DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed 2/1/2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and claims 1, 9, and 15 are the independent claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 17-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As per claim 17, it recites “…wherein the management controller to further…” when for grammar/clarity it should recite “…wherein the management controller is to further…”.
As per claim 18, it recites “…wherein the management controller to further…” when for grammar/clarity it should recite “…wherein the management controller is to further…”.
As per claim 19, it recites “…wherein the host processor to further…” when for grammar/clarity it should recite “…wherein the host processor is to further…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warkentin et al. (herein called Warkentin) (US PG Pub. 2023/0229481 A1) and Braun et al. (herein called Braun) (US PG Pub. 2011/0246981 A1).
As per claim 1, Warkentin teaches: a method comprising:
responsive to a computer platform being controlled by an operating system installation service (fig. 1, pars. [0034]-[0035], [0066]-[0069], management hypervisor installer/management hypervisor/etc. communicates with management system and performs operations (controls) on host device/DPU device/etc. (computer platform) to store/install/etc. operating system (OS) installer and management operating system/OS.):
retrieving, by the computer platform, an agent image (abstract, pars. [0051], [0056]-[0058], [0066]-[0067], [0072], [0075], management operating system/OS installer image (an agent image) is provided/transmitted/etc. to and stored/mounted/etc. locally (retrieved) in a data store/memory/etc. of host/DPU device (by computing platform).); and
booting, by the computer platform, to the agent image to launch a local agent that is executed on the computer platform (abstract, pars. [0059], [0076]-[0077], host/DPU device/computing platform boots to management OS installer/agent installed locally in data store/memory of host device which then executes and installs the management OS (computing platform/host device/DPU device/etc. boots to the agent image/management OS installer/etc. to launch a local agent that is executed on the computer platform/execute management OS installer locally stored on device/etc. to install management OS).); and
assisting, by the local agent, an installation of an operating system on the computer platform, wherein the assisting comprises accessing, by the local agent, an operating system installation image and configure installation of the operating system using the operating system installation image (abstract, pars. [0049], [0060], [0077], management OS installer on host device/DPU device/computing platform (local agent) installs management OS on host/DPU device/computing platform according to specified configuration (local agent/OS installer on device/etc. assists an installation of an operating system on the computing platform/installs management OS on device/etc., wherein the assisting comprises accessing an operating system installation image/installing the operating system/etc. and configure installation of the operating system using the operating system installation image/operating system is installed according to specified configuration/etc.).).
Warkentin does not explicitly state, however Braun teaches:
an operating system installation service that is remote with respect to the computer platform (fig. 1 items 110 and 130, pars. [0011], [0014], [0019], [0028], client device is connected to end server device (computer platform) via network/wireless connection/etc. (is remote with respect to computer platform/end server device), and client device presents clients/users with OS installation user interface that users interact with to provide specific server/end server device configuration information for operating system/OS being installed on the end server/computer platform by OS image installer (client device presenting OS installation user interface that receives OS configuration information from users is operating system installation service that is remote with respect to computing platform/end server).):
and generating an answer file to configure installation of the operating system using the operating system installation image (pars. [0014], [0019], [0028], [0044]-[0049], operating system/OS image installer presents user interface/interview menu/etc. on client device prompting user for specific server/end server/etc. configuration information/profile information/customization selections/etc., receives configuration information from user and stores configuration information in memory (generate an answer file/store user answers to prompts for configuration information as configuration information in memory/etc.), and installs OS image on end server/computing platform and configures/customizes/etc. OS using/based on/etc. the configuration information/answer file/etc. (answer file/stored configuration information/etc. is used to configure installation of the operating system using the operating system installation image.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an operating system installation service that is remote with respect to the computer platform, and generating an answer file to configure installation of the operating system using the operating system installation image, as conceptually taught by Braun, into that of Warkentin because these modifications allow for a user to provide desired configurations/customization/etc. of the operating system being installed on a computing platform without having to be physically present at the computing platform, which is desirable as it makes the operating system installation more convenient for users by allowing for them to be remote/away/etc. from the computing device during the installation while allowing for them to customize/configure/etc. the operating system as desired, thereby increasing user control over the operating system and helping to ensure that the operating system operates as desired by the users.
