DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendment dated 6/11/2026. The previous drawing and specification objections have been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment. The previous 112 rejection has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment. Claims 1, 3-11, 13-21, and 23-28 remain pending. Claims 7-10 and 18-20 remain withdrawn. Claims 24-28 are newly presented. Any new ground(s) of rejection below have been made due to applicant’s amendment. This action is Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yancheng Guorun Machinery Mfg Co Ltd (CN111720577)(supplied by the applicant in the IDS dated 6/20/2024, hereinafter “Yancheng”).
Yancheng discloses a valve with seal inserts comprising: a valve housing (1) including a valve housing body (1) shaped to define an internal cavity and an outlet port (at the left or right end) extending around an outlet axis (horizontally in fig. 1), a valve (2) arranged in the internal cavity of the valve housing body, the valve formed to include a passage for selectively controlling a flow of fluid through the outlet port (fig. 1), and a monolithic elastic seal (10) that extends around the outlet axis, the monolithic elastic seal shaped to include: an internal sleeve portion including an inner contact member that engages the valve (as shown in fig. 1, the narrower diameter portion that contacts the ball) to block movement of fluid from the passage in the valve to the internal cavity of the valve housing body exterior to the valve (fig. 1), and an external ring portion (the larger diameter portion at the ends of the seal that are away from the ball) that engages a line cap (13 on the left or right side) for carrying fluid discharged from the outlet port away from the valve housing, wherein the external ring portion is axially positioned between and contacting the valve housing body (see Detail A in the annotated figure below, radially as it at least has portions that are radially between the housing radially exterior facing surface and the radially inward facing surface of the line cap that defines the fluid passage) and the line cap at a location axially and radially spaced apart from the inner contact member of the internal sleeve portion relative to the outlet axis (see Detail B in the annotated figure below), wherein the line cap includes a base (the larger diameter area near 15) and an outer shell (extending from the area of 15 toward 1) extending axially from the base toward the outlet port, wherein the valve housing body is formed to include an outer wall facing away from the valve (see Detail F in the annotated figure below) and a shoulder extending axially away from the outer wall (see Detail G in the annotated figure below) and positioned radially inward of the outer shell of the line cap (as it has portions that are radially inward of the larger diameter portion of the line cap shown at the lead line for numeral 13 in fig. 1) and radially outward of the external ring portion of the monolithic elastic seal relative to the outlet axis (fig. 1), and wherein the external ring portion engages the outer wall of the valve housing body (at Detail F in the annotated figure below) and an internal facing surface of the base of the line cap (as all the components are coupled together and thus engaged).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yancheng in view of Scull (U.S. 4,248,403).
Yancheng discloses a valve with seal inserts comprising: a valve housing (1) including a valve housing body (1) shaped to define an internal cavity (within 1) and an outlet port (at the left or right side) extending around an outlet axis (horizontally in fig. 1), a valve (2) arranged in the internal cavity of the valve housing body, the valve formed to include a passage for selectively controlling a flow of fluid through the outlet port (fig. 1), and a monolithic elastic seal (10) that extends around the outlet axis, the monolithic elastic seal shaped to include: an internal sleeve portion including an inner contact member that engages the valve (as shown in fig. 1, the narrower diameter portion that contacts the ball) to block movement of fluid from the passage in the valve to the internal cavity of the valve housing body exterior to the valve (fig. 1), and an external ring portion (the larger diameter portion at the ends of the seal that are away from the ball) that engages a line cap (13 on the left or right side) for carrying fluid discharged from the outlet port away from the valve housing, wherein the external ring portion is axially and radially positioned between and contacting the valve housing body (see Detail A in the annotated figure below, radially as it at least has portions that are radially between the housing radially exterior facing surface and the radially inward facing surface of the line cap that defines the fluid passage) and the line cap at a location axially spaced apart from the inner contact member of the internal sleeve portion relative to the outlet axis (see Detail B in the annotated figure below).
Yancheng does not appear to disclose the internal sleeve portion fixed relative to the valve housing body.
