DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 were previously pending. Applicant’s amendment filed May 5, 2026, has been entered in full. Claims 1, 8, 12, and 19 are amended. No claims are added or cancelled. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been overcome by the amendments to the claims (Remarks filed May 5, 2026, hereinafter Remarks: Page 7). Examiner agrees. The previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn.
Applicant traverses the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 (Remarks: Pages 7-8). Specifically, Applicant argues:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The basis of Applicant’s assertion that Tan’s teachings are “not reasonably equivalent” to the claimed invention is unclear and further explanation is requested. Tan modifies a model so that it can be executed on neural processing unit (NPU) (e.g., Pages 50-51, MODEL RETRAINING). The resulting NPU model is a specialized model at least because it has been specialized (e.g., through use of lower-precision numbers) to run on the NPU. Tan’s computation offloading technique includes determining a confidence of an NPU-specialized model and, if the confidence is less than a threshold, offloading the input video data to an edge server for higher-accuracy classification (Pages 54-55, COMPUTATION OFFLOADING). This clearly falls within the scope of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the obtained video data" in the seventh and tenth lines. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 previously recites that a controller is configured to (a) “obtain video data” at the fourth line and (b) “reduce a size of the video data to generate obtained video data” at the fifth line. It is unclear which version of the video data is referred to by later recitations of “the obtained video data”. Does it refer to (a) the originally-obtained video data, or (b) the size-reduced obtained video data? This ambiguity makes the scope of the claim unclear and renders the claim indefinite.
For purposes of compact prosecution (MPEP 2173.06), “the obtained video data” is understood to refer to either of (a) the originally-obtained video data or (b) the size-reduced obtained video data.
Claim 12 is also indefinite for substantially the same reason as claim 1. Claims 2-11 and 13-20 are also indefinite at least because they include the indefinite limitations of claim 1 or claim 12. Several of these dependent claims further recite “the video data” or “the obtained video data” and are further indefinite for substantially the same reasons discussed above – i.e., it is unclear whether the claims are referring to the video data before or after the size reduction is performed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 12-14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘Kim’ (“Design and Implementation of the Vehicular Camera System using Deep Neural Network Compression,” 2017) in view of ‘Tan’ (“Deep Learning on Mobile Devices With Neural Processing Units,” 2023).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a system for obtaining video analytic output (see mapping below) comprising:
a vehicle comprising a controller (e.g., Figure 1, Section 3.1, Sec. 4.1) configured to:
obtain video data (e.g., Sec. 4.1, video is obtained from vehicle cameras; Fig. 5 shows examples);
obtain output of a specialized model by inputting the obtained video data to the specialized model (e.g., Secs. 3.2-3.3 describe how Faster-RCNN model is specialized through pruning and quantization model compression; e.g., Sec. 4.2 discusses analysis of outputs obtained by the specialized model); and
operate the vehicle using an output of the specialized model (e.g., Secs. 2.1 and 4.1, detection is implemented as part of ADAS, which operates vehicle using an output of the specialized object detection model).
Kim does not explicitly teach the controller further:
reducing a size of the video data to generate obtained video data using at least one of sampling or sub-sampling;
determining a confidence of the specialized model by inputting the obtained video data to the specialized model;
determining whether the confidence is greater than a predetermined value;
sending the obtained video data to an edge server in response to determining that the confidence is less than or equal to the predetermined value; and
that the operation of the vehicle using the output of the specialized model is in response to determining that the confidence is greater than the predetermined value.
Kim recognizes that deep learning models have very high performance, but are difficult to implement in embedded environments such as vehicles because their size and amount of computation are too large (e.g., Abstract). Kim proposes addressing this problem by applying model compression, where a model on a server is modified so that it is smaller and requires fewer computations (e.g., Abstract, 2nd par.; Secs. 3.2-3.3) and sent to a vehicle for local use (e.g., Fig. 2). While model compression is successful in reducing size and computation requirements (e.g., Secs. 4.2.1-4.2.2), Kim acknowledges that it also causes a reduction in performance (e.g., Sec. 4.2.5 and Fig. 9). Reduction in model performance is disadvantageous in general, but especially so in a safety system such as an ADAS.
