993Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
1. This is in response to application filed on 2/1/2024 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nam et al., (US 2023/0052126), (hereinafter, Nam).
Regarding claims 1, 17 and 19, Nam discloses a method/apparatus/ non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS), applied to a first terminal, comprising:
acquiring a time-frequency resource configuration parameter of the SL PRS
(= one or more component of a BS 105 may configure the UEs 115 to communicate in accordance with a sidelink communication or resource allocation Mode1 or 2, see [0085 or 0096]; UE 115 may use resource that are dedicated for SL-PRS transmission, see [0091]); and
determining a first resource, and transmitting, on the first resource, the SL PRS or the SL PRS and first indication information based on the time-frequency resource configuration parameter (= such dedicated resource may include a resource pool, a set of sub-channel or a set of slots and the UE 115 may receive an indication, such as configuration, of the dedicated resources from one or more component of a BS 105, or the UE 115 may be preconfigured with the dedicated resources, see [0091]; and UE 115d may transmit the SL-PRS using resources that are dedicated in the time domain or frequency domain for the SL-PRS transmissions, see, [0098]),
wherein the first indication information is used to indicate transmission parameter information of the first resource (= in such implementations in which the UE 115 reserves resources for the SL-PRS 210 via SCI, see [0089]; and UE 115d may transmit an indication of a resource to be used for the transmission of the SL-PRS via the SCI, see [0097]).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned in claim 1, Nam discloses the method for transmitting the SL PRS, wherein the first resource is determined from at least one of the following resource sets: a first preset dedicated resource pool; and a physical sidelink shared channel PSSCH resource set (see, [0091]).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned in claim 1, Nam disclose the method for transmitting the SL PRS, wherein the time-frequency resource configuration parameter comprises at least one of the following: time domain symbol quantity configuration information of the SL PRS; time domain symbol location configuration information of the SL PRS; frequency domain pattern configuration information of the SL PRS; first frequency domain starting PRB configuration information of the SL PRS; frequency domain starting sub-channel configuration information of the SL PRS; first frequency domain bandwidth configuration information of the SL PRS, wherein a granularity of a first frequency domain bandwidth is a sub-channel or a PRB; first period configuration information of the SL PRS; and sequence initialization ID configuration information of the SL PRS (= UE 115d may transmit the SL-PRS using resources that are dedicated in the time domain or frequency domain for the SL-PRS transmissions, see, [0098]).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned in claim 1, Nam disclose the method for transmitting the SL PRS, wherein the first indication information is carried by using at least one of the following: sidelink control information (SCI); sidelink positioning information (SPI); a media access control layer control element (MAC CE); radio resource control (RRC) signaling; a sidelink data packet; a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH); a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH); a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH); a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH); a physical sidelink discover channel (PSDCH); and a physical sidelink positioning channel (PSPCH)
(= transmission of an indication of resource via SCI, see [0097]).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned in claim 1, Nam disclose the method for transmitting the SL PRS, wherein the transmission parameter information comprises at least one of the following: a number of time domain symbols of the SL PRS; a time domain symbol location of the SL PRS; a frequency domain pattern of the SL PRS; a first frequency domain starting PRB of the SL PRS; a frequency domain starting subchannel of the SL PRS; a first frequency domain bandwidth of the SL PRS; a first period of the SL PRS; a sequence initialization ID of the SL PRS; and identity information of the SL PRS (= UE 115d may transmit the SL-PRS using resources that are dedicated in the time domain or frequency domain for the SL-PRS transmissions, see, [0098]).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned in claim 2, Nam disclose the method for transmitting the SL PRS, wherein when a plurality of first terminals share the first preset dedicated resource pool, the method comprises any one of the following: matching a mapping location of the SL PRS and/or a code division multiplexing manner used by the SL PRS with a user identity of a first terminal or a second terminal, wherein the code division multiplexing manner is an orthogonal coverage code (OCC) or a cyclic shift (CS);
or matching a mapping location of the SL PRS and/or a code division multiplexing manner used by the SL PRS with a resource mapping location of SL PRS request signaling transmitted by a second terminal; or transmitting the SL PRS and at least one of a PSCCH, a PSSCH, and a PSPCH in the first preset dedicated resource pool (= format is dedicated for SL-PRS ; includes a PSCCH portion, see [0098]);
or transmitting the SL PRS in the first preset dedicated resource pool, and transmitting at least one of a PSCCH, a PSSCH, and a PSPCH in a remaining resource set of a slot in which the SL PRS is located or in a first slot spaced from the first preset dedicated resource pool by a preset quantity of time domain resources, wherein the PSCCH, the PSSCH, or the PSPCH is used to carry user information indicating the first terminal and time-frequency resource information of the SL PRS, and the PSSCH or the PSPCH is further used to carry positioning information.
