The preliminary amendment filed 3/25/2024 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim 4 is objected to.
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to Claim 10, Claim 10 recites: “receiving, by a communication apparatus, a first received signal at a third moment, and receiving a second received signal at a fourth moment” (emphasis added). However, a first moment and a second moment are not recited in Claim 10, where a “third moment” of Claim 10 suggests there are a first moment and a second moment. The examiner will treat the above claim excerpt to indicate: receiving, by a communication apparatus, a first received signal at a first moment, and receiving a second received signal at a second moment.
Claims 11-18 are rejected through dependence from Claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20090285193 A1) in view of Takeda et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200358582 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Kim and Takeda.
In regard to Claim 1, Kim teaches A communication method, wherein the method comprises: determining, by a communication apparatus (a base station, Para. 220), a first signal, wherein the first signal comprises a reference signal block (The `RS symbol period area`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a), the reference signal block comprises a first reference signal (The `RS symbol period area` is divided into `RS symbol period area(0)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a) and a second reference signal (and `RS symbol period area(1)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a).
Kim teaches sending, by the communication apparatus, the first reference signal at a first moment (`RS symbol period area(0)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a).
Kim teaches sending, by the communication apparatus, the second reference signal at a second moment (`RS symbol period area(1)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a), wherein a time interval (The `RS symbol period area` is divided into `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a. FIG. 5a shows an interval of time in the `RS symbol period area` between `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)`) between the first moment (`RS symbol period area(0)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a) and the second moment (`RS symbol period area(1)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a) is equal to a time interval of X transmitted signals (FIG. 5a shows 6 resource elements transmitted in the `RS symbol period area` between `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)`), and a time interval of two consecutive transmitted signals (FIG. 5a shows at least 2 consecutive resource elements in the `RS symbol period area` between `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)`) is Ts/n (FIG. 5a shows the interval of time in the `RS symbol period area` between `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)` is divided by 6 resource elements), wherein X is a positive integer (FIG. 5a shows 6 resource elements transmitted in the `RS symbol period area` between `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)`), Ts is a symbol periodicity (An `RS symbol period area` defined in the `RS symbol period`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a), and n is a quantity of signals transmitted (FIG. 5a shows 6 resource elements transmitted in the `RS symbol period area` between `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)`) in the symbol periodicity (The `RS symbol period area`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a).
Although Kim teaches the first reference signal and the second reference signal, Kim fails to teach the second signal indicates that a value of the first reference signal at a receiving end is a preset received value.
Takeda teaches the second signal (downlink signals for RLM (also referred to as “DL-RSs (Reference Signals)”), Para. 22. In step S105, the radio base station transmits a response signal, Para. 42, FIG. 1. The transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state from the base station, Para. 45, FIG. 1. The TCI-state may indicate information about the QCL of the PDCCH (also referred to as “QCL information,”). This QCL information for the may include, for example, at least one of information about the DL-RS that holds a QCL relationship (DL-RS-related information), Para. 48, FIG. 1. The DL-RS-related information, Para. 49) indicates that a value of the first reference signal (the DL-RS-related information may, among the reference signals included in the RS sets, indicate predetermined DL-RS s that hold a QCL relationship with a PDSCH (or the DMRS port for a PDSCH) and the resources for the DL-RSs, Para. 49, FIG. 1) at a receiving end (user terminal, Para. 43, FIG. 1) is a preset received value (indicate predetermined DL-RS s that hold a QCL relationship with a PDSCH (or the DMRS port for a PDSCH) and the resources for the DL-RSs, Para. 49, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Takeda with the teachings of Kim since Takeda provides a technique for a signal to indicate predetermined reference signals having a relationship with a channel and the resources for the reference signals, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit a base station to utilize signals to indicate characteristics of predetermined reference signals for accurate time reception and processing of those reference signals.
In regard to Claim 19, Kim teaches A communication apparatus, comprising: a transceiver (a base station, Para. 220); at least one processor (processor, Para. 218); and a memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor (A software code may be stored in a memory unit and driven by a processor, Para. 218) to: determine a first signal, wherein the first signal comprises a reference signal block (The `RS symbol period area`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a), the reference signal block comprises a first reference signal (The `RS symbol period area` is divided into `RS symbol period area(0)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a) and a second reference signal (and `RS symbol period area(1)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a).
Kim teaches send, through the transceiver, the first reference signal at a first moment (`RS symbol period area(0)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a).
