Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to claim amendment filed on June 23, 2026.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement received June 18, 202 has been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35
U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive (see remarks Pg. 12-14). However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as necessitated by the claim
amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 8-14 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKAHASHI et al., US 20240179746 A1, (hereinafter TAKAHASHI) in view of MolavianJazi et al., US 20210058971 A1, (hereinafter MolavianJazi) and in further view of LY et al., US20250193939, (hereinafter LY)
Regarding claim 1 and 8, TAKAHASHI teaches, a method for transmission of a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble, the method comprising (see ¶ [0207], e.g., In 1002, the terminal device 1 that has received the PDCCH order transmits a random access preamble to the BS 3 via a PRACH. The transmitted random access preamble may be referred to as Msg1. The transmission of the random access preamble will also be referred to as PRACH transmission):
identifying:
a set of numbers of repetitions for the PRACH preamble transmission (see ¶ [0253], e.g., The method may also comprise transmitting N (N>1) repetitions of physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission using N random access channel (RACH) occasions within a RACH attempt, based on the DCI (Step S1002).), and
a first mapping among values of a PRACH mask index and a set of groups of PRACH occasions (see ¶ [0205], e.g., The PRACH mask index information is information indicating an index of one or more RACH occasions associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by “SS/PBCH index” information for the PRACH transmission. Note that a time resource and/or a frequency resource indicated by the PRACH mask index information may be one specific resource or may indicate selectable multiple resources; see ¶ [0250], e.g., The RO indication field may be indicated as mask index wherein each index in the mask index corresponds to N ROs (N is the number of repetition for PRACH transmission) within multiple ROs associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index. a set of N ROs within ROs associated with an SS/PBCH are indexed as RO group (0, 1, 2, . . . ) and RO group index in RO indication field may indicate one or more of the RO groups as available ROs for the repetition of the PRACH transmission);
receiving a downlink control information (DCI) format for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order that indicates (see ¶ [0022], e.g., A user equipment (UE) is described. The UE may comprise reception circuitry configured to receive a downlink control information (DCI) with a DCI format for random access procedure initiated by physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order):
a first value for a PRACH preamble index,
a second value for a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block index, and
a third value for the PRACH mask index (see ¶ [0022], e.g., wherein the DCI format includes a first field which indicates a random access preamble index used for the PRACH transmission, a second field which indicates a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) index, and a third field which indicates the N RACH occasions associated with a SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index for the N repetitions of the PRACH transmission; see ¶ [0203], e.g., In 1001, the BS 3 transmits a PDCCH order to the terminal device 1 on a PDCCH, and indicates the terminal device 1 to perform a random access procedure. Information indicated by the PDCCH order may include preamble index information, PRACH mask index information, SS/PBCH index information.); and
based on the third value and the first mapping, a group of PRACH occasions from the set of groups of PRACH occasions (see ¶ [0250], e.g., The RO indication field may be indicated as mask index wherein each index in the mask index corresponds to N ROs (N is the number of repetition for PRACH transmission) within multiple ROs associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index. a set of N ROs within ROs associated with an SS/PBCH are indexed as RO group (0, 1, 2, . . . ) and RO group index in RO indication field may indicate one or more of the RO groups as available ROs for the repetition of the PRACH transmission.); and
transmitting the PRACH preamble having the PRACH preamble index with the number of repetitions over the group of PRACH occasions (see ¶ [0253], e.g., The method may also comprise transmitting N (N>1) repetitions of physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission using N random access channel (RACH) occasions within a RACH attempt, based on the DCI (Step S1002); see ¶ [0207], e.g., In 1002, the terminal device 1 that has received the PDCCH order transmits a random access preamble to the BS 3 via a PRACH. The transmitted random access preamble may be referred to as Msg1. The transmission of the random access preamble will also be referred to as PRACH transmission. Note that the terminal device 1 transmits a random access preamble that is indicated in a case where the PDCCH order indicates a preamble index indicating one random access preamble. Note that, in a case where a preamble index indicating a prescribed value is indicated by the PDCCH order, the terminal device 1 may select one random access preamble from available random access preambles at random.),
however, it does not explicitly teach, determining: a number of repetitions from the set of numbers of repetitions, and
receiving first information for a first set of PRACH preambles associated with PRACH transmissions with one spatial filter;
receiving second information for a second set of PRACH preambles associated with PRACH transmissions with more than one spatial filters;
determining a number of spatial filters for transmission of the PRACH preamble based on the PRACH preamble index, wherein:
the number of spatial filters is one when the PRACH preamble, having the PRACH preamble index, is included in the first set of PRACH preambles, and
the number of spatial filters is more than one when the PRACH preamble, having the PRACH preamble index, is included in the second set of PRACH preambles; and
transmitting the PRACH preamble having the PRACH preamble index with the number of repetitions over the group of PRACH occasions using the number of spatial filters.
