Detailed Action
This is the final office action for US application number 18/430,154. Claims are evaluated as filed on May 18, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejections in this office action have been amended to address the amended claims. Examiner asserts that Hicken, Strong, and Kim teach all the newly-amended limitations and are capable of performing the functions as claimed. Examiner directs Applicant to the rejection below for a more in-depth description of the limitations.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that the drawing objection to claim 5 is not understood as the annular disc is clearly shown in Fig. 3A and described in paragraph 37 (Remarks p. 5-6), Examiner agrees that the annular disc 506 is shown in Fig. 3A, which broadly supports claim 5 as presently amended. However, the annular disc 506 shown in Fig. 3A does not appear to by physically capable of performing all of the functions disclosed in paragraph 37. That is, Fig. 3A shows annular disc 506 extending radially from the shank as disclosed in paragraph 37 and Fig. 3A shows that the annular disc 506 is not as wide, i.e. has a smaller diameter, as/than the threaded region 514. Thus, the shown annular disc 506 would not be capable of contacting the bone compacted by the threaded region and therefore would not be capable of acting as a stop for drilling by when a depth has been reached that causes the annular disk to interface with the external surface of bone as provided by paragraph 37.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that Hicken does not teach a first cutting channel structure or the function of moving bone particles ton an internal surface of the bore in bone (Remarks p. 7), Examiner notes that Applicant has provided no reasoning for this assertion. On the contrary, as provided in the rejection below and on page 6 of the non-final office action dated November 18, 2026, the Hicken embodiment of Figs. 6-9 teaches a first cutting channel (805, 815, Figs. 6 and 7, ¶46) and wherein the first cutting channel is capable of moving bone particles to an internal surface of the bore in the bone (due to the shown structure of Figs. 6 and 7, Figs. 6 and 7, i.e. Figs. 6 and 7 shown that the first channel extends from the center bore to the exterior surface of the thread). Examiner notes that such an interpretation is consistent with that of Applicant’s first cutting channel 536 as shown in Figs. 3A and 3B and described in paragraph 40.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
As to claim 13, the specification appears to lack proper antecedent basis for “the threaded region comprises one or more threads angled 0°, 5°, 10°,15°, 20°, 25° or 30°, relative to a longitudinal axis of the threaded region.” Instead, paragraph 38 discloses that such is relative to “the circumference axis” but does not appear to disclose to what such an axis refers. Thus, the specification fails to provide proper antecedent basis for “the threaded region comprises one or more threads angled 0°, 5°, 10°,15°, 20°, 25° or 30°, relative to a longitudinal axis of the threaded region.”
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show annular disk 506 configured to act as a stop for drilling, e.g. stop further drilling when a depth has been reached that causes the annular disk 506 to interface with the external surface of a bone of paragraph 37 as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hicken et al. (US 2004/0064143, hereinafter “Hicken”).
As to claims 1, 6-8, and 10, Hicken, in an initial embodiment, discloses a tool (5, Fig. 3) capable of use in performing an orthopedic surgery on a subject (¶26 discloses use in bone), the tool comprising: a shank (central portion of 300 as shown in Fig. 3, Fig. 3); and a body (200, 100) coupled to the shank (Fig. 3, ¶37) and comprising: i) a threaded region (215, Fig. 3) capable of compacting bone particles within a bone bore (Fig. 3, ¶s 12, 14, 39, 40, and 42), and ii) a tapered region (100, Fig. 3) is capable of opening the bone to define/create a bone tunnel in bone (¶s 14 and 31). As to claim 6, Hicken, in an initial embodiment, discloses a neck region (320, 325, Fig. 3, ¶34) extending between the shank and the cutting body (Fig. 3, ¶34), the neck region tapering radially inwards from a wide end interfacing with the cutting body to a narrow end interfacing with the shank (Fig. 3, ¶34). As to claim 7, Hicken, in an initial embodiment, discloses that the tapered region further comprises a first protrusion (140, Fig. 3) extending from an external surface of the tapered region (Fig. 3, ¶31). As to claim 10, Hicken, in an initial embodiment, discloses an opening (500) extending through a longitudinal axis of the cutting body (Fig. 3, ¶36).
Hicken, in an initial embodiment, is silent to the tool being a reamer, the body being a cutting body, and the tapered region configured to cut the bore into the bone, wherein the tapered region further comprises a first cutting channel and wherein the first cutting channel is configured to move bone particles to an internal surface of the bore in the bone. As to claim 8, Hicken, in an initial embodiment, is silent to a second protrusion extending from the external surface of the tapered region.
Hicken, in another embodiment, teaches a similar tool that is a reamer (Figs. 6-9, ¶s 45, 46, and 48) capable of use in performing an orthopedic surgery on a subject (¶45 discloses use in bone), the reamer comprising: a cutting body (Figs. 6-9, ¶s 45, 46, and 48) comprising: i) a threaded region (left portion as shown in Figs. 6 and 9, Figs. 6, 8, and 9) capable of compacting bone particles within a bone bore (Figs. 6, 8, and 9), and ii) a tapered region (right left portion as shown in Figs. 6 and 9, Figs. 6, 7, and 9) capable of cutting a bore into bone (Figs. 6, 7, and 9, ¶s 45, 46, and 48) and comprising a cutting channel (805, 815, Figs. 6 and 7, ¶46); wherein the tapered region further comprises a first cutting channel (805, 815, Figs. 6 and 7, ¶46) and wherein the first cutting channel is capable of moving bone particles to an internal surface of the bore in the bone (due to the shown structure of Figs. 6 and 7, Figs. 6 and 7, i.e. Figs. 6 and 7 shown that the first channel extends from the center bore to the exterior surface of the thread). As to claim 8, Hicken, in an initial embodiment, discloses a second protrusion (Figs. 6 and 7) extending from the external surface of the tapered region (Figs. 6 and 7).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the tapered region for opening the bone to define/create a bone tunnel in bone as disclosed by Hicken, in an initial embodiment, by adding the cutting channel as taught by Hicken, in another embodiment, in order to aid in opening the bone while forming a bone tunnel by cutting away the inner-most soft cancellous bone encountered to facilitates passage of the tool into the bone (Hicken ¶46).
