DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 7/30/2026, claims 1- 13, 15- 19 are amended. Claims 1- 20 are pending for examinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed in the remarks on 7/30/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7- 8, 11 and 17- 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0008399 A1) in view of ETSI TS 138 304 V17.1.0 (2022- 08), “5G; NR; User Equipment (UE) procedures in idle mode and in RRC Inactive state (3GPP TS 38.304 version 17.1.0 Release 17)”; hereafter ETSI.
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches an electronic device comprising: a communication circuit configured to support cellular communication through a terrestrial network and a non-terrestrial network; memory storing instructions and mapping data obtained by mapping identification information of the non-terrestrial network and a service supported by the non-terrestrial network; and at least one communication processor, comprising processing circuitry, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one communication processor individually or collectively cause the electronic device to (see [0040- 0042] UE as an electronic device and it supports TN/NTN; further see [0004] store indication can transmit to UE (i.e. also stored in UE’s memory as well)):
search for a cell corresponding to a plurality of networks including the non-terrestrial network, based on the non-terrestrial network having a higher priority than the another network with respect to communication connection (see [0041] According to some embodiments, after obtaining the cell reselection priority, UE will first check the high priority network (for example, the TN network or the NTN network). But if the condition/radio quality of the high priority network is not good, UE may select the low priority network as a fallback. In other words, UE could select the low priority network for camping if the high priority network is not good enough from the radio quality perspective; furthers see [0042- 0044]; further see [0046] regarding first initial searching/camping should be NTN; see [0050].. UE will prioritize the cell associated with the one RAT with the higher priority to camp on if suitable NTN cell or TN cell could be founded.).
Here Xu teaches in [0041] about …. after obtaining the cell reselection priority, UE will first check the high priority network (for example, the TN network or the NTN network). But if the condition/radio quality of the high priority network is not good, UE may select the low priority network as a fallback. In other words, UE could select the low priority network for camping if the high priority network is not good enough from the radio quality perspective.
But Xu is silent about determine whether an emergency call is supported on the another network having a lower priority than the non-terrestrial network using information on emergency call support stored in the memory; and
based on the emergency call being supported on the another network having the lower priority, perform camp-on on the another network having the lower priority instead of the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority, and
wherein the camp-on includes monitoring, by the electronic device, system information and paging information in a newly selected cell based on cell reselection.
However ETSI teaches in context with 5.1 teaches in 5.2.8 last two paragraphs about and the current cell does not support IMS emergency calls as indicated by the field ims-EmergencySupport in SIB1 (i.e. information through SIB) as specified in TS 38.331 [3], the UE shall perform cell selection/reselection to an acceptable cell that supports emergency calls in any supported RAT regardless of priorities provided in system information from current cell, if no suitable cell is found; further see 3.1 regarding camped on a cell: UE has completed the cell selection/reselection process and has chosen a cell. The UE monitors system information and (in most cases) paging information.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of ETSI with the teachings of XU to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein determine whether an emergency call is supported on the another network having a lower priority than the non-terrestrial network using information on emergency call support stored in the memory; and based on the emergency call being supported on the another network having the lower priority, perform camp-on on the another network having the lower priority instead of the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority, and wherein the camp-on includes monitoring, by the electronic device, system information and paging information in a newly selected cell based on cell reselection; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 7, Xu in view of ETSI teaches as per claim 1, Xu teaches about wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one communication processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to, based on a request for a specific service supported on the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority being detected based on the camp-on on another network having the lower priority being performed: release the camp-on with another network having the lower priority; and perform camp-on with the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority; see in [0069].. the cell reselection indication is generated per service. According to some embodiments, for UE triggered service request, UE may perform the cell reselection and camp on the corresponding cell for initial access based on the cell reselection indication (e.g., service-related NTN/TN cell priority); now refer to [0040].. UE may include the following steps: S302, obtaining, from a network device, a cell reselection indication (for example, a cell reselection priority), wherein the cell reselection indication indicates to the UE whether a terrestrial network (TN) cell or a non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell serves as a camping cell for which the UE performs cell reselection; and S304, performing the cell reselection based on the cell reselection indication; now see [0041]… after obtaining the cell reselection priority, UE will first check the high priority network (for example, the TN network or the NTN network). But if the condition/radio quality of the high priority network is not good, UE may select the low priority network as a fallback. In other words, UE could select the low priority network for camping if the high priority network is not good enough from the radio quality perspective.; further see [0044].. the UE obtains, from a network device, a cell reselection indication, wherein the cell reselection indication (for example, the cell reselection priority) indicates to the UE whether a terrestrial network (TN) cell or a non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell serves as a camping cell for which the UE performs cell reselection.
