DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/08/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-10 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Office Action mailed on 07/07/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jays et al., US 8474375 (hereafter Jays) , and further in view of Leahy, US 5597090 (hereafter Leahy).
Regarding claim 1,
A juicer spout extending from a juice collection chamber, (Fig. 2)
Fig. 2 in Jays
the spout including a generally cylindrical body having a generally tubular interior surface enclosing a channel extending between a discharge opening and the juice collection chamber, (Fig. 2 in Jays)
Jays is silent about the body having an undersurface provided with a slot extending from the discharge opening towards the juice collection chamber, the slot providing an elongate gap in the undersurface of the body extending entirely through a thickness of the undersurface, and being adapted for minimising dripping and pooling of juice in the channel.
Leahy teaches the body having an undersurface provided with a slot extending from the discharge opening towards the juice collection chamber, (Fig. 2 in Leahy teaches spout 30 wherein upper edge 32 of the spout has a notch 33.)
the slot providing an elongate gap in the undersurface of the body extending entirely through a thickness of the undersurface, and being adapted for minimising dripping and pooling of juice in the channel. (Fig. 2 in Leahy teaches spout 30 wherein upper edge 32 of the spout has a notch 33. Column 3, lines 45-50 teaches “Because of the sharpness of the interruption 33, and the general configuration of the upper edge 32, the usual dripping of fluid during a pour is significantly reduced.”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the slot as taught in Leahy to the spout in Jays. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The reverse "V" cut 33 added by the invention in the edge 32 of the pouring spout 20 provides user control over viscous liquid flow. Suitable tilting of the V groove 32 reduces flow and cuts off "stringing" of viscous liquid” as taught in column 3, lines 55-60 in Leahy.
Regarding claim 2,
The juicer spout of claim 1, wherein the slot has a terminal end and an open end forming a portion of the discharge opening, and wherein a width of the slot at the open end is greater than a width of the slot at the terminal end. (Jays is silent about this.
Leahy teaches slot in spout in Fig. 4.)
Fig. 4 in Leahy
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the slot as taught in Leahy to the spout in Jays. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The reverse "V" cut 33 added by the invention in the edge 32 of the pouring spout 20 provides user control over viscous liquid flow. Suitable tilting of the V groove 32 reduces flow and cuts off "stringing" of viscous liquid” as taught in column 3, lines 55-60 in Leahy.
Regarding claim 3,
The juicer spout of claim 2, wherein the terminal end of the slot has a curved portion. (Jays is silent about this.
Leahy teaches slot in spout in Fig. 4.)
Fig. 4 in Leahy
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the slot with curved portion at terminal end as taught in Leahy to the spout in Jays. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The reverse "V" cut 33 added by the invention in the edge 32 of the pouring spout 20 provides user control over viscous liquid flow. Suitable tilting of the V groove 32 reduces flow and cuts off "stringing" of viscous liquid” as taught in column 3, lines 55-60 in Leahy.
Regarding claim 5,
The juicer spout of claim 1, wherein the body of the spout is arranged with a downward inclination to promote flow of juice along the channel. (Fig. 2 in Jays.)
Regarding claim 6,
A juicer having a juice collection chamber, with the juice collection chamber including a spout extending therefrom, (Fig. 1 in Jays.)
the spout including a generally cylindrical body having a generally tubular interior surface enclosing a channel extending between a discharge opening and the juice collection chamber, the body having an undersurface provided with a slot extending from the discharge opening towards the juice collection chamber, the slot providing an elongate gap in the undersurface of the body, and being adapted for minimising dripping and pooling of juice in the channel. (Similar scope to claim 1 and therefore rejected under the same argument.)
Regarding claim 7,
The juicer of claim 6, wherein the slot has a terminal end and an open end forming a portion of the discharge opening, and wherein a width of the slot at the open end is greater than a width of the slot at the terminal end. (Similar scope to claim 2 and therefore rejected under the same argument.)
Regarding claim 8,
The juicer of claim 7, wherein the terminal end of the slot has a curved portion. (Similar scope to claim 3 and therefore rejected under the same argument.)
Regarding claim 10,
The juicer of claim 6, wherein the body of the spout is arranged with a downward inclination to promote flow of juice along the channel. (Similar scope to claim 5 and therefore rejected under the same argument.)
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jays, and Leahy as applied to claims 1 and 6 above respectively, and further in view of Moore et al., US 2786607 (hereafter Moore).
Regarding claim 4,
The juicer spout of claim 1, wherein the discharge opening is surrounded by a tapered or chamfered edge portion. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Moore teaches tapered spout 37 in Fig. 1. Discharge opening 38 of spout is surrounded by a tapered edge.)
Fig. 1 in Moore
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to design the edge of opening as tapered as taught in Moore to the spout in Jays. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “Therefore, it will be apparent that when the dispenser is inverted or tilted such as by grasping the manually engageable handle 39, the contents of the can may flow into the space 41 between the upper end of the can and the concave inner peripheral surface of the head, and through the openings 36 and 38 into any desired place” as taught in column 2, lines 62-68 in Moore.
Regarding claim 9,
The juicer of claim 6, wherein the discharge opening is surrounded by a tapered or chamfered edge portion. (Similar scope to claim 4 and therefore rejected under the same argument.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/08/2025 with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are not persuasive.
The applicant amended claim 1 to recite that “extending entirely through a thickness of the undersurface” and argued that this makes the claimed invention distinguishable from prior art. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of prior art as discussed above.
Conclusion
/FAHMIDA FERDOUSI/Examiner, Art Unit 3761