DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11-12, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kotreka et al (US 20160007370 A1, hereinafter Kotreka).
Regarding Claim 1, Kotreka teaches A method for wireless communication, comprising:
determining a first transmit power to facilitate decoding of a page signal;
(Kotreka [0069] As described, conventional mobile communication devices attempt to mitigate the effects of de-sense on a victim subscription by configuring the aggressor subscription to blank or reduce the power of its transmissions during times in which the victim subscription is attempting to perform reception activities (e.g., paging-reception and power-monitoring operations)).
(Note: here the "aggressor subscription" or the first subscription is the "first transmit". By reducing the power of the first transmit it is attempting reception activities (i.e., paging-reception) as well as determining the a first transmit power (i.e. and power-monitoring operations.)
(Note: Decoding operation at Fig3, 304)
receiving, for a time duration, the page signal using a first receive chain;
(Kotreka [0012] In some embodiments, identifying an upcoming compressed-mode gap of the first subscription may include receiving compressed-mode information for the first subscription from a network of the first subscription and identifying the upcoming compressed-mode gap of the first subscription based on the received compressed-mode information.)
and performing a transmission using the first transmit power during the time duration in which the page signal is being received, wherein the transmission is performed using a second transmit power before or after the time duration, the second transmit power being greater than the first transmit power.
(Kotreka [0069] As described, conventional mobile communication devices attempt to mitigate the effects of de-sense on a victim subscription by configuring the aggressor subscription to blank or reduce the power of its transmissions during times in which the victim subscription is attempting to perform reception activities (e.g., paging-reception and power-monitoring operations.))
(Note: here the transmission has the capability to "blank or reduce" the of during times of receiving paging signal. And as such, before or after the reception, it can be increase to a higher power mode.)
Regarding the amendment of Claim 1 and 11, which recites
wherein the first transmit power is determined based on a difference between a first frequency associated with the transmission and a second frequency associated with the reception of the page signal.
As described in the previous action, see sections [0026] and [0049] which show timing diagrams of the first and second “frequencies”. These two “frequencies” are also described in sections [0010], [0011] and [0043] in Kotreka.
For example, the first and second start times i.e. transmit times are happening over and over again i.e. in case in an identifiable first frequency associated with the transmission and the second frequency associated with the reception of the page signal. For example, these start and end times of each subscription define the recited first and second “frequencies” and the power is (or may be interpreted to be) determined “based on those different frequencies”, as the claim does not define HOW the power is determined based on those different frequencies.
Furthermore, we would respectfully like to add that the added “wherein” clause may not be given much patentable weight, as it is not written as an actively performed method step. In a method claim only positively performed steps are given patentable weight. The added passive wherein clause can be interpreted to further define details of the first power, but it is not currently written as a step which is actively performed.
For example, to give the feature in claim 1 a patentable weight, it could be written as “determining a first transmit power based on a difference between a first frequency associated with the transmission ……”.
Regarding Claim 2, Kotreka teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the transmission is performed for a first subscriber, and wherein the page signal is received for a second subscriber different than the first subscriber.
(Kotreka [0049] In various embodiments, the first subscription (i.e., an aggressor subscription) may utilize a first radio access technology or “RAT” to communicate with its mobile network, and the second subscription (i.e., the victim subscription) may receive communications from its mobile network via a second RAT that differs from the first RAT. Fig 3 illustrates this action.)
Regarding Claim 7, Kotreka teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first transmit power is determined based on a configured transmit power for each of a plurality of band combinations.
(Kotreka [0027] FIG. 5 is a timeline diagram illustrating scheduling a second subscription to perform power-monitoring operations during compressed-mode gaps in a first subscription's transmissions.)
Regarding Claim 8, Kotreka teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the configured transmit power is determined based on a harmonic associated with the transmission overlapping with a frequency associated with the reception of the page signal.
(Kotreka [0066, line 12] One or more transmit circuits 310 may condition the modulated signal (e.g., by filtering, amplifying, and upconverting) to generate an RF modulated signal for transmission.)
(Note: 'Harmonic associated with the reception' means filtering and/or amplifying)
Regarding Claim 9, Kotreka teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the configured transmit power is determined based on a harmonic associated with the reception of the page signal causing down-conversion of transmitted signal appearing at an input of the first receive chain receiving the page signal.
(Kotreka [0067] At the receiver 304, the second wireless antenna 220b may receive RF modulated signals from the second base station 140. However, the second wireless antenna 220b may also receive some RF signaling 330 from the transmitter 302, which may ultimately compete with the desired signal received from the second base station 140. One or more receive circuits 316 may condition (e.g., filter, amplify, and down convert) the received RF modulated signal, digitize the conditioned signal, and provide samples to a demodulator 318.)