Scull teaches it was known in the art to have a rotary valve member with a valve seat (28, reads on applicant’s seal) that is threadably connected to a valve housing (24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Yancheng such that the seat/seal (which includes the internal sleeve portion) is threadably connected to the housing (and thus having the internal sleeve portion of the seat fixed relative to the valve housing body) as taught by Scull in order to more securely affix the seat to and within the housing, especially if the components 13 are removed.
Claim(s) 13-14, 16-17, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yancheng in view of Scull as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Wicher et al. (U.S. 2018/0340620).
It is noted the below ordering of claims is in order of dependency and not necessarily numerical order.
Regarding claim 23, Yancheng as modified discloses the claimed invention but does not appear to disclose a rigid seal shape retainer that engages an interior face of the internal sleeve portion inside the outlet port of the valve housing to retain a round shape of the internal sleeve portion around the outlet axis.
Wicher teaches it was known in the art to have a ball valve with a seal assembly that has a seal (2) and a rigid seal shape retainer (3, in particular the embodiment of fig. 7) that engages an interior face of an internal sleeve portion (see the location where the lead line is for numeral 3 in fig. 7) inside the outlet port of the valve housing (the port leading from the valve, not particularly depicted) to retain a round shape of the internal sleeve portion around the outlet axis (in the same manner as the applicant’s device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Yancheng by modifying the seal of Yancheng by having a rigid seal shape retainer that engages an interior face of the internal sleeve portion as taught by Wicher in order to enhance the stability and rigidity of the seal and provide a better sealing effect for a longer lifespan of the seal.
Regarding claim 13, Yancheng as modified further discloses wherein the monolithic elastic seal is overmolded onto the rigid seal shape retainer (see fig. 7 and the teaching by Wicher above, especially at the area of 30 near numeral 2). Further, to the extent that overmolded is a type of manufacturing process, Yancheng as modified is interpreted to meet this limitation as the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product in the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 14, Yancheng as modified further discloses wherein the line cap includes a base (the larger diameter flange portion at the end opposite the end that contacts 10 and the narrower portion that leads to the slightly larger diameter portion at numeral 13 in fig. 1) and an outer shell (the slightly larger diameter portion at numeral 13 in fig. 1) extending axially from a rim of the base toward the outlet port (from the base and rim portion of the base which is the portion closer to numeral from the flange portion and extending toward 10), and wherein the outer shell is located radially outward of the monolithic elastic seal and the rigid seal shape retainer relative to the outlet axis (due to the slightly wider diameter of the area where the lead line for numeral 13 is directed to in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Yancheng as modified further discloses wherein the rigid seal shape retainer includes a tube (as taught by Wicher, at the area of numeral 3 in fig. 7) that engages the interior face of the internal sleeve portion and a flange at 30 in fig. 7 of Wicher) arranged to extend from the tube perpendicularly away from the outlet axis, and wherein the flange is located axially between the valve housing body and the base of the line cap relative to the outlet axis (the rigid seal shape retainer of Wicher, now residing as part of the seal of Yancheng, will have the flange portion be located between the area of Detail A and Detail B in the annotated figure above in the axial direction and thus between the external facing surface of the valve housing body and the internal facing surface of the line cap relative to the outlet axis).
Regarding claim 17, Yancheng as modified further discloses wherein the external ring portion of the monolithic elastic seal (as taught by Wicher) extends along an inner axial face of the flange (see Detail C in the annotated figure above), an outer axial face of the flange (See Detail D in the annotated figure above), and a radially outer edge of the flange relative to the outlet axis (See Detail E in the annotated figure above).
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 21, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yancheng in view of Scull and Wicher.
