses that the electrical engagement between the electronic lock assembly and the electrical assembly includes configuration to communicate electrical signals (Paragraph 11 of the Computer Generated Translation).
In regards to claim 11, Perplies discloses that the electrical assembly of the catch assembly includes a carriage assembly (component 18 and structure of component 16 cooperating with component 18, Figure 4) for selective engagement with the electronic lock assembly for the electrical engagement.
In regards to claim 12, Perplies discloses that the carriage assembly includes at least one electrical terminal 23 adapted for movement relative to the catch housing in at least one direction for selective engagement with the hasp for the electrical engagement (moves with the carriage assembly, Figure 1).
In regards to claim 13, Perplies discloses that the carriage assembly includes a terminal housing (portion of carriage assembly structure 18 in which the at least one electrical terminal 23 is located, Figure 4) having the at least one electrical terminal mounted therein.
In regards to claim 16, Perplies discloses that the terminal housing is supported within the catch housing by a terminal suspension 33 allowing controlled relative movement of the terminal housing to accommodate compliant engagement with the hasp (Figures 1 and 4).
In regards to claim 22, Perplies discloses that the carriage assembly includes a carriage (formed by structure 18) arranged within the catch housing so as to slide between a distal position away from the door frame (position shown in shadow in Figure 1, with the carriage being located away from portion 12 of the door frame) and a proximal position proximate to the door frame (position shown with solid lines in Figure 1, with the carriage being located proximate to portion 12 of the door frame).
In regards to claim 23, Perplies discloses that the carriage assembly includes rails (see Figure 4 below) mounted within the catch housing, such that the carriage is slidably mounted on the rails for sliding between the distal and proximal positions (Figures 1 and 4).
In regards to claim 24, Perplies discloses that the carriage assembly includes a biasing assembly 33 arranged to bias the carriage towards a default carriage position (Figure 4).
In regards to claim 25, Perplies discloses that the default carriage position is the proximal position (Figure 1).
In regards to claim 26, Perplies discloses that the biasing assembly includes a spring (Figure 4) arranged between the catch housing and the carriage to bias the carriage towards the default carriage position (Figures 1 and 4).
In regards to claim 27, Perplies discloses that the biasing assembly includes an arm (see Figure 4 on Page 19 of the current Office Action) extending between the carriage and the catch housing, the arm biased by the spring into a default arm position to encourage the carriage towards the default carriage position (the arm biased into the same position as the carriage, and encourages the carriage to move to the default carriage position by cooperation with the spring 33).
In regards to claim 29, Perplies discloses that the hasp, when arranged in the latched position, is configured to contact the lock opening under movement of the storage door in an attempt to move the storage door from the closed position to the open position (inherent from Figure 1 that the hasp is capable of contacting the lock opening in the latched position when the storage door is attempted to be pulled away from the door frame).