MolavianJazi teaches, determining: a number of repetitions from the set of numbers of repetitions (see ¶ [0219], For example, the UE 116 can be configured with a first number N.sub.1 PRACH repetitions associated with a first detected SSB and a second number N2 PRACH repetitions associated with a second detected SSB. As another example, a total number N of PRACH repetitions can be configured and the UE 116 performs a first number α.sub.1.Math.N of PRACH repetitions associated with a first detected SSB and a second number α.sub.2.Math.N of PRACH repetitions associated with a second detected SSB, with α.sub.1+α.sub.2=1. In one example, α.sub.1 and α.sub.2 are fixed in the system specifications, such as α.sub.1=α.sub.2=½. In another example, α.sub.1 and α.sub.2 are indicated by higher layers.).
LY teaches receiving first information for a first set of PRACH preambles associated with PRACH transmissions with one spatial filter;
receiving second information for a second set of PRACH preambles associated with PRACH transmissions with more than one spatial filters (see ¶ [0087], e.g., FIGS. 7 and 8 illustrate configuration schemes 700, 800 for indicating whether PRACH repetitions are transmitted using a single spatial filter, or multiple spatial filters. The configuration schemes may be based on a random access configuration provided by a BS, such as the BS 105 in the method 400; see ¶ [0091], e.g., FIG. 8 illustrates a configuration scheme 800 for PRACH repetition indication using RACH preamble indexes… the random access configuration may indicate a first set of one or more RACH preamble indexes associated with PRACH repetitions using multiple spatial filters. The random access configuration may also indicate a second set of one or more RACH preamble indexes associated with PRACH repetitions using a single spatial filter);
determining a number of spatial filters for transmission of the PRACH preamble based on the PRACH preamble index, ( see Fig. 4, element 400; ¶ [0079], step 410 may include selecting one or more ROs and/or RACH preamble indexes to indicate whether the random access communication includes PRACH repetitions associated with a single spatial filter, or PRACH repetitions associated with a plurality of spatial filters. For example, if the UE 115 determines to transmit multiple repetitions of the PRACH at step 406, and the UE 115 determines to transmit the PRACH repetitions using more than one spatial filter at step 408, the UE 115 may select a plurality of ROs configured for PRACH repetitions using two or more spatial filters.) wherein:
the number of spatial filters is one when the PRACH preamble, having the PRACH preamble index, is included in the first set of PRACH preambles, and
the number of spatial filters is more than one when the PRACH preamble, having the PRACH preamble index, is included in the second set of PRACH preambles (see ¶ [0090], e.g., FIG. 7 illustrates a configuration scheme 700 for PRACH repetition indication using RO indexes. As explained above in the method 400, the random access configuration may indicate a first set of one or more ROs configured for PRACH repetitions using multiple spatial filters. The random access configuration may also indicate a second set of one or more ROs configured for PRACH repetitions using a single spatial filter… example, RO 0, RO 1, RO 4, and RO 5 are configured for PRACH repetitions using multiple filters. RO 2, RO 3, RO 6, and RO 7 are configured for PRACH using a single spatial filter.); and
transmitting the PRACH preamble having the PRACH preamble index with the number of repetitions over the group of PRACH occasions using the number of spatial filters (see ¶ [0036], e.g., at least one of the RO or the RACH preamble index detected by the BS may indicate whether the RACH communication includes PRACH repetitions mapped using a same spatial filter or whether the RACH communication includes PRACH repetitions mapped using different spatial filters. For example, the RO and/or the RACH preamble index may indicate to the BS that the RACH communication includes two or more PRACH repetitions all transmitted using a same first spatial filter. In another example, the RO and/or the RACH preamble index may indicate to the BS that the RACH communication includes two or more PRACH repetitions transmitted using at least a first spatial filter and a second spatial