As per claim 2, Warkentin further teaches: wherein the computer platform comprises a baseboard management controller (fig. 1 item 159, pars. [0033], host device/computing platform includes baseboard management controller/BMC.), the method further comprising:
receiving, by the baseboard management controller, commands from the operating system installation service (pars. [0034], [0045], [0052], [0064], [0068]-[0069], management hypervisor installer communicates with/issues requests to/transmits commands to/etc. BMC (baseboard management controller/BMC receives commands/requests/communication/etc. from operating system installation service/management hypervisor installer/etc.).); and
responding, by the baseboard management controller, to the commands to retrieve the agent image from a remote content provider and cause the computer platform to boot to the agent image (pars. [0052], [0056], [0059], [0068]-[0069], [0071]-[0072], [0076]-[0079], BMC receives communication/request/command/etc. from management hypervisor installer (baseboard management controller responds to the commands) and retrieves management OS installer/agent image (retrieve agent image) from location/URI/etc. (remote content provider) specified in communication/request/command/etc. and stores management OS installer in memory, and device boots to management OS installer/agent image (cause computer platform to boot to agent image).).
As per claim 3, Warkentin further teaches: wherein the responding comprises storing, by the baseboard management controller, the agent image in a secure repository of the computer platform (pars. [0014]-[0015], [0035], [0040], [0042]-[0043], [0058], BMC/baseboard management controller stores management OS installer/agent image in memory/data storage/etc. of device (agent image stored in repository of computer platform), and access to memory/data storage is controlled/provided/etc. by management hypervisor (as management hypervisor controls/provides access to memory/data storage it is providing security and as such the data storage/memory/repository may be a secure repository).).
As per claim 4, Warkentin further teaches: wherein the responding comprises mounting, by the baseboard management controller, the agent image as virtual media (pars. [0015], [0040], [0042], [0058], [0072], [0075], BMC/baseboard management controller stores management OS installer/agent image and transmits/forwards/streams/etc. agent image/OS installer to device memory where management OS installer/agent image is mounted to/stored in/etc. volatile memory virtual disk/virtual memory/etc.. As the OS installer/agent image is stored/mounted in virtual disk/virtual memory/etc. it is virtual media.).
As per claim 6, Warkentin further teaches: wherein the responding comprises powering on, by the baseboard management controller, the computer platform (pars. [0038], [0069], BMC/baseboard management controller powers on/power cycles/resets/etc. device/computer platform.).
As per claim 7, Warkentin does not explicitly state, however Braun teaches: wherein accessing the operating system installation image comprises:
responsive to a local network configuration being set up for the computer platform, retrieving, by the local agent, executable files of the operating system installation image from a local network associated with the computer platform (fig. 1, pars. [0015]-[0019], end server device/computer platform is connected to software server, database, client device via network which may be local area network/LAN (local network configuration is set up for computer platform/client device is connected to other device/server/database via LAN/etc.), and operating system image installer/host operating system/bootable disk images/etc. (executable files of the operating system installation image) are retrieved from networked devices/software server/database/etc. (from a local network associated with the computing platform/end server) by end server device/computing platform (by local agent/OS installer on computing platform from Warkentin).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add responsive to a local network configuration being set up for the computer platform, retrieving, by the local agent, executable files of the operating system installation image from a local network associated with the computer platform, as conceptually taught by Braun, into that of Warkentin because these modifications allow for available existing files desired/needed/usable/etc. for installation of the operating system to be retrieved and used, which is desirable as it helps ensure that the installation is successful so the computing platform/device/etc. operates correctly/as desired, while allowing for existing files to be used thereby saving time and resources that may be spent recreating those files.
As per claims 15, 16, and 20 they recite computer platforms having similar limitations as the methods of claims 1 and 2, 3, and 2, respectively, and are therefore rejected for similar reasoning as claims 1 and 2, 3, and 2, respectively, above.
Claims 5, 9-12, 14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warkentin et al. (herein called Warkentin) (US PG Pub. 2023/0229481 A1) and Braun et al. (herein called Braun) (US PG Pub. 2011/0246981 A1) in further view of Nagaraj et al. (herein called Nagaraj) (US PG Pub. 2023/0236917 A1).