In regards to claim 30, Perplies discloses a secure access lock assembly, comprising: a catch assembly for selective engagement with an electronic lock assembly (Figures 1 and 4) across a storage door-door threshold, the catch assembly including a catch housing 15, 16 and an electrical assembly 23, 35 for electrical engagement with the electronic lock assembly for electrical communication (Paragraphs 4-11 of the Computer Generated Translation); and the electronic lock assembly comprising: a latch assembly including a latch housing 9 and a hasp 8 arranged at least partly within the latch housing, the hasp being movable relative to the latch housing between a latched position (position shown in shadow in Figure 1), in which the hasp extends from the latch housing to engage with the catch assembly and blocks a storage door 3 from movement relative to the storage door-door frame threshold, and an unlatched position (position shown in solid lines in Figure 1), in which the hasp is retracted relative to the latch housing to disengage with the catch assembly and thereby allows movement of the storage door relative to the storage door-door frame threshold, wherein in the latched position, the hasp is configured for engagement with the catch housing of the catch assembly for electrical engagement between the electronic lock assembly and the electrical assembly for electrical communication (Paragraphs 4-11 of the Computer Generated Translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perplies (EP 2385193 A2) in view of Doong (US-6381999). Perplies discloses that the electrical engagement between the electronic lock assembly and the electrical assembly includes configuration to communicate electrical power (electrical power or energy, Paragraph 11 of the Computer Generated Translation), but fails to specify that the electrical power is provided to a battery storage system of the electronic lock assembly. Doong teaches an electrical communication of electrical power for providing power to a rechargeable battery 28 of a lock assembly (Col. 2, lines 3-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to utilize a rechargeable battery powered by the electrical communication between the catch assembly and the electronic lock assembly, with reasonable expectation of success, since it is known in the art to utilize a rechargeable battery for providing power to an electronic lock assembly.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perplies (EP 2385193 A2) in view of Roper et al. (US 2021/0019972). Perplies discloses that the electrical engagement between the electronic lock assembly and the electrical assembly includes configuration to communicate electrical power (electrical power or energy, Paragraph 11 of the Computer Generated Translation), but fails to specify that the communication of electrical power includes Power over Ethernet with the electronic lock assembly. Roper et al. teaches that a lock assembly utilizing power over ethernet (Paragraphs 267-269). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to specify that the electrical power is power over ethernet, with reasonable expectation of success, since the use of power over ethernet for providing power to a lock assembly is known in the art.
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perplies (EP 2385193 A2) in view of Pollmeier (DE 10053468 A1).
In regards to claims 7 and 8, Perplies discloses the secure access assembly as applied to claim 1 above, with the catch housing including a base 15 coupled with a mount flange 12, the mount flange configured for securing with the door frame (Figure 1), but fails to disclose that the catch assembly includes an adjustment assembly for adjustment of an installed position of the catch housing relative to the door frame in a first direction, with the adjustment assembly including a complimentary toothed connection between the base and the mount flange. Pollmeier teaches an adjustment assembly for adjustment (teeth between components 24 and 12, Figure 3) of an installed position of a base 24 relative to a mount flange 12 in a first direction (direction to the left or right in Figure 3), with the adjustment assembly including a complimentary toothed connection between the base and the mount flange (Figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to include an adjustment assembly between the base and the mount flange, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow the position of the base to be adjusted to properly cooperate with the hasp and since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art.
In regards to claim 9, Pollmeier teaches that the complementary toothed connection is configured to provide complementary coupling between the base and mount flange between a number of fixed positions as the installed position along the first direction (Figure 3).
In regards to claim 10, Pollmeier teaches that the first direction is arranged along a direction of passing through an access opening 38 (the first direction is located along a line extending through the middle of fastener 42 and in a downward direction in Figure 3) of the door frame through which a user can access when the storage door is in the open position (apparent from Figure 1 of Perplies).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14, 15, and 17-21 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The examiner would like to note that the claims were examined as understood in the specification and with the language set forth in the claim objections above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although the references of record show some features similar to those of applicant’s device, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious the invention of claims 14 and 17.
In regards to claim 14, Perplies (EP 2385193 A2) fails to disclose the terminal housing is resiliently mounted so as to extend within the carriage for resilient movement along a longitudinal direction of the terminal housing to promote resilient engagement between the at least one electrical terminal of the terminal housing and the at least one electrical terminal of the hasp. The examiner can find no motivation to modify the device of Perplies without employing improper hindsight reasoning and without destroying the intended structure and operation of the device.
In regards to claim 17, Perplies (EP 2385193 A2) discloses that the terminal suspension includes at least one resilient suspension member 33, but fails to disclose that the at least one resilient suspension member is coupled between the terminal housing and a carriage of the carriage assembly, if considering the carriage to be element 18. The terminal housing of Perplies is part of the carriage 18, and therefore, the at least one suspension member 33 is not coupled between the terminal housing and the carriage. The examiner can find no motivation to modify the device of Perplies without employing improper hindsight reasoning and without destroying the intended structure and operation of the device.
Conclusion
/ALYSON M MERLINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675 March 5, 2026