filter (different than the first spatial filter); see ¶ [0081], e.g., At step 412, the UE 115 transmits, based on the ROs and/or RACH preamble indexes determined at step 410, a random access communication including a plurality of PRACH repetitions. The PRACH repetitions may be mapped to the ROs according to the random access communication described above. The PRACH repetitions may be transmitted by the UE 115 using one or more spatial filters as determined in step 408; see ¶ [0087], e.g., The configuration schemes may be used by a UE, such as the UE 115 in the method 400, to map and transmit a RACH preamble to the BS using repetitions, and using one or more spatial filters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified number of repetitions for the PRACH preamble transmission and receiving information of TAKAHASHI to incorporate the teachings of MolavianJazi to include determining: a number of repetitions from the set of numbers of repetitions and to incorporate the teachings of LY to include configuration information indicating multiple spatial filters or using a single spatial filter. Doing so would facilitate in achieving enhancing transmission of a PRACH preamble for UEs as suggested by MolavianJazi (see ¶ [0004], e.g., The present disclosure relates to enhancing transmission of a PRACH preamble for UEs.) and in achieving increase in probability that the RACH preamble is detected by the BS, reduce latency, improve efficiency and reduce power consumption at the BS (see ¶ [0037], e.g., the present disclosure can provide several benefits. For example, allowing a UE to transmit multiple repetitions of a PRACH MSG1, or multiple instances of a PRACH, may increase the probability that the RACH preamble is detected by the BS. This may reduce latency and improve efficiency. Allowing a UE to transmit multiple repetitions of the PRACH using different spatial filters may further improve the probability that a RACH preamble is detected. Further, configuring a UE to indicate whether a RACH communication includes multiple PRACH repetitions or a single PRACH transmission may allow the BS to correctly detect the RACH communication using fewer detection hypotheses, which may reduce power consumption at the BS and reduce the complexity of the RACH process. Accordingly, the RACH process may be more robust and efficient, reducing latency and improving user experience.)
Regarding claim 2 and 9, TAKAHASHI as combined with MolavianJazi and LY teaches the limitations of Claim 1 and 8.
TAKAHASHI further teaches, wherein the number of repetitions is determined based on a value of a field in the DCI format (see ¶ [0247], e.g., In case of CFRA procedure, to perform a repetition of PRACH transmission (i.e. multiple PRACH transmissions within a RACH attempt), the DCI with a DCI format for random access procedure initiated by PDCCH order may include an information of multiple RACH occasions and/or an information of the repetition number for the PRACH transmission; see ¶ [0249], e.g., The DCI format for PDCCH order may includes a field indicating the number of repetitions explicitly.).
Regarding claim 3 and 10, TAKAHASHI as combined with MolavianJazi and LY teaches the limitations of Claim 1 and 8.
TAKAHASHI teaches, receiving reference signal received power (RSRP) (see ¶ [0238], e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSBForPrachRepetition is a parameter which indicates L1-RSRP threshold used for determining whether a candidate beam (SSB, DL transmission beam) may be used by the UE. The rsrp-ThresholdSSBForPrachRepetition is also used for determining the number of repetition for the PRACH transmission. When there is no candidate beam (SSB) with the L1-RSRP beyond L1-RSRP threshold for single PRACH transmission without repetition and there is one or more candidate beams (SSBs) with the L1-RSRP beyond the L1-RSRP threshold with rsrp-ThresholdSSBForPrachRepetition in PrachRepetition-2rep, the terminal device 1 determines to perform a PRACH transmission with 2 times repetition.), and
SS/PBCH blocks with the SS/PBCH block index (see ¶ [0253], e.g., The DCI format may include a first field which indicates a random access preamble index used for the PRACH transmission, a second field which indicates a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) index, and a third field which indicates the N RACH occasions associated with a SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index for the N repetitions of the PRACH transmission.);
however, it does not explicitly teach receiving: information of a second mapping among a set of reference signal received power (RSRP) ranges and the set of numbers of repetitions, and determining: an RSRP based on the SS/PBCH blocks, an RSRP range, from the set of RSRP ranges, that includes the RSRP, and the number of repetitions based on the RSRP range and the second mapping.