Kim teaches send, through the transceiver, the second reference signal at a second moment (`RS symbol period area(1)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a), wherein a time interval (The `RS symbol period area` is divided into `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a. FIG. 5a shows an interval of time in the `RS symbol period area` between `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)`) between the first moment (`RS symbol period area(0)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a) and the second moment (`RS symbol period area(1)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a) is equal to a time interval of X transmitted signals (FIG. 5a shows 6 resource elements transmitted in the `RS symbol period area` between `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)`), and a time interval of two consecutive transmitted signals (FIG. 5a shows at least 2 consecutive resource elements in the `RS symbol period area` between `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)`) is Ts/n (FIG. 5a shows the interval of time in the `RS symbol period area` between `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)` is divided by 6 resource elements), wherein X is a positive integer (FIG. 5a shows 6 resource elements transmitted in the `RS symbol period area` between `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)`), Ts is a symbol periodicity (An `RS symbol period area` defined in the `RS symbol period`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a), and n is a quantity of signals transmitted (FIG. 5a shows 6 resource elements transmitted in the `RS symbol period area` between `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)`) in the symbol periodicity (The `RS symbol period area`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a).
Although Kim teaches the first reference signal and the second reference signal, Kim fails to teach the second signal indicates that a value of the first reference signal at a receiving end is a preset received value.
Takeda teaches the second signal (downlink signals for RLM (also referred to as “DL-RSs (Reference Signals)”), Para. 22. In step S105, the radio base station transmits a response signal, Para. 42, FIG. 1. The transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state from the base station, Para. 45, FIG. 1. The TCI-state may indicate information about the QCL of the PDCCH (also referred to as “QCL information,”). This QCL information for the may include, for example, at least one of information about the DL-RS that holds a QCL relationship (DL-RS-related information), Para. 48, FIG. 1. The DL-RS-related information, Para. 49) indicates that a value of the first reference signal (the DL-RS-related information may, among the reference signals included in the RS sets, indicate predetermined DL-RS s that hold a QCL relationship with a PDSCH (or the DMRS port for a PDSCH) and the resources for the DL-RSs, Para. 49, FIG. 1) at a receiving end (user terminal, Para. 43, FIG. 1) is a preset received value (indicate predetermined DL-RS s that hold a QCL relationship with a PDSCH (or the DMRS port for a PDSCH) and the resources for the DL-RSs, Para. 49, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Takeda with the teachings of Kim since Takeda provides a technique for a signal to indicate predetermined reference signals having a relationship with a channel and the resources for the reference signals, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit a base station to utilize signals to indicate characteristics of predetermined reference signals for accurate time reception and processing of those reference signals.
Claim(s) 2 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Takeda, and further in view of Dong (Pub. No.: US 20240007989 A1), hereafter referred to as Dong.
In regard to Claim 2, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim in view of Takeda teaches the first reference signal.
Kim in view of Takeda fails to teach the preset received value of the first reference signal is a subset of a preset set of values.
Dong teaches the preset received value of the first reference signal is a subset of a preset set of values (the UE may receive second indication information. The second indication information is configured to instruct the terminal to determine the PRS configuration parameter based on the PRS configuration parameter set. The UE may determine, according to the received second indication information, the PRS configuration parameter used by the UE for receiving the PRS, Para. 59. The PRS configuration determined by the UE for receiving the PRS may be a subset of the PRS configuration parameter set preconfigured by the UE. The determined PRS configuration for receiving the PRS is referred to as a PRS configuration parameter subset, that is, the network preconfigures the PRS configuration parameter set for the UE through the first indication information, Para. 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong with the teachings of Kim in view of Takeda since Dong provides a technique for utilizing a preset set of values with which to select an appropriate subset of values, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim in view of Takeda to permit an optimal subset of information of reference signals to be utilized from a preset set of information concerning reference signals.
In regard to Claim 20, as presented in the rejection of Claim 19, Kim in view of Takeda teaches the first reference signal.
Kim in view of Takeda fails to teach the preset received value of the first reference signal is a subset of a preset set of values.