As per claim 5, Warkintin further teaches: wherein the responding further comprises designating the computer platform to boot from the virtual media one time (pars. [0058]-[0062], management OS installer is mounted/stored in memory based virtual disk (as OS installer is mounted/stored in virtual disk it is virtual media) and boot options are updated such that the device boots to the virtual disk/boots to the OS installer to install OS, then device reboots and boots to management OS after OS is installed (designating computing platform/device to boot from the virtual media/virtual disk/OS installer in virtual disk/etc. one time).).
While Warkintin teaches that the device/computer platform may be designated to boot from the virtual media/OS installer/virtual disk/etc., it does not explicitly disclose that the baseboard management controller performs the designating, and as such does not explicitly state, however Nagaraj teaches:
designating, by the baseboard management controller, the computer platform to boot from the virtual media one time (pars. [0040], [0047], BMC/baseboard management controller sets up boot options for computing platform. As the baseboard management controller sets up boot options for computing platform and as Warkentin teaches designating/setting up/etc. the computer platform to boot from the virtual media one time, it is obvious that the BMC may be designating/setting up/etc. the computing platform to boot from the virtual media one time.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add designating, by the baseboard management controller, the computer platform to boot from the virtual media one time, as conceptually taught by Nagaraj, into that of Warkentin and Braun because these modifications allow for the baseboard management controller to be used to perform a known function of setting up the boot option for the computer platform, thereby helping to ensure that the computing platform boots as desired/correctly/etc. and operates as desired.
As per claim 9, it recites a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium having similar limitations as the methods of claims 1, 2, and 4-6, and are therefore rejected for similar reasoning as claims 1, 2, and 4-6, above.
As per claim 10, Warkentin further teaches: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one machine, further cause the at least one machine to:
communicate with the management controller to cause the management controller to store data on the server (pars. [0033], [0056], [0068], [0072], host device/server includes baseboard management controller/BMC which receives commands/information/etc. (communicate) from hypervisor and may store image data/URI information/OS installer image/etc. (communicate with management controller/BMC to cause the controller to store data on the server/host device/etc.).).
Warkentin does not explicitly state, however Braun teaches:
store data on the server representing the configuration option (pars. [0045]-[0049], user input providing configurations/customizations/etc. for operating system are used in installing operating system on end server device to apply configuration/customization/etc. operating system on end server device (store/apply/etc. data on server representing configuration option/install operating system on server with configuration/customization applied/etc.).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add store data on the server representing the configuration option, as conceptually taught by Braun, into that of Warkentin and Nagaraj because these modifications allow for the operating system to be configured/customized/etc. as desired by users, thereby helping to ensure that the operating system operates as desired by users.
As per claim 11, Warkentin further teaches: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one machine, further cause the at least one machine to:
communicate with the management controller to cause the management controller to store data on the server (pars. [0033], [0056], [0068], [0072], host device/server includes baseboard management controller/BMC which receives commands/information/etc. (communicate) from hypervisor and may store image data/URI information/OS installer image/etc. (communicate with management controller/BMC to cause the controller to store data on the server/host device/etc.).).
Warkentin does not explicitly state, however Braun teaches:
receive input representing a network configuration for the server (pars. [0028], [0045], user is prompted to provide (receive input) installation parameters/configuration/data relating to OS installation on end server device (for the server) such as domain name server address/DNS address, network time protocol server address/NTP server address, ECC servers, host name, etc. (network configuration for server).); and
store data on the server representing the network configuration, wherein the agent uses the network configuration to access an operating system installation image (pars. [0028], [0030], [0040], [0045]-[0049], user input providing configurations/customizations/etc. for operating system such as DNS address, NTP server address, ECC servers, etc. (data representing network configuration) are used in installing operating system on end server device to apply configuration/customization/etc. to operating system on end server device (store/apply/etc. data on server representing the network configuration, wherein the agent uses the network configuration to access/install/apply/etc. an operating system installation image/install operating system on server with configuration/customization applied/etc.).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add receive input representing a network configuration for the server; and store data on the server representing the network configuration, wherein the agent uses the network configuration to access an operating system installation image, as conceptually taught by Braun, into that of Warkentin and Nagaraj because these modifications allow for the operating system to be configured/customized/etc. as desired by users such that its network configurations reflect user desires, thereby helping to ensure that the operating system operates as desired by users.
