DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-6 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
3. Claim 2 is indefinite because the multiple uses of “total stilbenes” is confusing. Claim 2 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 describes the “total stilbenes” in the composition comprising the combination of the Cyperus rotundus extract and the Passiflora edulis extract. Claim 2 then uses “total stilbenes” in the context of the individual extracts. This is confusing because the concentration of “total stilbenes” for the P. edulis extract is outside the range claimed in claim 1 for the “total stilbenes.” It appears that applicant intends for the extract of the P. edulis containing 15 to 25% stilbene be combined with the C. rotundus extract to arrive at a concentration that falls within the range of claim 1. However, the use of the same phrase, i.e. “total stilbene” to describe all three elements, i.e. each individual extract and the combination, is confusing and indefinite. Clarification is needed.
4. Claim 5 at steps b, f, i, k, and l is indefinite because the steps state that “4 volumes” of methanol, hexane, and ethanol, and “6 volumes” of water and ethyl acetate are used but does not define what is considered the “volume” amount.
Claim 5 at steps d, o and p is indefinite because, as discussed above, the use of “total stilbene” to describe each of the individual extracts and the combination of the extracts is confusing.
Claim 5 at step p is indefinite because it states that the C. rotundus and P. edulis extracts are mixed in a ratio of “1:5, 2:4, 3:3, 4:2, 2:1, and 5:1 respectively.” It appears that “and” should be “or”, but clarification is needed. In addition, it is unclear what is meant by the use of “respectively” in this context.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
5. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to natural products without significantly more.
MPEP § 2106 sets forth the Subject Matter Eligibility Test to determine if a claim is directed to patent eligible subject matter. Step 1 asks if a claim is directed to a statutory category of invention. Applicant’s claims are directed to a product; thus, the answer to Step 1 is Yes.
The analysis then moves to Step 2A, Prong One, which asks if a claim recites to a product of nature. In this case, applicant’s claims recite extracts from C. rotundus and P. edulis containing Piceatannol, Scirpusin B, Scirpusin A, Cyperusphenol A and Cyperusphenol B. C. rotundus and P. edulis are both naturally occurring plants and the claimed stilbenes naturally occur in the these plants. Thus, the claims do recite products of nature. MPEP § 2106.04(b) states that “When a claim recites a nature-based product limitation, examiners should use the markedly different characteristics analysis discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(c) to evaluate the nature-based product limitation and determine the answer to Step 2A.”
MPEP § 2106.04(c)(I) states that “if the nature-based product limitation is not naturally occurring, for example due to some human intervention, then the markedly different characteristics analysis must be performed to determine whether the claimed product limitation is a product of nature exception…”. To perform the markedly different characteristic analysis, MPEP § 2106.04(c)(II) states “The markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state. Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product’s structure, function, and/or other properties…”.
In this case, extraction of plants only concentrates and portions the naturally occurring compounds in the plants which are soluble or insoluble in the particular solvent. General extraction does not necessarily result in a markedly distinct change in the naturally occurring compounds from the plant. Thus, while a solvent extract itself may not be found in the nature, the compounds which are present in the plant and soluble in the selected solvent are found in nature. The creation of a solvent extract only partitions and concentrates the molecules that are naturally in the plant. There is no evidence or reason to expect that any new compounds are formed. The extract itself is a mixture of the naturally occurring compounds that are simply soluble in a particular solvent. Thus, while extraction of the compounds with the selected solvent would separate a portion of the plant matter away from the naturally-occurring ingredients, the result of extraction is still a mixture of ingredients which are naturally-found in the plant material; i.e., the compound is not inventive or “man-made.” Thus, each of the extracts in turn is a mixture of the naturally occurring compounds found in the particular plants. Combining the extracts from the individual plants leads to a combination of the naturally occurring compounds from each of the plants. Thus, the claims are drawn to mixtures of naturally occurring products.
There is no indication that mixing the specified extracts together as commensurate in scope with the stated claims changes the structure, function, or other properties of the extracts in any marked way in comparison with the closest naturally occurring counterpart. The closest naturally occurring counterpart for each extract is a mixture of the naturally occurring compounds that are present in the extract. Because, as discussed above, each plant extract is only a mixture of the naturally occurring compounds found in the plant. Each extract composition appears to maintain its naturally occurring structure and properties and is merely present in the combination. In addition, there is nothing to show that mixing the ingredients in the particular concentrations produces any sort of marked distinction. Thus, the claimed mixture as a whole does not display markedly different characteristics in comparison with the naturally occurring counterparts. Therefore, the answer to Step 2A, Prong One, is Yes.
In regards to claim 5, please note that MPEP § 2106.4(c)(I)( B) states “For a product-by-process claim (e.g., a claim to a cloned farm animal produced by a nuclear transfer cloning method), the analysis turns on whether the nature-based product in the claim has markedly different characteristics from its naturally occurring counterpart…”. As discussed above, the claimed combination is not considered to display markedly distinct characteristics. Thus, the product-by-process limitations of claim 5 are not considered to be sufficient to render the claim patent eligible.