(Note: 'Harmonic associated with the reception' means filtering and/or amplifying)
Regarding Claim 11, Kotreka teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors
(Kotreka [0058] The mobile communication device 200 may include at least one controller, such as a general processor 206.)
(Kotreka [0058, line 5] The general processor 206 may also be coupled to the memory 214. The memory 214 may be a non-transitory computer readable storage medium that stores processor-executable instructions.)
determine a first transmit power to facilitate decoding of a page signal, wherein the page signal is configured to be received for a time duration using a first receive chain;
(Kotreka [0069] As described, conventional mobile communication devices attempt to mitigate the effects of de-sense on a victim subscription by configuring the aggressor subscription to blank or reduce the power of its transmissions during times in which the victim subscription is attempting to perform reception activities (e.g., paging-reception and power-monitoring operations)).
(Note: here the "aggressor subscription" or the first subscription is the "first transmit". By reducing the power of the first transmit it is attempting reception activities (i.e., paging-reception) as well as determining the a first transmit power (i.e. and power-monitoring operations).
(Note: Decoding operation at Fig3, 304)
and cause a transmission to be performed using the first transmit power during the time duration in which the page signal is being received, wherein the transmission is caused to be performed using a second transmit power before or after the time duration, the second transmit power being greater than the first transmit power.
(Kotreka [0069] As described, conventional mobile communication devices attempt to mitigate the effects of de-sense on a victim subscription by configuring the aggressor subscription to blank or reduce the power of its transmissions during times in which the victim subscription is attempting to perform reception activities (e.g., paging-reception and power-monitoring operations))
(Note: here the transmission has the capability to "blank or reduce" the of during times of receiving paging signal. And as such, before or after the reception, it can be increase to a higher power mode.)
Regarding Claim 12, Kotreka teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the transmission is performed for a first subscriber, and wherein the page signal is received for a second subscriber different than the first subscriber.
(Kotreka [0049] In various embodiments, the first subscription (i.e., an aggressor subscription) may utilize a first radio access technology or “RAT” to communicate with its mobile network, and the second subscription (i.e., the victim subscription) may receive communications from its mobile network via a second RAT that differs from the first RAT. Fig 3 illustrates this action.)
Regarding Claim 17, Kotreka teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the first transmit power based on a configured transmit power for each of a plurality of band combinations.
(Korteka [0027] FIG. 5 is a timeline diagram illustrating scheduling a second subscription to perform power-monitoring operations during compressed-mode gaps in a first subscription's transmissions according to various embodiments.)
Regarding Claim 18, Kotreka teaches the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the configured transmit power is determined based on a harmonic associated with the transmission overlapping with a frequency associated with the reception of the page signal.
(Kotreka [0066, line 12] One or more transmit circuits 310 may condition the modulated signal (e.g., by filtering, amplifying, and upconverting) to generate an RF modulated signal for transmission.)
(Note: 'Harmonic associated with the reception' means filtering and/or amplifying)
Regarding Claim 19, Kotreka teaches the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the configured transmit power is determined based on a harmonic associated with the reception of the page signal causing down-conversion of a transmitted signal appearing at an input of the first receive chain receiving the page signal.
(Kotreka [0067] At the receiver 304, the second wireless antenna 220b may receive RF modulated signals from the second base station 140. However, the second wireless antenna 220b may also receive some RF signaling 330 from the transmitter 302, which may ultimately compete with the desired signal received from the second base station 140. One or more receive circuits 316 may condition (e.g., filter, amplify, and down convert) the received RF modulated signal, digitize the conditioned signal, and provide samples to a demodulator 318.)
(Note: 'Harmonic associated with the reception' means filtering and/or amplifying)
Regarding Claim 20, Kotreka teaches the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the configured transmit power is determined based on a harmonic associated with the reception of the page signal causing down-conversion of a transmitted signal appearing at an input of the first receive chain receiving the page signal.
(Kotreka [0067] At the receiver 304, the second wireless antenna 220b may receive RF modulated signals from the second base station 140. However, the second wireless antenna 220b may also receive some RF signaling 330 from the transmitter 302, which may ultimately compete with the desired signal received from the second base station 140. One or more receive circuits 316 may condition (e.g., filter, amplify, and down convert) the received RF modulated signal, digitize the conditioned signal, and provide samples to a demodulator 318.)
