DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim status in the amendment received on 8/3/2026:
Claims 1, 20 and 25 have been amended.
Claims 1-25 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 20-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Black et al. (Pub. No.: US 20030041264 A1) in view of Harutyunyan et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240028955 A1) and further in view of Blackwell et al. (Patent No.: US 7003781 B1).
As to claim 1, Black teaches a method comprising: detecting an event in a computing system (fig. 9, 900);
adding the event to an event group (fig.9, 904);
determining a group confidence level for the event group based on an event confidence level for the event and at least one of: one or more attributes of the event or one or more relationships between a source of the event and sources of events in the event group (paragraph [0043], “…In the example, the severity level of group 600 is 21 (i.e. 7 points for each event in the group-note again, however, that any formula for calculating a severity level that is reasonably related to the qualitative severity of the events making up the group may be used)…”, “severity level of group” teaches a group confidence level);
determining whether the group confidence level exceeds a threshold (paragraph [0043], “…If the threshold for this type of group (i.e., one holding (1, 2, 3) events) is set at 18, then group 600 is designated a situation, since group 600's severity level of 21 exceeds the threshold 18…”);
detecting an anomaly based on the group confidence level exceeding the threshold (paragraph [0043], “…If the threshold for this type of group (i.e., one holding (1, 2, 3) events) is set at 18, then group 600 is designated a situation, since group 600's severity level of 21 exceeds the threshold 18…”).
Black does not explicitly teach increasing processing capacity for a resource based on detected anomaly and transactional relationships indicating transacting or interaction between sources.
However, in an analogous art (detecting and resolving performance problems) Harutyunyan teaches detecting an anomaly with respect to a resource of the computing system based on the group confidence level exceeding the threshold (paragraph [0150], “…identifying the violation of the KPI threshold and the log messages…”); and
performing a remedial action on the computing system based on detecting the anomaly, wherein the remedial action includes increasing processing capacity available to the resource threshold (paragraph [0150], “…remedial measures to resolve the performance problem associated with the KPI threshold violation detected in block 2403 are executed. The remedial measures include, but are not limited to, restarting a host that runs the object, restarting the object, increasing memory or CPU allocation to the object…”).
Based on Black in view of Harutyunyan, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate increasing processing capacity for a resource based on detected anomaly (taught by Harutyunyan) with detecting anomaly (taught by Black) in order to improve system availability and prevent downtime.
Black in view of Harutyunyan does not explicitly teach transactional relationships indicating transacting or interaction between sources.
However, in the same field of endeavor (correlation of events in computing environment) Blackwell teaches one or more relationships comprise one or more transactional relationships indicating that the source interacts or transacts with the sources (col. 6, line 62- col. 7, line 1, “…Each event entry is associated with a group of event relationships 322. There can be different types of relationships defined for events. One important type of relationship considered by the analyzer 10 of this invention is the message path relation. The message path relation associates events that serve as the source and destination of a message transaction between two entities in the monitored system…”).
Based on Black in view of Harutyunyan and further in view of Blackwell, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate transactional relationships indicating transacting or interaction between sources (taught by Blackwell) with increasing processing capacity for a resource based on detected anomaly (taught by Harutyunyan) with detecting anomaly (taught by Black) in order to improve system availability and prevent downtime and in order to allow further refining the event group to specific corelated events.
As to claim 2, Black teaches wherein the one or more relationships comprise one or more transactional relationships or one or more infrastructure relationships (paragraph [0044], “…a group is a collection of similar or identical events …”).
As to claim 3, Black teaches wherein calculating the group confidence level comprises calculating the group confidence level based on whether a source of the event shares one or more relationships with sources of any other events in the event group (paragraph [0043], “…group 600 represents that a number of events with source "1," target "2," and event category "3"…”).
As to claim 4, Black teaches wherein the one or more attributes comprise an event type or an event source (paragraph [0043], “…group 600 represents that a number of events with source "1," target "2," and event category "3"…”).
As to claim 5, Black teaches wherein calculating the group confidence level comprises calculating the group confidence level based on whether the event shares the one or more attributes with any other events in the event group (paragraphs [0043]-[0044], “…a group is a collection of similar or identical events …”).
