thDETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Application filed on 02/01/2024, said application claims a priority date of 09/12/2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case.
Claims 1, 14 and 20 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 13, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhariwal et al. (US 2019/0190875 A1, published 06/20/2019, hereinafter “Dhariwal”) in view of Worsley et al. (US 2014/0089775 A1, published 03/27/2014, hereinafter “Worsley”.
Independent Claims 1, 14 and 20:
Dhariwal discloses an electronic device comprising:
a processor and a memory [non-transitory computer readable storage medium] configured to store an instruction executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instruction to perform the following process [method] (Dhariwal: Fig. 8, ¶ [0060], [0061]):
displaying, in response to an information share operation of a user account for information, account information of a first user account and account information of a second user account in an account sharing list in an information sharing interface, (Users need to register to become a member of the social networking service [user account], Dhariwal: ¶ [0028]. A member [user account] can select the “Share” button 26 [information share operation of a user account], in order to share a content item [information] via the content sharing interface that provides several recommended members [first and second user accounts] as sharing targets, Dhariwal: Fig. 2, ¶ [0024].);
wherein the first user account is a user account followed by the user account, and the second user account is a user account that has a target association relationship with the user account and is not followed by the user account, and wherein the second user account is identified in the account sharing list (Candidate recipients for a recommended recipient list can be based on a scoring and ranking process, Dhariwal: ¶ [0046]-[0052]. When generating candidate recipients for the recommended recipient list, a candidate recipient can include any type of member, Dhariwal: ¶ [0036]. Members can include individuals that have bi-lateral connections, a following relationship or no connection or following relationship (implied) with the sharing member, Dhariwal: ¶ [0029]. Accordingly, the recommended recipient list can include a first member [first user account] that the sharing member [user account] follows and a second member [second user account] that the sharing member user account] does not follow. The recommended members are identified in the list, Dhariwal: Figs. 2 and 6A, ¶ [0024], [0053]-[0054].).
Although Dhariwal does not explicitly teach that the user account is logged into the electronic device that displays the sharing interface, Dhariwal does teach that a member of the social networking service is viewing his/her feed which includes the share button on an electronic device (Dhariwal: ¶ [0017], [0035], [0053]). One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would understand that it is known in the field of social networking services for a social networking member to log in via an electronic device before being able to access social networking content and services. This known feature is evidence by Worsley. Worsley teaches that a user needs to log into their user account via a client device to access content provided by the social networking service, Worsley: Fig. 1, ¶ [0060].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device, medium and method of Dhariwal wherein the user account is logged into the electronic device, as taught by Worsley.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to provide better access control over social networking content and services (Worsley: Fig. 1, ¶ [0060].).
Claim 13:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Dhariwal in view of Worsley further teaches a method wherein the target association relationship comprises at least one of:
the second user account is a user account in an address book of the user account;
the second user account is a user account that interacted with the user account (Dhariwal: ¶ [0040]-[0041].); and
the second user account is a user account that follows the same account as the user account.
Claim(s) 6, 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhariwal in view of Worsley and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2014/0059231 A1, published 02/27/2014, hereinafter “Choi”).
Claims 6 and 17:
The rejection of claims 1 and 14 are incorporated. Dhariwal in view of Worsley further teaches a method comprising:
sharing, in response to a trigger operation, the information to the target second user account in a case that an information sharing mode is a second sharing mode, wherein the second sharing mode is a sharing mode that information sharing does not depend on a follow relationship, and the target second user account is any second user account (The user can select a target audience and then select the share button 38 to share the content item, Dhariwal: Fig. 2, ¶ [0024]. The candidate members for the recommended recipients can be chosen from a subset of members (first or second degree) or from any of the members (second sharing mode), Dhariwal: ¶ [0036].).
Dhariwal does not appear to expressly teach a device and method wherein the trigger operation is on account information of a target second user account.
However, Choi teaches a device and method wherein the trigger operation is on account information of a target second user account (The content item is shared when the user selects the displayed user information, Choi: Fig. 8, ¶ [0332]-[0336]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device and method of Dhariwal in view of Worsley and further in view of Venti to wherein the trigger operation is on account information of a target second user account, as taught by Choi.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by providing a more efficient means for sharing a content item with a target recipient wherein fewer steps are required to transfer the content to the target recipient (Choi: Fig. 8, ¶ [0332]-[0336]).