Tan teaches a different approach for addressing this problem. Instead of analyzing video data only with a less-accurate local model, Tan also adaptively offloads some computation to a server (e.g., Page 54, COMPUTATION OFFLOADING). “Since the server has more computation capacity, more advanced deep learning models with high accuracy can be executed quickly” (Page 54, COMPUTATION OFFLOADING, 2nd paragraph), so offloading can advantageously increase accuracy. Tan’s offloading technique includes:
reducing a size of the video data to generate obtained video data using at least one of sampling or sub-sampling (Page 55, Offloading scheduling, especially the 2nd par., “CBO can also reduce the resolution of the offloaded frames”; Reducing resolution is at least one of sampling or sub-sampling at least because resolution reduction results in a lower number of samples (i.e., pixels); Note the ‘112(b) rejection);
determining a confidence of a specialized model by inputting obtained video data to the specialized model (e.g., Page 54, COMPUTATION OFFLOADING, 3rd par., “In our offloading framework, video frames are first processed on an NPU”; Note that the NPU model is a model that has been compressed/specialized to run on the NPU);
determining whether the confidence is greater than a predetermined value (e.g., Page 54, COMPUTATION OFFLOADING, 3rd par.);
sending the obtained video data to an edge server in response to determining that the confidence is less than or equal to the predetermined value (e.g., Page 54, COMPUTATION OFFLOADING, 3rd par., “otherwise, the data should be offloaded for further processing to improve accuracy”); and
using the output of the specialized model in response to determining that the confidence is greater than the predetermined value (e.g., Page 54, COMPUTATION OFFLOADING, 3rd par., “If the confidence score is higher than a threshold, the classification on an NPU is most likely correct and can be directly used”).
Tan demonstrates that offloading can produce higher accuracy than local computation with a specialized model alone (e.g., Fig. 9; Note that “CBO” refers to the offloading).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Kim with the offloading of Tan in order to improve the system with the reasonable expectation that this would result in a system that addressed the issues of model size and computation raised by Kim, but did so in a manner that provided advantageously higher model performance. This technique for improving the system of Kim was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Tan.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kim and Tan to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Tan teaches the system according to claim 1, and Kim further teaches that the specialized model is included in the vehicle (e.g., Sec. 3.1, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Tan teaches the system according to claim 1, and Kim further teaches that a general model in the edge server is compressed to the specialized model (e.g., Sec. 3.1 and Fig. 2; Secs. 3.2-3.3, general Faster R-CNN in the edge server is compressed through pruning and quantization).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Tan teaches the system according to claim 3, and Kim further teaches that parameters of the general model are compressed to obtain parameters of the specialized model (e.g., Sec. 3.3, parameters are compressed through conversion from 32-bit real numbers to 8-bit integers).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Tan teaches the system according to claim 3, and Kim further teaches that the general model comprises a machine learning model for processing frames in the video data (e.g., Sec. 2.3, Faster-RCNN).
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Tan teaches the system according to claim 1, and Kim further teaches that the edge server is configured to:
retrain the specialized model received from the vehicle (e.g., Sec. 3.1, Fig. 2, update phase at server); and
transmit the retrained specialized model to the vehicle (e.g., Sec. 3.1, Fig. 2, deployment of updated model to vehicle).
Kim teaches that the edge server and the vehicle “communicate over broadband connection” (Sec. 3.1, 2nd par.), that the specialized model is initially sent from the server to the vehicle (Sec. 3.1, 2nd par.; Fig. 2, end of Compression phase), and that the specialized model is later updated/retrained at the server (Sec. 3.1, 2nd par.; Fig. 2, Update phase, Updating on server). Nevertheless, Kim does not explicitly teach that the edge server is configured to receive the specialized model from the vehicle.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, in order to retrain the specialized model at the server, Kim would need the specialized model to be present at the server. I.e., the server cannot produce updated learning output from a specialized model and update the specialized model without access to that specialized model. Kim’s teachings demonstrate that the edge server can receive data transmitted from the vehicle (Sec. 3.1; Fig. 2) and that the specialized model can be transmitted (Sec. 3.1; Fig. 2). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that one way to ensure the specialized model was present at the edge server as required for retraining/updating would be to configure the edge server to receive the specialized model from the vehicle.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Kim in view of Tan as applied above to configure the edge server to receive the specialized model from the vehicle in order to improve the system with the reasonable expectation that this would result in a system that ensured the specialized model was present at the edge server as required for retraining/updating. This technique for improving the system of Kim in view of Tan was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Kim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kim and Tan to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Tan teaches the system according to claim 8, and Kim further teaches that the edge server retrains the specialized model with a general model in the edge server (e.g., Sec. 3.1, Fig. 2, general model is learned/updated, then compressed to obtain specialized model).