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned in claim 3, Nam discloses the method for transmitting the SL PRS, wherein the SL PRS sequence initialization ID is determined based on cyclic redundancy check (CRC) information of a first stage SCI, or is determined based on a positioning priority of the first terminal (see, [0100]).
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned in claim 5, Nam disclose the method for transmitting the SL PRS, wherein the first frequency domain starting PRB or the frequency domain starting sub-channel is determined based on any one of the following: a starting PRB location of a resource pool; a third frequency domain starting PRB location of a BWP; a frequency domain location of a resource block grid common reference point Point A; a starting PRB location of a PSCCH or a PSSCH; and a starting PRB location of a carrier.
(see, [0117-18]).
Regarding claims 12, 18 and 20, Nam discloses a method/apparatus/ A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for receiving a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS), applied to a second terminal, comprising:
acquiring a time-frequency resource configuration parameter of the SL PRS
(= one or more component of a BS 105 may configure the UEs 115 to communicate in accordance with a sidelink communication or resource allocation Mode1 or 2, see [0085 or 0096]; UE 115 may use resource that are dedicated for SL-PRS transmission, see [0091]); and
determining a first resource, and receiving, on the first resource, the SL PRS or the SL PRS and first indication information based on the time-frequency resource configuration parameter (= such dedicated resource may include a resource pool, a set of sub-channel or a set of slots and the UE 115 may receive an indication, such as configuration, of the dedicated resources from one or more component of a BS 105, or the UE 115 may be preconfigured with the dedicated resources, see [0091]; and UE 115d may transmit the SL-PRS using resources that are dedicated in the time domain or frequency domain for the SL-PRS transmissions, see, [0098]),
wherein the first indication information is used to indicate transmission parameter information of the first resource. (= in such implementations in which the UE 115 reserves resources for the SL-PRS 210 via SCI, see [0089]; and UE 115d may transmit an indication of a resource to be used for the transmission of the SL-PRS via the SCI, see [0097]).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned in claim 12, Nam discloses the method for receiving the SL PRS, wherein the first resource belongs to at least one of the following resource sets: a first preset dedicated resource pool; and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) resource set (see, [0091]).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned in claim 12, Nam disclose the method for receiving the SL PRS, wherein the first indication information is carried by using at least one of the following: sidelink control information (SCI); sidelink positioning information (SPI); a media access control layer control element (MAC CE); radio resource control (RRC) signaling; a sidelink data packet; a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH); a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH); a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH); a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH); a physical sidelink discover channel (PSDCH); and a physical sidelink positioning channel (PSPCH)
(= transmission of an indication of resource via SCI, see [0097]).
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned in claim 12, Nam disclose the method for receiving the SL PRS, wherein the transmission parameter information comprises at least one of the following: a number of time domain symbols of the SL PRS; a time domain symbol location of the SL PRS; a frequency domain pattern of the SL PRS; a first frequency domain starting PRB of the SL PRS; a frequency domain starting subchannel of the SL PRS; a first frequency domain bandwidth of the SL PRS; a first period of the SL PRS; a sequence initialization ID of the SL PRS; and identity information of the SL PRS.
(= UE 115d may transmit the SL-PRS using resources that are dedicated in the time domain or frequency domain for the SL-PRS transmissions, see, [0098]).
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned in claim 13, Nam disclose the method for receiving the SL PRS, wherein when the first resource belongs to the first preset dedicated resource pool, the method further comprises any one of the following: determining, based on a user identity of a first terminal or the second terminal, a mapping location of the SL PRS and/or a code division multiplexing manner used by the SL PRS, wherein the code division multiplexing manner is an OCC or a CS; or determining, based on a resource mapping location of SL PRS request signaling transmitted by the second terminal, a mapping location of the SL PRS and/or a code division multiplexing manner used by the SL PRS; or determining user information of the first terminal and time-frequency resource information of the SL PRS based on a received PSCCH, PSSCH, or PSPCH, and/or determining positioning information based on the PSSCH or PSPCH, wherein the PSCCH, the PSSCH, and the PSPCH are carried in the first preset dedicated resource pool, a remaining resource of a slot in which the SL PRS is located or a first slot spaced from the first preset dedicated resource pool by a preset quantity of time domain resources (= UE 115d may transmit the SL-PRS using resources that are dedicated in the time domain or frequency domain for the SL-PRS transmissions, see, [0098]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Manolakos et al., (US 2021/0297206), (hereinafter, Manolakos).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned in claim 2, Nam explicitly fails to disclose the method for transmitting the SL PRS, wherein when the first resource is determined from the PSSCH resource set, a first frequency domain bandwidth of the SL PRS meets at least one of the following conditions: the first frequency domain bandwidth is the same as a third frequency domain bandwidth of the PSSCH resource set; the first frequency domain bandwidth fully occupies a current resource pool; the first frequency domain bandwidth spans a plurality of resource pools; the first frequency domain bandwidth fully occupies an entire BWP; and the first frequency domain bandwidth fully occupies an entire carrier.
