Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 16 and 18 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection (see infra).
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 08/17/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of the Us patent 11,941,708 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIAO; Meishun (US 20180205680 A1, hereinafter “XIAO”), in view of Li; Qian (US 20210168473 A1, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 1, XIAO teaches a method of posting a media content (Figs. 2-3), comprising:
in response to a completion of obtaining a media content, presenting a preview interface of the media content (Figs. 2-3 [0075]: Step S305: after obtaining a local resource of an online image, a sharing setting interface is generated and presented to the user.), the preview interface comprising:
a first graphical user interface element associated with a first posting mode, a second graphical user interface element associated with a second posting mode (Figs. 2-3 [0075]: two buttons for the user to click on, such as “creative sharing” and “image sharing” are provided);
and at least one of the following graphical user interface elements: a filter user interface element; a text user interface element; a sticker user interface element; a special effect user interface element; Figs. 2-3 [0003]&[0068]: The image editing interface is based on the image to be shared and to provide the user with an interface for inputting editing commands such as cropping, adjusting hue, blurring, mosaics, adding personalized icons, adding personalized tags, add a text label, and so on. The editing instructions can be selected by the user through touching the screen or entering through other input devices.);
posting the media content in the first posting mode in response to receiving an input of the first graphical user interface element (Figs. 2-3, [0064]&[0075]: when the user clicks the “image sharing” button, correspondingly the user directly shares the online image with other users.);
presenting a first user interface in response to receiving an input of the second graphical user interface element (Figs. 2-3, [0064], [0068]&[0077]: when the user clicks the button of “creative sharing”, correspondingly the user first sets editing the online image to be shared and then share the edited image. Step S307, generate an editing interface for the user to input an editing instruction and then edit the image based on the local resource of the online image according to the editing instruction from the user so as to generate a corresponding image to be shared),
wherein the first user interface comprises at least a ninth graphical user interface element used for editing publicity degree information for the media content (Figs. 2-3, [0050]&[0069]: After the user inputs the editing instruction, the local resource of the online image is edited in response to the editing instruction, an edited image of the online image to be shared is thus generated, and the social network application specified by the user can then be called to share the edited image with other users whom the user wants to share through a social application (for examples, Weibo, Myspace, WeChat) selected by the user.)
and posting the media content in the second posting mode based at least on the publicity degree information edited via the first user interface (Figs. 2-3, [0077]: Step S307, generate an editing interface for the user to input an editing instruction and then edit the image based on the local resource of the online image according to the editing instruction from the user so as to generate a corresponding image to be shared, next, use a social network application specified by the user to share the generated image with other users.).
XIAO does not teach wherein the publicity degree information indicates at least one of: whether the media content is to be disclosed; or a scope of disclosure of the media content.
However, Li discloses wherein the publicity degree information indicates at least one of: whether the media content is to be disclosed; or a scope of disclosure of the media content (as illustrated by Figs. 1, [0038]: a schematic view of a video publishing interface depicting a “#topic” and settings including “visible to everyone, a Public, Group and private” interfaces).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the publicity degree information indicates at least one of: whether the media content is to be disclosed; or a scope of disclosure of the media content as taught by Li into XIAO imaging interface. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to provide a secure sharing of content.
Regarding claim 2, XIAO and Li combination teaches the method of claim 1, in addition Li discloses wherein the first user interface further comprises a tenth user interface element, and the method further comprises: in response to an input of the tenth user interface element, posting the media content in the second posting mode (as illustrated by Fig. 1: “Publish” icon).
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1 and in accordance with XIAO's further teaching on: transmitting the media content to a server (XIAO: Fig. 1, [0069]: social network application specified by the user can then be called to share the edited image with other users. Or Li: Fig. 1C, [0069]: server 101 may be a network device for storing video data published by a terminal device and distributing the stored video data to a terminal device playing a video. Specifically, each of the plurality of terminal devices may publish an edited video to the server 101.).
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 has been analyzed with regard to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 18, apparatus claim 18 and method claim 1 are related as apparatus of using method and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 has been analyzed with regard to claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claims 3-6, 9-10, 12-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIAO and Li combination as applied above, in view of LIU et al. (US 20210274106 A1, hereinafter “LIU”).
Regarding claim 3, XIAO and Li combination teaches the method of claim 1, except wherein obtaining the media content comprises: presenting a capturing interface comprising a capturing user interface element; in response to an input of the capturing user interface element, starting the obtaining of the media content by turning on a camera.