(Note: 'Harmonic associated with the reception' means filtering and/or amplifying)
determine a first transmit power to facilitate decoding of a page signal, wherein the page signal is configured to be received for a time duration using a first receive chain;
(Kotreka [0069] As described, conventional mobile communication devices attempt to mitigate the effects of de-sense on a victim subscription by configuring the aggressor subscription to blank or reduce the power of its transmissions during times in which the victim subscription is attempting to perform reception activities (e.g., paging-reception and power-monitoring operations)). (Note: here the "aggressor subscription" or the first subscription is the "first transmit". By reducing the power of the first transmit it is attempting reception activities (i.e., paging-reception) as well as determining the a first transmit power (i.e. and power-monitoring operations).
(Note: Decoding operation at Fig3, 304)
and cause a transmission to be performed using the first transmit power during the time duration in which the page signal is being received, wherein the transmission is caused to be performed using a second transmit power before or after the time duration, the second transmit power being greater than the first transmit power.
(Kotreka [0069] As described, conventional mobile communication devices attempt to mitigate the effects of de-sense on a victim subscription by configuring the aggressor subscription to blank or reduce the power of its transmissions during times in which the victim subscription is attempting to perform reception activities (e.g., paging-reception and power-monitoring operations))
(Note: here the transmission has the capability to "blank or reduce" the of during times of receiving paging signal. And as such, before or after the reception, it can be increase to a higher power mode.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kotreka et al (US 20160007370 A1, hereinafter Kotreka) in view of Mahler (US 20230318678 A1, hereinafter Mahler)
Regarding Claim 3, Kotreka teaches all of claim 1 but does not teach
wherein the first transmit power is determined such that a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) associated with the reception of the page signal is at least 1 dB less than a maximum SNR associated with the reception of the page signal.
However, Mahler teaches
wherein the first transmit power is determined such that a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) associated with the reception of the page signal is at least 1 dB less than a maximum SNR associated with the reception of the page signal.
(Mahler [0031] A non-limiting example of such a mapping is described further below with respect to FIG. 3, which depicts an example mapping 300 which may be utilized by a base station. The example mapping diagram 300 illustrates various indices 310, each of which corresponds to a respective combination of parameters in columns signal-to-distortion ratio 320)
(Mahler [0031, line 8] In the example implementation shown in FIG. 3, each of the signal-to-distortion ratios in the column 320 is a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) in decibels (dB))
(Note: Fig 1, 2 and 3 shows how the mapping is done and how through mapping claimed parameter can be achieved.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Kotreka et al by incorporating Mahler providing resources to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled to determine the transmit power of the page signal within the specified range of signal to noise ratio (SNR).
Regarding Claim 13, Kotreka teaches all of claim 11 but does not teach
wherein the first transmit power is determined such that a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) associated with the reception of the page signal is at least 1 dB less than a maximum SNR associated with the reception of the page signal.
However, Mahler teaches
wherein the first transmit power is determined such that a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) associated with the reception of the page signal is at least 1 dB less than a maximum SNR associated with the reception of the page signal.
(Mahler [0031] A non-limiting example of such a mapping is described further below with respect to FIG. 3, which depicts an example mapping 300 which may be utilized by a base station. The example mapping diagram 300 illustrates various indices 310, each of which corresponds to a respective combination of parameters in columns signal-to-distortion ratio 320)
(Mahler [0031, line 8] In the example implementation shown in FIG. 3, each of the signal-to-distortion ratios in the column 320 is a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) in decibels (dB))
(Note: Fig 1, 2 and 3 shows how the mapping is done and how through mapping claimed parameter can be achieved.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Kotreka et al by incorporating Mahler providing resources to the apparatus to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled to determine the transmit power of the page signal within the specified range of signal to noise ratio (SNR).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kotreka et al (US 20160007370 A1, hereinafter Kotreka) in view of Krieter et al (US 5510778 A, hereinafter Krieter)
Regarding Claim 5, Kotreka teaches Claim 1 but does not teach
further comprising performing a reception using a second receive chain while receiving the page signal, wherein the first transmit power is determined based on an intermodulation product of mixer local oscillator frequencies associated with the reception of the page signal using the first receive chain and the reception using the second receive chain.
However, Krieter teaches
further comprising performing a reception using a second receive chain while receiving the page signal, wherein the first transmit power is determined based on an intermodulation product of mixer local oscillator frequencies associated with the reception of the page signal using the first receive chain and the reception using the second receive chain.
