DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the exhaust gas" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 18-20 are rejected as stated above because due to their dependency from claim 17. Claims 18-20 are also indefinite.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: data transmission system in claims 1; sensor system in claim 1; control system in claim 1, 3, 5-8.
The structure described in figure 3:52 of the specification paragraph [0043] for the data transmission system is described as a hardware wiring such as an Ethernet cable that relay data information between two devices.
The structure described in figure 3:58 of the specification paragraph [0050] for the sensor system is described as one or more sensors 60 such as gas sensors, carbon monoxide sensors.
The structure described in figure 3:62 the specification paragraph [0050] for the control system is described as a hardware computer, CPU that controls operation of the data.
Therefore, Examiner finds the claims are reasonably supported by the structure described in the specification pertaining to 35 U.S.C. 112 (a) and (b) (or 35 U.S.C. 112, first and second paragraphs, pre-AIA ) whether 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is invoked or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8-10, 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ball et al. (Patent US5542250) hereafter Ball in view of Fujita et al. (AU2022276789B2) hereafter Fujita, and further in view of Di Perna et al. (US2016/0349227A1) hereafter Di Perna.
Regarding claim 1, Ball discloses a system for controlling data communication based on a characteristic of an exhaust gas from a vehicle, the system comprising:
an exhaust in fluid communication with an exhaust system of the vehicle (col 3 ln 40-41, 54-58: A direct source exhaust gas capture system 10 for capturing fumes from an emergency vehicle 12 is illustrated in FIG. 1. The present direct source exhaust gas capture system works equally well with diesel-powered or gasoline-powered emergency vehicles.) and configured to direct the exhaust gas from the vehicle to a ventilation system (col 4 ln 8-13, col 5 ln 39-54: An exhaust fan 24 is associated with the exhaust duct 26 and is adapted to exhaust through duct 26 the vehicle exhaust fumes when the hose 16 is connected to the tailpipe 20 of the vehicle 12. The exhaust duct 26 is attached to fan 24 technically equivalent to a ventilation system to direct the exhaust fumes to the outside of the fire station 14 as at 28. This allows the exhaust fan 24 of the direct source exhaust gas capture system 10 to be re-energized prior to the vehicle 12 pulling into the station 14. Emergency vehicles 12 are backed into the station 14 or slowly pulled therein which allows the exhaust fan 24 to be energized by the first signal from the continuously transmitting transmitter 40 prior to the vehicle 12 entering the station 14. The exhaust fan 24 automatically re-starts before the vehicle re-enters the station and prior to an operator attaching the hose 16 to the tailpipe 20 of the vehicle. Since the exhaust fan 24 is at full RPMs, the hose 16 and nozzle 18 will tend to act as a vacuum pulling the exhaust fumes from the tailpipe of the running vehicle into the direct source exhaust gas capture system 10 as the nozzle 18 is reattached to tailpipe 20 by an operator, thereby minimizing any exposure of the operator to engine exhaust ).
Ball does not explicitly disclose the system comprising: a data transmission system configured to provide for data communication between the vehicle and an offboard computer system; and a sensor system configured to control operation of the data transmission system based on the characteristic of the exhaust gas.
Fujita discloses the system comprising:
a data transmission system configured to provide for data communication between the vehicle and an offboard computer system (fig 2:2; par[0021]: The DCM 12 of the vehicle 1 is configured to perform wireless two-way communication with the management center 2 technically equivalent to an offboard computer system. The management center 2 can manage a traveling history of the vehicle 1, by collecting position information of the vehicle 1. Hereinafter, the position information of the vehicle 1 will also be described as "vehicle position data".); and
a sensor system (fig 5:4; par[0045]: The exhaust temperature sensor 412 detects a temperature of the exhaust gas. The air/fuel ratio sensor 413 detects an oxygen concentration within the exhaust gas. The NOx sensor 414 detects a nitrogen oxide (NOx) concentration within the exhaust gas. The differential pressure sensor 415 detects a front/back pressure difference of a filter (not illustrated) included in the postprocessing device342. Each of the above sensors outputs a signal showing a detection result thereof to the ECU 13.) configured to control operation of the data transmission system based on the characteristic of the exhaust gas (par[0047]: The vehicle 1 (ECU 13) transmits data acquired by the signals from each of the sensors included in the sensors 4 to the management center 2 (server 23). In this way, the management center 2 can acquire or estimate a combustion state of fuel in the engine 3 (cylinders 311-314). Specifically, the management center 2 can acquire a combustion state of fuel in the cylinders 311-314, based on a signal (waveform signal of a cylinder internal pressure) by the cylinder internal pressure sensor 407. Moreover, the management center 2 can estimate a combustion state of the engine 3, based on a signal (a signal representing noise or vibrations occurring in the cylinders 311-314) detected by the knock sensor 404. In addition, it is also possible for the management center 2 to estimate a combustion state of the engine 3, based on signals detected by the exhaust temperature sensor 412, the NOx sensor 414, and/or the differential pressure sensor 415. Hereinafter, the data transmitted from the vehicle 1 to the management center 2 and collected by the management center 2 will also be inclusively called "sensor data".).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Ball and the Fujita references since both pertain to the field of exhaust systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Ball with the feature of a sensing data system as disclosed by Fujita to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing a technology capable of appropriately correcting a combustion state of fuel in an engine, using a trained model with sensor data that includes data related to at least one of a cylinder internal pressure of the engine, a rotational speed of the engine, a temperature of exhaust gas from the engine, a front/back pressure difference of a filter for capturing particulate matter within the exhaust gas, and a nitrogen oxide concentration within the exhaust gas .