MolavianJazi teaches, further comprising:
receiving:
information of a second mapping among a set of reference signal received power (RSRP) ranges and the set of numbers of repetitions (see ¶ [0201], e.g., In some embodiments, for a PDCCH-ordered PRACH transmission, a number of reserved bits of a DCI format providing a PDCCH order that triggers a PRACH transmission, such as a number of 2 or 3 bits from 10 reserved bits, can be used to indicate a number of repetitions for the PRACH transmission from a set of specified or SIB-indicated/RRC configured numbers. The number of repetitions for the PRACH transmission indicated by the DCI format overrides/overwrites a SIB-indicated/RRC configured number. The set of numbers for repetitions of a PRACH transmission can be same for all RSRP ranges/CE levels or different sets can be specified or configured for different RSRP ranges/CE levels.), and
determining:
an RSRP based on the SS/PBCH blocks (see ¶ [0180], e.g., Also, for the NR-Light UE, the gNB 102 is aware of a corresponding RSRP range/CE level and/or PRACH repetition value since the associated SSB can change for a given RO for different RSRP ranges/CE levels.),
an RSRP range, from the set of RSRP ranges, that includes the RSRP, and the number of repetitions based on the RSRP range and the second mapping ([0201], When a set of numbers for repetition of PRACH is the same for all RSRP ranges, an indication for a number of repetitions of a PRACH transmission can be relative to a predetermined RSRP range, such as a first RSRP range, and be adjusted, such as increased, for other RSRP ranges according to a rule. For example, for a second RSRP range that is 6 dB smaller than a first RSRP range, an actual number of repetitions for a PRACH transmission can be four times larger than the one indicated by a corresponding PDCCH order. Regardless of whether or not a number of repetitions is the same or different among different RSRP ranges/CE levels/UE power class, a set of repetition numbers can be fixed in the specifications or a set of numbers can be in terms of several fractions, for example {Y/8, Y/4, Y/2, Y} for the case of 2-bit field, of a configured maximum repetition number [Y], where [Y] can be same or different among different RSRP ranges/CE levels/UE power class, as discussed herein.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified RSRP for the PRACH preamble transmission of TAKAHASHI to incorporate the teachings of MolavianJazi to include information of a second mapping among a set of reference signal received power (RSRP) ranges and the set of numbers of repetitions, and determining: an RSRP based on the SS/PBCH blocks, an RSRP range, from the set of RSRP ranges, that includes the RSRP, and the number of repetitions based on the RSRP range and the second mapping. Doing so would facilitate in achieving enhancing transmission of a PRACH preamble for UEs as suggested by MolavianJazi (see ¶ [0004], e.g., The present disclosure relates to enhancing transmission of a PRACH preamble for UEs.).
Regarding claim 4 and 11, TAKAHASHI as combined with MolavianJazi and LY teaches the limitations of Claim 1 and 8.
TAKAHASHI teaches, further comprising: determining a starting PRACH occasion for the group of PRACH occasions based on the third value of the PRACH mask index and the first mapping (see ¶ [0236], e.g., startRoForPrachRepetition is a parameter which defines the first RO associated with the PRACH repetition among the ROs associated to a SSB.); and wherein:
the first mapping is among values of the PRACH mask index and indexes of starting PRACH occasions for groups of PRACH occasions,
the third value of the PRACH mask index maps to first indexes of first starting PRACH occasions for first groups of PRACH occasions, and
the group of PRACH occasions is selected among the first groups of PRACH occasions (see ¶ [0250], e.g., The RO indication field may be indicated as mask index wherein each index in the mask index corresponds to N ROs (N is the number of repetition for PRACH transmission) within multiple ROs associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index. a set of N ROs within ROs associated with an SS/PBCH are indexed as RO group (0, 1, 2, . . . ) and RO group index in RO indication field may indicate one or more of the RO groups as available ROs for the repetition of the PRACH transmission; see ¶ [0251], e.g., Regarding RO group associated with RO group index can be configured by higher-layer parameter or consecutively indexed in ascending order in frequency and/or time domain; see ¶ [0252], e.g., With this RO indication field, BS3 can schedule ROs for multiple PRACH transmission flexibly.),
however, it does not explicitly teach determining remaining PRACH occasions for the group of PRACH occasions based on the starting PRACH occasion.
