DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Notice of AIA Status
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over corresponding claims 1, 16, 17, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 18, 13, 14, 15, 19, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,899,921. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are generic to a species or sub-genus claimed in the aforementioned patent (i.e., the entire scope of one or more of the present claims fall within the scope of one or more of the claims of the aforementioned patent).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 10, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Religa et al., US 2023/0082729 A1, in view of Johnson et al., US 2018/0315428 A1.
Regarding claim 1, the combination of Religa with Johnson renders obvious a method comprising:
Receiving, at a computing device, a transcription of an audio recording. Religa teaches a method that may be performed on a text document authored by a document authoring/editing application (e.g., Microsoft Word). Religa ¶¶ 21, 33. Religa does not explicitly state that the authored text document may be a transcription of an audio recording. However, nothing in Religa’s disclosure suggests that its disclosed method would be limited by the content of the text document. Nevertheless, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a document authoring/editing application, such as Microsoft Word, could readily be employed to produce a transcription of an audio recording. Furthermore, Johnson teaches the generation and presentation of a text document comprising a transcription of an audio recording. Johnson ¶ 159-160, figs. 15-16.
Associating one or more tags with each text section of a plurality of text sections, wherein each associated tag is extracted from text of the transcription. Religa teaches demarcating section breaks in a document and inserting labels corresponding to the demarcated sections. Religa ¶ 34. The labels may be generated based on the content of one or more paragraphs immediately following the respective section breaks. Id. ¶ 36.
Providing, for display on the computing device, a representation of the transcription and a scroller interface. Religa fig. 12, ¶¶ 92-94.
Wherein the scroller interface allows for navigation to each text section of the plurality of text sections based on user navigation to a tag associated with the text section. Religa teaches that selection of a section label may cause navigation to the respective section of the document. Religa ¶¶ 21, 94.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify Religa’s graphical user interface for navigating a text document with Johnson’s generation of a transcription of an audio recording. Such a modification would increase usability by allowing a user to readily navigate a transcription document.
Regarding claim 4, which depends on claim 1, Religa discloses wherein the one or more tags are displayed for selection in the scroller interface without an associated timeline. Religa fig. 12, ¶¶ 92-94.
Regarding claim 6, which depends on claim 1, Religa discloses wherein only proximate tags to a current navigational position in the transcription are displayed for selection in the scroller interface. Religa fig. 12, ¶¶ 21, 92-94.
Regarding claim 7, which depends on claim 1, Religa discloses determining, for each text section of the plurality of text sections, a ranking of the one or more tags associated with the text section, wherein each tag displayed in the scroller interface is a highest-ranked tag for an associated text section. Religa ¶ 46.
Regarding claim 8, which depends on claim 1, Religa discloses wherein associating the one or more tags with each text section of the plurality of text sections comprises aggregating results from application of a first model and a second model, wherein the first model is an algorithmic model, and wherein the second model is a machine learning model. Religa teaches that the section break classification module may be an algorithmic (“rule-based”) model. Religa ¶ 46. Religa teaches the section label classification module may be a machine learning model. Id. ¶ 45. The results from the two modules may be aggregated as part of the process of associating a tag with a text section. Id. ¶ 50.
Regarding claim 10, which depends on claim 8, the combination of Religa with Johnson renders obvious wherein the machine learning model is configured to identify contextually relevant tags by taking the transcription as input. Religa teaches taking a text document as input. Religa ¶ 78. Religa does not explicitly state that the text document may be a transcription. However, as explained above, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a document authoring/editing application, such as Microsoft Word, could readily be employed to produce a transcription of an audio recording. Furthermore, Johnson teaches the generation and presentation of a text document comprising a transcription of an audio recording. Johnson ¶ 159-160, figs. 15-16.
Claim 19 is drawn to an apparatus that implements the method recited in claim 1. Accordingly, this claim is rejected for substantially the same reasons as indicated in the above rejection of the corresponding claim.
Claim 20 is drawn to instructions stored in a medium that implement the method recited in claim 1. Accordingly, this claim is rejected for substantially the same reasons as indicated in the above rejection of the corresponding claim.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Religa et al., US 2023/0082729 A1, in view of Johnson et al., US 2018/0315428 A1, further in view of Gibson, US 5,526,480 A.
Regarding claim 2, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Religa with Gibson renders obvious wherein the scroller interface comprises a scrollbar with an annotation displayed for each tag associated with a text section of the plurality of text sections. Religa teaches a graphical user interface displaying a document and labels for each of multiple sections. Religa fig. 12, ¶¶ 92-94. Religa teaches that the document is scrollable. Id. ¶¶ 21, 94. Religa does not explicitly disclose a scrollbar. However, Gibson teaches a graphical user interface for navigating textual content that includes a scrollbar with labels corresponding to sections of the content. Gibson figs. 3a, 3b.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify Religa’s graphical user interface for navigating a text document with Gibson’s use of a scrollbar with labels corresponding to sections of content. Such a modification would increase usability by allowing a user to easily access portions of content.
Regarding claim 3, which depends on claim 2, the combination of Religa with Gibson renders obvious wherein the annotation displayed for each tag is positioned relative to the scrollbar based on a timestamp of the text section associated with the tag. Gibson teaches positioning the labels on the scrollbar relative to time codes. Gibson 1:64-2:11, 6:23-36.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Religa et al., US 2023/0082729 A1, in view of Johnson et al., US 2018/0315428 A1, further in view of Taboada et al., US 2007/0061755 A1.
Regarding claim 5, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Religa with Taboada renders obvious wherein the one or more tags are displayed for selection in the scroller interface in a dropdown list. Religa teaches displaying section labels in a scroller interface for navigating to a corresponding location. Religa fig. 12, ¶¶ 92-94. Religa does not explicitly disclose displaying the section labels in a dropdown list. However, Taboada teaches displaying a dropdown navigation menu with section labels for selection. Taboada fig. 5 (dropdown navigation menu 505), ¶¶ 38-41.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify Religa’s graphical user interface for navigating a text document with Taboada’s use of a dropdown navigation menu. Such a modification would increase usability by allowing a user to easily “jump” to portions of content. See Taboada ¶ 2.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Religa et al., US 2023/0082729 A1, in view of Johnson et al., US 2018/0315428 A1, further in view of Stuart et al., US 2016/0170595 A1.
Regarding claim 15, which depends on claim 1, Religa does not explicitly disclose, but
Stuart discloses in response to user navigation to a particular tag, highlighting text corresponding to the particular tag in the representation of the transcription. Stuart teaches highlighting the text of a tag associated with a section of text in response to a user selecting the tag. Stuart ¶ 59, fig. 3.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify Religa’s graphical user interface for navigating a text document with Stuart’s use of a dropdown navigation menu. Such a modification would increase usability by allowing a user to readily that a tag has been selected.
Conclusion
Although particular portions of the prior art may have been cited in support of the rejections, the specified citations are merely representative of the teachings. Other passages and figures in the cited prior art may apply. Accordingly, Applicant should consider the entirety of the cited prior art for potentially teaching all or part of the claims.
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Ishikawa, US 5,506,951 A, discloses a graphical user interface comprising a scroll bar with jump tags.
Asher D. Kells
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2171
/Asher D Kells/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171