Yancheng discloses a multi-way valve with seal inserts comprising: a valve housing (1) including a valve housing body (1) shaped to define an internal cavity (within 1), an inlet port (at the left or right side) extending around an inlet axis (horizontally in fig. 1), and an outlet port (the other of the left or right side) extending around an outlet axis (horizontally in fig. 1), a ball valve (2) mounted for rotation about a valve axis (vertically in fig. 1) in the internal cavity of the valve housing body, the ball valve formed to include a passage for selectively carrying fluid from the inlet port to the outlet port (fig. 1), and a monolithic elastic seal (10) that extends around the outlet axis (both the inlet and outlet axis), the monolithic elastic seal shaped to include: an internal sleeve portion including an inner contact member that engages the ball valve (as shown in fig. 1, the narrower diameter portion that contacts the ball) to block movement of fluid from the passage in the ball valve to the internal cavity of the valve housing body exterior to the ball valve when the ball valve is carrying fluid from the inlet port to the outlet port (fig. 1), and an external ring portion (the larger diameter portion at the ends of the seal that are away from the ball) that engages a line cap (13 on either the left or right side) for carrying fluid discharged from the outlet port away from the valve housing (fig. 1), wherein the external ring portion is positioned between and contacting an external facing surface of the valve housing body facing away from the ball valve (see Detail A in the annotated figure above) and an internal facing surface of the line cap facing toward the ball valve at a location axially and radially spaced apart from the inner contact member of the internal sleeve portion relative to the outlet axis (see Detail B in the annotated figure above, which is also radially spaced apart (outward) from the inner contact member of the narrower internal sleeve portion) so that compressive forces applied to the external ring portion by the external facing surface of the valve housing body and the internal facing surface of the line cap are not transferred to the inner contact member of the internal sleeve portion in order to avoid inducing excess friction on the ball valve that would resist rotation of the ball valve (as shown in fig. 1 and the annotated figure below and in the same manner as the applicant’s device).
Yancheng does not appear to disclose the internal sleeve portion fixed relative to the valve housing body or a rigid seal shape retainer that engages an interior face of the internal sleeve portion inside the outlet port of the valve housing to retain a round shape of the internal sleeve portion around the outlet axis.
Scull teaches it was known in the art to have a rotary valve member with a valve seat (28, reads on applicant’s seal) that is threadably connected to a valve housing (24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Yancheng such that the seat/seal is threadably connected to the housing (and thus having the internal sleeve portion of the seat fixed relative to the valve housing body) as taught by Scull in order to more securely affix the seat to and within the housing, especially if the components 13 are removed.
Wicher teaches it was known in the art to have a ball valve with a seal assembly that has a seal (2) and a rigid seal shape retainer (3, in particular the embodiment of fig. 7) that engages an interior face of an internal sleeve portion (see the location where the lead line is for numeral 3 in fig. 7) inside the outlet port of the valve housing (the port leading from the valve, not particularly depicted) to retain a round shape of the internal sleeve portion around the outlet axis (in the same manner as the applicant’s device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seal of Yancheng by having a rigid seal shape retainer that engages an interior face of the internal sleeve portion as taught by Wicher in order to enhance the stability and rigidity of the seal and provide a better sealing effect for a longer lifespan of the seal.
Regarding claim 3, Yancheng as modified further discloses wherein the monolithic elastic seal is overmolded onto the rigid seal shape retainer (see fig. 7 and the teaching by Wicher above, especially at the area of 30 near numeral 2). Further, to the extent that overmolded is a type of manufacturing process, Yancheng as modified is interpreted to meet this limitation as the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product in the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 4, Yancheng as modified further discloses wherein the rigid seal shape retainer includes a tube (as taught by Wicher, at the area of numeral 3 in fig. 7) that engages the interior face of the internal sleeve portion and a flange (at 30 in fig. 7 of Wicher) arranged to extend from the tube perpendicularly away from the outlet axis, and wherein the flange is located axially between the external facing surface of the valve housing body and the internal facing surface of the line cap relative to the outlet axis (the rigid seal shape retainer of Wicher, now residing as part of the seal of Yancheng, will have the flange portion be located between the area of Detail A and Detail B in the annotated figure above in the axial direction and thus between the external facing surface of the valve housing body and the internal facing surface of the line cap relative to the outlet axis).