MolavianJazi teaches, determining remaining PRACH occasions for the group of PRACH occasions based on the starting PRACH occasion (see ¶ [0174], e.g., In other words, a first RO for a first repetition of PRACH can be selected uniformly at random from among a first in time available set of PRACH occasions occurring simultaneously but on different subcarriers (i.e., FDMed), and a second RO for a second repetition of PRACH can be selected uniformly at random from among a second in time available set of PRACH occasions occurring simultaneously but on different subcarriers (i.e., FDMed), and so on; see ¶ [0097], e.g., For a PDCCH-order PRACH and CBRA and for BFR and CFRA when SSB is the DL RS for PRACH, a PRACH occasion is picked uniformly at random from among the consecutive PRACH occasions associated with the selected SSB. The next available PRACH occasion is determined based on following the Occasion Mask whose index is explicitly indicated by RRC or by PDCCH-order. This does not apply to CB-RA. For a BFR when the CSI-RS is the DL RS for PRACH, but no CFRA resource is associated with the selected CSI-RS, a PRACH occasion is picked uniformly at random from among the consecutive PRACH occasions associated with an SSB which is QCL with the selected CSI-RS. The next available PRACH occasion is determined by following Occasion Mask whose index is explicitly indicated by RRC.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified determining PRACH occasions of TAKAHASHI to incorporate the teachings of MolavianJazi to include determining remaining PRACH occasions for the group of PRACH occasions based on the starting PRACH occasion. Doing so would facilitate in achieving enhancing transmission of a PRACH preamble for UEs as suggested by MolavianJazi (see ¶ [0004], e.g., The present disclosure relates to enhancing transmission of a PRACH preamble for UEs.).
Regarding claim 5 and 12, TAKAHASHI as combined with MolavianJazi and LY teaches the limitations of Claim 4 and 11.
TAKAHASHI further teaches, wherein PRACH occasions are indexed in ascending order, first in a frequency domain and second in a time domain (see ¶ [0251], e.g., Regarding RO group associated with RO group index can be configured by higher-layer parameter or consecutively indexed in ascending order in frequency and/or time domain).
Regarding claim 6 and 13, TAKAHASHI as combined with MolavianJazi and LY teaches the limitations of Claim 1 and 8.
TAKAHASHI further teaches, wherein: the first mapping is among values of the PRACH mask index and indexes of groups of PRACH occasions, and
the group of PRACH occasions has an index that maps to the third value of the PRACH mask index based on the first mapping (see ¶ [0250], e.g., The RO indication field may be indicated as mask index wherein each index in the mask index corresponds to N ROs (N is the number of repetition for PRACH transmission) within multiple ROs associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index. a set of N ROs within ROs associated with an SS/PBCH are indexed as RO group (0, 1, 2, . . . ) and RO group index in RO indication field may indicate one or more of the RO groups as available ROs for the repetition of the PRACH transmission.).
Regarding claim 7 and 14, TAKAHASHI as combined with MolavianJazi and LY teaches the limitations of Claim 17.
TAKAHASHI further teaches, wherein the group of PRACH occasions:
include a number of consecutive PRACH occasions that is same as the number of repetitions for the PRACH preamble transmission (see ¶ [0250], e.g., The RO indication field may be indicated as mask index wherein each index in the mask index corresponds to N ROs (N is the number of repetition for PRACH transmission) within multiple ROs associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index. a set of N ROs within ROs associated with an SS/PBCH are indexed as RO group (0, 1, 2, . . . ) and RO group index in RO indication field may indicate one or more of the RO groups as available ROs for the repetition of the PRACH transmission; see ¶ [0251], e.g., Regarding RO group associated with RO group index can be configured by higher-layer parameter or consecutively indexed in ascending order in frequency and/or time domain; see ¶ [0253], e.g., The method may also comprise transmitting N (N>1) repetitions of physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission using N random access channel (RACH) occasions within a RACH attempt, based on the DCI (Step S1002).),
and is associated with the SS/PBCH block index and the PRACH preamble index ([0248] The DCI format for PDCCH order may include, in addition to a field indicating random access preamble index and a field indicating SS/PBCH index, an RO indication field indicating the multiple RACH occasions associated with a SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index to perform a repetition of the PRACH transmission.),
however, it does not explicitly teach having same frequency domain resources.