Claim 9:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Dhariwal in view of Worsley further teaches a method wherein the target second user account is any second user account (Candidate recipients for a recommended recipient list can be based on a scoring and ranking process, Dhariwal: ¶ [0046]-[0052]. When generating candidate recipients for the recommended recipient list, a candidate recipient can include any type of member, Dhariwal: ¶ [0036]. Members can include individuals that have bi-lateral connections, a following relationship or no connection or following relationship (implied) with the sharing member, Dhariwal: ¶ [0029]. Accordingly, the recommended recipient list can include a first member [first user account] that the sharing member [user account] follows and a second member [second user account] that the sharing member user account] does not follow. The recommended members are identified in the list and are selectable as a recipient target, Dhariwal: Figs. 2 and 6A, ¶ [0024], [0053]-[0054]. Accordingly, the user can select any second account presented in the recommended recipient list (including user accounts the user is not following).).
Dhariwal in view of Worsley does not appear to expressly teach a method wherein:
account information of a target second user account comprises an account image of the target second user account, and the account image of the target second user account is configured as a share control, the method further comprises:
sharing the information to the target second user account in response to a trigger operation on the account image of the target second user account.
However, Choi teaches a method wherein:
account information of a target second user account comprises an account image of the target second user account, the account image of the target second user account is configured as a share control (The content item is shared when the user selects the displayed user information, the displayed information comprises an image associated with the type of account associated with the user account, Choi: Fig. 8, ¶ [0332]-[0336]),
the method further comprises:
sharing the information to the target second user account in response to a trigger operation on the account image of the target second user account (The content item is shared when the user selects the displayed user information, the displayed information comprises an image associated with the type of account associated with the user account, Choi: Fig. 8, ¶ [0332]-[0336]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Dhariwal in view of Worsley wherein:
account information of a target second user account comprises an account image of the target second user account, the account image of the target second user account is configured as a share control (,
the method further comprises:
sharing the information to the target second user account in response to a trigger operation on the account image of the target second user account, as taught by Choi.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by providing a more efficient means for sharing a content item with a target recipient wherein fewer steps are required to transfer the content to the target recipient (Choi: Fig. 8, ¶ [0332]-[0336]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhariwal in view of Worsley and further in view of Skeen et al. (US 2013/0339877 A1, published 12/19/2013, hereinafter “Skeen”).
Claim 11:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Dhariwal in view of Worsley further teaches a method wherein the method further comprising:
displaying the information on an information interaction interface of a target second user account and the user account in a case that the information has been shared to the target second user account, wherein the target second user account is any second user account (The user can select a target audience and then select the share button 38 to share the content item via the content feed [information interaction interface], Dhariwal: Fig. 2, ¶ [0004], [0016]-[0017], [0024]. The candidate members for the recommended recipients can be chosen from a subset of members (first or second degree) or from any of the members [second sharing mode], Dhariwal: ¶ [0036].).
Dhariwal in view of Worsley does not appear to expressly teach a method comprising:
sending prompt information to the target second user account in a case that the target second user account has been followed by the user account, wherein the prompt information indicates construction of a second follow relationship, and the second follow relationship is a followship relationship that the user account is followed by the target second user account.
However, Skeen teaches a method comprising:
sending prompt information to the target second user account in a case that the target second user account has been followed by the user account, wherein the prompt information indicates construction of a second follow relationship, and the second follow relationship is a followship relationship that the user account is followed by the target second user account (Skeen: ¶ [0442]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Dhariwal in view of Worsley to comprise:
sending prompt information to the target second user account in a case that the target second user account has been followed by the user account, wherein the prompt information indicates construction of a second follow relationship, and the second follow relationship is a followship relationship that the user account is followed by the target second user account.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to provide a more effective means for managing follow-type relationships in the social network (Skeen: ¶ [0442]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhariwal in view of Worsley and further in view of Choi in view of Dundar et al. (US 2018/0349372 A1, published 12/06/2018, hereinafter “Dundar”).
Claim 12:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Dhariwal in view of Worsley does not appear to expressly teach a method wherein the method further comprises:
acquiring the account information of the second user account in a case that a quantity of the first user accounts is smaller than a target quantity.
However, Dundar teaches a method comprising:
acquiring the account information of the second user account in a case that a quantity of the first user accounts is smaller than a target quantity (Dundar: ¶ [0073]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Dhariwal in view of Worsley comprising:
acquiring the account information of the second user account in a case that a quantity of the first user accounts is smaller than a target quantity, as taught by Dundar.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to better ensure meaningful recommendations can be provided to the user when the user doesn’t have sufficient following connections (Dundar: ¶ [0073]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7, 10, 15, 16, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular columns and line and/or paragraph numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure.
Venti et al., US 10,474,422 B1 (A follow button is displayed next to user accounts in a list of recommended users, Venti: Fig. 34, column 20 lines 57-67 and column 21 lines 1-14)
Dawson, US 6,252,588 B1 (The user can share content with a second user by selecting the image of the second user via a sharing list, column 9 lines 42-52.)
/DANIEL RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178