Priority
Current application, US Application No. 18/430,344 filed on 02/01/2024, is a Continuation of US Application No. 17/374,632 filed on 07/13/2021, which is a continuation of US Application No. 15/256,045 filed on 09/02/2016.
DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the application filed on 02/01/2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. As per claims 1 and 11, the limitation “a threshold therefor” in “when a difference between the cost associated with the time and the target value exceeds a threshold therefor” is ambiguous because it is not clear what the word “therefor” means. For the sake of examination, the word “therefor” is ignored by treating the word as a clutter.
The limitation “send (or sending), by the control system, control information to drill the well according to the updated drilling path” lacks the object of sensing control information to and it is ambiguous where the control information has been sent to. The phrase “to drill the well according to the updated drilling path” is an intended purpose and much weight cannot be given. For the sake of examination, the limitation is interpreted as “send (or sending), by the control system, control information to the bottom hole assembly ‘BHA’ in a well to drill the well according to the updated drilling path”.
As per claims 2-10 and 12-20, claims are also rejected because base claims 1 and 11 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benson (US 20130161096 A1), hereinafter “Benson ‘096” and Zhao (US 20200011167 A1) as best understood by the examiner.
As per claim 1, Benson ‘096 discloses
An apparatus associated with a drilling rig, (A system … for surface steerable drilling, BHA [abs], drilling rig [0040, Fig. 1A]) comprising:
a control system coupled to a drilling rig for controlling drilling of a bottom hole assembly (BHA) in a well, (steerable system, on-site controller, drilling rig, BHA [0054, Fig. 1A & 2A]) wherein the BHA comprises a plurality of sensors, (sensors at various levels of the drill string, how much force is on the bit [0213], downhole sensors [0236], sensor information from at least one of … the BHA [claim 1, 20, 29], accumulated sensor information is taken at the BHA [claim 27])
wherein the control system further comprises: a processor; a memory coupled to the processor, the memory storing a plurality of non- transitory computer readable instructions for execution by the processor, wherein the instructions comprise instructions for execution by the processor, during drilling of the well by the drilling rig, (the on-site controller 144 of FIG. 2A, software instructions needed to execute the method 600 may be stored on a computer readable storage medium of the on-site controller 144 and then executed by the processor 412 that is coupled to the storage medium and is also part of the on-site controller 144 [0095]) to:
receive, by the control system coupled to a drilling rig during drilling of a well, performance information comprising at least one or more of life-span of one or more drilling components of the drilling rig, tortuosity of one or more drilled portions of the well, and a well plan for the well;
(on-site controller 144 receives input information, well plan, regional formation history, MWD tool … LWD … reliability information [0056], evaluating the performance of the drilling operation [0080], information to tracked [0082], performance control limits [0089],
large amount of data, data collected from many different locations and may correspond to many different drilling operations, datamining and analytics, aid in … processes as equipment comparisons, drilling plan formulation, convergence planning, recalibration forecasting, and self-tuning ‘e.g., drilling performance optimization’ [0092-0094], Bit life indicator to indicate an estimated lifetime for the current bit based on a value such as time and/or distance [0066], tortuosity [0189, 0192-0193, 0251])
access, by the control system, historical data stored in a database, wherein the historical data comprises data regarding performance information relating to wells previously drilled; (historical drilling data, and control commands may be sent from the database 128 to the local database 410, verify performance control limits [0089], regional historical results ‘e.g. from the database 128’ [0152])
predict, by the control system, based on performance information of drilled portions of the well, the historical data, and the well plan for the well, a time required to complete drilling of one or more subsequent portions of the well and a cost associated with the time; (predict the time … to the next correction requirement, selecting the lowest total cost option, convergence planning, well plan [0117], time costs [0120, 0123-0124], prediction, prediction error [0125-0128], build rate predictor [0149-0175, Fig. 9 and 11 ], historical drilling data [0089], convergence planning, recalibration forecasting, and self-tuning ‘e.g., drilling performance optimization’ [0092-0094])
compare the cost associated with the time for drilling of the one or more subsequent portions of the well to a target value; (cost parameters may be used to guide decisions made by the on-site controller, cost parameters are processed to produce control parameters ‘e.g., the control information 204 of FIG. 2A’ for the drilling [0096-0097], most optimal manner may be defined by cost, which may represent a financial value, a reliability value, a time value, and/or other values that may be defined for a convergence path [0112], selecting the lowest total cost option, convergence planning, well plan [0117])
However, Benson ‘096 is not explicit regarding “when a difference between the cost associated with the time and the target value exceeds a threshold therefor, generate, by the control system, an updated drilling path”.
Zhao discloses a discrepancy between a reference trajectory path position and the current position by employing cost function can be used to find an optimal trajectory (trajectory errors or discrepancies between a reference or target position on, or in the vicinity of, a predetermined wellbore path and its current position, employing a cost function to determine an optimal trajectory, once the cost function is minimized and the optimal trajectory determined, the controller can instruct or implement changes to a steering system of a directional drilling tool [0019]).
