DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statements filed on 2/1/2024 and 8/14/2024 are under compliance and have been accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9- 11 and 19- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nassar et al. (WO 2024/121754 A1) in view of Watts et al. (US Pub. No. 2026/0046756 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nassar teaches an electronic device comprising: a communication circuit configured to support cellular communication through a terrestrial network and a non-terrestrial network; a memory configured to store mapping data obtained by mapping identification information of the non-terrestrial network and a service supported by the non-terrestrial network; and at least one communication processor, wherein one or more of the at least one communication processor is configured to (see [0119]…UE as an electronic device here… when UE is registered with a core network of a mobile network (e.g., a PLMN) over a first access comprising a first access network that is a terrestrial access network (TN) and over a second access comprising a second access network that is a non-terrestrial network (NTN), extra resources available in the second access network (i.e., the NTN) can be used to extend capacity, or throughput, or capacity and throughput of user plane traffic transmitted through the first access network (i.e., the TN), or vice versa; further see Fig. 3 #300 as an electronic device.. memory ROM 302a, at least one RAM 302b and other possible components 303 for use in software and hardware aided execution of tasks it is designed to perform, including control of access to and communications with access networks, such as the 5G-RAN access network or the NTN access network, and other apparatuses 300…; see [0127].):
search for a cell corresponding to another network within a specified distance with reference to a location of the electronic device, based on the non-terrestrial network having a highest priority with respect to communication connection (see [0119]… when UE is registered with a core network of a mobile network (e.g., a PLMN) over a first access comprising a first access network that is a terrestrial access network (TN) and over a second access comprising a second access network that is a non-terrestrial network (NTN), extra resources available in the second access network (i.e., the NTN) can be used to extend capacity, or throughput, or capacity and throughput of user plane traffic transmitted through the first access network (i.e., the TN), or vice versa. The transmission of user plane traffic over a wide range of different access networks, RATs, and access types can be based on demand for network resources (for example for greater network bandwidth, or a lower average latency (i.e. based on location/distance) for the MA (i.e. multiple access) data session etc or to switch immediately from one leg of the MA data session to another leg of the data session when there is failure or overload over the first access) or the provision of temporary coverage (for example to increase or augment network capacity in relation to an emergency situation (i.e. emergency communication/call)). For example, a terminal (e.g., a UE) located in a train, cruise-ship, or plane served normally by NTN (i.e. highest priority here and TN (terrestrial network) has comparatively lower priority), which is arriving at a stopover where dual coverage from the NTN and a TN is available can be configured (i.e. its based on the location and distance searching and determining that TN can also be available) to use traffic aggregation to lower average latency (latency can be decreased/increased based on distance/location of UE) or increase bandwidth of a (multi-access) data session…);
based on another network having a lower priority than the non-terrestrial network being found, determine whether an emergency call is supported on another network having the lower priority (already described above see [0119]… when UE is registered with a core network of a mobile network (e.g., a PLMN) over a first access comprising a first access network that is a terrestrial access network (TN) and over a second access comprising a second access network that is a non-terrestrial network (NTN), extra resources available in the second access network (i.e., the NTN) can be used to extend capacity, or throughput, or capacity and throughput of user plane traffic transmitted through the first access network (i.e., the TN), or vice versa. The transmission of user plane traffic over a wide range of different access networks, RATs, and access types can be based on demand for network resources (for example for greater network bandwidth, or a lower average latency (i.e. based on location/distance) for the MA (i.e. multiple access) data session etc or to switch immediately from one leg of the MA data session to another leg of the data session when there is failure or overload over the first access) or the provision of temporary coverage (for example to increase or augment network capacity in relation to an emergency situation). For example, a terminal (e.g., a UE) located in a train, cruise-ship, or plane served normally by NTN (i.e. highest priority here and TN (terrestrial network) has comparatively lower priority), which is arriving at a stopover where dual coverage from the NTN and a TN) is available can be configured (i.e. its based on the location and distance searching and determining that TN can also be available) to use traffic aggregation to lower average latency (latency can be decreased/increased based on distance/location of UE) or increase bandwidth of a (multi-access) data session…); and
