DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 18 August 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-11 remain pending in the application. Claim 2 has been canceled. No new claims have been added. Applicant's amendments to the claims have overcome the 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 18 August 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted between 03 January 2025 and 20 October 2025 were considered by the examiner The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN107946686A (machine translation) of Cao, in view of CN110581322A (machine translation) of Zhu, further in view of the combination of CN111313121A (machine translation) of Wang and CN113067028A (machine translation) of Sha.
Claim 1 claims a battery recycling method, comprising: performing a split processing on a battery to obtain a metal shell, an electrode assembly, and a copper-aluminum plastic block, wherein the electrode assembly comprises a roll core or a lamination; recycling the metal shell; crushing the copper-aluminum plastic block; blowing the crushed copper-aluminum plastic block with hot gas; and performing a sorting processing on the crushed copper-aluminum plastic block blown by the hot gas to obtain a plastic sheet, a copper sheet, and an aluminum sheet.
Cao discloses that first, the used iron phosphate battery (575g) was disassembled under an inert atmosphere of argon or nitrogen to obtain 84.2 g of the shell and 490.8 g of the inner core, Para[0041]. The inner core is equivalent to the claimed electrode assembly comprising a roll core. Cao also discloses the recycling of the metals shell, Para[0006]. Cao discloses the crushing of the dry core to obtain copper-aluminum mixed metal particles and a mixture of separator chips, Para[0012]. The separator chips are equivalent to the plastic in the claimed copper-aluminum plastic block.
While Cao teaches crushing of the dry core to obtain copper-aluminum mixed metal particles with separator chips, Para[0012], and sorting to achieve separation of the copper-aluminum metal particles and the separator chips, Para[0041], Cao does not teach blowing the crushed copper-aluminum with hot gas.
Zhu teaches a dry recovery system for waste power lithium battery in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Zhu discloses that the electrode powder and the copper-aluminum mixture and the separator are subjected to primary air separation, Para[0010].
Wang teaches a method and system for preparing positive and negative electrode waste powder by crushing lithium batteries in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Wang teaches that the air separation process removes the upper light material and the bottom-heavy Substance, Para[0027]. Wang also teaches that the coarsely crushed product in step (1) is heated for one stage to obtain a heated product, Para[0051].
Sha teaches a recycling method of lithium iron phosphate retired lithium-ion battery in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Sha discloses that the crushed materials are transported to the electrolyte volatilization device-hot water plate heater, and the electrolyte is quickly volatilized under the protection of nitrogen. The heat source of the hot water plate heater is the central radiating heating gas, and the hot gas at 100℃ is injected. The electrolyte is quickly volatilized Para[0021].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the air separation, taught by Zhu, Wang, and Sha, with a hot gas as taught by Wang and Sha, in the method disclosed by Cao, in order to obtain separate the copper, aluminum and plastic separator to obtain a heated product for further processing. Thus, Cao, Zhu, Wang and Sha teach all limitations of claim 1.
Claim 3 further limits claim 1 by claiming that a blowing temperature of the hot gas for blowing the crushed copper-aluminum plastic block ranges from 60 to 100℃.
Cao does not teach blowing the crushed copper-aluminum with hot gas.
Wang teaches that the coarsely crushed product in step (1) is heated for one stage to obtain a heated product; the temperature of the one-stage heating is 60-110°C, Para[0044]. This overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Wang also discloses that the volatilization is carried out in stages, and the three-stage heating method is adopted to finally improve the separation efficiency of copper and aluminum from waste powder and reduce waste powder in copper and aluminum products, Para[0021].
Sha discloses that the crushed materials are transported to the electrolyte volatilization device-hot water plate heater, and the electrolyte is quickly volatilized under the protection of nitrogen. The heat source of the hot water plate heater is the central radiating heating gas, and the hot gas at 100℃ is injected. The electrolyte is quickly volatilized Para[0021]. This lies inside the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the temperature disclosed by Zhu and Sha for the hot gas in the method disclosed by Cao, Zhu, Wang, and Sha in order to improve the separation efficiency of copper and aluminum and to volatize the electrolyte. Thus, Cao, Zhu, Wang and Sha teach all limitations of claim 3.