MolavianJazi teaches, has same frequency domain resources (see ¶ [0157], e.g., In another embodiment of time/frequency allocation (RACH occasion) for PRACH repetitions, for certain PRACH configurations, the existing PRACH (time/frequency) configurations can be used and for certain other PRACH (time) configurations, new/additional PRACH (time/frequency) configurations can be introduced. For example, as described in FIGS. 8A and 8B, the PRACH time/frequency configurations can remain the same ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified number of consecutive PRACH occasions that is same as the number of repetitions for the PRACH preamble transmission of TAKAHASHI to incorporate the teachings of MolavianJazi to include same frequency domain resources. Doing so would facilitate in achieving enhancing transmission of a PRACH preamble for UEs as suggested by MolavianJazi (see ¶ [0004], e.g., The present disclosure relates to enhancing transmission of a PRACH preamble for UEs.).
Regarding claim 15, TAKAHASHI teaches, A base station comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit (see ¶ [0023], e.g., A base station is described. The base station comprise transmission circuitry configured to transmit a downlink control information (DCI)):
a processor operably coupled the transceiver, the processor configured to identify: (see ¶ [0207], e.g., In 1002, the terminal device 1 that has received the PDCCH order transmits a random access preamble to the BS 3 via a PRACH. The transmitted random access preamble may be referred to as Msg1. The transmission of the random access preamble will also be referred to as PRACH transmission):
a set of numbers of repetitions for a reception of a reception of see ¶ [0253], e.g., The method may also comprise transmitting N (N>1) repetitions of physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission using N random access channel (RACH) occasions within a RACH attempt, based on the DCI (Step S1002).), and
a first mapping among values of a PRACH mask index and a set of groups of PRACH occasions (see ¶ [0205], e.g., The PRACH mask index information is information indicating an index of one or more RACH occasions associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by “SS/PBCH index” information for the PRACH transmission. Note that a time resource and/or a frequency resource indicated by the PRACH mask index information may be one specific resource or may indicate selectable multiple resources; see ¶ [0250], e.g., The RO indication field may be indicated as mask index wherein each index in the mask index corresponds to N ROs (N is the number of repetition for PRACH transmission) within multiple ROs associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index. a set of N ROs within ROs associated with an SS/PBCH are indexed as RO group (0, 1, 2, . . . ) and RO group index in RO indication field may indicate one or more of the RO groups as available ROs for the repetition of the PRACH transmission); and
the transceiver is further configured to see ¶ [0023], e.g., A base station is described. The base station comprise transmission circuitry configured to transmit a downlink control information (DCI) with a DCI format for random access procedure initiated by physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order,):
a first value for a PRACH preamble index,
a second value for a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block index, and
a third value for the PRACH mask index (see ¶ [0022], e.g., wherein the DCI format includes a first field which indicates a random access preamble index used for the PRACH transmission, a second field which indicates a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) index, and a third field which indicates the N RACH occasions associated with a SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index for the N repetitions of the PRACH transmission; see ¶ [0203], e.g., In 1001, the BS 3 transmits a PDCCH order to the terminal device 1 on a PDCCH, and indicates the terminal device 1 to perform a random access procedure. Information indicated by the PDCCH order may include preamble index information, PRACH mask index information, SS/PBCH index information.);
based on the third value and the first mapping, a group of PRACH occasions from the set of groups of PRACH occasions (see ¶ [0250], e.g., The RO indication field may be indicated as mask index wherein each index in the mask index corresponds to N ROs (N is the number of repetition for PRACH transmission) within multiple ROs associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index. a set of N ROs within ROs associated with an SS/PBCH are indexed as RO group (0, 1, 2, . . . ) and RO group index in RO indication field may indicate one or more of the RO groups as available ROs for the repetition of the PRACH transmission.); and
wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive the PRACH preamble having the PRACH preamble index with the number of repetitions over the group of PRACH occasions (see ¶ [0253], e.g., The method may also comprise transmitting N (N>1) repetitions of physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission using N random access channel (RACH) occasions within a RACH attempt, based on the DCI (Step S1002); see ¶ [0207], e.g., In 1002, the terminal device 1 that has received the PDCCH order transmits a random access preamble to the BS 3 via a PRACH. The transmitted random access preamble may be referred to as Msg1. The transmission of the random access preamble will also be referred to as PRACH transmission. Note that the terminal device 1 transmits a random access preamble that is indicated in a case where the PDCCH order indicates a preamble index indicating one random access preamble. Note that, in a case where a preamble index indicating a prescribed value is indicated by the PDCCH order, the terminal device 1 may select one random access preamble from available random access preambles at random.),
however, it does not explicitly teach, determining: a number of repetitions from the set of numbers of repetitions, and
first information for a first set of PRACH preambles associated with PRACH transmissions with one spatial filter;
second information for a second set of PRACH preambles associated with PRACH transmissions with more than one spatial filters;
determining a number of spatial filters for transmission of the PRACH preamble based on the PRACH preamble index, wherein:
the number of spatial filters is one when the PRACH preamble, having the PRACH preamble index, is included in the first set of PRACH preambles, and
the number of spatial filters is more than one when the PRACH preamble, having the PRACH preamble index, is included in the second set of PRACH preambles; and
receive the PRACH preamble having the PRACH preamble index with the number of repetitions over the group of PRACH occasions using the number of spatial filters.
MolavianJazi teaches, determining: a number of repetitions from the set of numbers of repetitions (see ¶ [0219], For example, the UE 116 can be configured with a first number N.sub.1 PRACH repetitions associated with a first detected SSB and a second number N2 PRACH repetitions associated with a second detected SSB. As another example, a total number N of PRACH repetitions can be configured and the UE 116 performs a first number α.sub.1.Math.N of PRACH repetitions associated with a first detected SSB and a second number α.sub.2.Math.N of PRACH repetitions associated with a second detected SSB, with α.sub.1+α.sub.2=1. In one example, α.sub.1 and α.sub.2 are fixed in the system specifications, such as α.sub.1=α.sub.2=½. In another example, α.sub.1 and α.sub.2 are indicated by higher layers.).
LY teaches first information for a first set of PRACH preambles associated with PRACH transmissions with one spatial filter;
second information for a second set of PRACH preambles associated with PRACH transmissions with more than one spatial filters (see ¶ [0087], e.g., FIGS. 7 and 8 illustrate configuration schemes 700, 800 for indicating whether PRACH repetitions are transmitted using a single spatial filter, or multiple spatial filters. The configuration schemes may be based on a random access configuration provided by a BS, such as the BS 105 in the method 400; see ¶ [0091], e.g., FIG. 8 illustrates a configuration scheme 800 for PRACH repetition indication using RACH preamble indexes… the random access configuration may indicate a first set of one or more RACH preamble indexes associated with PRACH repetitions using multiple spatial filters. The random access configuration may also indicate a second set of one or more RACH preamble indexes associated with PRACH repetitions using a single spatial filter);
a number of spatial filters for transmission of the PRACH preamble based on the PRACH preamble index, ( see Fig. 4, element 400; ¶ [0079], step 410 may include selecting one or more ROs and/or RACH preamble indexes to indicate whether the random access communication includes PRACH repetitions associated with a single spatial filter, or PRACH repetitions associated with a plurality of spatial filters. For example, if the UE 115 determines to transmit multiple repetitions of the PRACH at step 406, and the UE 115 determines to transmit the PRACH repetitions using more than one spatial filter at step 408, the UE 115 may select a plurality of ROs configured for PRACH repetitions using two or more spatial filters.) wherein:
the number of spatial filters is one when the PRACH preamble, having the PRACH preamble index, is included in the first set of PRACH preambles, and