based on the emergency call being supported on another network having the lower priority, perform camp-on on another network having the lower priority (already discussed in [0119].. … when UE is registered with a core network of a mobile network (e.g., a PLMN) over a first access comprising a first access network that is a terrestrial access network (TN) and over a second access comprising a second access network that is a non-terrestrial network (NTN), extra resources available in the second access network (i.e., the NTN) can be used to extend capacity, or throughput, or capacity and throughput of user plane traffic transmitted through the first access network (i.e., the TN), or vice versa. The transmission of user plane traffic over a wide range of different access networks, RATs, and access types can be based on demand for network resources (for example for greater network bandwidth, or a lower average latency (i.e. based on location/distance) for the MA (i.e. multiple access) data session etc or to switch immediately from one leg of the MA data session to another leg of the data session when there is failure or overload over the first access) or the provision of temporary coverage (for example to increase or augment network capacity in relation to an emergency situation). For example, a terminal (e.g., a UE) located in a train, cruise-ship, or plane served normally by NTN (i.e. highest priority here and TN (terrestrial network) has comparatively lower priority), which is arriving at a stopover where dual coverage from the NTN and a TN) is available can be configured (i.e. its based on the location and distance searching and determining that TN can also be available and configured to TN network from NTN means “camp-on”) to use traffic aggregation to lower average latency (latency can be decreased/increased based on distance/location of UE) or increase bandwidth of a (multi-access) data session…; further see [0163]… for example a NTN or satellite network of the access network (3GPP1 NG-RAN 400) of the first access (3GPP accessl) where the LEO or MEO satellite constellation of the NTN or satellite network is unable to provide a suitable number or distribution of satellites within reach of the UE antenna beam and thus the UE 300 may determine that coverage from the NTN or satellite network is lost or degraded below an acceptable bandwidth or reliability measurement and determine to release the leg of the multi-access data session over the first access (3GPP accessl). In some examples, a trigger event can be related to capacity where the UE 300 determines that one of the legs over an access (which is overloaded) has become unable to maintain a sufficient bit rate or maintain an error rate below a defined threshold error rate. In this example, the UE 300 determines to request a release of the leg over the access which is overloaded (e.g., release the leg of the multi-access data session over 3GGP access).
But silent to state about wherein the camp-on includes monitoring, by the electronic device, system information and paging information in a newly selected cell based on cell reselection.
However Wats states in [0113] regarding Cell (re)selection prioritization criteria may include a network indication/configuration (e.g., an explicit network indication/configuration). In some examples, a WTRU may be configured to (e.g., explicitly configured to) perform a cell (re)selection prioritization action. For example, a WTRU may receive an RRCRelease message (e.g., actions for WTRU to perform in RRC IDLE state), or an RRCReleasewithSuspend message (e.g., actions for the WTRU to perform in RRC INACTIVE state). A message may include, for example, one or more of the following: an indication to enable/disable cell (re)selection prioritization; a method to prioritize cell (re)selection and/or associated configuration information (e.g., biases and associated criteria, as described herein); a type of network (e.g., terrestrial or non-terrestrial) or NTN deployment scenario (e.g., LEO or GEO) to prioritize; a duration to perform cell (re)selection prioritization (e.g., as described herein); and/or reporting criteria and/or associated report configurations (e.g., as described herein); now refer to [0114] a WTRU may receive an indication to perform a cell (re)selection prioritization action, and/or may receive one or more information items (e.g., as described herein (refer [0113] message having indication)…), ….via one or more of the following methods: within system information; within paging (e.g., via a paging short message); via DCI; and/or via random access signaling (e.g., msg2, msg4, msgB).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Watts with the teachings of Nassar to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the camp-on includes monitoring, by the electronic device, system information and paging information in a newly selected cell based on cell reselection; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 9, Nassar in view of Watts teaches as per claim 1, wherein one or more of the at least one communication processor is configured to:
search for the cell corresponding to another network within the specified distance with reference to the location of the electronic device, based on the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority with respect to communication connection; and perform camp-on with the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority, based on the cell corresponding to another network not being found within the specified distance; already described above in Nassar see [0119]… For example, a terminal (e.g., a UE) located in a train, cruise-ship, or plane served normally by NTN, which is arriving at a stopover where dual coverage from the NTN and a TN is available can be configured (i.e. as per distance criteria) to use traffic aggregation to lower average latency or increase bandwidth of a (multi-access) data session (i.e. same way after the stopover a terminal (e.g., a UE) located in a train, cruise-ship, or plane starts next journey naturally within distance criteria will be gone (i.e. very far from TN network) hence high priority NTN will be connected for communication).
Regarding claim 10, Nassar in view of Watts teaches as per claim 1, wherein one or more of the at least one communication processor is configured to, based on a change in the location of the electronic device, or a change in a cell found with reference to the location of the electronic device: determine whether an emergency call is supported on a newly found network; and perform camp-on on the newly found network, based on the emergency call being supported on the newly found network; Nassar see [0119]… For example, a terminal (e.g., a UE) located in a train, cruise-ship, or plane served normally by NTN, which is arriving at a stopover where dual coverage from the NTN and a TN is available can be configured (i.e. as per distance criteria compared to UE location) to use traffic aggregation to lower average latency or increase bandwidth of a (multi-access) data session.