However, Manolakos, which is an analogous art equivalently disclose the method for transmitting the SL PRS, wherein when the first resource is determined from the PSSCH resource set, a first frequency domain bandwidth of the SL PRS meets at least one of the following conditions: the first frequency domain bandwidth is the same as a third frequency domain bandwidth of the PSSCH resource set; the first frequency domain bandwidth fully occupies a current resource pool; the first frequency domain bandwidth spans a plurality of resource pools (= if the PSSCH is in set of subbands, the SL-PRS could be transmitted in the same subbands of the PSSCH plus one or more below/or above, see [0136-37]); the first frequency domain bandwidth fully occupies an entire BWP; and the first frequency domain bandwidth fully occupies an entire carrier.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Manolakos with for the benefit of achieving a communication system that uses subchannel such as PSSCH for positioning.
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned in claim 7, Nam further discloses the method for transmitting the SL PRS, wherein only the SL PRS is transmitted on the first resource, or the SL PRS and at least one of the following is transmitted on the first resource: a physical sidelink shared channel demodulation reference signal (PSSCH DMRS) (= the transmitting UE 115 may select a DMRS pattern via SCI; and DMRS patterns may vary across PSSCHs, see [0078]); first SCI used for the decoding of a PSSCH; second SCI used to indicate a transmission parameter and/or positioning information of the SL PRS; dedicated information used to indicate a transmission parameter and/or positioning information of the SL PRS; a MAC CE used to indicate a transmission parameter and/or positioning information of the SL PRS; RRC signaling used to indicate a transmission parameter and/or positioning information of the SL PRS; and data information, wherein the data information is capable of being used to indicate positioning information.
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned in claim 8, Nam explicitly fails to disclose the method for transmitting the SL PRS, wherein a mapping rule of the SL PRS on the first resource comprises at least one of the following: an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol carrying the SL PRS being only used for mapping the SL PRS; not mapping the SL PRS to an OFDM symbol that comprises a first signal, wherein the first signal comprises part or all of the first SCI, the PSSCH DMRS, a channel state information reference signal (CSI RS), and a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS); when a resource conflict occurs between the SL PRS and part or all of the first signal, performing puncturing processing in time domain and/or frequency domain on the SL PRS, or performing puncturing processing in time domain and/or frequency domain on the first signal; when a resource conflict occurs between the SL PRS and the data information, performing puncturing processing in time domain and/or frequency domain or rate matching processing on the data information; and OFDM symbols carrying the SL PRS are consecutive in time domain.
However, Manolakos, which is an analogous art equivalently disclose the method for transmitting the SL PRS, wherein a mapping rule of the SL PRS on the first resource comprises at least one of the following: an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol carrying the SL PRS being only used for mapping the SL PRS; not mapping the SL PRS to an OFDM symbol that comprises a first signal, wherein the first signal comprises part or all of the first SCI, the PSSCH DMRS, a channel state information reference signal (CSI RS), and a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) (= sidelink physical signal corresponds to a set of resource element which does not carry information originating from higher layer, see [0102- 0104]); when a resource conflict occurs between the SL PRS and part or all of the first signal, performing puncturing processing in time domain and/or frequency domain on the SL PRS, or performing puncturing processing in time domain and/or frequency domain on the first signal; when a resource conflict occurs between the SL PRS and the data information, performing puncturing processing in time domain and/or frequency domain or rate matching processing on the data information; and OFDM symbols carrying the SL PRS are consecutive in time domain.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Manolakos with for the benefit of achieving a communication system that uses subchannel such as PSSCH for positioning.
CONCLUSION
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Edge (US 2015/0296359) teaches adaptive positioning reference signal (PRS) for indoor location.
b. Yerramalli et al., (US 2022/0166575) teaches reference signal and supplemental signal configurations.
c. Khoryaev et al., (US 2016/0095080) teaches device -to-device assisted positioning in wireless cellular technologies .
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.