However, LIU discloses wherein obtaining the media content comprises: presenting a capturing interface comprising a capturing user interface element; in response to an input of the capturing user interface element, starting the obtaining of the media content by turning on a camera (as illustrated by Figs. 3-9, [0055]-[0059]: The user equipment can receive an operation indication of the user, determine that the operation indication is a shooting indication, call a video acquisition control for personal status video shooting, and obtain the personal status video collected by the video acquisition control. The “Camera” option corresponds to an option of shooting a new video as a to-be-published personal status video. When the user selects the option, which is an example specifically used in FIG. 4, a corresponding video shooting control is called to shoot the personal status video.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein obtaining the media content comprises: presenting a capturing interface comprising a capturing user interface element; in response to an input of the capturing user interface element, starting the obtaining of the media content by turning on a camera as taught by LIU into XIAO and Li combination. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to allow a user to shoot a new video as a to-be-published personal status video (LIU: [0057]).
Regarding claim 4, XIAO, Li and LIU combination teaches the method of claim 3, in addition LIU discloses wherein obtaining the media content comprises: in response to another input of the capturing user interface element, completing the obtaining of the media content turning off the camera (as illustrated by Figs. 3-9, [0056]-[0059]: when obtaining a personal status video through shooting (camera is off), the user automatically access a personal-status-video editing interface to edit the video by calling a video editing control, or a display interface shown in FIG. 5 is displayed.).
Regarding claim 5, XIAO and Li combination teaches the method of claim 1, except wherein the first user interface further comprises at least one of the following user interface elements: a third graphical user interface element used for selecting a cover of the media content; at least one fourth graphical user interface element associated with at least one metadata tag; a fifth graphical user interface element used for editing a topic of the media content; a sixth graphical user interface element used for saving the media content locally; a seventh graphical user interface element used for returning back to the preview interface; an eighth graphical user interface element used for editing location information for the media content; or an eleventh graphical user interface element used for editing a title of the media content.
However, LIU discloses wherein the first user interface further comprises at least one of the following user interface elements:
a third graphical user interface element used for selecting a cover of the media content (as illustrated by Figs. 6&12, [0079]: indication information of the personal status video may be displayed as a cover of the personal-information display region);
an eighth graphical user interface element used for editing location information for the media content (as illustrated by Figs. 6&9, [0069]: after the user operates the icon of adding geographical location information to a personal status video, a display screen including a location-information selection region is displayed for the user.);
or an eleventh graphical user interface element used for editing a title of the media content (as illustrated by Figs. 6&8, [0069]: after the user operates the icon of adding text to a personal status video, a display screen including an input-keyboard display region an input prompt region to be displayed for the user. The user inputs text (“title”) in the input-keyboard display region. The input text is prompted in the input prompt region, so that the user can learn the inputted text.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the first user interface further comprises at least one of the following user interface elements: a third graphical user interface element used for selecting a cover of the media content; at least one fourth graphical user interface element associated with at least one metadata tag; a fifth graphical user interface element used for editing a topic of the media content; a sixth graphical user interface element used for saving the media content locally; a seventh graphical user interface element used for returning back to the preview interface; an eighth graphical user interface element used for editing location information for the media content; or an eleventh graphical user interface element used for editing a title of the media content as taught by LIU into XIAO and Li combination. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to provide multiple video editing interfaces to increase user editing experience.
Regarding claim 6, XIAO and Li combination teaches the method of claim 1, except wherein obtaining the media content comprises: obtaining the media content by selecting one or more media contents from an album of a user, the album comprises at least one of a local album or a cloud album.
However, LIU discloses wherein obtaining the media content comprises: obtaining the media content by selecting one or more media contents from an album of a user, the album comprises at least one of a local album or a cloud album (as illustrated by Figs. 3-9, [0060]: The “Choose from Album” option corresponds to an option of selecting an already-taken video from a local album as a to-be-published personal status video. When the user selects the option, a local video uploading control is called for the user to display a video selection interface, and videos that have been stored locally are displayed on the video selection interface. After the user makes a selection, a video selected by the user may be used as the to-be-published personal status video.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the first user interface further comprises at least one of the following user interface elements: a third graphical user interface element used for selecting a cover of the media content; at least one fourth graphical user interface element associated with at least one metadata tag; a fifth graphical user interface element used for editing a topic of the media content; a sixth graphical user interface element used for saving the media content locally; a seventh graphical user interface element used for returning back to the preview interface; an eighth graphical user interface element used for editing location information for the media content; or an eleventh graphical user interface element used for editing a title of the media content as taught by LIU into XIAO and Li combination. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to provide multiple video editing interfaces to increase user editing experience.