Ball in view of Fujita does not explicitly disclose the system comprising: an exhaust snorkel.
Di Perna discloses the system comprising: an exhaust snorkel (fig 3:24, par[0014]: Exhaust gas may enter the snorkel assembly 24 through the inlet slot openings 38 and 40, the end 41 and also through the open end 35 of the cup section 26. These entry points provide a variety of sampling locations from the exhaust gas stream 12 ensuring that an accurate sample of the entire stream is directed into the snorkel assembly 24. Inside the snorkel assembly 24, the exhaust gas may be mixed and a sample of the entrained gas may enter the sensor 16 through the inlet ports 18).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ball, Fujita and Di Perna references since all pertain to the field of exhaust systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Ball with the snorkel feature as disclosed by Di Perna to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing flexible, localized, and efficient removal of hazardous fumes, smoke, and dust directly at the source, significantly improving workplace safety, improved air quality, protection against static/sparks, and adjustable positioning to reduce user fatigue.
Regarding claim 2, Ball in view of Fujita and Di Perna discloses the system according to Claim 1 wherein the sensor system comprises:
one or more sensors configured to measure the characteristic of the exhaust gas (Fujita fig 5:4; par[0045]: The exhaust temperature sensor 412 detects a temperature of the exhaust gas. The air/fuel ratio sensor 413 detects an oxygen concentration within the exhaust gas. The NOx sensor 414 detects a nitrogen oxide (NOx) concentration within the exhaust gas. The differential pressure sensor 415 detects a front/back pressure difference of a filter (not illustrated) included in the postprocessing device342. Each of the above sensors outputs a signal showing a detection result thereof to the ECU 13.); and
a control system configured to control operation of the data transmission system based on the characteristic of the exhaust gas as measured by the one or more sensors (Fujita fig 2:2; par[0047]: The vehicle 1 (ECU 13) transmits data acquired by the signals from each of the sensors included in the sensors 4 to the management center 2 (server 23). In this way, the management center 2 can acquire or estimate a combustion state of fuel in the engine 3 (cylinders 311-314). Specifically, the management center 2 can acquire a combustion state of fuel in the cylinders 311-314, based on a signal (waveform signal of a cylinder internal pressure) by the cylinder internal pressure sensor 407. Moreover, the management center 2 can estimate a combustion state of the engine 3, based on a signal (a signal representing noise or vibrations occurring in the cylinders 311-314) detected by the knock sensor 404. In addition, it is also possible for the management center 2 to estimate a combustion state of the engine 3, based on signals detected by the exhaust temperature sensor 412, the NOx sensor 414, and/or the differential pressure sensor 415. Hereinafter, the data transmitted from the vehicle 1 to the management center 2 and collected by the management center 2 will also be inclusively called "sensor data".).
Regarding claim 4, Ball in view of Fujita and Di Perna does not explicitly disclose the system further comprising a connector configured to connect the exhaust snorkel to the exhaust system of the vehicle (Di Perna fig 1:24; par[0014]: Exhaust gas may enter the snorkel assembly 24 through the inlet slot openings 38 and 40, the end 41 and also through the open end 35 of the cup section 26. These entry points provide a variety of sampling locations from the exhaust gas stream 12 ensuring that an accurate sample of the entire stream is directed into the snorkel assembly 24. Inside the snorkel assembly 24, the exhaust gas may be mixed and a sample of the entrained gas may enter the sensor 16 through the inlet ports 18. Within the sensor 16 the sample may be analyzed and may then exit through the outlet ports 20 and proceed through the exhaust opening 32. Flow must pass into the snorkel assembly 24 to reach the sensor 16.).
Regarding claim 8, Ball in view of Fujita and Di Perna discloses the system according to Claim 1 wherein the data transmission system is configured to provide wireless communication between the vehicle and the offboard computer system (Fujita par[0021]: The DCM 12 of the vehicle 1 is configured to perform wireless two-way communication with the management center 2.).
Regarding claim 9, Ball discloses the method for controlling data communication based on a characteristic of an exhaust gas from a vehicle, the method comprising:
directing the exhaust gas from the vehicle to a ventilation system (col 4 ln 8-13, col 5 ln 39-54: An exhaust fan 24 is associated with the exhaust duct 26 and is adapted to exhaust through duct 26 the vehicle exhaust fumes when the hose 16 is connected to the tailpipe 20 of the vehicle 12. The exhaust duct 26 is attached to fan 24 technically equivalent to a ventilation system to direct the exhaust fumes to the outside of the fire station 14 as at 28. This allows the exhaust fan 24 of the direct source exhaust gas capture system 10 to be re-energized prior to the vehicle 12 pulling into the station 14. Emergency vehicles 12 are backed into the station 14 or slowly pulled therein which allows the exhaust fan 24 to be energized by the first signal from the continuously transmitting transmitter 40 prior to the vehicle 12 entering the station 14. The exhaust fan 24 automatically re-starts before the vehicle re-enters the station and prior to an operator attaching the hose 16 to the tailpipe 20 of the vehicle. Since the exhaust fan 24 is at full RPMs, the hose 16 and nozzle 18 will tend to act as a vacuum pulling the exhaust fumes from the tailpipe of the running vehicle into the direct source exhaust gas capture system 10 as the nozzle 18 is reattached to tailpipe 20 by an operator, thereby minimizing any exposure of the operator to engine exhaust ) via an exhaust that is in fluid communication with an exhaust system of the vehicle (col 3 ln 40-41, 54-58: A direct source exhaust gas capture system 10 for capturing fumes from an emergency vehicle 12 is illustrated in FIG. 1. The present direct source exhaust gas capture system works equally well with diesel-powered or gasoline-powered emergency vehicles.);
Ball does not explicitly disclose the method comprising: providing for data communication with a data transmission system between the vehicle and an offboard computer system; and controlling operation of the data transmission system based on the characteristic of the exhaust gas.