Dong teaches the preset received value of the first reference signal is a subset of a preset set of values (the UE may receive second indication information. The second indication information is configured to instruct the terminal to determine the PRS configuration parameter based on the PRS configuration parameter set. The UE may determine, according to the received second indication information, the PRS configuration parameter used by the UE for receiving the PRS, Para. 59. The PRS configuration determined by the UE for receiving the PRS may be a subset of the PRS configuration parameter set preconfigured by the UE. The determined PRS configuration for receiving the PRS is referred to as a PRS configuration parameter subset, that is, the network preconfigures the PRS configuration parameter set for the UE through the first indication information, Para. 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong with the teachings of Kim in view of Takeda since Dong provides a technique for utilizing a preset set of values with which to select an appropriate subset of values, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim in view of Takeda to permit an optimal subset of information of reference signals to be utilized from a preset set of information concerning reference signals.
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Takeda, and further in view of Ren et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220322105 A1), hereafter referred to as Ren.
In regard to Claim 3, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim in view of Takeda teaches the second reference signal.
Kim fails to teach a value of the second signal is determined based on a value of the first reference signal, the preset received value of the first reference signal.
Takeda teaches a value of the second signal (The TCI-state may indicate information about the QCL of the PDCCH (also referred to as “QCL information,”). This QCL information for the may include, for example, at least one of information about the DL-RS that holds a QCL relationship (DL-RS-related information), Para. 48, FIG. 1. The DL-RS-related information, Para. 49) is determined based on a value of the first reference signal (the DL-RS-related information may, among the reference signals included in the RS sets, indicate predetermined DL-RS s that hold a QCL relationship with a PDSCH (or the DMRS port for a PDSCH), Para. 49, FIG. 1).
Takeda teaches the preset received value of the first reference signal (the DL-RS-related information may, among the reference signals included in the RS sets, indicate the resources for the DL-RSs, Para. 49, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Takeda with the teachings of Kim since Takeda provides a technique for a signal to indicate predetermined reference signals having a relationship with a channel and the resources for the reference signals, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit a base station to utilize signals to indicate characteristics of predetermined reference signals for accurate time reception and processing of those reference signals.
Kim in view of Takeda fails to teach a value of an interference to the first reference signal.
Ren teaches a value of an interference to the first reference signal (the UE measures the first PRS according to the first PRS configuration information to obtain a first beam information measurement value (including but not limited to SINR), and determines a first beam information reporting value, Para. 97).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong with the teachings of Kim in view of Takeda since Dong provides a technique for utilizing SINR values related to reference signals for determining another value, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim in view of Takeda to permit SINR values related to reference signals to be utilized for determining reference signal-related information.
In regard to Claim 5, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim in view of Takeda teaches the second reference signal.
Kim in view of Takeda fails to teach the interference to the first reference signal comprises inter-symbol interference caused by the second reference signal to the first reference signal, or non-linear interference caused by precoding of the communication apparatus.
Ren teaches the interference to the first reference signal comprises inter-symbol interference caused by the second reference signal to the first reference signal (QCL refers to that large-scale parameters of a channel gone through by symbols on a certain antenna port are deduced from a channel gone through by symbols on another antenna port. The large-scale parameters include delay spread, average delay, Doppler spread, Doppler shift, an average gain, a space receiving parameter, etc, Para. 82. The UE measures the first PRS according to the first PRS configuration information to obtain a first beam information measurement value (including but not limited to SINR), and determines a first beam information reporting value, Para. 97), or non-linear interference caused by precoding of the communication apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong with the teachings of Kim in view of Takeda since Dong provides a technique for utilizing SINR values related to reference signals for determining another value, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim in view of Takeda to permit SINR values related to reference signals to be utilized for determining reference signal-related information.
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Takeda, and further in view of Sun et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240031095 A1), hereafter referred to as Sun.
In regard to Claim 6, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim in view of Takeda teaches the second reference signal.
Kim in view of Takeda fails to teach sending, by the communication apparatus, first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates at least one of location information or quantity information of the second reference signal.
Sun teaches sending, by the communication apparatus, first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates at least one of location information (generating, for a receiver device, a configuration of DMRSs for a PSSCH, the configuration indicating a plurality of DMRS positions in a slot, the plurality of DMRS positions including more than four positions. In an example, each DMRS position corresponds to a symbol location in the slot and is indicated with an index of this symbol location, Para. 100) or quantity information of the second reference signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Kim in view of Takeda since Sun provides a technique for indicating locations of reference signals through an index, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim in view of Takeda to permit RS symbol period areas to be accurately located though an index.
In regard to Claim 7, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim in view of Takeda teaches the second reference signal.
Kim in view of Takeda fails to teach the location information indicates a location index of the second reference signal, or a difference between the location index of the second reference signal and the location index of the first reference signal.