Regarding claim 11, Nassar teaches a method of operating an electronic device for satellite communication, the method comprising (see [0119]…UE as an electronic device here… when UE is registered with a core network of a mobile network (e.g., a PLMN) over a first access comprising a first access network that is a terrestrial access network (TN) and over a second access comprising a second access network that is a non-terrestrial network (NTN), extra resources available in the second access network (i.e., the NTN) can be used to extend capacity, or throughput, or capacity and throughput of user plane traffic transmitted through the first access network (i.e., the TN), or vice versa; further see Fig. 3 #300 as an electronic device.. memory ROM 302a, at least one RAM 302b and other possible components 303 for use in software and hardware aided execution of tasks it is designed to perform, including control of access to and communications with access networks, such as the 5G-RAN access network or the NTN access network, and other apparatuses 300…; see [0127].):
searching for a cell corresponding to another network within a specified distance with reference to a location of the electronic device, based on the non-terrestrial network having a highest priority with respect to communication connection (see [0119]… when UE is registered with a core network of a mobile network (e.g., a PLMN) over a first access comprising a first access network that is a terrestrial access network (TN) and over a second access comprising a second access network that is a non-terrestrial network (NTN), extra resources available in the second access network (i.e., the NTN) can be used to extend capacity, or throughput, or capacity and throughput of user plane traffic transmitted through the first access network (i.e., the TN), or vice versa. The transmission of user plane traffic over a wide range of different access networks, RATs, and access types can be based on demand for network resources (for example for greater network bandwidth, or a lower average latency (i.e. based on location/distance) for the MA (i.e. multiple access) data session etc or to switch immediately from one leg of the MA data session to another leg of the data session when there is failure or overload over the first access) or the provision of temporary coverage (for example to increase or augment network capacity in relation to an emergency situation (i.e. emergency communication/call)). For example, a terminal (e.g., a UE) located in a train, cruise-ship, or plane served normally by NTN (i.e. highest priority here and TN (terrestrial network) has comparatively lower priority), which is arriving at a stopover where dual coverage from the NTN and a TN is available can be configured (i.e. its based on the location and distance searching and determining that TN can also be available) to use traffic aggregation to lower average latency (latency can be decreased/increased based on distance/location of UE) or increase bandwidth of a (multi-access) data session…);
based on another network having a lower priority than the non-terrestrial network being found, determine whether an emergency call is supported on another network having the lower priority (already described above see [0119]… when UE is registered with a core network of a mobile network (e.g., a PLMN) over a first access comprising a first access network that is a terrestrial access network (TN) and over a second access comprising a second access network that is a non-terrestrial network (NTN), extra resources available in the second access network (i.e., the NTN) can be used to extend capacity, or throughput, or capacity and throughput of user plane traffic transmitted through the first access network (i.e., the TN), or vice versa. The transmission of user plane traffic over a wide range of different access networks, RATs, and access types can be based on demand for network resources (for example for greater network bandwidth, or a lower average latency (i.e. based on location/distance) for the MA (i.e. multiple access) data session etc or to switch immediately from one leg of the MA data session to another leg of the data session when there is failure or overload over the first access) or the provision of temporary coverage (for example to increase or augment network capacity in relation to an emergency situation). For example, a terminal (e.g., a UE) located in a train, cruise-ship, or plane served normally by NTN (i.e. highest priority here and TN (terrestrial network) has comparatively lower priority), which is arriving at a stopover where dual coverage from the NTN and a TN) is available can be configured (i.e. its based on the location and distance searching and determining that TN can also be available) to use traffic aggregation to lower average latency (latency can be decreased/increased based on distance/location of UE) or increase bandwidth of a (multi-access) data session…); and
based on the emergency call being supported on another network having the lower priority, perform camp-on on another network having the lower priority (already discussed in [0119].. … when UE is registered with a core network of a mobile network (e.g., a PLMN) over a first access comprising a first access network that is a terrestrial access network (TN) and over a second access comprising a second access network that is a non-terrestrial network (NTN), extra resources available in the second access network (i.e., the NTN) can be used to extend capacity, or throughput, or capacity and throughput of user plane traffic transmitted through the first access network (i.e., the TN), or vice versa. The transmission of user plane traffic over a wide range of different access networks, RATs, and access types can be based on demand for network resources (for example for greater network bandwidth, or a lower average latency (i.e. based on location/distance) for the MA (i.e. multiple access) data session etc