providing for data communication with a data transmission system between the vehicle and an offboard computer system (Ball fig 2:2; par[0021]: The DCM 12 of the vehicle 1 is configured to perform wireless two-way communication with the management center 2 technically equivalent to an offboard computer system. The management center 2 can manage a traveling history of the vehicle 1, by collecting position information of the vehicle 1. Hereinafter, the position information of the vehicle 1 will also be described as "vehicle position data"); and
controlling operation of the data transmission system based on the characteristic of the exhaust gas (par[0047]: The vehicle 1 (ECU 13) transmits data acquired by the signals from each of the sensors included in the sensors 4 to the management center 2 (server 23). In this way, the management center 2 can acquire or estimate a combustion state of fuel in the engine 3 (cylinders 311-314). Specifically, the management center 2 can acquire a combustion state of fuel in the cylinders 311-314, based on a signal (waveform signal of a cylinder internal pressure) by the cylinder internal pressure sensor 407. Moreover, the management center 2 can estimate a combustion state of the engine 3, based on a signal (a signal representing noise or vibrations occurring in the cylinders 311-314) detected by the knock sensor 404. In addition, it is also possible for the management center 2 to estimate a combustion state of the engine 3, based on signals detected by the exhaust temperature sensor 412, the NOx sensor 414, and/or the differential pressure sensor 415. Hereinafter, the data transmitted from the vehicle 1 to the management center 2 and collected by the management center 2 will also be inclusively called "sensor data").
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Ball and the Fujita references since both pertain to the field of exhaust systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Ball with the feature of a sensing data system as disclosed by Fujita to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing a technology capable of appropriately correcting a combustion state of fuel in an engine, using a trained model with sensor data that includes data related to at least one of a cylinder internal pressure of the engine, a rotational speed of the engine, a temperature of exhaust gas from the engine, a front/back pressure difference of a filter for capturing particulate matter within the exhaust gas, and a nitrogen oxide concentration within the exhaust gas .
Ball in view of Fujita does not explicitly disclose the method comprising: an exhaust snorkel.
Di Perna discloses the method comprising: an exhaust snorkel (fig 3:24, par[0014]: Exhaust gas may enter the snorkel assembly 24 through the inlet slot openings 38 and 40, the end 41 and also through the open end 35 of the cup section 26. These entry points provide a variety of sampling locations from the exhaust gas stream 12 ensuring that an accurate sample of the entire stream is directed into the snorkel assembly 24. Inside the snorkel assembly 24, the exhaust gas may be mixed and a sample of the entrained gas may enter the sensor 16 through the inlet ports 18).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ball, Fujita and Di Perna references since all pertain to the field of exhaust systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Ball with the snorkel feature as disclosed by Di Perna to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing flexible, localized, and efficient removal of hazardous fumes, smoke, and dust directly at the source, significantly improving workplace safety, improved air quality, protection against static/sparks, and adjustable positioning to reduce user fatigue.
Regarding claim 10, Ball in view of Fujita and Di Perna discloses the method according to Claim 9 wherein controlling the operation of the data transmission system comprises:
measuring the characteristic of the exhaust gas with one or more sensors (Fujita fig 5:4; par[0045]: The exhaust temperature sensor 412 detects a temperature of the exhaust gas. The air/fuel ratio sensor 413 detects an oxygen concentration within the exhaust gas. The NOx sensor 414 detects a nitrogen oxide (NOx) concentration within the exhaust gas. The differential pressure sensor 415 detects a front/back pressure difference of a filter (not illustrated) included in the postprocessing device342. Each of the above sensors outputs a signal showing a detection result thereof to the ECU 13.); and
controlling operation of the data transmission system based on the characteristic of the exhaust gas as measured by the one or more sensors (Fujita fig 2:2; par[0047]: The vehicle 1 (ECU 13) transmits data acquired by the signals from each of the sensors included in the sensors 4 to the management center 2 (server 23). In this way, the management center 2 can acquire or estimate a combustion state of fuel in the engine 3 (cylinders 311-314). Specifically, the management center 2 can acquire a combustion state of fuel in the cylinders 311-314, based on a signal (waveform signal of a cylinder internal pressure) by the cylinder internal pressure sensor 407. Moreover, the management center 2 can estimate a combustion state of the engine 3, based on a signal (a signal representing noise or vibrations occurring in the cylinders 311-314) detected by the knock sensor 404. In addition, it is also possible for the management center 2 to estimate a combustion state of the engine 3, based on signals detected by the exhaust temperature sensor 412, the NOx sensor 414, and/or the differential pressure sensor 415. Hereinafter, the data transmitted from the vehicle 1 to the management center 2 and collected by the management center 2 will also be inclusively called "sensor data".).
Regarding claim 12, Ball in view of Fujita and Di Perna discloses the method according to Claim 9 further comprising connecting the exhaust snorkel to the exhaust system of the vehicle with a connector (Di Perna fig 1:24; par[0014]: Exhaust gas may enter the snorkel assembly 24 through the inlet slot openings 38 and 40, the end 41 and also through the open end 35 of the cup section 26. These entry points provide a variety of sampling locations from the exhaust gas stream 12 ensuring that an accurate sample of the entire stream is directed into the snorkel assembly 24. Inside the snorkel assembly 24, the exhaust gas may be mixed and a sample of the entrained gas may enter the sensor 16 through the inlet ports 18. Within the sensor 16 the sample may be analyzed and may then exit through the outlet ports 20 and proceed through the exhaust opening 32. Flow must pass into the snorkel assembly 24 to reach the sensor 16.).