Sun teaches the location information indicates a location index of the second reference signal (generating, for a receiver device, a configuration of DMRSs for a PSSCH, the configuration indicating a plurality of DMRS positions in a slot, the plurality of DMRS positions including more than four positions. In an example, each DMRS position corresponds to a symbol location in the slot and is indicated with an index of this symbol location, Para. 100), or a difference between the location index of the second reference signal and the location index of the first reference signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Kim in view of Takeda since Sun provides a technique for indicating locations of reference signals through an index, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim in view of Takeda to permit RS symbol period areas to be accurately located though an index.
In regard to Claim 8, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim in view of Takeda teaches the method.
Kim in view of Takeda fails to teach the first indication information is carried in at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, media access control-control element (MAC-CE) signaling, and downlink control information (DCI).
Sun teaches the first indication information is carried in at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling (the different configurations of the possible resource pools are indicated to the receiver device by using RRC signaling, Para. 95), media access control-control element (MAC-CE) signaling, and downlink control information (DCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Kim in view of Takeda since Sun provides a technique for indicating locations of reference signals through an index, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim in view of Takeda to permit RS symbol period areas to be accurately located though an index.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim in view of Takeda teaches the second reference signal.
Kim in view of Takeda fails to teach sending, by the communication apparatus, second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates that the second reference signal exists in the reference signal block.
Sun teaches sending, by the communication apparatus, second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates that the second reference signal exists in the reference signal block (The reference signals may also include channel status information reference signals (CSI-RS), Para. 41. The reference signals and information from the physical channels may be mapped to resources of a resource grid. Twelve consecutive subcarriers in the frequency domain may compose a physical resource block (PRB), Para. 42. FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a resource grid usable for DMRS transmission, Para. 48, FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Kim in view of Takeda since Sun provides a technique for indicating locations of reference signals through an index, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim in view of Takeda to permit RS symbol period areas to be accurately located though an index.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20090285193 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220303097 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Kim and Zhang.
In regard to Claim 10, Kim teaches A communication method, wherein the method comprises: receiving, by a communication apparatus (user equipment, Para. 220), a first received signal at a third moment (`RS symbol period area(0)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a), and receiving a second received signal at a fourth moment (`RS symbol period area(1)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a), wherein the first received signal is a received first reference signal transmitted through a radio channel (`RS symbol period area(0)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a), the second received signal is a received second reference signal transmitted through the radio channel (`RS symbol period area(1)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a), an interval (The `RS symbol period area` is divided into `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a. FIG. 5a shows an interval of time in the `RS symbol period area` between `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)`) between the third moment (`RS symbol period area(0)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a) and the fourth moment (`RS symbol period area(1)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a) is equal to a time interval of X transmitted signals (FIG. 5a shows 6 resource elements transmitted in the `RS symbol period area` between `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)`), and a time interval of two consecutive transmitted signals (FIG. 5a shows at least 2 consecutive resource elements in the `RS symbol period area` between `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)`) is Ts/n (FIG. 5a shows the interval of time in the `RS symbol period area` between `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)` is divided by 6 resource elements), wherein X is a positive integer (FIG. 5a shows 6 resource elements transmitted in the `RS symbol period area` between `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)`), Ts is a symbol periodicity (An `RS symbol period area` defined in the `RS symbol period`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a), and n is a quantity of signals transmitted (FIG. 5a shows 6 resource elements transmitted in the `RS symbol period area` between `RS symbol period area(0)` and `RS symbol period area(1)`) in the symbol periodicity (The `RS symbol period area`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a).
Kim teaches the first reference signal (`RS symbol period area(0)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a), the first received signal (`RS symbol period area(0)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a), the second received signal (`RS symbol period area(1)`, Para. 72, FIG. 5a).
Although Kim teaches the first reference signal and the second reference signal, Kim fails to teach the second signal indicates that a value of the first reference signal at a receiving end is a preset received value, and although Kim teaches the first reference signal, the first received signal, the second received signal, Kim fails to teach determining, by the communication apparatus, phase noise based on the first reference signal and the preset received value of the first reference signal.
Zhang teaches the second signal indicates that a value of the first reference signal at a receiving end is a preset received value (the configuration information may be received from higher-layer signaling. The higher-layer signaling may include RRC signaling, Para. 99. The configuration information may indicate that the PTRS-to-DMRS association is based on a predefined value, Para. 101).