As per claim 12, Warkentin further teaches: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one machine, further cause the at least one machine to:
provide, to the management controller, an address to retrieve the agent image (pars. [0052], [0056], [0067]-[0068], management OS installer uniform resource indicator/URI (address/location/etc.) where management OS installer (agent) may be accessed (retrieved) is transmitted (provided) to baseboard management controller/BMC/management controller, and BMC/management controller uses the URI to access and store the management OS installer/agent (retrieve the agent image).).
As per claim 14, Warkentin further teaches: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one machine, further cause the at least one machine to receive the trigger responsive to user input (pars. [0065], user interface is generated identifying devices and obtains user indication to install management OS to the supported devices (receive trigger responsive to user input/received user indication to install management OS is received trigger responsive to user input to install operating system on devices/servers).).
As per claims 17 and 18, they recite computer platforms having similar limitations as the methods of claims 4 and 5, and 6, respectively, and are therefore rejected for similar reasoning as claims 4 and 5, and 6, respectively, above.
Claims 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warkentin et al. (herein called Warkentin) (US PG Pub. 2023/0229481 A1) and Braun et al. (herein called Braun) (US PG Pub. 2011/0246981 A1) in further view of Xu et al. (herein called Xu) (US PG Pub. 2013/0254759 A1).
As per claim 8, Warkentin further teaches:
the computer platform comprises a baseboard management controller (fig. 1 item 159, pars. [0033], host device includes baseboard management controller/BMC.); and
sending, by the agent, a request to mount the operating system installation image as virtual media (pars. [0042], [0060], [0077], management OS installer/agent installs management OS/operating system installation image in memory of the device (agent/OS installer/etc. sends request to mount/installs/etc. operating system installation image/management OS/etc.).); and
responsive to the request, mounting the operating system installation image as virtual media (pars. [0042], [0060], [0077], management OS installer/agent installs/mounts/etc. management OS/operating system installation image in memory of the device.).
Warkentin does not explicitly state, however Braun teaches:
the accessing comprises responsive to a local network configuration not being set up for the computer platform (pars. [0030], [0041], [0043], network may be a wide area network/WAN network and operating system/OS is installed to end server device/computer platform using bootable disk image and a WAN boot installation. As the network may be a wide area network/WAN network it is obvious that the network is not a local network/LAN network, and as such it is obvious that a local network configuration is not set up for the computing platform/end server device/etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the accessing comprises responsive to a local network configuration not being set up for the computer platform, as conceptually taught by Braun, into that of Warkentin because these modifications allow for computing platforms/devices/etc. not connected to local networks/connected to different types of networks other than local networks/etc. to have operating systems installed/customized/configured/updated/etc., thereby increasing the usability of the computing platforms and helping to ensure that they operates as desired/correctly/etc..
Warkentin and Braun do not explicitly state, however Xu teaches:
sending, by the agent, a request to the baseboard management controller, for the baseboard management controller to mount the operating system installation image as virtual media (pars. [0028]-[0029], [0032]-[0034], [0037], installing operating system/OS in host system/computing platform includes sending command host system (computer platform with OS installer/agent from Warkentin sends request/command) to baseboard management controller/BMC instructing BMC to mount installation pack used to install operating system on host (operating system installation image) as virtual USB Key (mount operating system installation image as virtual media).);
responsive to the request, mounting, by the baseboard management controller, the operating system installation image as virtual media (pars. [0032]-[0033]), after receiving command (responsive to the request) baseboard management controller/BMC mounts OS installation pack/operating system installation image as virtual USB key (mounting by BMC the operating system installation image as virtual media).); and
accessing, by the local agent, the virtual media to retrieve executable files of the operating system installation image (pars. [0033]-[0034], [0037]-[0038], host obtains the OS installation pack from virtual USB key and installs OS installation pack on host and OS is executed when started up after installation, and OS installation pack includes/OS installation image includes driver/answer file/files/instructions/scripts/application groups to be executed/etc. that are installed and executed (host/device including local agent/local agent/etc. accesses virtual media to retrieve/obtain/install/execute/etc. executable files of the operating system installation image).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add sending, by the agent, a request to the baseboard management controller, for the baseboard management controller to mount the operating system installation image as virtual media; responsive to the request, mounting, by the baseboard management controller, the operating system installation image as virtual media; and accessing, by the local agent, the virtual media to retrieve executable files of the operating system installation image, as conceptually taught by Xu, into that of Warkentin and Braun because these modifications allow for a baseboard management controller to be used to store/mount/etc. operating system data/information/etc. and to be used in installing the operating system, which is desirable as it increases the usability of the baseboard management controller and allows it to perform known actions to be used in installing the operating system, thereby helping to ensure that the operating system is successfully installed and the device operates correctly/as desired.