or to switch immediately from one leg of the MA data session to another leg of the data session when there is failure or overload over the first access) or the provision of temporary coverage (for example to increase or augment network capacity in relation to an emergency situation). For example, a terminal (e.g., a UE) located in a train, cruise-ship, or plane served normally by NTN (i.e. highest priority here and TN (terrestrial network) has comparatively lower priority), which is arriving at a stopover where dual coverage from the NTN and a TN) is available can be configured (i.e. its based on the location and distance searching and determining that TN can also be available and configured to TN network from NTN means “camp-on”) to use traffic aggregation to lower average latency (latency can be decreased/increased based on distance/location of UE) or increase bandwidth of a (multi-access) data session…; further see [0163]… for example a NTN or satellite network of the access network (3GPP1 NG-RAN 400) of the first access (3GPP accessl) where the LEO or MEO satellite constellation of the NTN or satellite network is unable to provide a suitable number or distribution of satellites within reach of the UE antenna beam and thus the UE 300 may determine that coverage from the NTN or satellite network is lost or degraded below an acceptable bandwidth or reliability measurement and determine to release the leg of the multi-access data session over the first access (3GPP accessl). In some examples, a trigger event can be related to capacity where the UE 300 determines that one of the legs over an access (which is overloaded) has become unable to maintain a sufficient bit rate or maintain an error rate below a defined threshold error rate. In this example, the UE 300 determines to request a release of the leg over the access which is overloaded (e.g., release the leg of the multi-access data session over 3GGP access).
But silent to state about wherein the camp-on includes monitoring, by the electronic device, system information and paging information in a newly selected cell based on cell reselection.
However Wats states in [0113] regarding Cell (re)selection prioritization criteria may include a network indication/configuration (e.g., an explicit network indication/configuration). In some examples, a WTRU may be configured to (e.g., explicitly configured to) perform a cell (re)selection prioritization action. For example, a WTRU may receive an RRCRelease message (e.g., actions for WTRU to perform in RRC IDLE state), or an RRCReleasewithSuspend message (e.g., actions for the WTRU to perform in RRC INACTIVE state). A message may include, for example, one or more of the following: an indication to enable/disable cell (re)selection prioritization; a method to prioritize cell (re)selection and/or associated configuration information (e.g., biases and associated criteria, as described herein); a type of network (e.g., terrestrial or non-terrestrial) or NTN deployment scenario (e.g., LEO or GEO) to prioritize; a duration to perform cell (re)selection prioritization (e.g., as described herein); and/or reporting criteria and/or associated report configurations (e.g., as described herein); now refer to [0114] a WTRU may receive an indication to perform a cell (re)selection prioritization action, and/or may receive one or more information items (e.g., as described herein (refer [0113] message having indication)…), ….via one or more of the following methods: within system information; within paging (e.g., via a paging short message); via DCI; and/or via random access signaling (e.g., msg2, msg4, msgB).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Watts with the teachings of Nassar to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the camp-on includes monitoring, by the electronic device, system information and paging information in a newly selected cell based on cell reselection; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 19, Nassar in view of Watts teaches as per claim 11, further comprising:
searching for the cell corresponding to another network within the specified distance with reference to the location of the electronic device, based on the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority with respect to communication connection; and performing camp-on with the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority, based on the cell corresponding to another network not being found within the specified distance; already described above in Nassar see [0119]… For example, a terminal (e.g., a UE) located in a train, cruise-ship, or plane served normally by NTN, which is arriving at a stopover where dual coverage from the NTN and a TN is available can be configured (i.e. as per distance criteria) to use traffic aggregation to lower average latency or increase bandwidth of a (multi-access) data session (i.e. same way after the stopover a terminal (e.g., a UE) located in a train, cruise-ship, or plane starts next journey naturally within distance criteria will be gone (i.e. very far from TN network) hence high priority NTN will be connected for communication).
Regarding claim 20, Nassar in view of Watts teaches as per claim 11, further comprising, based on a change in the location of the electronic device, or a change in a cell found with reference to the location of the electronic device: determining whether an emergency call is supported on a newly found network; and performing camp-on on the newly found network, based on the emergency call being supported on the newly found network; Nassar see [0119]… For example, a terminal (e.g., a UE) located in a train, cruise-ship, or plane served normally by NTN, which is arriving at a stopover where dual coverage from the NTN and a TN is available can be configured (i.e. as per distance criteria compared to UE location) to use traffic aggregation to lower average latency or increase bandwidth of a (multi-access) data session.