Regarding claim 16, Ball in view of Fujita and Di Perna discloses the method according to Claim 9 wherein providing for data communication comprises providing for wireless communication between the vehicle and the offboard computer system (Fujita par[0021]: The DCM 12 of the vehicle 1 is configured to perform wireless two-way communication with the management center 2.).
2. Claim(s) 3 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ball in view of Fujita and Di Perna, and further in view of Chou et al. (KR20150143453) hereafter Chou.
Regarding claim 3, Ball in view of Fujita and Di Perna does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the one or more sensors are configured to measure a level of a particular chemical in the exhaust gas, and wherein the control system is configured to discontinue the data communication between the vehicle and the offboard computer system in an instance in which the level of the particular chemical satisfies a predefined threshold.
Chou discloses the system wherein the one or more sensors are configured to measure a level of a particular chemical in the exhaust gas (par[0013], [0015]: In system 200, one or more multi-gas analysis instruments (also referred to as multi-gas detectors, or MGDs) are in a closed facility 202 (e.g., a building) to detect a target gas for a particular application. Multi-gas detectors (MGD1 to MGD6) can detect organic or non-organic gas compounds as well as combinations of target gases for on-site monitoring (organic or non-organic gas compounds). In one embodiment, one or more of the MGDs is a micro-pre-concentrator (micro-PC), micro-gas-chromatography (micro-GC), as described below in connection with FIGS. 5A-8. And a miniaturized gas analysis system utilizing a combination of detector arrays for multi-gas detection ), and wherein the control system is configured to discontinue the data communication between the vehicle and the offboard computer system (par[0012]: Systems of multiple gas analysis instruments and anemometers are located in various indoor locations to form a real-time gas analysis network for monitoring gas concentration and air flow rate or wind speed and direction. The gas analysis instrument, and anemometer, if present, is connected to a control / disconnection / information center for real-time data communication and control. ) in an instance in which the level of the particular chemical satisfies a predefined threshold (par[0025]: In system 225, each MGD can monitor the quality of the exhaust air passing through the corresponding filter. If the concentration of contaminants on any MGD (e.g., volatile organic compounds, or VOCs) exceeds a threshold, at least we can determine that certain filters are no longer satisfactorily filterable and need to be replaced. will be. At block 416, the process searches for the cause of abnormal gas concentration levels based on analysis of gas data (in combination with air flow rate, wind speed, wind direction, etc., and area topography when anemometer is used). At block 418, the process determines whether the causal site has a gas concentration above a threshold level, and at block 420 is available from all MGDs and anemometers, if any, to determine the source of contamination. Data is used. At block 422, this process takes action such as controlling the indoor ventilation system and / or process equipment, controlling the outdoor process equipment, and is required by the responding party for the actions required for indoor or outdoor use. Provide an alert.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ball, Fujita, Di Perna and Chou references since all pertain to the field of exhaust systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Ball with the discontinuity feature as disclosed by Chou to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing several key advantages, primarily focused on enhancing security by preventing unauthorized remote access or hijacking of vehicle functions, regulatory compliance by managing data reporting, ensuring that only necessary data is transmitted to satisfy legal standards without exposing excessive, granular data, and system efficiency by removing the reliance on a potentially laggy or insecure external connection when a safety threshold is met allows the vehicle to rely on its internal, "low-level safety platform," enhancing reliability during critical moments.
Regarding claim 11, Ball in view of Fujita and Di Perna does not explicitly disclose the method wherein measuring the characteristic of the exhaust gas comprises measuring a level of a particular chemical in the exhaust gas, and wherein controlling operation of the data transmission system comprises discontinuing the data communication between the vehicle and the offboard computer system in an instance in which the level of the particular chemical satisfies a predefined threshold.
Chou discloses the method wherein measuring the characteristic of the exhaust gas comprises measuring a level of a particular chemical in the exhaust gas (par[0013], [0015]: In system 200, one or more multi-gas analysis instruments (also referred to as multi-gas detectors, or MGDs) are in a closed facility 202 (e.g., a building) to detect a target gas for a particular application. Multi-gas detectors (MGD1 to MGD6) can detect organic or non-organic gas compounds as well as combinations of target gases for on-site monitoring (organic or non-organic gas compounds). In one embodiment, one or more of the MGDs is a micro-pre-concentrator (micro-PC), micro-gas-chromatography (micro-GC), as described below in connection with FIGS. 5A-8. And a miniaturized gas analysis system utilizing a combination of detector arrays for multi-gas detection ), and wherein controlling operation of the data transmission system comprises discontinuing the data communication between the vehicle and the offboard computer system (par[0012]: Systems of multiple gas analysis instruments and anemometers are located in various indoor locations to form a real-time gas analysis network for monitoring gas concentration and air flow rate or wind speed and direction. The gas analysis instrument, and anemometer, if present, is connected to a control / disconnection / information center for real-time data communication and control. ) in which the level of the particular chemical satisfies a predefined threshold (par[0025]: In system 225, each MGD can monitor the quality of the exhaust air passing through the corresponding filter. If the concentration of contaminants on any MGD (e.g., volatile organic compounds, or VOCs) exceeds a threshold, at least we can determine that certain filters are no longer satisfactorily filterable and need to be replaced. will be. At block 416, the process searches for the cause of abnormal gas concentration levels based on analysis of gas data (in combination with air flow rate, wind speed, wind direction, etc., and area topography when anemometer is used). At block 418, the process determines whether the causal site has a gas concentration above a threshold level, and at block 420 is available from all MGDs and anemometers, if any, to determine the source of contamination. Data is used. At block 422, this process takes action such as controlling the indoor ventilation system and / or process equipment, controlling the outdoor process equipment, and is required by the responding party for the actions required for indoor or outdoor use. Provide an alert.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ball, Fujita, Di Perna and Chou references since all pertain to the field of exhaust systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Ball with the discontinuity feature as disclosed by Chou to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing several key advantages, primarily focused on enhancing security by preventing unauthorized remote access or hijacking of vehicle functions, regulatory compliance by managing data reporting, ensuring that only necessary data is transmitted to satisfy legal standards without exposing excessive, granular data, and system efficiency by removing the reliance on a potentially laggy or insecure external connection when a safety threshold is met allows the vehicle to rely on its internal, "low-level safety platform," enhancing reliability during critical moments.
3. Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ball in view of Fujita and Di Perna, and further in view of Choi et al. (KR102341516B1) hereafter Choi.
Regarding claim 5, Ball in view of Fujita and Di Perna does not explicitly disclose the system further comprising a connection sensor configured to detect a connection of the exhaust snorkel to the exhaust system of the vehicle, and wherein the control system is further configured control the operation of the data transmission system based on the connection of the exhaust snorkel to the exhaust system of the vehicle.
Choi discloses the system further comprising a connection sensor configured to detect a connection of the exhaust snorkel to the exhaust system of the vehicle, and wherein the control system is further configured control the operation of the data transmission system based on the connection of the exhaust snorkel to the exhaust system of the vehicle (fig 3:120; par[0078]: the branch pipe 120 may have a sensor 124 installed at a connection portion connecting the exhaust pipe 15 of the delivery vehicle 10 . The sensor 124 detects whether the exhaust pipe 15 of the delivery vehicle 10 is connected.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ball, Fujita, Di Perna and Choi references since all pertain to the field of exhaust systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Ball with the sensing feature as disclosed by Choi to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of improving the working environment in the loading dock of the logistics center by sucking in exhaust gas generated from a delivery vehicle at the loading dock of the logistics center, purifying it, and then discharging it to the outside.
Regarding claim 13, Ball in view of Fujita and Di Perna does not explicitly disclose the method further comprising detecting a connection of the exhaust snorkel to the exhaust system of the vehicle, and wherein controlling operation of the data transmission system comprises controlling the operation of the data transmission system based on the connection of the exhaust snorkel to the exhaust system of the vehicle.
Choi discloses the method further comprising detecting a connection of the exhaust snorkel to the exhaust system of the vehicle, and wherein controlling operation of the data transmission system comprises controlling the operation of the data transmission system based on the connection of the exhaust snorkel to the exhaust system of the vehicle (fig 3:120; par[0078]: the branch pipe 120 may have a sensor 124 installed at a connection portion connecting the exhaust pipe 15 of the delivery vehicle 10 . The sensor 124 detects whether the exhaust pipe 15 of the delivery vehicle 10 is connected.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ball, Fujita, Di Perna and Choi references since all pertain to the field of exhaust systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Ball with the sensing feature as disclosed by Choi to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of improving the working environment in the loading dock of the logistics center by sucking in exhaust gas generated from a delivery vehicle at the loading dock of the logistics center, purifying it, and then discharging it to the outside.
4. Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ball in view of Fujita and Di Perna, and further in view of Cho et al. (KR20090083682A) hereafter Cho.
Regarding claim 6, Ball in view of Fujita and Di Perna does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the data transmission system comprises one or more wires extending through at least a portion of an interior of the exhaust snorkel in order to transmit data between the vehicle and the offboard computer system.
Cho discloses the system wherein the data transmission system comprises one or more wires extending through at least a portion of an interior of the exhaust snorkel in order to transmit data between the vehicle and the offboard computer system (page 1 ln 1-15 and page 2 ln 22-26: In the process of sending, in order to prevent the freezing caused by the low temperature air and high temperature blow-by gas coming from the intake system, a hot wire coil is installed inside the exhaust hose, and a temperature sensor is installed inside the engine and a temperature sensor outside the intake system. When the measured values of the respective temperature sensors deviate from the measured values set in the ECU 100, the ECU 100 operates a relay to operate the hot wire coil provided in the discharge hose to prevent freezing. A heat coil 200 installed in the discharge hose 600 connected to the intake line 210 A relay 700 for supplying power to the heat coil 620 of the discharge hose 600; And an ECU 100 for comparing the temperature difference between the measured values of the outdoor temperature sensor 230 and the engine internal temperature sensor 310 and operating the relay 700 when the temperature difference is out of the set temperature difference range).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ball, Fujita, Di Perna and Cho references since all pertain to the field of exhaust systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Ball with the wiring feature as disclosed by Cho to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of improving the environmental protection for sensitive electronics, reducing electromagnetic Interference (EMI), physical protection and safety by placing wires within the structural, reinforcing housing of a snorkel that protects them from physical damage, such as abrasion, crushing, or heat from surrounding components, thus improving long-term reliability and reducing the risk of signal loss.