As to claim 13, the combination of Hicken discloses the invention claim 1 and that the threaded region comprises one or more threads (220, Fig. 3, ¶32) appears to show that the one or more threads are angled 5°, 10°, 15°, 20°, 25°, or 30° relative to a longitudinal axis of the threaded region (Fig. 3) and that the taper 105 is about 5-30° relative to the longitudinal axis (100, ¶28).
The combination of Hicken is silent to the angular value of the one or more threads being 0°, 5°, 10°, 15°, 20°, 25°, or 30° relative to a longitudinal axis of the threaded region.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the one or more threads of the combination of Hicken to be angled 5°, 10°, 15°, 20°, 25°, or 30° relative to a longitudinal axis of the threaded region since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the one or more threads of the combination of Hicken would not operate differently with the claimed angles of 5°, 10°, 15°, 20°, 25°, or 30° relative to a longitudinal axis of the threaded region as such appears to be shown in Fig. 3 given that the taper 105 is disclosed to be about 5-30° relative to the longitudinal axis and therefore the threads would function appropriately with the claimed values to define a compacted bone tunnel/hole (Hicken ¶s 12, 32, and 33). Further, Applicant places no criticality on the angles claimed, indicating simply that the threads are angled of 5°, 10°, 15°, 20°, 25°, or 30° relative to a longitudinal axis of the threaded region (¶s 11, 12, and 38).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hicken in view of Strong et al. (US 2002/0172923, hereinafter “Strong”).
As to claims 4 and 5, the combination of Hicken discloses the invention of claim 2.
The combination of Hicken is silent to an annular disk extending radially from the shank. As to claim 5, the combination of Hicken is silent to the annular disk is spaced apart from the tapered region so as to correspond to a maximum depth of the tapered region within the bore.
Strong teaches a similar reamer (35, Figs. 4-7) capable of use in performing surgery on a subject (Figs. 4-7, ¶s 1 and 43), the reamer comprising: a handle (39); and a cutting body (43) coupled to the handle (Fig. 4) and comprising: ii) a tapered region (48) capable of cutting a bore into bone (¶s 1 and 48); further comprising a shank (36) capable of coupling the handle to the cutting body (Fig. 4); further comprising an annular disk (47s) extending radially from the shank (Figs. 4-7, ¶s 45, 58, and 62). As to claim 5, Strong teaches that the annular disk is spaced apart from the tapered region so as to correspond to a maximum depth of the tapered region within the bore (Figs. 4-7, ¶s 45, 58, and 62).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the shank as disclosed by the combination of Hicken by adding the annular disks as taught by Strong in order to indicate predetermined distances measured from the reamer tip (Strong ¶45) so that the surgeon can sight along a selected annular disk to a desired depth (Strong ¶58) by observing the penetration of the reamer into the bone and tissues of the patient until the desired annular disk is reached (Strong ¶62).
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hicken in view of Kim (US 2023/0301696, hereinafter “Kim”).
As to claims 11 and 12, the combination of Hicken discloses the invention of claim 1.
The combination of Hicken is silent to the threaded region further comprises a first notch extending longitudinally between a proximal and distal end of the cutting body and at least partially recessed into the threaded region. As to claim 12, the combination of Hicken is silent to the threaded region further comprises a second notch extending longitudinally between the proximal and distal end of the cutting body and at least partially recessed into the threaded region.
Kim teaches a similar reamer (100) capable of use in performing surgery on a subject (Fig. 2), the reamer comprising: a handle (121, 210, Figs. 2 and 3); and a cutting body (110) coupled to the handle (Figs. 2 and 3) and comprising: i) a threaded region (111) capable of compacting bone particles within a bone bore (¶s 19-22, 48, 54, 56, 58, 61, 85, and 86), and ii) a tapered region (lower-left portion of 110 as shown in Fig. 4, Fig. 4) capable of cutting a bore into bone (¶s 19, 21, 57-61, and 84), wherein the threaded region further comprises a first notch (left 115 as shown in Fig. 4, Fig. 4, ¶67) extending longitudinally between a proximal and distal end of the cutting body (Fig. 4) and at least partially recessed into the threaded region (Fig. 4). As to claim 12, the combination of Kim teaches that the threaded region further comprises a second notch (right 115 as shown in Fig. 4, Fig. 4, ¶67) extending longitudinally between the proximal and distal end of the cutting body (Fig. 4) and at least partially recessed into the threaded region (Fig. 4).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the threaded region and the tapered region as disclosed by the combination of Hicken by adding notches as taught by Kim in order to provide a channel/guide for bone powder (Kim ¶s 70 and 85) created by cutting (Kim ¶s 84 and 85) to move and become compressed (Kim ¶s 71 and 85) to perform osseodensification (Kim ¶s 54, 71, and 74) as well as reduce a patient’s pain (Kim ¶72).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMY R SIPP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775