Claim 4 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the battery recycling method further comprises: crushing the electrode assembly; performing a thermal desorption processing on the crushed electrode assembly; grinding a material obtained after the thermal desorption processing; obtaining battery powder and copper-aluminum mixed powder through a first dust collection process and a first screening process; and performing a graded gravity separation processing on the copper-aluminum mixed powder, to obtain copper powder and aluminum powder separately.
While Cao discloses a screening process, Para[0019], Cao does not teach thermal desorption, a dust collection process or graded gravity separation.
Zhu teaches that the step of removing the binder from the electrode scraps at high temperature includes: covering the electrode scraps in the container, and removing the binder by high temperature under a ventilated condition to obtain a mixture of electrode powder and copper and aluminum, Para[0034]. This heat treatment is equivalent to the claimed thermal desorption. Zhu also discloses that After the above sorting process is completed, the light product (electrode powder, separator mixture) enters a primary classification system, and is divided into two parts: electrode powder and separator. The classification system is equipped with a complete dust removal system, Para[0044]. Zhu teaches that according to the density difference and particle size difference of copper foil, aluminum foil, separator and electrode powder, sorting by density and classifying by particle size are realized, Para[0056]. Sorting by density is equivalent to graded gravity separation. Zhu discloses that the invention designs a dry power lithium battery dry recovery system, which solves the problems of low waste lithium power battery recovery rate, environmental pollution and large energy consumption in the existing pretreatment technology, Para[0008].
Wang discloses pyrolysis which is equivalent to claimed thermal desorption, Para[0007]. Wang teaches that the purpose of the three-stage heating pyrolysis is to remove the binder PVDF or residual traces of other organic matter, and obtain pure positive and negative waste powder, Para[0021].
Sha teaches that the material dust and volatilized electrolyte gas generated during the crushing process are first collected through a cloth bag to collect 99% of the dust, Para[0036]. Sha discloses that the purpose of the present invention is to provide a method for recycling lithium iron phosphate decommissioned lithium-ion batteries, Para[0009].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the thermal desorption as taught by Zhu and Wang, the dust collection as taught by Zhu and Sha, and sorting by density as taught by Zhu in the method disclosed by Cao, Zhu, Wang, and Sha in order to remove the binder from the powder providing a method for recycling lithium batteries achieving less environmental pollution and consuming less energy.
Thus, Cao, Zhu, Wang and Sha teach all limitations of claim 4.
Claims 5 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN107946686A (machine translation) of Cao, in view of CN110581322A (machine translation) of Zhu, further in view of the combination of CN111313121A (machine translation) of Wang and CN113067028A (machine translation) of Sha, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of CN110534834A (machine translation) of Linghu.
Claim 5 further limits claim 4 by claiming that the thermal desorption processing on the crushed electrode assembly comprises: performing a primary thermal desorption processing on the crushed electrode assembly; and performing a secondary thermal desorption processing on a material obtained after the primary thermal desorption processing, wherein: a temperature of the secondary thermal desorption processing is greater than a temperature of the primary thermal desorption processing; and the battery recycling method further comprises: performing a first condensation processing on an exhaust gas generated by performing the primary thermal desorption processing, to obtain a first electrolyte; and performing a second condensation processing on an exhaust gas generated by performing the secondary thermal desorption processing, to obtain a second electrolyte.
While Cao teaches condensation processing to obtain an electrolyte, Para[0011], Cao does not teach thermal desorption.
Wang teaches a first and second thermal desorption where the second thermal desorption temperature is higher than the first, Para[0021]. Wang discloses that the volatilization is carried out in stages, and the three-stage heating method is adopted to finally improve the separation efficiency of copper and aluminum from waste powder and reduce waste powder in copper and aluminum products, Para[0021].