Regarding claim 8, Xu in view of ETSI teaches as per claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one communication processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to, based on a request for a specific service supported on the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority being detected based on a communication connection being established on another network having the lower priority: identify whether support for a specific service is possible on another network having the lower priority; release the camp-on with another network having the lower priority, based on support for the specific service being impossible on another network having the lower priority; and perform the camp-on with the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority; Xu teaches in [0045].. the coverage of a cell or a beam in NTNs is typically much wider than that in the TNs. However, at least partially due to the larger coverage, the NTNs have longer communication delay than TNs. The service throughput provided by NTNs is lower than that of TNs. Therefore, it is proposed that different services be planned to be carried by different networks in the TN and NTN interworking deployment. Specifically, services with high data rate and/or strict latency requirement may for example be provided through TNs (e.g., TN cells), while services with low data rate and/or relaxed latency requirement may for example be provided through NTNs (e.g., NTN cells); now refer to [0048].. may also be considered that a UE initially camps on an NTN cell and triggers the connection in the NTN for file transfer protocol (FTP) service. Consequently, due to relatively low data rate as compared to TNs, the NTN handovers the UE to a TN (e.g., a TN cell). Then, the UE starts the FTP service after successful handover to the TN…now see [0049- 0050].. cell reselection indication may comprise a cell reselection priority. According to some embodiments, the cell reselection priority may be predefined to impact cell selection/reselection between a TN cell and an NTN cell. According to some embodiments, the cell selection/reselection may be performed during an initial access procedure…if one of the NTN and TN radio access technologies (RATs) has higher priority, UE will prioritize the cell associated with the one RAT with the higher priority to camp on if suitable NTN cell or TN cell could be founded.
Regarding claim 11, Xu teaches a method of operating an electronic device for satellite communication, the method comprising (see [0040- 0042] UE as an electronic device and it supports TN/NTN; further see [0004] store indication can transmit to UE (i.e. also stored in UE’s memory as well)):
searching for a cell corresponding to a plurality of networks including the non-terrestrial network, based on the non-terrestrial network having a higher priority than the another network with respect to communication connection (see [0041] According to some embodiments, after obtaining the cell reselection priority, UE will first check the high priority network (for example, the TN network or the NTN network). But if the condition/radio quality of the high priority network is not good, UE may select the low priority network as a fallback. In other words, UE could select the low priority network for camping if the high priority network is not good enough from the radio quality perspective; furthers see [0042- 0044]; further see [0046] regarding first initial searching/camping should be NTN; see [0050].. UE will prioritize the cell associated with the one RAT with the higher priority to camp on if suitable NTN cell or TN cell could be founded.).
Here Xu teaches in [0041] about …. after obtaining the cell reselection priority, UE will first check the high priority network (for example, the TN network or the NTN network). But if the condition/radio quality of the high priority network is not good, UE may select the low priority network as a fallback. In other words, UE could select the low priority network for camping if the high priority network is not good enough from the radio quality perspective.
But Xu is silent about determining whether an emergency call is supported on the another network having a lower priority than the non-terrestrial network using information on emergency call support stored in the memory; and
based on the emergency call being supported on the another network having the lower priority, perform camp-on on the another network having the lower priority instead of the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority, and
wherein the camp-on includes monitoring, by the electronic device, system information and paging information in a newly selected cell based on cell reselection.