The analysis must move to Step 2A, Prong Two, which asks if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) this evaluation is performed by identifying whether there are additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception and evaluating these additional elements to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. In this case, applicant’s claim 6 is directed to a composition with an intended use of an orally administered pharmaceutical/nutraceutical mixed with carriers. Carriers can be naturally occurring and powdered composition such as encompassed by claim 6 can be naturally occurring. MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) specifically states that a claim is only directed to “an intended use of a claimed invention or a field of use limitation, then it cannot integrate a judicial exception under the ‘treatment or prophylaxis’ consideration.” Therefore, applicant’s intended use is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Thus, the answer to Step 2A, Prong Two, is No.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2B which asks if claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP § 2106.05 states that this evaluation is performed by “Evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept requires considering them both individually and in combination to ensure that they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.” In this case, the additional element in the claims is the combination of extracts. However, MPEP § 2106.05(d) states that well-understood, routine, and conventional activities are not sufficient to show that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Mixing specific compounds does not amount to significantly more than a combination of judicial exception because mixing compounds is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field. Thus, mixing the ingredients together does not amount to significantly more than a combination of judicial exception because mixing compounds is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field.
In addition, applicant’s intended use of an oral pharmaceutical is not considered to amount to significantly more. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(I)(A), “Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use” is not considered to be enough to qualify as significantly more. An intended use of a claimed composition only generally links the exception to the field of use. Therefore, the additional elements are not considered to amount to significantly more. Thus, the answer to Step 2B is No. Consequently, the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-6 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng (Latin American Journal of Pharmacy (2017), vol. 36, no. 3, pp. 590-4) and Kurita (JP 2014-172841 A – English translation).
Deng teaches an extract from Cyperus rotundus that contains scirpusin A, scirpusin B, (±) cyperushphenol A, meso-cyperushphenol A and cyperushphenol B. The reference teaches that the composition is useful for lowering blood sugar levels in diabetic patients. The reference teaches that the extract is made by extracting powdered rhizomes (tubers) with methanol, followed by filtration and concentration (see abstract, Introduction, and pages 592 and 594). The reference does not teach including piceatannol or Passiflora edulis in the composition.
However, Kurita teaches using a Passiflora edulis extract which contains piceatannol to lower blood sugar levels in diabetic patients. The reference teaches that the extract is made from the seeds of the plant using solvents such as ethanol and ethyl acetate. The extract is formulated into tablets, capsules, powders, or solutions using carriers (see paragraphs 10, 13, 15, 28, and 37 of the translation).
These references show that it was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to use the claimed ingredients in compositions that treat diabetes. It is well known that it is prima facie obvious to combine two or more ingredients each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form a third composition which is useful for the same purpose. The idea for combining them flows logically from their having been used individually in the prior art.
Based on the disclosure by these references that these substances are used in compositions to treat diabetes, an artisan of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation that a combination of the substances would also be useful in creating compositions to treat diabetes. Therefore, the artisan would have been motivated to combine the claimed ingredients into a single composition. No patentable invention resides in combining old ingredients of known properties where the results obtained thereby are no more than the additive effect of the ingredients. See MPEP section 2144.06, In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980), Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992).
The references do not specifically teach that the composition contains the claimed percentages of the stilbenes or mixing the extract in ratios claimed. However, as discussed in MPEP section 2144.05(II)(A), “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” Varying the concentration of ingredients within a pharmaceutical composition is not considered to be inventive unless the concentration is demonstrated as critical. In this particular case, there is no evidence that the claimed concentration of the ingredients produces an unexpected result. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameter, this optimization of ingredient concentration would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention.
The references do not teach that the composition is extracted in the same manner as claimed by applicant in claim 5. However, regarding product-by-process claims, MPEP § 2113 states that:
[w]hen the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 of the statute is appropriate…A lesser burden of proof is required to make out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Brown, 59 CCPA 1063, 173 USPQ 685 (1972) ; In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324 (CCPA1974)… Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
In this case, the prior art extracts reasonably appear to be the same as the claimed extracts because the prior art extracts are from the same portions of the same plants, contain the same stilbene components, and are extracted with solvents which overlap with those claimed by applicant. Therefore, it is reasonable to conclude that the reference products are the same or similar to the claimed products despite the difference in the product-by-process limitations.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,925,671. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US ‘671 encompass a composition comprising a mixture of C. rotundus and P. edulis extracts with Piceatannol, Scirpusin B, Scirpusin A, Cyperusphenol A and Cyperusphenol B and standardized to contains 6 to 10% total stilbenes.
US ‘671 does not claim all of the stilbene concentrations and ratios of the extracts as claimed. However, as discussed above, differences in concentrations of active ingredients is considered to be an obvious modification. In addition, the claims do not state that the composition is formulated as claimed in claim 6. However, the ingredients and formulations claimed in claim 6 are well known to be appropriate for oral pharmaceutical compositions. An artisan of ordinary skill would reasonably expect that the composition claimed by US ‘671 could be successfully formulated using this well known knowledge.
In addition, US ‘671 does not claim that the extracts are made in the same manner as claimed. However, paragraphs 33-48 of US ‘671 state that the extracts are made using the same process. MPEP section 804, II-B-1 states "those portions of the specification which provide support for the patent claims may also be examined and considered when addressing the issue of whether a claim in the application defines an obvious variation of an invention claimed in the patent." Thus, the limitations of claim 5 are considered to be properly taught by US ‘671.
This application is a CIP of US ‘671. Please note that the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit has concluded that the protection of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not extend to all types of continuing applications, stating that "the protection afforded by section 121 to applications (or patents issued therefrom) filed as a result of a restriction requirement is limited to divisional applications." Pfizer, Inc. v. Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc., 518 F.3d 1353, 1362, 86 USPQ2d 1001, 1007-1008 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
8. No claims are allowed.
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655