Claim(s) 2- 3, 12- 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nassar et al. (WO 2024/121754 A1) in view of Watts et al. (US Pub. No. 2026/0046756 A1) and in further view of Tseng et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0047987 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Nassar in view of Watts teaches as per claim 1, but Nassar is silent about wherein one or more of the at least one communication processor is configured to:
receive, from an external server, information of a base station not supporting the emergency call, or receive information on whether the emergency call is supported, in a process of connecting with at least one network;
store information on the received information on emergency call support in the memory; and
determine whether the emergency call is supported on another network having the lower priority based on the information stored in the memory; however Tseng teaches in [0157] regarding , the UE may identify whether the cell (e.g., Cell #1) support emergency service by reading SIB1 (e.g., by checking whether ims-EmergencySupport or eCallOverIMS-Support is delivered via SIB1); further see [0143].. the UE may camp on or connect to a serving cell and the UE may obtain and/or store broadcasting system information (e.g., SIB1 or other System Information (SI)) from the serving cell….further see [0106] regarding .. the UE may obtain ephemeris information (i.e. satellite system data) from a serving cell via system information (e.g., SIB1) broadcasted by the serving cell. In some additional implementations, the UE may obtain the ephemeris information of neighboring cells via system information (e.g., SIB2, SIB3, SIB4, or SIB5 in NR protocols). In some implementations, one or more cells may share the same ephemeris such that the serving cell may also broadcast the cell identity list (e.g., PCI list or Cell identity list) that share the same ephemeris information. In some additional implementations, the cells that share the same ephemeris information may also share the same SAP configuration. In other words, the serving RAN may only need to configure the ephemeris information of a cell (e.g., a serving cell) and the cell list that shares the same ephemeris information….In some implementations, due to the technical features of NTN, there may be more than one cell associate with a satellite ID, or a configuration of ephemeris information of a satellite provided by the serving RAN; further see [0143] (in context with [0106] …there may be more than one cell associate with a satellite ID, or a configuration of ephemeris information of a satellite provided by the serving RAN ; also refer in context with [0097] and [0188].. CellReselectionPriority is presented by a integer within a range (0-7). The value 0 means the lowest priority and the value 7 means the highest priority. )… UE may camp on or connect to a serving cell (i.e. lower priority) and the UE may obtain and/or store broadcasting system information. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Tseng with the teachings of Nassar in view of Watts to make system more reliable. Having a mechanism wherein to receive, from an external server, information of a base station not supporting the emergency call, or receive information on whether the emergency call is supported, in a process of connecting with at least one network; store information on the received information on emergency call support in the memory; and determine whether the emergency call is supported on another network having the lower priority based on the information stored in the memory; greater way more reliable communication can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 3, Nassar in view of Watts and Tseng teaches as per claim 2, wherein the information on emergency call support comprises at least one of a public land mobile network (PLMN) (mobile country code (MCC)+mobile network code (MNC)), a cell ID, a band, a bandwidth, a frequency, or a system information block (SIB) (Tseng see [0158]… UE may identify whether the cell (e.g., Cell #1) support emergency service by reading SIB1 (e.g., by checking whether ims-EmergencySupport or eCallOverIMS-Support is delivered via SIB1).), and
wherein one or more of the at least one communication processor is configured to determine whether a specific network supports an emergency call using the information on emergency call support; Tseng see [0158] In some implementations, the UE may identify whether the cell (e.g., Cell #1) support emergency service by reading SIB1 (e.g., by checking whether ims-EmergencySupport or eCallOverIMS-Support is delivered via SIB1).
