Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection includes a combination of teachings not applied in the prior rejections of record. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gohl et al. (US Pub 2015/0132622 cited in IDS) in view of Kuwabara et al. (JP 2011-249243 A cited in IDS, a machine translation of which is attached).
In regard to claim 1, 6, 8 and 9, Gohl et al. teach a vehicle battery pack (paragraph [0002]) including battery module, comprising: a battery cell stack having a plurality of stacked battery cells (at least three cells 202 in cell array 212 – figure 8), each battery cell having an electrode lead (cell terminals 402, 404); and a plurality of bus bars (bus bar assembly 410 including support frame 412, upper bus bar assembly 415 and lower bus bar assembly 414) respectively disposed adjacent to the electrode leads provided at the plurality of battery cells, each bus bar having a flat portion (see annotated figure below) and an inclined portion (bend radius 1402) extending from the flat portion at an angle greater than 90 degrees and less than 180 degrees,
each flat portion extending parallel to a stacking direction of the plurality of stacked battery cells 202, wherein the electrode leads are electrically connected to the plurality of bus bars 410, 414, wherein the electrode leads overlap and contact the flat portions of the bus bars, and wherein each electrode lead 402, 404 is extends vertically between two adjacent bus bars 414, 415 and has a first bent portion bent at a slope corresponding to the inclination of the inclined portion such that the first bent portions are bent in a same direction (see paragraphs [0053-0079], figures 8-18) and a horizontal part overlapping the flat portion of the bus bar in the same direction (figure below).
In regard to the amendment, the claim now differs from Gohl et al. in calling for each electrode lead having a first bend, a second bend, a straight inclined portion between the first bend and the second bend that extends at a slope corresponding to the inclination of the inclined portion. However, Kuwabara et al. teach a similar battery module, comprising: a battery cell stack having a plurality of stacked battery cells (laminate cells 21), each battery cell having an electrode lead (cell electrode 22); and a plurality of bus bars (bus bar 23 - connection member) respectively disposed adjacent to the electrode leads provided at the plurality of battery cells, each bus bar having a flat portion (top surface 23 or inclined portion above slit 24) and an inclined portion (lower inclined portion 23b, recesses 23c, groove or slit) extending from the flat portion at an angle greater than 90 degrees and less than 180 degrees, wherein the electrode leads are electrically connected to the plurality of bus bars (welded at connection portion 25, 27), and
wherein each electrode lead 22 is located between two adjacent bus bars 23, 23 and having a first bend, a second bend (about slit 24), a straight inclined portion between the first bend and the second bend that extends at a slope corresponding to the inclination of the inclined portion (see paragraphs [0017-0073] of machine translation, various embodiments may apply including the second embodiment of figures 8-14 and the third embodiment shown in figures 15-19) because providing a slit along a flat surface allows for easy disconnection of the cells by cutting the slits (paragraph [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention filed to include a flat busbar inclined slope with a slit instead of the rounded busbar (such that two distinct bends exist in each lead) in the battery module of Gohl et al. as such allows for easy disconnection of the cells as taught by Kuwabara et al. Further, the Examiner notes changes to the shape of the prior art bus bar (such as distinct corned with flat sections instead of rounded corners) are an obvious modification absent evidence to the contrary (see MPEP 2144.04 Part IV).
In regard to claim 3, Gohl et al. teach each electrode lead 402, 404 has a second bent portion bent corresponding to the flat portion of the bus bar so that the electrode lead comes into contact with the flat portion of the bus bar (inclined portion is considered to introduce two bends to each lead).
In regard to claim 4, Gohl et al. teach each electrode lead 404 is welded at the flat portion of the bus bar to be coupled to the bus bar 410 (note that the connection portion 1502 above is considered to be “at the flat portion”).
In regard to claim 5, Gohl et al. shows a busbar plates having various shapes (figures 8-18), although none appear to explicitly show a cross-section which is a hexagonal shape, changes to size and shape of the prior art bus bar are an obvious modification absent evidence to the contrary (see MPEP 2144.04 Part IV). Kuwabara et al. also teach various shapes as seen in the variety of the embodiments in the many figures 1-50).
In regard to claim 7, Gohl et al. show examples where the bus bar assembly includes individual slits 420 connected to only one electrode lead 404 of the electrodes leads (see figures 8, paragraph [0055]). Making the bus bar of the prior art into separate components or one integral component are obvious changes absent evidence to the contrary (MPEP 2144.04 Part V).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US Pub 2016/0315359 and USP 10,862,095 (newly cited) teach electrode welding.
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723