However ETSI teaches in context with 5.1 teaches in 5.2.8 last two paragraphs about and the current cell does not support IMS emergency calls as indicated by the field ims-EmergencySupport in SIB1 (i.e. information through SIB) as specified in TS 38.331 [3], the UE shall perform cell selection/reselection to an acceptable cell that supports emergency calls in any supported RAT regardless of priorities provided in system information from current cell, if no suitable cell is found; further see 3.1 regarding camped on a cell: UE has completed the cell selection/reselection process and has chosen a cell. The UE monitors system information and (in most cases) paging information.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of ETSI with the teachings of XU to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein determine whether an emergency call is supported on the another network having a lower priority than the non-terrestrial network using information on emergency call support stored in the memory; and based on the emergency call being supported on the another network having the lower priority, perform camp-on on the another network having the lower priority instead of the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority, and wherein the camp-on includes monitoring, by the electronic device, system information and paging information in a newly selected cell based on cell reselection; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 17, Xu in view of ETSI teaches as per claim 11, Xu teaches about, further comprising based on a request for a specific service supported on the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority being detected based on the camp-on on another network having the lower priority being performed: releasing the camp-on with another network having the lower priority; and performing camp-on with the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority; Xu see in [0069].. the cell reselection indication is generated per service. According to some embodiments, for UE triggered service request, UE may perform the cell reselection and camp on the corresponding cell for initial access based on the cell reselection indication (e.g., service-related NTN/TN cell priority); now refer to [0040].. UE may include the following steps: S302, obtaining, from a network device, a cell reselection indication (for example, a cell reselection priority), wherein the cell reselection indication indicates to the UE whether a terrestrial network (TN) cell or a non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell serves as a camping cell for which the UE performs cell reselection; and S304, performing the cell reselection based on the cell reselection indication; now see [0041]… after obtaining the cell reselection priority, UE will first check the high priority network (for example, the TN network or the NTN network). But if the condition/radio quality of the high priority network is not good, UE may select the low priority network as a fallback. In other words, UE could select the low priority network for camping if the high priority network is not good enough from the radio quality perspective.; further see [0044].. the UE obtains, from a network device, a cell reselection indication, wherein the cell reselection indication (for example, the cell reselection priority) indicates to the UE whether a terrestrial network (TN) cell or a non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell serves as a camping cell for which the UE performs cell reselection.
Regarding claim 18, Xu in view of ETSI teaches as per claim 11, further comprising, based on a request for a specific service supported on the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority being detected based on a communication connection being established on another network having the lower priority: identifying whether support for a specific service is possible on another network having the lower priority;
releasing the camp-on with another network having the lower priority, based on support for the specific service being impossible on another network having the lower priority; and
performing the camp-on with the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority; Xu teaches in [0045].. the coverage of a cell or a beam in NTNs is typically much wider than that in the TNs. However, at least partially due to the larger coverage, the NTNs have longer communication delay than TNs. The service throughput provided by NTNs is lower than that of TNs. Therefore, it is proposed that different services be planned to be carried by different networks in the TN and NTN interworking deployment. Specifically, services with high data rate and/or strict latency requirement may for example be provided through TNs (e.g., TN cells), while services with low data rate and/or relaxed latency requirement may for example be provided through NTNs (e.g., NTN cells); now refer to [0048].. may also be considered that a UE initially camps on an NTN cell and triggers the connection in the NTN for file transfer protocol (FTP) service. Consequently, due to relatively low data rate as compared to TNs, the NTN handovers the UE to a TN (e.g., a TN cell). Then, the UE starts the FTP service after successful handover to the TN…now see [0049- 0050].. he cell reselection indication may comprise a cell reselection priority. According to some embodiments, the cell reselection priority may be predefined to impact cell selection/reselection between a TN cell and an NTN cell. According to some embodiments, the cell selection/reselection may be performed during an initial access procedure…if one of the NTN and TN radio access technologies (RATs) has higher priority, UE will prioritize the cell associated with the one RAT with the higher priority to camp on if suitable NTN cell or TN cell could be founded. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Nassar with the teachings of Xu in view of ETSI to make system more effective. Having a mechanism to identifying whether support for a specific service is possible on another network having the lower priority; releasing the camp-on with another network having the lower priority, based on support for the specific service being impossible on another network having the lower priority; and performing the camp-on with the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority; greater way resources can be prioritized/managed in the communication system.