Regarding claim 9, XIAO and Li combination teaches the method of claim 1, except wherein the preview interface comprises a set of user interface elements for editing the media content, and wherein the set of user interface elements comprises at least one of: a user interface element for editing location information of the media content, or a user interface element for editing publicity degree information of the media content.
However, LIU discloses wherein the preview interface comprises a set of user interface elements for editing the media content, and wherein the set of user interface elements comprises at least one of: a user interface element for editing location information of the media content (as illustrated by Figs. 6&9, [0069]: after the user operates the icon of adding geographical location information to a personal status video, a display screen including a location-information selection region is displayed for the user.), or
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the preview interface comprises a set of user interface elements for editing the media content, and wherein the set of user interface elements comprises at least one of: a user interface element for editing location information of the media content, or a user interface element for editing publicity degree information of the media content as taught by LIU into XIAO and Li combination. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to provide multiple video editing interfaces to increase user editing experience.
Regarding claim 10, XIAO, Li and LIU combination teaches the method of claim 9, in addition LIU discloses wherein the preview interface further comprises an additional user interface element for presenting a further set of user interface elements for editing the media content, and the method further comprises: in response to receiving an input of the additional user interface element in the preview interface, presenting the second set of editing user interface elements (Figs. 5-9, [0065]-[0066]: When the user selects the edit button, the personal-status-video editing interface is displayed for the user. The personal-status-video editing interface shown in FIG. 6 includes an icon corresponding to adding a sticker to a personal status video, an icon corresponding to adding text to a personal status video, an icon corresponding to adding music to a personal status video, and an icon corresponding to adding geographical location information to a personal status video).
Regarding claim 12, XIAO, and Li combination teaches the method of claim 1, except further comprising: in response to receiving an input of a sticker user interface element in the preview interface, adding a sticker to the captured video or image, the sticker comprising a metadata tag for interaction.
However, LIU discloses further comprising: in response to receiving an input of a sticker user interface element in the preview interface, adding a sticker to the captured video or image, the sticker comprising a metadata tag for interaction (as illustrated by Fig. 6, [0036]&[0066]: The personal-status-video editing interface shown in FIG. 6 includes an icon corresponding to adding a sticker to a personal status video. to assist the publisher in directly expressing moods in which the publisher shoots the video, and further increase fun for the personal status video.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in response to receiving an input of a sticker user interface element in the preview interface, adding a sticker to the captured video or image, the sticker comprising a metadata tag for interaction as taught by LIU into XIAO and Li combination. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to provide multiple video editing interfaces to increase user editing experience.
Regarding claim 13, XIAO, Li and LIU combination teaches the method of claim 12, in addition Li discloses wherein the metadata tag comprises at least one of an “@” tag indicating an interactive object or a “#” tag indicating a topic ([0062]&[0078]: The video publishing instruction is sent from the video editing user and includes a fourth operation of clicking the video publishing interface by the user. The fourth operation is an operation of clicking a publish control. The video publishing instruction can also be another instruction for triggering publishing of the video data in the terminal device. In addition, the video sharing instruction in the present disclosure may include a preset symbol, for example, “@”. Of course, the video sharing instruction can be other symbols, for example, “#”, “@”, and the like). The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to provide when the video is played, information for reminding the sharing object may only be displayed at a preset text display position.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 has been analyzed with regard to claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIAO, Li and LIU combination as applied above, in view of Krishnaraj et al. (US 20160026658 A1, hereinafter “Krishnaraj”).
Regarding claim 7, XIAO, Li and LIU combination teaches the method of claim 6, in addition LIU discloses further comprising: in response to detecting activation of an album interface element of the album, presenting the following: at least one of media content in the album, as illustrated by Figs. 6&9, [0060]: The “Choose from Album” option corresponds to an option of selecting an already-taken video from a local album as a to-be-published personal status video. When the user selects the option, a local video uploading control is called for the user to display a video selection interface, and videos that have been stored locally are displayed on the video selection interface. After the user makes a selection, a video selected by the user may be used as the to-be-published personal status video.).
XIAO, Li and LIU combination does not teach a timestamp of the at least one of media content.
However, Krishnaraj discloses a timestamp of the at least one of media content (as illustrated by Fig. 2, [0047]: a screenshot of an initial view in album mode (landscape orientation) where a albums (stacks) are displayed with different timestamps).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a timestamp of the at least one of media content as taught by Krishnaraj into XIAO, Li and LIU combination. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to provide essential context, organization, and verification of when the image was captured.