Linghu teaches a method for recovering electrolyte in waste lithium battery in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Linghu teaches condensation processing to recover the electrolyte, Para[0022]. Linghu discloses that the invention provides a method for recovering and treating the electrolytic solution in a waste lithium-ion battery. The method not only effectively recovers the electrolytic solution, the exhaust gas after the treatment reaches the emission standard, Para[0015].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the multi-stage thermal desorption taught by Wang, and the condensation processing taught by Cao and Linghu to the method disclosed by Cao, Zhu, Wang, and Sha in order to increase the efficiency of the copper aluminum separation and effectively recover the electrolytic solution. Thus, Cao, Zhu, Wang, Sha and Linghu teach all limitations of claim 5.
Claim 8 further limits claim 5 by claiming that before performing the first condensation processing on the exhaust gas generated by performing the primary thermal desorption processing, the method further comprises performing a second dust collection process and a second screening process on the exhaust gas generated by performing the primary thermal desorption processing, to obtain a first diaphragm and first battery powder; and/or before performing the second condensation processing on the exhaust gas generated by performing the secondary thermal desorption processing, the method further comprises performing a third dust collection process and a third screening process on the exhaust gas generated by performing the secondary thermal desorption processing, to obtain second battery powder.
While Cao discloses a screening process, Para[0019], Cao does not teach a dust collection process.
Zhu discloses that After the above sorting process is completed, the light product (electrode powder, separator mixture) enters a primary classification system. The classification system is equipped with a complete dust removal system, Para[0045].
Sha teaches that the material dust and volatilized electrolyte gas generated during the crushing process are first collected through a cloth bag to collect 99% of the dust, Para[0036]. Sha discloses that the purpose of the present invention is to provide a method for recycling lithium iron phosphate decommissioned lithium-ion batteries, Para[0009].
Linghu teaches that the crusher is placed in a ventilation system, and the dust is collected for centralized processing, Para[0026], and that the thermally cracked gas is first dedusted, and then condensed to recover the condensed electrolyte, Para[0027].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the dust processing as taught by Zhu, Sha, and Linghu in the method disclosed by Cao, Zhu, Wang, Sha, and Linghu in order to dedust the gas so the electrolyte can be recovered. Thus, Cao, Zhu, Wang, Sha and Linghu teach all limitations of claim 8.
Claim 9 further limits claim 8 by claiming that the secondary thermal desorption processing on the material obtained after the primary thermal desorption processing comprises: mixing the first battery powder and/or the second battery powder into the material obtained after the primary thermal desorption processing and then performing the secondary thermal desorption processing.
Cao does not teach thermal desorption.
Wang teaches a first and second thermal desorption where the second thermal desorption temperature is higher than the first, Para[0021]. Wang discloses that the volatilization is carried out in stages, and the three-stage heating method is adopted to finally improve the separation efficiency of copper and aluminum from waste powder and reduce waste powder in copper and aluminum products, Para[0021]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the thermal desorption as taught by Wang in the method disclosed by Cao, Zhu, Wang, Sha, and Linghu in order to improve the efficiency of the separation of copper and aluminum. Thus, Cao, Zhu, Wang, Sha and Linghu teach all limitations of claim 9.
Claim 10 further limits claim 5 by claiming that before performing the secondary thermal desorption processing on the material obtained after the primary thermal desorption processing, the method further comprises: performing an air separation on the materials obtained after the primary thermal desorption processing, to separate mixed powder of third battery powder and a second diaphragm; and screening the mixed powder, to obtain the second diaphragm and the third battery powder respectively.
While Cao discloses a screening process, Para[0019], Cao does not teach air separation.
Zhu discloses that the secondary air-flow separator performs secondary separation of the copper-aluminum mixture, a copper foil and an aluminum foil are obtained, Para[0010].
Wang teaches that the air separation process removes the upper light material and the bottom-heavy Substance, Para[0027].
Linghu teaches that according to the composition of the lithium battery, screening, air separation, magnetic separation, eddy current separation, or a combination of the separation methods are used to sort the crushed materials to obtain the electrode material and Iron, aluminum, copper powder, Para[0039].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use air separation and screening as taught by Zhu, Wang, and Linghu in the method disclosed by Cao, Zhu, Wang, Sha, and Linghu in order to sort the crushed material. Thus, Cao, Zhu, Wang, Sha and Linghu teach all limitations of claim 10.