Regarding claim 14, Ball in view of Fujita and Di Perna does not explicitly disclose the method wherein providing for data communication comprises providing for data communication via one or more wires extending through at least a portion of an interior of the exhaust snorkel in order to transmit data between the vehicle and the offboard computer system.
Cho discloses the method wherein providing for data communication comprises providing for data communication via one or more wires extending through at least a portion of an interior of the exhaust snorkel in order to transmit data between the vehicle and the offboard computer system (page 1 ln 1-15 and page 2 ln 22-26: In the process of sending, in order to prevent the freezing caused by the low temperature air and high temperature blow-by gas coming from the intake system, a hot wire coil is installed inside the exhaust hose, and a temperature sensor is installed inside the engine and a temperature sensor outside the intake system. When the measured values of the respective temperature sensors deviate from the measured values set in the ECU 100, the ECU 100 operates a relay to operate the hot wire coil provided in the discharge hose to prevent freezing. A heat coil 200 installed in the discharge hose 600 connected to the intake line 210 A relay 700 for supplying power to the heat coil 620 of the discharge hose 600; And an ECU 100 for comparing the temperature difference between the measured values of the outdoor temperature sensor 230 and the engine internal temperature sensor 310 and operating the relay 700 when the temperature difference is out of the set temperature difference range).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ball, Fujita, Di Perna and Cho references since all pertain to the field of exhaust systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Ball with the wiring feature as disclosed by Cho to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of improving the environmental protection for sensitive electronics, reducing electromagnetic Interference (EMI), physical protection and safety by placing wires within the structural, reinforcing housing of a snorkel that protects them from physical damage, such as abrasion, crushing, or heat from surrounding components, thus improving long-term reliability and reducing the risk of signal loss.
5. Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ball in view of Fujita and Di Perna, and further in view of Isobe et al. (JP2024020886A) hereafter Isobe.
Regarding claim 7, Ball in view of Fujita and Di Perna does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the data transmission system comprises one or more wires carried along an exterior surface of at least a portion of the exhaust snorkel in order to transmit data between the vehicle and the offboard computer system.
Isobe discloses the system wherein the data transmission system comprises one or more wires carried along an exterior surface of at least a portion of the exhaust snorkel in order to transmit data between the vehicle and the offboard computer system (fig 2:240; par[0014]: FIG. 2, the exhaust pipe 17 includes a mounting boss 171. The inner peripheral surface of the mounting boss 171 is female threaded. The exhaust temperature sensor 200 is attached to the exhaust pipe 17 by screwing together the male thread of the threaded portion 230 and the female thread of the mounting boss 171. Thereby, the temperature sensing portion of the exhaust temperature sensor 200 is located within the exhaust pipe 17. On the other hand, a portion of the threaded portion 230, the case 220, the bush 250, and the wire 240 are exposed outside the exhaust pipe 17).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ball, Fujita, Di Perna and Isobe references since all pertain to the field of exhaust systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Ball with the wiring feature as disclosed by Isobe to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of improving the environmental protection for sensitive electronics, reducing electromagnetic Interference (EMI), physical protection and safety by placing wires within the structural, reinforcing housing of a snorkel that protects them from physical damage, such as abrasion, crushing, or heat from surrounding components, thus improving long-term reliability and reducing the risk of signal loss.
Regarding claim 15, Ball in view of Fujita and Di Perna does not explicitly disclose the method wherein providing for data communication comprises providing for data communication via one or more wires carried along an exterior surface of at least a portion of the exhaust snorkel in order to transmit data between the vehicle and the offboard computer system.
Isobe discloses the method wherein providing for data communication comprises providing for data communication via one or more wires carried along an exterior surface of at least a portion of the exhaust snorkel in order to transmit data between the vehicle and the offboard computer system (fig 2:240; par[0014]: FIG. 2, the exhaust pipe 17 includes a mounting boss 171. The inner peripheral surface of the mounting boss 171 is female threaded. The exhaust temperature sensor 200 is attached to the exhaust pipe 17 by screwing together the male thread of the threaded portion 230 and the female thread of the mounting boss 171. Thereby, the temperature sensing portion of the exhaust temperature sensor 200 is located within the exhaust pipe 17. On the other hand, a portion of the threaded portion 230, the case 220, the bush 250, and the wire 240 are exposed outside the exhaust pipe 17).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ball, Fujita, Di Perna and Isobe references since all pertain to the field of exhaust systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Ball with the wiring feature as disclosed by Isobe to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of improving the environmental protection for sensitive electronics, reducing electromagnetic Interference (EMI), physical protection and safety by placing wires within the structural, reinforcing housing of a snorkel that protects them from physical damage, such as abrasion, crushing, or heat from surrounding components, thus improving long-term reliability and reducing the risk of signal loss.
6. Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ball in view of Mast et al. (US2021/0394116A1) hereafter Mast, and further in view of Di Perna et al. (US2016/0349227A1) hereafter Di Perna.