Zhao is in the same art of controlling the drilling rig like Benson ‘096.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when invention is filed before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of Benson ‘096 in view of Zhao to generate, by the control system, an updated drilling path when a difference between the cost associated with the time and the target value exceeds a threshold to improve drilling operations and minimize drilling errors. (see Benson ‘096 – [0003]).
Benson ‘096 further discloses “and send, by the control system, control information to drill the well according to the updated drilling path.” (sending the control parameters directly to one or more of the control systems of the drilling rig 110 [0098], convergence plan, get the actual drilling path back to the planned path 742 in the most optimal manner, The most optimal manner may be defined by cost, which may represent … a time value [0112]).
Zhao also discloses drilling the well according to the updated drilling path (the drilling assembly is steered along the correction path using the corrective drilling parameters [pg. 19 line 16-22]).
As per claim 11, Benson ‘096 discloses
A method for controlling drilling rig operations, (method for … steerable drilling [abs], drilling rig 110, control systems [0040, 0044-0046, 0052-0056, Fig. 1A], plan and control drilling operations [0053])
Benson ‘096 in view of Zhao discloses remaining limitations as shown in claim 1 above.
As per claims 2 and 12, Benson ‘096 and Zhao disclose claims 1 and 11 set forth above.
Benson ‘096 further discloses predicting, by the control system, based on the performance information of the drilled portions of the well, the historical data, and the well plan, a depth for transition for one or more drilling activities and a cost associated with the depth for transition for the one or more drilling activities (cost parameters may be used to guide decisions made by the on-site controller [0096], cost parameters, control parameters [0097], predicted … location of the bit ‘e.g., depth’ [0106], predict the … distance to the next correction requirement, lowest total cost option [0117], cost matrix [0123-0124], an event may occur that indicates that a prediction is not correct based on what has actually occurred. For example, a formation layer is not where it is expected (e.g., too high or low), a selected bit did not drill as expected, or a selected mud motor did not build curve as expected. The prediction error may be identified by comparing expected results with actual results or by using other detection methods [0125]).
As per claims 3 and 13, Benson ‘096 and Zhao disclose claims 2 and 12 set forth above.
Benson ‘093 discloses comparing the cost associated with the depth for transition for drilling of the one or more subsequent portions of the well to the target value;
when a difference between the cost associated with the depth for transition and the target value exceeds a threshold therefor, generating, by the control system, an updated drilling path;
and sending, by the control system, control information to drill the well according to the updated drilling path (a comparison may be made to compare the estimated bit position and trajectory with a desired point ‘e.g., a desired bit position’ along the planned path [0109], predicted … location of the bit ‘e.g., depth’ [0106], predict the … distance to the next correction requirement, lowest total cost option [0117], cost matrix [0123-0124], sending the control parameters directly to one or more of the control systems of the drilling rig 110 [0098])
As per claims 4 and 14, Benson ‘096 and Zhao disclose claims 1 and 11 set forth above.
Benson ‘096 discloses wherein the historical data comprises data relating to performance of a plurality of BHA components in a plurality of locations and a plurality of formations (selection of a BHA and the setting of control limits, BHA information, historical drilling data, BHA parameters [0088-0090, Fig. 5], build rate predictor, BHA [0150-0152]).
As per claims 5 and 15, Benson ‘096 and Zhao disclose claims 1 and 11 set forth above.
Benson ‘096 discloses wherein the performance information comprises data related to at least one or more of weight on bit (WOB), standpipe pressure, flow rate of a drilling mud, bit speed, rotation speed, and rate of penetration (ROP) (drilling process, collected data, WOB, particular depth, ROP [0044], drilling information, drilling speed, WOB, differential pressure [0045], standpipe pressure, RPM [0055], mud type and flow rate [0049], evaluating the performance of the drilling operation [0080], performance control limits [0089], performance [0092-0093]).
As per claims 6 and 16, Benson ‘096 and Zhao disclose claims 1 and 11 set forth above.
Benson ‘096 discloses generating, by the control system, a current performance tracking report by comparing the historical data and the well plan to the performance information of the well being drilled (provides revision tracking as changes in the well plan occur [0082], the well plan, BHA information, control limits, historical drilling data, and control commands, performance control limits [0089], geo modified well planner 1104 ‘or another module’ may provide functionality needed to track a formation trend [0154], borehole estimator, build rate predictor, convergence planner [0156]).
As per claims 8 and 18, Benson ‘096 and Zhao disclose claims 1 and 11 set forth above.
Benson ‘096 discloses the time required to complete drilling of subsequent portions of the well comprises at least time associated with starting a drilling activity and time associated with orientating a toolface of the BHA. (circular chart 286 … provide current and historical toolface orientation information, timeline of tool face orientations, progress for the period of time [0062], how much time remains until a slide occurs and/or how much time remains for a current slide [0065], cost versus time analysis, total time to finish the borehole [0106], determine where the bit is projected to be after a certain amount of drilling ‘e.g., time and/or distance’ [0111]).
As per claims 9 and 19, Benson ‘096 and Zhao disclose claims 1 and 11 set forth above.