As to claim 20, Black further teaches an apparatus comprising: a processing device; and memory operatively coupled to the processing device, wherein the memory stores computer program instructions (paragraph [0025]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 20 are substantially similar to claim 1. Please refer to claim 1 above.
As to claims 21-24, the limitations of the claims are substantially similar to claims 2-5, respectively. Please refer to each respective claim above.
As to claim 25, Black further teaches a computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium, wherein the computer readable storage medium comprises computer program instructions (paragraph [0025]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 25 are substantially similar to claim 1. Please refer to claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Black et al. (Pub. No.: US 20030041264 A1) in view of Harutyunyan et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240028955 A1) and Blackwell et al. (Patent No.: US 7003781 B1) and further in view of Mo et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220232032 A1).
As to claim 6, Black in view of Harutyunyan and further in view of Blackwell does not explicitly teach apply growth factor based on event group type.
However, in the same field of endeavor (computing events monitoring) Mo teaches one or more attributes comprise an event type and wherein calculating the group confidence level comprises applying, to the event confidence level of the event, a growth factor based on a number of other events in the event group sharing the event type with the event (paragraph [0048], “…In some examples where multiple measures or data points are used to calculate event impact scores, the multiple data points are adjusted with weight factor values and combined as weighted values to form an event impact score (e.g., applying a first weight factor value to a probabilistic cardinality estimate, applying a second weight factor value to a counted alert quantity, and combining the weighted cardinality estimate and the weighted alert quantity to form the event impact score of the computing event)…”).
Based on Black in view of Harutyunyan and Blackwell and further in view of Mo, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate apply growth factor based on event group type (taught by Mo) with transactional relationships indicating transacting or interaction between sources (taught by Blackwell) with increasing processing capacity for a resource based on detected anomaly (taught by Harutyunyan) with detecting anomaly (taught by Black) in order to improve system availability and prevent downtime and in order to allow further refining the event group to specific corelated events, and in order to add more weights to events with significant impact on the system.
As to claim 7, Black in view of Harutyunyan and further in view of Blackwell does not explicitly teach decreasing group confidence level.
However, in the same field of endeavor (computing events monitoring) Mo decreasing the group confidence level in response to at least one of: an age of events in the event group or adding another event to the event group indicating that the event group is non-anomalous (paragraph [0050], “…the expired event impact score is divided by 30 as a weight factor and the result is subtracted from the associated aggregated impact score…”).
Based on Black in view of Harutyunyan and Blackwell and further in view of Mo, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate decreasing group confidence level (taught by Mo) with transactional relationships indicating transacting or interaction between sources (taught by Blackwell) with increasing processing capacity for a resource based on detected anomaly (taught by Harutyunyan) with detecting anomaly (taught by Black) in order to improve system availability and prevent downtime and in order to allow further refining the event group to specific corelated events, and in order to add less weights to events with insignificant impact on the system.
As to claim 8, Black in view of Harutyunyan and further in view of Blackwell does not explicitly teach applying biasing vector.
However, in the same field of endeavor (computing events monitoring) Mo teaches applying a biasing vector to a plurality of event confidence levels (paragraph [0048], “…In some examples where multiple measures or data points are used to calculate event impact scores, the multiple data points are adjusted with weight factor values and combined as weighted values to form an event impact score (e.g., applying a first weight factor value to a probabilistic cardinality estimate, applying a second weight factor value to a counted alert quantity, and combining the weighted cardinality estimate and the weighted alert quantity to form the event impact score of the computing event)…”).
Based on Black in view of Harutyunyan and Blackwell and further in view of Mo, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate applying biasing vector (taught by Mo) with transactional relationships indicating transacting or interaction between sources (taught by Blackwell) with increasing processing capacity for a resource based on detected anomaly (taught by Harutyunyan) with detecting anomaly (taught by Black) in order to improve system availability and prevent downtime and in order to allow further refining the event group to specific corelated events, and in order to add more weights to events with significant impact on the system.
Conclusion
/Abdulkader M Alriyashi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447 9/18/2026