Regarding claim 12, Examiner notes that the claim recites a method that is substantially the same as the method performed by the system of claim 1. Kim in view of Tan teaches the system of claim 1 (see above). Accordingly, claim 12 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Tan for substantially the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Examiner notes that the claim recites a method that is substantially the same as the method performed by the system of claim 2. Kim in view of Tan teaches the system of claim 2 (see above). Accordingly, claim 13 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Tan for substantially the same reasons as claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, Examiner notes that the claim recites a method that is substantially the same as the method performed by the system of claim 3. Kim in view of Tan teaches the system of claim 3 (see above). Accordingly, claim 14 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Tan for substantially the same reasons as claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, Examiner notes that the claim recites a method that is substantially the same as the method performed by the system of claim 6. Kim in view of Tan teaches the system of claim 6 (see above). Accordingly, claim 17 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Tan for substantially the same reasons as claim 6.
Regarding claim 18, Examiner notes that the claim recites a method that is substantially the same as the method performed by the system of claim 7. Kim in view of Tan teaches the system of claim 7 (see above). Accordingly, claim 18 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Tan for substantially the same reasons as claim 7.
Regarding claim 19, Examiner notes that the claim recites a method that is substantially the same as the method performed by the system of claim 8. Kim in view of Tan teaches the system of claim 8 (see above). Accordingly, claim 19 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Tan for substantially the same reasons as claim 8.
Regarding claim 20, Examiner notes that the claim recites a method that is substantially the same as the method performed by the system of claim 9. Kim in view of Tan teaches the system of claim 9 (see above). Accordingly, claim 20 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Tan for substantially the same reasons as claim 9.
Claim(s) 4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Tan as applied above, and further in view of ‘Ren’ (“Faster R-CNN: Towards Real-Time Object Detection with Region Proposal Networks,” 2016).
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Tan teaches the system according to claim 3.
Kim’s specialized model recognizes two classes: vehicle sides and rears (Sec. 4.1). Kim teaches using Faster R-CNN as a general model (e.g., Sec. 2.3), but does not explicitly teach a number of classes recognized by Faster-RCNN.
However, Ren does teach details of Faster R-CNN, including that it can recognize 20 (Sec. 4.1, 1st par.) or 80 (Sec. 4.2, 1st par.) different object classes. Accordingly, a number of objects or classes recognized by the specialized model of Kim (2) is less than a number of objects or classes recognized by the Faster R-CNN general model (20 or 80), as required by the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 15, Examiner notes that the claim recites a method that is substantially the same as the method performed by the system of claim 4. Kim in view of Tan and Ren teaches the system of claim 4 (see above). Accordingly, claim 15 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Tan and Ren for substantially the same reasons as claim 4.
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Tan as applied above, and further in view of ‘Choi’ (US 2018/0268292 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Tan teaches the system according to claim 3.
Kim uses a Faster R-CNN object detector as a general model (e.g., Sec. 2.3) and applies model compression including pruning and quantization to obtain a smaller and faster specialized model (Secs. 3.2-3.3). Kim does not explicitly teach that its compression results in a number of hidden layers of the specialized model being less than a number of hidden layers of the general model. Tan also does not explicitly teach this feature.
However, Choi does teach an additional technique for compressing a Faster R-CNN object detection model based on knowledge distillation (e.g., Figs. 1 and 4; [0036]). A larger and slower teacher/general model is used to train a smaller and faster compressed/specialized/student model (e.g., [0028]-[0029]). The compressed/specialized/student model has fewer hidden layers than the general/teacher model ([0028], “the teacher model 110 may include a larger number of hidden layers … compared to the student model 120”).