Zhang teaches determining, by the communication apparatus, phase noise based on the first reference signal (an uplink phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) with the PUSCH to allow the base station 108 to estimate and compensate for both phase noise and frequency offset, Para. 39. Compensate for phase noise impact and phase shift in the DMRS 204, Para. 41) and the preset received value of the first reference signal (the configuration information may be received from higher-layer signaling, Para. 99. The configuration information may indicate that the PTRS-to-DMRS association is based on a predefined value, Para. 101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Kim since Zhang provides a technique for a signal to indicate predetermined reference signals having a relationship with a channel and the resources for the reference signals that can be used to determine and compensate for phase noise, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit a base station to utilize signals to indicate characteristics of predetermined reference signals for accurate time reception and processing of those reference signals with respect to phase noise.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Zhang, and further in view of Dong (Pub. No.: US 20240007989 A1), hereafter referred to as Dong.
In regard to Claim 11, as presented in the rejection of Claim 10, Kim in view of Zhang teaches the first reference signal.
Kim in view of Zhang fails to teach the preset received value of the first reference signal is a subset of a preset set of values.
Dong teaches the preset received value of the first reference signal is a subset of a preset set of values (the UE may receive second indication information. The second indication information is configured to instruct the terminal to determine the PRS configuration parameter based on the PRS configuration parameter set. The UE may determine, according to the received second indication information, the PRS configuration parameter used by the UE for receiving the PRS, Para. 59. The PRS configuration determined by the UE for receiving the PRS may be a subset of the PRS configuration parameter set preconfigured by the UE. The determined PRS configuration for receiving the PRS is referred to as a PRS configuration parameter subset, that is, the network preconfigures the PRS configuration parameter set for the UE through the first indication information, Para. 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong with the teachings of Kim in view of Zhang since Dong provides a technique for utilizing a preset set of values with which to select an appropriate subset of values, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim in view of Zhang to permit an optimal subset of information of reference signals to be utilized from a preset set of information concerning reference signals.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Zhang, and further in view of Ren et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220322105 A1), hereafter referred to as Ren.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 10, Kim in view of Zhang teaches the second reference signal.
Kim fails to teach a value of the first reference signal is determined based on a value of the second reference signal, the preset received value of the first reference signal.
Zhang teaches a value of the first reference signal is determined based on a value of the second reference signal (an uplink phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) with the PUSCH to allow the base station 108 to estimate and compensate for both phase noise and frequency offset, Para. 39. Compensate for phase noise impact and phase shift in the DMRS 204, Para. 41).
Zhang teaches the preset received value of the first reference signal (the configuration information may be received from higher-layer signaling. The higher-layer signaling may include RRC signaling, Para. 99. The configuration information may indicate that the PTRS-to-DMRS association is based on a predefined value, Para. 101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Kim since Zhang provides a technique for a signal to indicate predetermined reference signals having a relationship with a channel and the resources for the reference signals that can be used to determine and compensate for phase noise, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit a base station to utilize signals to indicate characteristics of predetermined reference signals for accurate time reception and processing of those reference signals with respect to phase noise.
Kim in view of Zhang fails to teach a value of an interference to the first reference signal.
Ren teaches a value of an interference to the first reference signal (the UE measures the first PRS according to the first PRS configuration information to obtain a first beam information measurement value (including but not limited to SINR), and determines a first beam information reporting value, Para. 97).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong with the teachings of Kim in view of Zhang since Dong provides a technique for utilizing SINR values related to reference signals for determining another value, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim in view of Zhang to permit SINR values related to reference signals to be utilized for determining reference signal-related information.
In regard to Claim 13, as presented in the rejection of Claim 10, Kim in view of Zhang teaches the first reference signal.
Kim fails to teach the value of the first reference signal is y(m), and y(m) = S(m), wherein S(m) is a preset received value of an mth reference signal at the receiving end, and m is a location index of the first reference signal.
Zhang teaches the value of the first reference signal is y(m), and y(m) = S(m), wherein S(m) is a preset received value of an mth reference signal at the receiving end, and m is a location index of the first reference signal (the association may be determined by a number of associated DMRS ports (N) and repetition index (k), Para. 71. The PTRS-to-DMRS association may be determined for each repetition of a repetition set based on a repetition index (k), Para. 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Kim since Zhang provides a technique for a signal to indicate predetermined reference signals having a relationship with a channel and the resources for the reference signals that can be used to determine and compensate for phase noise, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit a base station to utilize signals to indicate characteristics of predetermined reference signals for accurate time reception and processing of those reference signals with respect to phase noise.