Claims 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warkentin et al. (herein called Warkentin) (US PG Pub. 2023/0229481 A1) and Braun et al. (herein called Braun) (US PG Pub. 2011/0246981 A1) in further view of Fukumi (US PG Pub. 2008/0016200 A1).
As per claim 13, Warkentin further teaches: wherein:
the server is added to a server group (pars. [0025], administrator specifies host device (the server) as belonging to a group/user group/group of accounts/etc. (server/host device is added to a server group).);
the server group is associated with a policy (pars. [0021], [0025]-[0027], host devices/servers/etc. in group/user group/etc. have user accounts and are managed by management service which have compliance rules (policy) specifying configurable criteria/existing state of host device/etc. that host devices are required to satisfy (server group/host devices in user group/etc. is associated with policy/compliance rules) that are determined based on user accounts.); and
the instructions, when executed by the at least one machine, further cause the at least one machine to generate the trigger (pars. [0041], [0065], management service may transmit command to update/install operating system, user indication to install management operating system on devices is obtained via user interface, etc. (generate the trigger/transmit command to update operating system/receive user indication to install operating system/etc.).).
Warkentin and Braun do not explicitly state, however Fukimi teaches:
responsive to determining that the policy contains a rule to initiate installation of the operating system on the server due to the server being added to the group, generate the trigger (pars. [0003]-[0004], [0009], [0014], [0032]-[0033], [0042], [0064], when server is added to server system/operation system (server is added to group/server system/etc.), operating system/disk image/distribution source image including operating system/etc. of distribution server is installed/copied to server/etc. being added so that added server is operational. As the operating system is installed/copied to servers as the servers are added to the server group/system/etc. and not before, the trigger to install the operating system is generated/installation of the operating system starts/etc. due to the server being added to the server group, and as the policy/rule/etc. contains/may be/includes/etc. a rule to initiate installation of the operating system on the server due to the server being added to the group).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add responsive to determining that the policy contains a rule to initiate installation of the operating system on the server due to the server being added to the group, generate the trigger, as conceptually taught by Fukumi, into that of Warkentin and Braun because these modifications allow for the operating system to be installed to servers as needed, thereby saving time and resources installing operating systems on servers that do not need operating system installations.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warkentin et al. (herein called Warkentin) (US PG Pub. 2023/0229481 A1) and Braun et al. (herein called Braun) (US PG Pub. 2011/0246981 A1) in further view of Balakrishnan et al. (herein called Balakrishnan) (US PG Pub. 2015/0331694 A1).
As per claim 19, Warkentin and Braun do not explicitly state, however Balakrishnan teaches:
wherein the host processor to further execute the agent to install a firmware update manager (pars. [0058]-[0062], [0066]-[0068], OS installer (agent) is executed by CPU of host device/host processor to install hardware specific drivers of operating system (firmware) and write/record status file indicating OS installation status to virtual storage of BMC which is periodically checked to determine OS installation status (install firmware/OS drivers/etc. update manager).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the host processor to further execute the agent to install a firmware update manager, as conceptually taught by Balakrishnan, into that of Warkentin and Braun because these modifications allow for firmware/drivers/etc. of the operating system to be installed and managed thereby helping to ensure that the operating system is successfully installed and operates as desired.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rao et al. US PG Pub. 2020/0142683 A1 teaches that during booting of a server an operating system installer on a baseboard management controller of the server may be used to check for and install operating system/software/etc. updates.
Lin US PG Pub. 2019/0391816 A1 teaches that baseboard management controller may mount operating system image including an OS installer to host system and trigger the OS installer to install the OS with desired settings/configuration/etc.
/DOUGLAS M SLACHTA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2193