Benson ‘096 discloses controlling the drilling comprises at least controlling a plurality of drilling parameters to drill the well according to the updated drilling path. (on-site controller, steerable system … perform such operations as receiving drilling data representing a drill path and other drilling parameters, calculating a drilling solution for the drill path … implementing the drilling solution at the drilling rig 110, monitoring the drilling process to gauge whether the drilling process is within a defined margin of error of the drill path, and/or calculating corrections for the drilling process if the drilling process is outside of the margin of error [0053]).
As per claims 10 and 20, Benson ‘096 and Zhao disclose claims 9 and 19 set forth above.
Benson ;096 further discloses the plurality of drilling parameters comprises at least one of WOB, ROP, flow rate of a drilling mud, toolface orientation, particular bit used, hook load, standpipe pressure, block height, and number of revolutions per minute. (WOB, toolface orientation [0044-0045], standpipe pressure, RPM [0055], mud type and flow rate [0049], drilling parameters resulted in the best ROP for a particular formation, ROP versus reliability tradeoffs for various bits in various rock layers, and similar factors [0093], bit [0126-0128], block height [0138], hook load measurement [0240]).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benson ‘096 and Zhao in view of Danskin (US 8775229 B1).
As per claims 7 and 17, Benson ‘096 and Zhao disclose claims 1 and 11 set forth above.
Benson ‘096 discloses determining, by the control system, one or more tasks required to return the planned well plan; (convergence plan … planned path, objective is to get the actual drilling path back to the planned path … in optimal manner [0112], number of paths … selected to return the bit position to the planned path, perform other needed tasks [0113], provide a functional component used to perform this task within the surface steerable system 201 [0224]) and determining, by the control system, a remaining time to return to the planned well path responsive to the one or more tasks required, the well plan, and the historical data (predict the time … to the next correction requirement, selecting the lowest total cost option, convergence planning, well plan [0117], time costs [0120, 0123-0124], prediction, prediction error [0125-0128]).
However, Benson ‘096 is not explicit regarding the tasks required to complete the well and a remaining time to complete the well plan responsive to the one or more tasks required.
Danskin discloses the tasks required to complete the project and a remaining time to complete the project plan responsive to the one or more tasks required (determining past time differentials between a scheduled time of completion and an actual time of completion for one or more completed tasks of the project, calculating one or more forecast correction factors, based on the determined past time differentials, calculating forecast time durations for one or more remaining tasks [col 2 line 8-18], determine the corrected projection completion time [col 6 line 62-65]).
Although Danskin is not in the same well drilling art as Benson ‘096, but is concerned about determining the remaining time to complete the project by completing the tasks like Benson ‘096.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when invention is filed before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the combined prior art in view of Danskin to determine, by the control system, one or more tasks required to complete the well in accordance with the well plan and determining, by the control system, a remaining time to complete the well plan responsive to the one or more tasks required, the well plan, and the historical data
to improve drilling operations and minimize drilling errors.
Notes with regard to Prior Art
The prior arts made of record below are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Benson (US 20150006227 A1), hereinafter “Benson ‘227” and Benson (US 8996396 B2), hereinafter “Benson ‘396” also disclose a system and method for calculating and selecting a convergence path based on cost (see – [abs])
Sugiura (Sugiura, Junichiand et al. "Downhole steering automation and new survey measurement method significantly improves high-dogleg rotary steerable system performance." In SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition?, p. D031S036R005. SPE, 2013) discloses first commercial high-dogleg rotary-steerable systems (RSSs) demonstrating improved economics and efficient drilling of a high-build-rate curve and lateral in single run. The performance of the high-dogleg RSS is greatly enhanced with automated steering mode in vertical and lateral sections by reducing a human–machine interaction and minimizing wellbore tortuosity in these sections. Downhole trajectory-control algorithms make small, but frequent, adjustments to RSS steering parameters, comparing the near-bit continuous survey data against a planned well trajectory. Downhole steering automation is an integral part of the overall drilling system automation that the drilling industry is pushing forward (see – [abs]).
Dykstra (US 20160186551 A1) discloses (through use of the predictive model and cost function, a wellbore may be planned, drilled/geo-steered in real-time and/or a well path may be altered [0070])
Veeningen (US 20050209912 A1) discloses (A method of generating and displaying time and cost data representing the time and the cost to complete a plurality of oilfield related activities [abs], update the durations activity sequence and durations with actual data coinciding with the actual drilling of the well, a continual update of the plan and predicted … cost, risk … by depth unit [1426-1427]).
Sen (US 10572848 B2) discloses (A remaining time duration of the on-going activity may be extrapolated, based on the slope value, from a current time to a future time corresponding to an updated completion date of the on-going activity [col 12 line 23-26]).
Van Der Ploeg (US 20130151421 A1) discloses (Project plans may include time and date information for determining when each task should be completed, as well as cost estimates, a project plan may include much of the information necessary for the efficient management of the project [0020]).
Contact Information
/DOUGLAS KAY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857