Regarding claim 17, Ball discloses a system comprising:
an exhaust in fluid communication with an exhaust system of the vehicle (col 3 ln 40-41, 54-58: A direct source exhaust gas capture system 10 for capturing fumes from an emergency vehicle 12 is illustrated in FIG. 1. The present direct source exhaust gas capture system works equally well with diesel-powered or gasoline-powered emergency vehicles.) and configured to direct the exhaust gas from the vehicle to a ventilation system (col 4 ln 8-13, col 5 ln 39-54: An exhaust fan 24 is associated with the exhaust duct 26 and is adapted to exhaust through duct 26 the vehicle exhaust fumes when the hose 16 is connected to the tailpipe 20 of the vehicle 12. The exhaust duct 26 is attached to fan 24 technically equivalent to a ventilation system to direct the exhaust fumes to the outside of the fire station 14 as at 28. This allows the exhaust fan 24 of the direct source exhaust gas capture system 10 to be re-energized prior to the vehicle 12 pulling into the station 14. Emergency vehicles 12 are backed into the station 14 or slowly pulled therein which allows the exhaust fan 24 to be energized by the first signal from the continuously transmitting transmitter 40 prior to the vehicle 12 entering the station 14. The exhaust fan 24 automatically re-starts before the vehicle re-enters the station and prior to an operator attaching the hose 16 to the tailpipe 20 of the vehicle. Since the exhaust fan 24 is at full RPMs, the hose 16 and nozzle 18 will tend to act as a vacuum pulling the exhaust fumes from the tailpipe of the running vehicle into the direct source exhaust gas capture system 10 as the nozzle 18 is reattached to tailpipe 20 by an operator, thereby minimizing any exposure of the operator to engine exhaust ).
Ball does not explicitly disclose the system comprising: an exhaust snorkel; and one or more wires carried by at least a portion of the exhaust snorkel in order to transmit data between the vehicle and an offboard computer system.
Mast discloses the system comprising: one or more wires carried by at least a portion of the exhaust in order to transmit data to an offboard computer system (par[0103], [0188]: the exhaust gas purification system 110 “technically equivalent to the exhaust with a vehicle of prior art Ball” includes a (wireless or wired) communication interface 113 for connecting the exhaust gas purification system 110 to a data cloud 120. Via the communication interface 113, the exhaust gas purification system 110 can exchange data with the data cloud 120. In particular, the communication interface 113 is configured to send system data generated in the exhaust gas purification system to the data cloud 120. The data cloud 120 stores the system data, so that the system data can be accessed locally and at any time. The system data are analyzed either locally at a terminal device 130 of a user or in the data cloud 120 such that the user may retrieve the analysis results via the terminal device 130 from the data cloud. The analysis of the system data allows to determine one or more characterizing quantities of the exhaust gas purification system that enable monitoring of the respective exhaust gas purification system.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ball and Mast references since all pertain to the field of exhaust systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Ball with the wiring feature as disclosed by Mast to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of monitoring at least one exhaust gas purification system for purifying an exhaust gas stream to be purified of an industrial system or an industrial process. The method comprises retrieving system data of the exhaust gas purification system from a data cloud.
Ball in view of Mast does not explicitly disclose the system comprising: an exhaust snorkel.
Di Perna discloses the system comprising: an exhaust snorkel (fig 3:24, par[0014]: Exhaust gas may enter the snorkel assembly 24 through the inlet slot openings 38 and 40, the end 41 and also through the open end 35 of the cup section 26. These entry points provide a variety of sampling locations from the exhaust gas stream 12 ensuring that an accurate sample of the entire stream is directed into the snorkel assembly 24. Inside the snorkel assembly 24, the exhaust gas may be mixed and a sample of the entrained gas may enter the sensor 16 through the inlet ports 18).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ball, Mast and Di Perna references since all pertain to the field of exhaust systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Ball with the snorkel feature as disclosed by Di Perna to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing flexible, localized, and efficient removal of hazardous fumes, smoke, and dust directly at the source, significantly improving workplace safety, improved air quality, protection against static/sparks, and adjustable positioning to reduce user fatigue.
8. Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ball in view of Mast and Di Perna, and further in view of Cho et al. (KR20090083682A) hereafter Cho.
Regarding claim 18, Ball in view of Mast and Di Perna does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the one or more wires extend through at least a portion of an interior of the exhaust snorkel in order to transmit data between the vehicle and the offboard computer system.
Cho discloses the system wherein the one or more wires extend through at least a portion of an interior of the exhaust snorkel in order to transmit data between the vehicle and the offboard computer system (page 1 ln 1-15 and page 2 ln 22-26: In the process of sending, in order to prevent the freezing caused by the low temperature air and high temperature blow-by gas coming from the intake system, a hot wire coil is installed inside the exhaust hose, and a temperature sensor is installed inside the engine and a temperature sensor outside the intake system. When the measured values of the respective temperature sensors deviate from the measured values set in the ECU 100, the ECU 100 operates a relay to operate the hot wire coil provided in the discharge hose to prevent freezing. A heat coil 200 installed in the discharge hose 600 connected to the intake line 210 A relay 700 for supplying power to the heat coil 620 of the discharge hose 600; And an ECU 100 for comparing the temperature difference between the measured values of the outdoor temperature sensor 230 and the engine internal temperature sensor 310 and operating the relay 700 when the temperature difference is out of the set temperature difference range).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ball, Mast, Di Perna and Cho references since all pertain to the field of exhaust systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Ball with the wiring feature as disclosed by Cho to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of improving the environmental protection for sensitive electronics, reducing electromagnetic Interference (EMI), physical protection and safety by placing wires within the structural, reinforcing housing of a snorkel that protects them from physical damage, such as abrasion, crushing, or heat from surrounding components, thus improving long-term reliability and reducing the risk of signal loss.
9. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ball in view of Mast, Di Perna, Cho, and further in view of Isobe et al. (JP2024020886A) hereafter Isobe.