Choi teaches that its techniques “solve the problem of achieving object detection at an accuracy comparable to complex deep learning models, while maintaining speeds similar to a simpler deep learning model” ([0070]). Choi also teaches that “Distillation tends to solve the problem of generalization, in other words, the over-fitting problem” ([0060]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Kim in view of Tan with the knowledge distillation of Choi in order to improve the system with the reasonable expectation that this would result in a system that could solve the problem of achieving object detection at an accuracy comparable to complex deep learning models, while maintaining speeds similar to a simpler deep learning model, and/or that could solve the problem of generalization. This technique for improving the system of Kim in view of Tan was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Choi.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kim, Tan and Choi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, Examiner notes that the claim recites a method that is substantially the same as the method performed by the system of claim 5. Kim in view of Tan and Choi teaches the system of claim 5 (see above). Accordingly, claim 16 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Tan and Choi for substantially the same reasons as claim 5.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Tan as applied above, and further in view of ‘Suri’ (US 2024/0046456 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Tan teaches the system of claim 1.
Kim and Tan teach servers (see mapping in rejections above), but do not explicitly address server availability. Kim and Tan do not explicitly teach the limitations of claim 10.
However, Suri does teach a server system for analyzing received data including a queue manager that:
determines whether an edge server is available for processing received data (e.g., [0039], “if a model server, for example the tooth identification module, is not responding”);
stores the received data in a frame buffer in response to determining that the edge server is not available (e.g., [0039], “the messages stay in the queue and are read later when the model server becomes available again”); and
inputs the video data to a general model in the edge server to obtain analytic output in response to determining that the edge server is available (e.g., [0039], messages are read once server is available).
Suri teaches that its queue manager has several advantages, such as allowing asynchronous processing, which is particularly useful for time-consuming image processing tasks, providing load balancing, fault tolerance, and scalability ([0039]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Kim in view of Tan with the queue manager of Suri in order to improve the system with the reasonable expectation that this would result in a system that enjoyed at least one of the advantages identified by Suri. This technique for improving the system of Kim in view of Tan was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Suri.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kim, Tan and Suri to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Tan as applied above, and further in view of ‘Burger’ (US 2020/0265301 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Tan teaches the system according to claim 1.
Kim teaches periodically transmitting obtained video data to a server for use in re-training (Sec. 3.1, Fig. 2). Tan teaches transmitting video data to a server for additional processing in response to determining that the confidence is less than or equal to the predetermined value (see rejection of claim 1).
Neither Kim nor Tan teaches sending the specialized model in response to determining that the confidence is less than or equal to the predetermined value.
However, Burger does teach performing incremental training of a model in response to determining that the model’s confidence is less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (e.g., Fig. 6, steps 640-650), and sending the model to a server (e.g., [0094], “the application executing on the client device can update operational parameters for the server computer and all client devices communicating with the server, such as by performing the incremental training of the neural network model and distributing the updated operational parameters to local server computer memory”).
Like Kim, Burger teaches that example input/video data can be uploaded to a server for retraining ([0083]). However, Burger also recognizes that users may prefer for their input/video data to be processed locally instead of being stored in a remote training data set (e.g., [0084]). Performing incremental training locally and sending the model itself, rather than input/video data, advantageously enhances privacy by avoiding the remote storage of the input/video data in a server’s training dataset.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Kim in view of Tan with the model sending of Burger in order to improve the system with the reasonable expectation that this would result in a system that enhanced privacy by avoiding the remote storage of input/video data in a server’s training dataset. This technique for improving the system of Kim in view of Tan was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Burger.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kim, Tan, and Burger to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
‘MathWorks’ (“Object Detection Using Faster R-CNN Deep Learning,” archived 6 December 2022)
Gives an example of how to use a Faster R-CNN neural network model (the same model used by Kim)
Explains how it is desirable to use input images with minimum size to reduce the computational cost of running the model – paragraph spanning pages 2-3
Explains that input images larger than that minimum input size must be resized (i.e., reduce their size via at least one of sampling or sub-sampling) in a pre-processing step – see, e.g., the following:
page 3, below
input
S
ize
definition;
page 6, same preprocessing is applied to test data;
page 7, Supporting Functions,
preprocessData
function, resizing with
imresize
function.
/GEOFFREY E SUMMERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2669