Claim 11 further limits claim 10 by claiming that performing the secondary thermal desorption processing on the material obtained after the primary thermal desorption processing comprises: mixing the third battery powder into a remaining material obtained after air separation, and performing the secondary thermal desorption processing.
Cao does not teach thermal desorption or air separation.
Zhu discloses that the secondary air-flow separator performs secondary separation of the copper-aluminum mixture, a copper foil and an aluminum foil are obtained, Para[0010].
Wang teaches that the air separation process removes the upper light material and the bottom-heavy Substance, Para[0027]. Wang also teaches a first and second thermal desorption where the second thermal desorption temperature is higher than the first, Para[0021]. Wang discloses that the volatilization is carried out in stages, and the three-stage heating method is adopted to finally improve the separation efficiency of copper and aluminum from waste powder and reduce waste powder in copper and aluminum products, Para[0021].
Linghu teaches that according to the composition of the lithium battery, screening, air separation, magnetic separation, eddy current separation, or a combination of the separation methods are used to sort the crushed materials to obtain the electrode material and Iron, aluminum, copper powder, Para[0039].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the thermal desorption as taught by Wang and the air separation and screening as taught by Zhu, Wang, and Linghu in the method disclosed by Cao, Zhu, Wang, Sha, and Linghu in order to sort the crushed material and improve the efficiency of the separation of copper and aluminum. Thus, Cao, Zhu, Wang, Sha and Linghu teach all limitations of claim 11.
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN107946686A (machine translation) of Cao, in view of CN110581322A (machine translation) of Zhu, CN111313121A (machine translation) of Wang, CN113067028A (machine translation) of Sha, and CN110534834A (machine translation) of Linghu, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of CN114614074A (machine translation) of Wu and CN114540622A (machine translation) of Xu.
Claim 6 further limits claim 5 by claiming that a processing temperature of the primary thermal desorption processing ranges from 100 to 200℃, and a processing time ranges from 20 to 40minutes; and a processing temperature of the secondary thermal desorption processing ranges from 300 to 600℃, and a processing time ranges from 20 to 40minutes.
Cao does not teach thermal desorption.
Wang teaches a first and second thermal desorption where the second thermal desorption temperature is higher than the first, Para[0021]. The temperature of the first-stage heating is 60-110°C, Para[0012]. The temperature of the second-stage heating is 260-305°C, Para[0019]. These overlap with the claimed temperature ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Wang discloses that the volatilization is carried out in stages, and the three-stage heating method is adopted to finally improve the separation efficiency of copper and aluminum from waste powder and reduce waste powder in copper and aluminum products, Para[0021].
Wu teaches a waste lithium-ion battery recycling method and device in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Wu teaches that the first cracking can be carried out under the following conditions, such as 170 ° C ~ 300 ° C, under the protection of inert gas, the time can be 20 minutes ~ 180 minutes, the longer the time, the more sufficient the cracking, and the shorter the time, the better the efficiency, Para[0058]. This overlaps with the claimed range for time and temperature of the primary thermal desorption. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05.
Xu teaches a method for extracting metal elements form lithium-ion battery positive electrode material in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Xu discloses that the pyrolysis is vacuum roasting, and the pyrolysis reaction conditions are vacuum roasting at 450-550° C. for 30-60 min. This overlaps with the claimed range for time and temperature of the secondary thermal desorption. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Xu teaches that the metal elements in the positive electrode material can be fully converted into metal salt solids; when the reaction temperature is too low, the conversion reaction cannot be fully started, which will lead to low extraction efficiency of metal elements; when the reaction temperature is too high, the metal generated by the reaction The salt will further decompose and generate water-insoluble metal oxides, which is not conducive to the leaching and extraction of metal elements, Para[0023].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the temperatures and times taught by Wu and Xu in the primary and secondary thermal desorptions taught by Wang in the method disclosed by Cao, Zhu, Wang, Sha, and Linghu in order to achieve sufficient cracking and high extraction efficiency of the metal elements. Thus, Cao, Zhu, Wang, Sha, Linghu, Wu and Xu teach all limitations of claim 6.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN107946686A (machine translation) of Cao, in view of CN110581322A (machine translation) of Zhu, CN111313121A (machine translation) of Wang, CN113067028A (machine translation) of Sha, and CN110534834A (machine translation) of Linghu, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of CN111825069A (machine translation) of Lin.