Regarding claim 5, Yancheng as modified further discloses wherein the external ring portion of the monolithic elastic seal (as taught by Wicher) extends along an inner axial face of the flange (see Detail C in the annotated figure below), an outer axial face of the flange (See Detail D in the annotated figure below), and a radially outer edge of the flange relative to the outlet axis (See Detail E in the annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 6, Yancheng as modified further discloses wherein the external ring portion includes a first leg (at the area of Detail C in the annotated figure above), a second leg spaced apart axially from the first leg relative to the outlet axis (at the area of Detail D in the annotated figure above), and a terminal end connecting the first leg and the second leg (at the area of Detail E in the annotated figure above), and wherein the terminal end of the external ring portion is located radially between the flange of the rigid seal shape retainer and the valve housing body relative to the outlet axis (see the annotated figure above, the housing being located above the seal in figure).
Regarding claim 21, Yancheng as modified further discloses wherein one of the internal sleeve portion and the valve housing body is formed to include protrusions that engage the other of the internal sleeve portion and the valve housing body to fix the internal ring portion of the monolithic elastic seal relative to the valve housing body (the threading as taught above by Scull form protrusions on the valve housing body).
Regarding claim 27, Yancheng as modified further discloses wherein the valve housing body includes a shoulder (see Detail G in the annotated figure above) that extends axially away from the outer wall of the valve housing radially outward of the external ring (radially outward of the larger diameter portion of 10) and radially inward of the line cap (radially inward of the larger diameter portion of 13) and engages the internal facing surface of the line cap (as all the components are coupled together and thus engaged).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 28 is allowed.
Claim 28 is allowed as the prior art as outlined above is not seen to further disclose or teach the feature of the compressive forces applied to the external ring portion only applied radially outward of the inner contact member of the internal sleeve portion. As shown in figure 1 of Yancheng, in the radial direction, the contact surface between the line cap and the elastic seal overlaps the contact surface between the elastic seal and ball member. While the limitation is a functional limitation, there is seen to require an implicit structural relationship between the various components (ball valve, elastic seal, housing body, and line cap) in order to achieve the claimed function, which Yancheng or Yancheng as modified is not seen to make obvious.
Claims 24 and 26 are allowable for reasoning similar to that stated above for claim 28.
Regarding claim 25, while there is seen to be engagement between the shoulder and the internal facing surface of the base of the line cap (as the term “engage” is broad and is not seen to require specific contacting between the components), the shoulder is not seen to provide a stop with the internal facing surface of the base of the line cap to prevent further compression of the external ring portion of the monolithic elastic seal.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Beginning on page 11, the applicant argues that Yancheng teaches the sealing plug is moveably mounted inside the valve main body and squeezed/extruded so that the sealing plug fills the gap between the main body and connecting pipe and thus any modification to fix the seal plug teaches away or destroys the principle operation of Yancheng. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Yancheng describes in paragraph 3, approximately lines 6-10, that element 12 is threaded onto element 1 to squeeze the seal plug. This is similarly described in paragraph 29, approximately ¾ of the way in the paragraph on page 5 of the machine translation. Thus, Yancheng discloses the use of a threaded engagement in order to apply a force onto the elastic seal to better seal with the ball and keep the seal in place without movement. Snell performs a similar function by having threaded engagement with the elastic seal and the housing. As such, the fixing of the elastic seal to the housing still provides for force to be applied to the elastic seal to better seal with the ball, this is further beneficial as the seat can be more securely affixed within the housing, and will remain seated and contacting the ball, even if element 13 were removed.
On page 17 of the response, and with respect to claim 15, the applicant argues that the flange is not positioned radially inward of the outer shell of the line cap and radially outward of the external ring portion of the elastic seal. The examiner respectfully disagrees. It is initially noted that figure 1 shows element 11 as having portions that are radially outward of the extension ring portion (the larger diameter portion) of the elastic seal. Further, there are portions of the shoulder (at Detail G in the annotated figure above) that are radially inward of the outer shell of the line cap, especially at the radially outer portions of the area at the lead line for numeral 13 in figure 1 which shows a flange type radially outward protruding portion.
For at least the above reason(s), applicant’s arguments have not been found persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL R REID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753