Regarding claim 12, Nassar in view of Watts teaches as per claim 11, but Nassar is silent about wherein one or more of the at least one communication processor is configured to:
receiving, from an external server, information of a base station not supporting the emergency call, or receive information on whether the emergency call is supported, in a process of connecting with at least one network;
storing information on the received information on emergency call support in the memory; and
determining whether the emergency call is supported on another network having the lower priority based on the information stored in the memory; however Tseng teaches in [0157] regarding , the UE may identify whether the cell (e.g., Cell #1) support emergency service by reading SIB1 (e.g., by checking whether ims-EmergencySupport or eCallOverIMS-Support is delivered via SIB1); further see [0143].. the UE may camp on or connect to a serving cell and the UE may obtain and/or store broadcasting system information (e.g., SIB1 or other System Information (SI)) from the serving cell….further see [0106] regarding .. the UE may obtain ephemeris information (i.e. satellite system data) from a serving cell via system information (e.g., SIB1) broadcasted by the serving cell. In some additional implementations, the UE may obtain the ephemeris information of neighboring cells via system information (e.g., SIB2, SIB3, SIB4, or SIB5 in NR protocols). In some implementations, one or more cells may share the same ephemeris such that the serving cell may also broadcast the cell identity list (e.g., PCI list or Cell identity list) that share the same ephemeris information. In some additional implementations, the cells that share the same ephemeris information may also share the same SAP configuration. In other words, the serving RAN may only need to configure the ephemeris information of a cell (e.g., a serving cell) and the cell list that shares the same ephemeris information….In some implementations, due to the technical features of NTN, there may be more than one cell associate with a satellite ID, or a configuration of ephemeris information of a satellite provided by the serving RAN; further see [0143] (in context with [0106] …there may be more than one cell associate with a satellite ID, or a configuration of ephemeris information of a satellite provided by the serving RAN ; also refer in context with [0097] and [0188].. CellReselectionPriority is presented by a integer within a range (0-7). The value 0 means the lowest priority and the value 7 means the highest priority. )… UE may camp on or connect to a serving cell (i.e. lower priority) and the UE may obtain and/or store broadcasting system information. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Tseng with the teachings of Nassar in view of Watts to make system more reliable. Having a mechanism wherein to receive, from an external server, information of a base station not supporting the emergency call, or receive information on whether the emergency call is supported, in a process of connecting with at least one network; store information on the received information on emergency call support in the memory; and determine whether the emergency call is supported on another network having the lower priority based on the information stored in the memory; greater way more reliable communication can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 13, Nassar in view of Watts and Tseng teaches as per claim 12, wherein the determining of whether the emergency call is supported on another network having the lower priority further comprises determining whether a specific network supports an emergency call using the received information on emergency call support, and wherein the information on emergency call support comprises at least one of a public land mobile network (PLMN) (mobile country code (MCC)+mobile network code (MNC)), a cell ID, a band, a bandwidth, a frequency, or a system information block (SIB) (Tseng see [0158]… UE may identify whether the cell (e.g., Cell #1) support emergency service by reading SIB1 (e.g., by checking whether ims-EmergencySupport or eCallOverIMS-Support is delivered via SIB1).), and
wherein one or more of the at least one communication processor is configured to determine whether a specific network supports an emergency call using the information on emergency call support; Tseng see [0158] In some implementations, the UE may identify whether the cell (e.g., Cell #1) support emergency service by reading SIB1 (e.g., by checking whether ims-EmergencySupport or eCallOverIMS-Support is delivered via SIB1).
Claim(s) 7- 8, 17- 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nassar et al. (WO 2024/121754 A1) in view of Watts et al. (US Pub. No. 2026/0046756 A1) and in further view of Xu et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0008399 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Nassar in view of Watts teaches as per claim 1, but Nassar is silent about, wherein one or more of the at least one communication processor is configured to, based on a request for a specific service supported on the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority being detected based on the camp-on on another network having the lower priority being performed: release the camp-on with another network having the lower priority; and perform camp-on with the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority; however Xu teaches in [0069].. the cell reselection indication is generated per service. According to some embodiments, for UE triggered service request, UE may perform the cell reselection and camp on the corresponding cell for initial access based on the cell reselection indication (e.g., service-related NTN/TN cell priority); now refer to [0040].. UE may include the following steps: S302, obtaining, from a network device, a cell reselection indication (for example, a cell reselection priority), wherein the cell reselection indication indicates to the UE whether a terrestrial network (TN) cell or a non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell serves as a camping cell for which the UE performs cell reselection; and S304, performing the cell reselection based on the cell reselection indication; now see [0041]… after obtaining the cell reselection priority, UE will first check the high priority network (for example, the TN network or the NTN network). But if the condition/radio quality of the high priority network is not good, UE may select the low priority network as a fallback. In other words, UE could select the low priority network for camping if the high priority network is not good enough from the radio quality perspective.; further see [0044].. the UE obtains, from a network device, a cell reselection indication, wherein the cell reselection indication (for example, the cell reselection priority) indicates to the UE whether a terrestrial network (TN) cell or a non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell serves as a camping cell for which the UE performs cell reselection. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Xu with the teachings of Nassar in view of Watts to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein one or more of the at least one communication processor is configured to, based on a request for a specific service supported on the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority being detected based on the camp-on on another network having the lower priority being performed: release the camp-on with another network having the lower priority; and perform camp-on with the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority; greater way resources can be prioritized/managed in the communication system.