Claim(s) 2- 3, 12- 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0008399 A1) in view of ETSI TS 138 304 V17.1.0 (2022- 08), “5G; NR; User Equipment (UE) procedures in idle mode and in RRC Inactive state (3GPP TS 38.304 version 17.1.0 Release 17)”; hereafter ETSI and in further view of Tseng et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0047987 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Xu in view of ETSI teaches as per claim 1, but Xu is silent about wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one communication processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
receive, from an external server, information of a base station not supporting the emergency call, or receive information on whether the emergency call is supported, in a process of connecting with at least one network;
store information on the received information on emergency call support in the memory; and
determine whether the emergency call is supported on another network having the lower priority based on the information stored in the memory; however Tseng teaches in [0157] regarding , the UE may identify whether the cell (e.g., Cell #1) support emergency service by reading SIB1 (e.g., by checking whether ims-EmergencySupport or eCallOverIMS-Support is delivered via SIB1); further see [0143].. the UE may camp on or connect to a serving cell and the UE may obtain and/or store broadcasting system information (e.g., SIB1 or other System Information (SI)) from the serving cell….further see [0106] regarding .. the UE may obtain ephemeris information (i.e. satellite system data) from a serving cell via system information (e.g., SIB1) broadcasted by the serving cell. In some additional implementations, the UE may obtain the ephemeris information of neighboring cells via system information (e.g., SIB2, SIB3, SIB4, or SIB5 in NR protocols). In some implementations, one or more cells may share the same ephemeris such that the serving cell may also broadcast the cell identity list (e.g., PCI list or Cell identity list) that share the same ephemeris information. In some additional implementations, the cells that share the same ephemeris information may also share the same SAP configuration. In other words, the serving RAN may only need to configure the ephemeris information of a cell (e.g., a serving cell) and the cell list that shares the same ephemeris information….In some implementations, due to the technical features of NTN, there may be more than one cell associate with a satellite ID, or a configuration of ephemeris information of a satellite provided by the serving RAN; further see [0143] (in context with [0106] …there may be more than one cell associate with a satellite ID, or a configuration of ephemeris information of a satellite provided by the serving RAN ; also refer in context with [0097] and [0188].. CellReselectionPriority is presented by a integer within a range (0-7). The value 0 means the lowest priority and the value 7 means the highest priority. )… UE may camp on or connect to a serving cell (i.e. lower priority) and the UE may obtain and/or store broadcasting system information. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Tseng with the teachings of Xu in view of ETSI to make system more reliable. Having a mechanism wherein to receive, from an external server, information of a base station not supporting the emergency call, or receive information on whether the emergency call is supported, in a process of connecting with at least one network; store information on the received information on emergency call support in the memory; and determine whether the emergency call is supported on another network having the lower priority based on the information stored in the memory; greater way more reliable communication can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 3, Xu in view of ETSI and Tseng teaches as per claim 2, wherein the information on emergency call support comprises at least one of a public land mobile network (PLMN) (mobile country code (MCC)+mobile network code (MNC)), a cell ID, a band, a bandwidth, a frequency, or a system information block (SIB) (Tseng see [0158]… UE may identify whether the cell (e.g., Cell #1) support emergency service by reading SIB1 (e.g., by checking whether ims-EmergencySupport or eCallOverIMS-Support is delivered via SIB1).), and
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one communication processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to determine whether a specific network supports an emergency call using the information on emergency call support; Tseng see [0158] In some implementations, the UE may identify whether the cell (e.g., Cell #1) support emergency service by reading SIB1 (e.g., by checking whether ims-EmergencySupport or eCallOverIMS-Support is delivered via SIB1).