[Column 2, line 48] Turning now to FIG. 3, the frequency agile paging receiver module 104 preferably includes a frequency synthesizer 164 for generating a user selectable down conversion frequency in conjunction with a voltage controlled oscillator (VCO) 162 that is combined by a mixer 160 with a signal received by an antenna 114 from a radio frequency band (e.g., somewhere in the 900 Megahertz band) to produce a received signal at a predetermined intermediate frequency (IF) (e.g., centered precisely at a carrier frequency of 300 Megahertz).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Kotreka by incorporating Krieter providing resources to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled product of the local oscillator frequencies of a mixer to be used in determining the first transmit power.
Regarding Claim 15, Kotreka teaches claim 11, but does not teach
wherein a reception is configured to be performed using a second receive chain while receiving the page signal, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the first transmit power based on an intermodulation product of mixer local oscillator frequencies associated with the reception of the page signal using the first receive chain and the reception using the second receive chain.
However, Krieter teaches
wherein a reception is configured to be performed using a second receive chain while receiving the page signal, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the first transmit power based on an intermodulation product of mixer local oscillator frequencies associated with the reception of the page signal using the first receive chain and the reception using the second receive chain.
[Column 2, line 48] Turning now to FIG. 3, the frequency agile paging receiver module 104 preferably includes a frequency synthesizer 164 for generating a user selectable down conversion frequency in conjunction with a voltage controlled oscillator (VCO) 162 that is combined by a mixer 160 with a signal received by an antenna 114 from a radio frequency band (e.g., somewhere in the 900 Megahertz band) to produce a received signal at a predetermined intermediate frequency (IF) (e.g., centered precisely at a carrier frequency of 300 Megahertz).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Kotreka by incorporating Krieter providing resources to the apparatus to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the apparatus to use the product of the local oscillator frequencies of a mixer in determining the first transmit power.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kotreka et al (US 20160007370 A1, hereinafter Kotreka) in view of Krieter et al (US 5510778 A, hereinafter Krieter) and in further view of LI et al (US 20250380245 A1, hereinafter Li)
Regarding Claim 6, Kotreka teaches claim 1 and Krieter teaches claim 5 but do not teach
further comprising shifting one of the mixer local oscillator frequencies at which the page signal is received based on the intermodulation product.
However, Li teaches
further comprising shifting one of the mixer local oscillator frequencies at which the page signal is received based on the intermodulation product.
(Li [0085] The BBF 510 filters the baseband signals received from the DAC 508, and the mixer 512 mixes the filtered baseband signals with a transmit local oscillator (LO) signal to convert the baseband signal of interest to a different frequency (e.g., upconvert from baseband to RF.))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Kotreka and Krieter by incorporating Li providing resources to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled necessary shifting process of one of the mixer local oscillator frequencies at which the page signal is received based on the intermodulation product.
Regarding Claim 16, Kotreka teaches claim 11 and Krieter teaches claim 15 but do not teach
wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause a shift of one of the mixer local oscillator frequencies at which the page signal is received based on the intermodulation product.
However, Li teaches
wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause a shift of one of the mixer local oscillator frequencies at which the page signal is received based on the intermodulation product.
(Li [0085] The BBF 510 filters the baseband signals received from the DAC 508, and the mixer 512 mixes the filtered baseband signals with a transmit local oscillator (LO) signal to convert the baseband signal of interest to a different frequency (e.g., upconvert from baseband to RF))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Kotreka and Krieter by incorporating Li providing resources to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled necessary shifting process of one of the mixer local oscillator frequencies at which the page signal is received by the apparatus based on the intermodulation product.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kotreka et al (US 20160007370 A1, hereinafter Korteka) in view of XIE et al (US 20220256328 A1, hereinafter Xie)
Regarding Claim 10, Kotreka teaches both Claim 1 and 7 but does not teach
wherein each of the plurality of band combinations comprises a first band associated with the transmission and a second band associated with the reception of the page signal.
However, Xie teaches
wherein each of the plurality of band combinations comprises a first band associated with the transmission and a second band associated with the reception of the page signal.
(Xie [0011] The method generally includes generating a first message indicating a preferred discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of a user-equipment (UE) for reception via a radio-access technology (RAT) associated with a subscriber identify module (SIM) of the UE associated with a multi-SIM deployment of the UE, transmitting the first message to a network entity, and receiving a second message indicating another DRX cycle to be applied for reception via the RAT after transmitting the first message.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Kotreka et al by incorporating Xie providing resources to the apparatus to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled to distinguish the transmission and reception of the page signal by different band (multiple cycles) groups.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As described above the amendment to claim 1 does not carry much patentable weight as it is not an actively performed method step. As also described above, the time periods of each subscription (which repeat over and over again) form the recited “frequencies”. And also described above as the claim language does not define how the first power is calculated based on the frequency difference, Kotreka may be broadly interpreted to read on the claim language.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RANA H MAHMUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644