Claim 7 further limits claim 5 by claiming that after performing the first condensation processing on the exhaust gas generated by performing the primary thermal desorption processing, the method further comprises performing a first spray processing on the exhaust gas that is generated by performing the primary thermal desorption processing and that undergoes the first condensation processing, to obtain a first fluorine and phosphorus-containing product; and/or after a step of performing the second condensation processing on the exhaust gas generated by performing the secondary thermal desorption processing, the method further comprises performing a second spray processing on the exhaust gas that is generated by performing the secondary thermal desorption processing and that undergoes the second condensation processing, to obtain a second fluorine and phosphorus containing product.
Cao does not teach spray processing.
Sha teaches that the remaining gas is sprayed with alkali solution to remove fluorine and phosphorus, Para[0016].
Linghu teaches that Calcium oxide is added to the waste water after spraying to remove impurities, and precipitates such as calcium fluoride and calcium phosphate are generated, Para[0050].
Lin teaches a method for preparing flaky iron phosphate from acidic waste liquid and calcium phosphate waste residue in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Lin discloses that phosphorous chemical enterprises will produce a large amount of industrial solid waste phosphogypsum in the process of producing wet-process phosphoric acid. These phosphogypsums are rich in phosphorus and have high recycling value, Para[0006]
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the spray processing as taught by Sha and Linghu, producing the phosphogypsum taught by Lin, in the method disclosed by Cao, Zhu, Wang, Sha, and Linghu in order to remove the fluorine and phosphorus due to the high recycling value. Thus, Cao, Zhu, Wang, Sha and Linghu teach all limitations of claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that (remarks, pages 8 and 9 of 11) primary reference Cao never obtains a copper-aluminum plastic block and that Cao’s sorting yields only copper metal particles and aluminum metal particles. This is not found persuasive as Cao discloses that the crushed substances are sorted to obtain copper-aluminum mixed metal particles, and an electrode powder and a mixture of separator chips, Para[0012]. Additionally, secondary reference Wu teaches that waste lithium-ion batteries mainly contain outer packaging, electrolyte, positive electrode, negative electrode and plastic film, Para[0004]. Considering these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that lithium ion battery separators are plastic materials. Therefore, Cao’s separator chips correspond to the claimed plastic in the copper aluminum plastic block. Thus, Cao does in fact teach plastic.
Applicant argues that (remarks, page 9 of 11) Cao separately obtains the electrode powder and separator fragments as a different product stream than that of the metal particles. This is not found persuasive as Cao discloses the crushing of copper aluminum mixed metal particles and separator chips (equivalent to the claimed plastic) all in the same step, namely S3, Para[00012]. If the crushing takes place all at once than one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the materials were part of the same product stream. These substances are also sorted in the same step S3, Para[0012]. This meets the limitations of crushing the copper-aluminum plastic block and performing sorting processing on the crushed copper-aluminum plastic block as recited in instant claim 1.
Additionally, secondary reference Zhu discloses air separation of copper-aluminum mixture and the separator, Para[0010].
Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has attached previously-cited foreign references with their original documents that were inadvertently omitted in the non-final action. References Included herein: CN107946686A (machine translation), CN110581322A (machine translation), CN111313121A (machine translation), CN113067028A (machine translation), CN110534834A (machine translation), CN114614074A (machine translation), CN114540622A (machine translation), CN111825069A (machine translation)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB BENJAMIN STILES/Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/VANESSA T. LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733