Regarding claim 8, Nassar in view of Watts teaches as per claim 1, wherein one or more of the at least one communication processor is configured to, based on a request for a specific service supported on the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority being detected based on a communication connection being established on another network having the lower priority(in context with [0119] refer to [0163]… for example a NTN or satellite network of the access network (3GPP1 NG-RAN 400) of the first access (3GPP accessl) where the LEO or MEO satellite constellation of the NTN or satellite network is unable to provide a suitable number or distribution of satellites within reach of the UE antenna beam and thus the UE 300 may determine that coverage from the NTN or satellite network is lost or degraded below an acceptable bandwidth or reliability measurement and determine to release the leg of the multi-access data session over the first access (3GPP accessl). In some examples, a trigger event can be related to capacity where the UE 300 determines that one of the legs over an access (which is overloaded) has become unable to maintain a sufficient bit rate or maintain an error rate below a defined threshold error rate. In this example, the UE 300 determines to request a release of the leg over the access which is overloaded (e.g., release the leg of the multi-access data session over 3GGP access:
But Nassar is silent about
identify whether support for a specific service is possible on another network having the lower priority;
release the camp-on with another network having the lower priority, based on support for the specific service being impossible on another network having the lower priority; and
perform the camp-on with the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority; however Xu teaches in [0045].. the coverage of a cell or a beam in NTNs is typically much wider than that in the TNs. However, at least partially due to the larger coverage, the NTNs have longer communication delay than TNs. The service throughput provided by NTNs is lower than that of TNs. Therefore, it is proposed that different services be planned to be carried by different networks in the TN and NTN interworking deployment. Specifically, services with high data rate and/or strict latency requirement may for example be provided through TNs (e.g., TN cells), while services with low data rate and/or relaxed latency requirement may for example be provided through NTNs (e.g., NTN cells); now refer to [0048].. may also be considered that a UE initially camps on an NTN cell and triggers the connection in the NTN for file transfer protocol (FTP) service. Consequently, due to relatively low data rate as compared to TNs, the NTN handovers the UE to a TN (e.g., a TN cell). Then, the UE starts the FTP service after successful handover to the TN…now see [0049- 0050].. he cell reselection indication may comprise a cell reselection priority. According to some embodiments, the cell reselection priority may be predefined to impact cell selection/reselection between a TN cell and an NTN cell. According to some embodiments, the cell selection/reselection may be performed during an initial access procedure…if one of the NTN and TN radio access technologies (RATs) has higher priority, UE will prioritize the cell associated with the one RAT with the higher priority to camp on if suitable NTN cell or TN cell could be founded. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Xu with the teachings of Nassar in view of Watts to make system more effective. Having a mechanism to identify whether support for a specific service is possible on another network having the lower priority; release the camp-on with another network having the lower priority, based on support for the specific service being impossible on another network having the lower priority; and perform the camp-on with the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority; greater way resources can be prioritized/managed in the communication system.
Regarding claim 17, Nassar in view of Watts teaches as per claim 11, but Nassar is silent about, further comprising based on a request for a specific service supported on the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority being detected based on the camp-on on another network having the lower priority being performed: releasing the camp-on with another network having the lower priority; and performing camp-on with the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority; however Xu teaches in [0069].. the cell reselection indication is generated per service. According to some embodiments, for UE triggered service request, UE may perform the cell reselection and camp on the corresponding cell for initial access based on the cell reselection indication (e.g., service-related NTN/TN cell priority); now refer to [0040].. UE may include the following steps: S302, obtaining, from a network device, a cell reselection indication (for example, a cell reselection priority), wherein the cell reselection indication indicates to the UE whether a terrestrial network (TN) cell or a non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell serves as a camping cell for which the UE performs cell reselection; and S304, performing the cell reselection based on the cell reselection indication; now see [0041]… after obtaining the cell reselection priority, UE will first check the high priority network (for example, the TN network or the NTN network). But if the condition/radio quality of the high priority network is not good, UE may select the low priority network as a fallback. In other words, UE could select the low priority network for camping if the high priority network is not good enough from the radio quality perspective.; further see [0044].. the UE obtains, from a network device, a cell reselection indication, wherein the cell reselection indication (for example, the cell reselection priority) indicates to the UE whether a terrestrial network (TN) cell or a non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell serves as a camping cell for which the UE performs cell reselection. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Xu with the teachings of Nassar in view of Watts to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein based on a request for a specific service supported on the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority being detected based on the camp-on on another network having the lower priority being performed: releasing the camp-on with another network having the lower priority; and performing camp-on with the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority; greater way resources can be prioritized/managed in the communication system.