Regarding claim 19, Ball in view of Mast, Di Perna and Cho discloses the system according to Claim 18 further comprising:
a junction housing carried by the exhaust snorkel (Di Perna fig 1:24; par[0013]: To assist in providing an accurate sampling of the exhaust gas stream 12, the sensing assembly 11 may be provided with a snorkel assembly 24. The snorkel assembly 24 may include a cup section 26 and a tube section 28. The cup section 26 may generally be of a cylindrical shape and may include an end 30 connected to the wall 17. The cup section 26 may surround the sensor 16 and may include an exhaust opening 32 located on a downstream side 33 at a distance 34 from the wall 17 that may be in line with the outlet ports 20 of the sensor 16, which may also be located approximately at the distance 34 from the wall 17. The tube section 28 may be formed with or connected to the cup section 26 at an upstream side 29 of the snorkel assembly 24 ); and one or more wires configured to be communicably connected at the junction housing to the one or more wires that extend through at least a portion of the interior of the exhaust snorkel (Cho page 1 ln 1-15 and page 2 ln 22-26: In the process of sending, in order to prevent the freezing caused by the low temperature air and high temperature blow-by gas coming from the intake system, a hot wire coil is installed inside the exhaust hose, and a temperature sensor is installed inside the engine and a temperature sensor outside the intake system. When the measured values of the respective temperature sensors deviate from the measured values set in the ECU 100, the ECU 100 operates a relay to operate the hot wire coil provided in the discharge hose to prevent freezing. A heat coil 200 installed in the discharge hose 600 connected to the intake line 210 A relay 700 for supplying power to the heat coil 620 of the discharge hose 600; And an ECU 100 for comparing the temperature difference between the measured values of the outdoor temperature sensor 230 and the engine internal temperature sensor 310 and operating the relay 700 when the temperature difference is out of the set temperature difference range).
Ball in view of Mast, Di Perna and Cho does not explicitly disclose the system comprising: one or more external wires configured to facilitate transmission of data between the vehicle and the offboard computer system
Isobe discloses the system comprising: one or more external wires configured to facilitate transmission of data between the vehicle and the offboard computer system (Isobe fig 2:240; par[0014]: FIG. 2, the exhaust pipe 17 includes a mounting boss 171. The inner peripheral surface of the mounting boss 171 is female threaded. The exhaust temperature sensor 200 is attached to the exhaust pipe 17 by screwing together the male thread of the threaded portion 230 and the female thread of the mounting boss 171. Thereby, the temperature sensing portion of the exhaust temperature sensor 200 is located within the exhaust pipe 17. On the other hand, a portion of the threaded portion 230, the case 220, the bush 250, and the wire 240 are exposed outside the exhaust pipe 17).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ball, Mast, Di Perna, Cho and Isobe references since all pertain to the field of exhaust systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Ball with the wiring feature as disclosed by Isobe to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of improving the environmental protection for sensitive electronics, reducing electromagnetic Interference (EMI), physical protection and safety by placing wires within the structural, reinforcing housing of a snorkel that protects them from physical damage, such as abrasion, crushing, or heat from surrounding components, thus improving long-term reliability and reducing the risk of signal loss.
10. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ball in view of Mast and Di Perna, and further in view of Isobe et al. (JP2024020886A) hereafter Isobe.
Regarding claim 20, Ball in view of Mast and Di Perna does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the one or more wires are carried along an exterior surface of at least a portion of the exhaust snorkel in order to transmit data between the vehicle and the offboard computer system.
Isobe discloses the system wherein the one or more wires are carried along an exterior surface of at least a portion of the exhaust snorkel in order to transmit data between the vehicle and the offboard computer system (Isobe fig 2:240; par[0014]: FIG. 2, the exhaust pipe 17 includes a mounting boss 171. The inner peripheral surface of the mounting boss 171 is female threaded. The exhaust temperature sensor 200 is attached to the exhaust pipe 17 by screwing together the male thread of the threaded portion 230 and the female thread of the mounting boss 171. Thereby, the temperature sensing portion of the exhaust temperature sensor 200 is located within the exhaust pipe 17. On the other hand, a portion of the threaded portion 230, the case 220, the bush 250, and the wire 240 are exposed outside the exhaust pipe 17).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Ball, Mast, Di Perna and Isobe references since all pertain to the field of exhaust systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the system of Ball with the wiring feature as disclosed by Isobe to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of improving the environmental protection for sensitive electronics, reducing electromagnetic Interference (EMI), physical protection and safety by placing wires within the structural, reinforcing housing of a snorkel that protects them from physical damage, such as abrasion, crushing, or heat from surrounding components, thus improving long-term reliability and reducing the risk of signal loss.
Conclusion
Patent US4744305 to Hood discloses a hood extends a substantial distance inside the service facilities over a track, the hood having an elongated opening to be positioned over the exhaust port of a locomotive and having a number of hood sections. Each hood section is separated from another by a baffle each having at least one exhaust fan. Independently adjustable damping baffles are hinge mounted along the longitudinal edge of the hood opening. The baffles extend upwardly and inwardly to form an inverted V-shaped smoke entry slot of variable width. The hood section further includes a sensor to activate the exhaust fan when a locomotive is detected below the hood sections.
Patent US4567817 to Fleischer discloses an exhaust-gas offtake for a track-guided vehicle propelled by combustion-energy, the exhaust gas being led into a force-ventilated waste gas duct located above the vehicle, which is anchored to the roof of a tunnel along the route followed. The exhaust pipe of the vehicle extends vertically through the vehicle interior, up to a point above the roof, and is surrounded by a protective tube. A collecting funnel is located on the vehicle roof, which funnel overlaps the end of the exhaust pipe, possesses a transfer pipe with a boat-shaped cross-section and, pivotably mounted on suspension elements, is resiliently directed into an upwards-pointed position.
/AMINE BENLAGSIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688