DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 2, the recitations of “a preset temperature” and “a first discharge” in line 2 are suggested to change to - - the preset temperature - - and - - the first discharge - -.
Regarding claim 10, the recitation of “a first discharge current” in line 2 is suggested to change to - - the first discharge current - -.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a signal acquisition unit” and “a processing unit” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2019/0027792, cited by applicant) in view of Wu et al. (CN 104347896B, English machine translation, cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches a method for discharging a battery (lithium-ion battery), comprising: obtaining a temperature of the battery ([0027] and [0038]); and determining, when the temperature of the battery is lower than a preset temperature threshold ([0038]), to discharge the battery based on a first discharge current (high frequency oscillation current), and then determining to discharge the battery based on a second discharge current (middle frequency two-wat oscillation current) ([0139]-[0141]); wherein the first discharge current is used for heating the battery during discharging ([0139]-[0141] and [0183]); and the first discharge current is greater than the second discharge current ([0027]).
Sun further teaches threshold of the temperature of the battery ([0053] and [0139]-[0141] and[0183]) but silent to a preset condition.
However, Wu teaches method for discharging a battery comprising a preset condition ([0010] and [0016]).
In view of Wu’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sun by incorporating the teaching as taught by Wu in order to improve the service life of the battery (see Wu: [0002], [0006] and [0019]).
Regarding claim 2, Sun as modified by Wu teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Sun and Wu further teach wherein determining, when the temperature of the battery is lower than a preset temperature threshold, to discharge the battery based on a first discharge current comprises: determining, when the temperature of the battery is lower than the temperature threshold and a state of charge (SOC) of the battery is greater than a preset SOC threshold, to discharge the battery based on the first discharge current (Sun: [0029] and [0036]. Wu: [0016]).
Regarding claim 3, Sun as modified by Wu teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Sun further teaches wherein determining, when the temperature of the battery is lower than the temperature threshold and a state of charge (SOC) of the battery is greater than a preset SOC threshold, to discharge the battery based on the first discharge current comprises: determining, when the temperature of the battery is lower than the temperature threshold, the SOC of the battery is greater than the SOC threshold, and discharge power of the battery needs to be increased, to discharge the battery based on the first discharge current ([0139] and [0183]-[0184]).
Regarding claim 4, Sun as modified by Wu teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Sun and Wu further teach wherein the preset condition comprises that the temperature of the battery is higher than or equal to the temperature threshold and/or that the SOC of the battery is less than or equal to the SOC threshold (Sun: [0139] and [0184]. Wu: [0010] and [0016]).
Regarding claim 5, Sun as modified by Wu teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Sun and Wu further teach wherein the first discharge current is at least one of a pulse current, a constant-voltage discharge current, and a constant-power discharge current, and the second discharge current is a direct current (Sun: [0136]. Wu: [0011] and [0019]).
Regarding claim 6, Sun as modified by Wu teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Sun and Wu further teach wherein a duty cycle of the pulse current is greater than or equal to 0.01 and less than or equal to 50 (Sun: [0136]. Wu: [0014]).
Regarding claim 7, Sun as modified by Wu teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Sun and Wu further teach wherein the first discharge current is greater than or equal to 0.2C and smaller than or equal to 10C (Sun: [0134]-[0135]. Wu: [0010]).
Regarding claim 8, Sun as modified by Wu teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Sun further teaches wherein the method is executed by a battery management system (BMS) of the battery ([0135] and [0137]).
Regarding claim 9, Sun teaches an apparatus for discharging a battery ([0236]), comprising a signal acquisition unit configured to obtain a temperature of the battery ([0145]); and a processing unit configured to determine, when the temperature of the battery is lower than a preset temperature threshold ([0038]), to discharge the battery based on a first discharge current (high frequency oscillation current), and then determining to discharge the battery based on a second discharge current (middle frequency two-wat oscillation current) ([0139]-[0141]); wherein the first discharge current is used for heating the battery during discharging ([0139]-[0141] and [0183]); and the first discharge current is greater than the second discharge current ([0027]).
Sun further teaches threshold of the temperature of the battery ([0053] and [0139]-[0141] and[0183]) but silent to a preset condition.
However, Wu teaches method for discharging a battery comprising a preset condition ([0010] and [0016]).
In view of Wu’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sun by incorporating the teaching as taught by Wu in order to improve the service life of the battery (see Wu: [0002], [0006] and [0019]).
Regarding claim 10, Sun as modified by Wu teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Sun and Wu further teach wherein in determining to discharging the battery based on a first discharge current, the processing unit is configured to: determining, when the temperature of the battery is lower than the temperature threshold and a state of charge (SOC) of the battery is greater than a preset SOC threshold, to discharge the battery based on the first discharge current (Sun: [0029] and [0036]. Wu: [0016]).
Regarding claim 11, Sun as modified by Wu teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Sun further teaches wherein in determining, when the temperature of the battery is lower than the temperature threshold and a state of charge (SOC) of the battery is greater than a preset SOC threshold, to discharge the battery based on the first discharge current, the processing unit is configured to: determining, when the temperature of the battery is lower than the temperature threshold, the SOC of the battery is greater than the SOC threshold, and discharge power of the battery needs to be increased, to discharge the battery based on the first discharge current ([0139] and [0183]-[0184]).
Regarding claim 12, Sun as modified by Wu teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Sun and Wu further teach wherein the preset condition comprises that the temperature of the battery is higher than or equal to the temperature threshold and/or that the SOC of the battery is less than or equal to the SOC threshold (Sun: [0139] and [0184]. Wu: [0010] and [0016]).
Regarding claim 13, Sun as modified by Wu teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Sun and Wu further teach wherein the first discharge current is at least one of a pulse current, a constant-voltage discharge current, and a constant-power discharge current, and the second discharge current is a direct current (Sun: [0136]. Wu: [0011] and [0019]).
Regarding claim 14, Sun as modified by Wu teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Sun and Wu further teach wherein a duty cycle of the pulse current is greater than or equal to 0.01 and less than or equal to 50 (Sun: [0136]. Wu: [0014]).
Regarding claim 15, Sun as modified by Wu teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Sun and Wu further teach wherein the first discharge current is greater than or equal to 0.2C and smaller than or equal to 10C (Sun: [0134]-[0135]. Wu: [0010]).
Regarding claim 16, Sun as modified by Wu teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Sun further teaches wherein the method is executed by a battery management system (BMS) of the battery ([0135] and [0137]).
Regarding claim 17, Sun as modified by Wu teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Sun further teaches an apparatus (fig. 11, [0236]) for discharging a battery, comprising a memory and a processor ([0227]-[0229]), wherein the memory stores computer instructions, and the processor invokes the computer instructions to cause the apparatus to implement the method for discharging a battery according to claim 1 ([0227]-[0236]).
Regarding claim 18, Sun as modified by Wu teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Sun further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store a computer program, wherein when the computer program is executed by a computing device, the computing device is caused to implement the method for discharging a battery according to claim 1 ([0227]-[0236]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
References: Chen et al. (US 2023/0207915); Zhang et al. (US 2020/0280110); Kim et al. (US 10,711,757); Tang et al. (EP 3370299A1) and Nishimura et al. (US 2011/0193529) are cited because they are related to battery charging and discharging apparatus.
/TUYEN K VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876