In regard to Claim 14, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim in view of Zhang teaches the second reference signal.
Kim in view of Zhang fails to teach the interference to the first reference signal comprises inter-symbol interference caused by the second reference signal to the first reference signal, or non-linear interference caused by precoding of the communication apparatus.
Ren teaches the interference to the first reference signal comprises inter-symbol interference caused by the second reference signal to the first reference signal (QCL refers to that large-scale parameters of a channel gone through by symbols on a certain antenna port are deduced from a channel gone through by symbols on another antenna port. The large-scale parameters include delay spread, average delay, Doppler spread, Doppler shift, an average gain, a space receiving parameter, etc, Para. 82. The UE measures the first PRS according to the first PRS configuration information to obtain a first beam information measurement value (including but not limited to SINR), and determines a first beam information reporting value, Para. 97), or non-linear interference caused by precoding of the communication apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dong with the teachings of Kim in view of Zhang since Dong provides a technique for utilizing SINR values related to reference signals for determining another value, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim in view of Zhang to permit SINR values related to reference signals to be utilized for determining reference signal-related information.
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Zhang, and further in view of Sun et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240031095 A1), hereafter referred to as Sun.
In regard to Claim 15, as presented in the rejection of Claim 10, Kim in view of Zhang teaches the second reference signal.
Kim in view of Zhang fails to teach receiving, by the communication apparatus, first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates at least one of location information or quantity information of the second reference signal.
Sun teaches receiving, by the communication apparatus, first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates at least one of location information (generating, for a receiver device, a configuration of DMRSs for a PSSCH, the configuration indicating a plurality of DMRS positions in a slot, the plurality of DMRS positions including more than four positions. In an example, each DMRS position corresponds to a symbol location in the slot and is indicated with an index of this symbol location, Para. 100) or quantity information of the second reference signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Kim in view of Zhang since Sun provides a technique for indicating locations of reference signals through an index, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim in view of Zhang to permit RS symbol period areas to be accurately located though an index.
In regard to Claim 16, as presented in the rejection of Claim 10, Kim in view of Zhang teaches the second reference signal.
Kim in view of Zhang fails to teach the location information indicates a location index of the second reference signal, or indicates a difference between the location index of the second reference signal and the location index of the first reference signal.
Sun teaches the location information indicates a location index of the second reference signal (generating, for a receiver device, a configuration of DMRSs for a PSSCH, the configuration indicating a plurality of DMRS positions in a slot, the plurality of DMRS positions including more than four positions. In an example, each DMRS position corresponds to a symbol location in the slot and is indicated with an index of this symbol location, Para. 100), or indicates a difference between the location index of the second reference signal and the location index of the first reference signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Kim in view of Zhang since Sun provides a technique for indicating locations of reference signals through an index, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim in view of Zhang to permit RS symbol period areas to be accurately located though an index.
In regard to Claim 17, as presented in the rejection of Claim 10, Kim in view of Zhang teaches the method.
Kim in view of Zhang fails to teach the first indication information is carried in at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, media access control-control element (MAC-CE) signaling, and downlink control information (DCI).
Sun teaches the first indication information is carried in at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling (the different configurations of the possible resource pools are indicated to the receiver device by using RRC signaling, Para. 95), media access control-control element (MAC-CE) signaling, and downlink control information (DCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Kim in view of Zhang since Sun provides a technique for indicating locations of reference signals through an index, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim in view of Zhang to permit RS symbol period areas to be accurately located though an index.
In regard to Claim 18, as presented in the rejection of Claim 10, Kim in view of Zhang teaches the second reference signal.
Kim in view of Zhang fails to teach receiving, by the communication apparatus, second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates that the second reference signal exists in a reference signal block.
Sun teaches receiving, by the communication apparatus, second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates that the second reference signal exists in a reference signal block (The reference signals may also include channel status information reference signals (CSI-RS), Para. 41. The reference signals and information from the physical channels may be mapped to resources of a resource grid. Twelve consecutive subcarriers in the frequency domain may compose a physical resource block (PRB), Para. 42. FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a resource grid usable for DMRS transmission, Para. 48, FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Kim in view of Zhang since Sun provides a technique for indicating locations of reference signals through an index, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim in view of Zhang to permit RS symbol period areas to be accurately located though an index.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
2-3-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477