Regarding claim 12, Xu in view of ETSI teaches as per claim 11, but Xu is silent about wherein the determining of whether the emergency call is supported on the another network having the lower priority comprises:
receiving, from an external server, information of a base station not supporting the emergency call, or receive information on whether the emergency call is supported, in a process of connecting with at least one network;
storing information on the received information on emergency call support in the memory; and
determining whether the emergency call is supported on another network having the lower priority based on the information stored in the memory; however Tseng teaches in [0157] regarding , the UE may identify whether the cell (e.g., Cell #1) support emergency service by reading SIB1 (e.g., by checking whether ims-EmergencySupport or eCallOverIMS-Support is delivered via SIB1); further see [0143].. the UE may camp on or connect to a serving cell and the UE may obtain and/or store broadcasting system information (e.g., SIB1 or other System Information (SI)) from the serving cell….further see [0106] regarding .. the UE may obtain ephemeris information (i.e. satellite system data) from a serving cell via system information (e.g., SIB1) broadcasted by the serving cell. In some additional implementations, the UE may obtain the ephemeris information of neighboring cells via system information (e.g., SIB2, SIB3, SIB4, or SIB5 in NR protocols). In some implementations, one or more cells may share the same ephemeris such that the serving cell may also broadcast the cell identity list (e.g., PCI list or Cell identity list) that share the same ephemeris information. In some additional implementations, the cells that share the same ephemeris information may also share the same SAP configuration. In other words, the serving RAN may only need to configure the ephemeris information of a cell (e.g., a serving cell) and the cell list that shares the same ephemeris information….In some implementations, due to the technical features of NTN, there may be more than one cell associate with a satellite ID, or a configuration of ephemeris information of a satellite provided by the serving RAN; further see [0143] (in context with [0106] …there may be more than one cell associate with a satellite ID, or a configuration of ephemeris information of a satellite provided by the serving RAN ; also refer in context with [0097] and [0188].. CellReselectionPriority is presented by a integer within a range (0-7). The value 0 means the lowest priority and the value 7 means the highest priority. )… UE may camp on or connect to a serving cell (i.e. lower priority) and the UE may obtain and/or store broadcasting system information. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Tseng with the teachings of Xu in view of ETSI to make system more reliable. Having a mechanism wherein to receive, from an external server, information of a base station not supporting the emergency call, or receive information on whether the emergency call is supported, in a process of connecting with at least one network; store information on the received information on emergency call support in the memory; and determine whether the emergency call is supported on another network having the lower priority based on the information stored in the memory; greater way more reliable communication can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 13, Xu in view of ETSI and Tseng teaches as per claim 12, wherein the determining of whether the emergency call is supported on another network having the lower priority further comprises determining whether a specific network supports an emergency call using the received information on emergency call support, and wherein the information on emergency call support comprises at least one of a public land mobile network (PLMN) (mobile country code (MCC)+mobile network code (MNC)), a cell ID, a band, a bandwidth, a frequency, or a system information block (SIB) (Tseng see [0158]… UE may identify whether the cell (e.g., Cell #1) support emergency service by reading SIB1 (e.g., by checking whether ims-EmergencySupport or eCallOverIMS-Support is delivered via SIB1).), and
wherein one or more of the at least one communication processor is configured to determine whether a specific network supports an emergency call using the information on emergency call support; Tseng see [0158] In some implementations, the UE may identify whether the cell (e.g., Cell #1) support emergency service by reading SIB1 (e.g., by checking whether ims-EmergencySupport or eCallOverIMS-Support is delivered via SIB1).
Claim(s) 9- 10, 19- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0008399 A1) in view of ETSI TS 138 304 V17.1.0 (2022- 08), “5G; NR; User Equipment (UE) procedures in idle mode and in RRC Inactive state (3GPP TS 38.304 version 17.1.0 Release 17)”; hereafter ETSI and in further view of Nassar et al. (WO 2024/121754 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Xu in view of ETSI teaches as per claim 1, but Xu is silent about wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one communication processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
search for the cell corresponding to another network within the specified distance with reference to the location of the electronic device, based on the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority with respect to communication connection; and perform camp-on with the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority, based on the cell corresponding to another network not being found within the specified distance; however Nassar teaches in [0119]… For example, a terminal (e.g., a UE) located in a train, cruise-ship, or plane served normally by NTN, which is arriving at a stopover where dual coverage from the NTN and a TN is available can be configured (i.e. as per distance criteria) to use traffic aggregation to lower average latency or increase bandwidth of a (multi-access) data session (i.e. same way after the stopover a terminal (e.g., a UE) located in a train, cruise-ship, or plane starts next journey naturally within distance criteria will be gone (i.e. very far from TN network) hence high priority NTN will be connected for communication). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Nassar with the teachings of Xu in view of ETSI to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein one or more of the at least one communication processor is configured to: search for the cell corresponding to another network within the specified distance with reference to the location of the electronic device, based on the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority with respect to communication connection; and perform camp-on with the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority, based on the cell corresponding to another network not being found within the specified distance; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 10, Xu in view of ETSI teaches as per claim 1, but Xu is silent about wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one communication processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device, based on a change in the location of the electronic device, or a change in a cell found with reference to the location of the electronic device: determine whether an emergency call is supported on a newly found network; and perform camp-on on the newly found network, based on the emergency call being supported on the newly found network; Nassar teaches in [0119]… For example, a terminal (e.g., a UE) located in a train, cruise-ship, or plane served normally by NTN, which is arriving at a stopover where dual coverage from the NTN and a TN is available can be configured (i.e. as per distance criteria compared to UE location) to use traffic aggregation to lower average latency or increase bandwidth of a (multi-access) data session. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Nassar with the teachings of Xu in view of ETSI to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein one or more of the at least one communication processor is configured to, based on a change in the location of the electronic device, or a change in a cell found with reference to the location of the electronic device: determine whether an emergency call is supported on a newly found network; and perform camp-on on the newly found network, based on the emergency call being supported on the newly found network; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 19, Xu in view of ETSI teaches as per claim 11, but Xu fails to teach about further comprising:
searching for the cell corresponding to the another network within the specified distance with reference to the location of the electronic device, based on the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority with respect to communication connection; and performing camp-on with the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority, based on the cell corresponding to the another network not being found within the specified distance; however Nassar see [0119]… For example, a terminal (e.g., a UE) located in a train, cruise-ship, or plane served normally by NTN, which is arriving at a stopover where dual coverage from the NTN and a TN is available can be configured (i.e. as per distance criteria) to use traffic aggregation to lower average latency or increase bandwidth of a (multi-access) data session (i.e. same way after the stopover a terminal (e.g., a UE) located in a train, cruise-ship, or plane starts next journey naturally within distance criteria will be gone (i.e. very far from TN network) hence high priority NTN will be connected for communication). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Nassar with the teachings of Xu in view of ETSI to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein searching for the cell corresponding to another network within the specified distance with reference to the location of the electronic device, based on the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority with respect to communication connection; and performing camp-on with the non-terrestrial network having the highest priority, based on the cell corresponding to another network not being found within the specified distance; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 20, Xu in view of ETSI teaches as per claim 11, but Xu fails to teach about further comprising, based on a change in the location of the electronic device, or a change in a cell found with reference to the location of the electronic device: determining whether an emergency call is supported on a newly found network; and performing camp-on on the newly found network, based on the emergency call being supported on the newly found network; Nassar teaches in [0119]… For example, a terminal (e.g., a UE) located in a train, cruise-ship, or plane served normally by NTN, which is arriving at a stopover where dual coverage from the NTN and a TN is available can be configured (i.e. as per distance criteria compared to UE location) to use traffic aggregation to lower average latency or increase bandwidth of a (multi-access) data session. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Nassar with the teachings of Xu in view of ETSI to make system more effective. Having a mechanism about based on a change in the location of the electronic device, or a change in a cell found with reference to the location of the electronic device: determining whether an emergency call is supported on a newly found network; and performing camp-on on the newly found network, based on the emergency call being supported on the newly found network; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4- 6 and 14- 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0078746 A1) teaches about for de-prioritization of non-terrestrial networks (NTN) cells not providing current tracking area code (TAC) of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system is provided. The UE, which is camping on a NTN cell, receives, from a network node serving the NTN cell, information on multiple TACs, and de-prioritizes the NTN cell based on that a TAC of an area where the wireless device is currently located is not included in the multiple TACs; see abstract.
Reference Edge et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0144539 A1) teaches about User equipment (UE) access to a non-terrestrial network (NTN) via a satellite to a Fifth Generation (5G) public land mobile network (PLMN) is supported using fixed tracking areas (TAs) and fixed cells. The fixed TAs and fixed cells are defined in the NTN independently of NTN radio cells. Network elements in the NTN are provided with configuration information for the fixed TAs and fixed cells from a server (e.g., an Operations and Maintenance (O&M) server); see abstract.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479