Regarding claim 18, Nassar in view of Watts teaches as per claim 11, further comprising, based on a request for a specific service supported on the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority being detected based on a communication connection being established on another network having the lower priority(in context with [0119] refer to [0163]… for example a NTN or satellite network of the access network (3GPP1 NG-RAN 400) of the first access (3GPP accessl) where the LEO or MEO satellite constellation of the NTN or satellite network is unable to provide a suitable number or distribution of satellites within reach of the UE antenna beam and thus the UE 300 may determine that coverage from the NTN or satellite network is lost or degraded below an acceptable bandwidth or reliability measurement and determine to release the leg of the multi-access data session over the first access (3GPP accessl). In some examples, a trigger event can be related to capacity where the UE 300 determines that one of the legs over an access (which is overloaded) has become unable to maintain a sufficient bit rate or maintain an error rate below a defined threshold error rate. In this example, the UE 300 determines to request a release of the leg over the access which is overloaded (e.g., release the leg of the multi-access data session over 3GGP access:
But Nassar is silent about
identifying whether support for a specific service is possible on another network having the lower priority;
releasing the camp-on with another network having the lower priority, based on support for the specific service being impossible on another network having the lower priority; and
performing the camp-on with the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority; however Xu teaches in [0045].. the coverage of a cell or a beam in NTNs is typically much wider than that in the TNs. However, at least partially due to the larger coverage, the NTNs have longer communication delay than TNs. The service throughput provided by NTNs is lower than that of TNs. Therefore, it is proposed that different services be planned to be carried by different networks in the TN and NTN interworking deployment. Specifically, services with high data rate and/or strict latency requirement may for example be provided through TNs (e.g., TN cells), while services with low data rate and/or relaxed latency requirement may for example be provided through NTNs (e.g., NTN cells); now refer to [0048].. may also be considered that a UE initially camps on an NTN cell and triggers the connection in the NTN for file transfer protocol (FTP) service. Consequently, due to relatively low data rate as compared to TNs, the NTN handovers the UE to a TN (e.g., a TN cell). Then, the UE starts the FTP service after successful handover to the TN…now see [0049- 0050].. he cell reselection indication may comprise a cell reselection priority. According to some embodiments, the cell reselection priority may be predefined to impact cell selection/reselection between a TN cell and an NTN cell. According to some embodiments, the cell selection/reselection may be performed during an initial access procedure…if one of the NTN and TN radio access technologies (RATs) has higher priority, UE will prioritize the cell associated with the one RAT with the higher priority to camp on if suitable NTN cell or TN cell could be founded. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Xu with the teachings of Nassar in view of Watts to make system more effective. Having a mechanism to identifying whether support for a specific service is possible on another network having the lower priority; releasing the camp-on with another network having the lower priority, based on support for the specific service being impossible on another network having the lower priority; and performing the camp-on with the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority; greater way resources can be prioritized/managed in the communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4- 6 and 14- 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Li et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0064851 A1) states in [0030] regarding such as in the case of the remote emergency environment, a UE may access a non-terrestrial wireless network to send or receive wireless communication. Satellite access may enable the UE to send messages, including an emergency message, in remote locations where the UE may not be able to access a terrestrial network. However, transmissions to an NTN may consume more power than transmissions to a terrestrial network and may involve larger amounts of propagation delay due to the distance between a UE and a satellite. In some examples, time and/or frequency synchronization, beam management (BM), and handover (HO) operations may involve added complexity. Aspects presented herein provide UE more power-efficient message transmission to improve the power consumption, the time/frequency synchronization, and/or the BM/HO operations of transmitting the emergency messages over the NTN that may have relatively larger signal propagation distance and delay. In some aspects, the UE that is not RRC connected to the network may generate and transmit a message to the network via an NTN base station. In some aspects, the message may be an emergency message.
Reference Pan et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0031117 A1) states as per Fig. 4 regarding S402 about emergency fallback procedure (i.e. change in the location of the electronic device, or a change in a cell found with reference to the location of the electronic device) and eventually step 406 If the handover to the target cell fails or the redirection to the target frequency fails, the UE searches for an acceptable cell or a suitable cell; now see [0124] after the handover to the target cell fails or the redirection to the target frequency fails, the UE may search for the acceptable cell or the suitable cell. If finding the acceptable cell or the suitable cell, the UE reads a system message of the acceptable cell or the suitable cell, and determines, based on the system message, whether the acceptable cell or the suitable cell supports an emergency service.
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479