Regarding claim 8, XIAO, Li, LIU and Krishnaraj combination teaches the method of claim 7, in addition Krishnaraj discloses wherein the timestamp changes as the album slides (as illustrated by Fig. 2, [0047]: a screenshot of an initial view in album mode (landscape orientation) where a albums (stacks) are displayed with different timestamps).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIAO, Li and LIU combination as applied above, in view of Walker et al. (US 11218639 B1, hereinafter “Walker”).
Regarding claim 11, XIAO, Li and LIU combination teaches the method of claim 10, except wherein the second set of user interface elements comprises a user interface element for selecting a cover of the media content.
However, Walker Discloses wherein the second set of user interface elements comprises a user interface element for selecting a cover of the media content (Col. 5, lines 32-55: preview region 206 illustrated in FIG. 2 includes a series of annotatable image previews 208 with graphical indicators 216 (claimed “cover”). In an example where a first image preview 208b is already in the set of image previews 208, the second image preview (e.g., 208c) may be inserted into the series.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a timestamp of the at least one of media content as taught by Walker into XIAO, Li and LIU combination. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to provide an improve graphical preview of an image (Walker: Col. 5, lines 32-55).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIAO and Li combination as applied above, in view of Moussette et al. (US 20180335848 A1, hereinafter “Moussette”).
Regarding claim 14, XIAO and Li combination teaches the method of claim 1, except further comprising: in response to receiving an input of a filter user interface element in the preview interface, presenting filters available to be added to the media content; selecting, from the filters, a filter to be applied to the media content, wherein the filter has a following-hand effect, and the following-hand effect comprises: as a gesture slides, an interactive effect of the selected filter is applied to a part of the captured video or image before lifting
However, Moussette discloses in response to receiving an input of a filter user interface element in the preview interface, presenting filters available to be added to the media content; selecting, from the filters, a filter to be applied to the media content, wherein the filter has a following-hand effect, and the following-hand effect comprises: as a gesture slides, an interactive effect of the selected filter is applied to a part of the captured video or image before lifting ([0249]: FIGS. 5AP-5AS illustrate changing a camera filter in camera interface 574 while the live photo capture mode of camera interface 574 is activated. FIG. 5AP shows contact 598 detected at a location on touch screen 112 corresponding to filter icon 582. In FIG. 5AQ, in response to liftoff of contact 598, a scrollable filter selection menu is displayed. The filter selection menu includes a plurality of filter options, including currently-selected filter 583-1, and filter 583-2. The filter selection menu displays each of the plurality of filters as an image showing a preview of the respective filter as applied to the view displayed in live view area 578.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in response to receiving an input of a filter user interface element in the preview interface, presenting filters available to be added to the media content; selecting, from the filters, a filter to be applied to the media content, wherein the filter has a following-hand effect, and the following-hand effect comprises: as a gesture slides, an interactive effect of the selected filter is applied to a part of the captured video or image before lifting as taught by Moussette into XIAO and Li combination. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to allow a preview of the respective filter as applied to the view displayed in live view (Moussette: [0249]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, LIU and Moussette combination as applied above, in view of Ito et al. (US 20120057051 A1, hereinafter “Ito”).
Regarding claim 15, XIAO, Li and Moussette combination teaches the method of claim 14, except wherein the preview interface corresponds to a first capturing mode, the filters presented in the preview interface is not applicable for a second capturing mode different from the first capturing mode.
However, Ito discloses wherein the preview interface corresponds to a first capturing mode, the filters presented in the preview interface is not applicable for a second capturing mode different from the first capturing mode (as illustrated by Figs. 13-14, [0113]-[0115]: a display control unit 11e displays submenu icons of a special shooting mode Q3 that exclusively includes a swing synthesis icon Q5, an art filter icon Q6, a swing art icon Q7 and the back icon Q4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in response to receiving an input of a filter user interface element in the preview interface, presenting filters available to be added to the media content; selecting, from the filters, a filter to be applied to the media content, wherein the filter has a following-hand effect, and the following-hand effect comprises: as a gesture slides, an interactive effect of the selected filter is applied to a part of the captured video or image before lifting as taught by Ito into XIAO, Li and Moussette combination. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to present, to the user, information which serves as a guide to select an optimal combination of special effects for the image currently displayed (Ito: [0122]).
Contact
/ABDELAAZIZ TISSIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638