the number of spatial filters is more than one when the PRACH preamble, having the PRACH preamble index, is included in the second set of PRACH preambles (see ¶ [0090], e.g., FIG. 7 illustrates a configuration scheme 700 for PRACH repetition indication using RO indexes. As explained above in the method 400, the random access configuration may indicate a first set of one or more ROs configured for PRACH repetitions using multiple spatial filters. The random access configuration may also indicate a second set of one or more ROs configured for PRACH repetitions using a single spatial filter… example, RO 0, RO 1, RO 4, and RO 5 are configured for PRACH repetitions using multiple filters. RO 2, RO 3, RO 6, and RO 7 are configured for PRACH using a single spatial filter.); and
receive the PRACH preamble having the PRACH preamble index with the number of repetitions over the group of PRACH occasions using the number of spatial filters (see ¶ [0036], e.g., at least one of the RO or the RACH preamble index detected by the BS may indicate whether the RACH communication includes PRACH repetitions mapped using a same spatial filter or whether the RACH communication includes PRACH repetitions mapped using different spatial filters. For example, the RO and/or the RACH preamble index may indicate to the BS that the RACH communication includes two or more PRACH repetitions all transmitted using a same first spatial filter. In another example, the RO and/or the RACH preamble index may indicate to the BS that the RACH communication includes two or more PRACH repetitions transmitted using at least a first spatial filter and a second spatial
filter (different than the first spatial filter); see ¶ [0081], e.g., At step 412, the UE 115 transmits, based on the ROs and/or RACH preamble indexes determined at step 410, a random access communication including a plurality of PRACH repetitions. The PRACH repetitions may be mapped to the ROs according to the random access communication described above. The PRACH repetitions may be transmitted by the UE 115 using one or more spatial filters as determined in step 408; see ¶ [0087], e.g., The configuration schemes may be used by a UE, such as the UE 115 in the method 400, to map and transmit a RACH preamble to the BS using repetitions, and using one or more spatial filters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified number of repetitions for the PRACH preamble transmission and receiving information of TAKAHASHI to incorporate the teachings of MolavianJazi to include determining: a number of repetitions from the set of numbers of repetitions and to incorporate the teachings of LY to include configuration information indicating multiple spatial filters or using a single spatial filter. Doing so would facilitate in achieving enhancing transmission of a PRACH preamble for UEs as suggested by MolavianJazi (see ¶ [0004], e.g., The present disclosure relates to enhancing transmission of a PRACH preamble for UEs.) and in achieving increase in probability that the RACH preamble is detected by the BS, reduce latency, improve efficiency and reduce power consumption at the BS (see ¶ [0037], e.g., the present disclosure can provide several benefits. For example, allowing a UE to transmit multiple repetitions of a PRACH MSG1, or multiple instances of a PRACH, may increase the probability that the RACH preamble is detected by the BS. This may reduce latency and improve efficiency. Allowing a UE to transmit multiple repetitions of the PRACH using different spatial filters may further improve the probability that a RACH preamble is detected. Further, configuring a UE to indicate whether a RACH communication includes multiple PRACH repetitions or a single PRACH transmission may allow the BS to correctly detect the RACH communication using fewer detection hypotheses, which may reduce power consumption at the BS and reduce the complexity of the RACH process. Accordingly, the RACH process may be more robust and efficient, reducing latency and improving user experience.)
Regarding claim 16, TAKAHASHI as combined with MolavianJazi and LY teaches the limitations of Claim 15.
TAKAHASHI further teaches, wherein the number of repetitions is determined based on a value of a field in the DCI format (see ¶ [0247], e.g., In case of CFRA procedure, to perform a repetition of PRACH transmission (i.e. multiple PRACH transmissions within a RACH attempt), the DCI with a DCI format for random access procedure initiated by PDCCH order may include an information of multiple RACH occasions and/or an information of the repetition number for the PRACH transmission; see ¶ [0249], e.g., The DCI format for PDCCH order may includes a field indicating the number of repetitions explicitly.).
Regarding claim 17, TAKAHASHI as combined with MolavianJazi and LY teaches the limitations of Claim 15.
TAKAHASHI teaches, wherein: the processor is further configured to determine: a starting PRACH occasion for the group of PRACH occasions based on the third value of the PRACH mask index and the first mapping (see ¶ [0236], e.g., startRoForPrachRepetition is a parameter which defines the first RO associated with the PRACH repetition among the ROs associated to a SSB.); and wherein:
the first mapping is among values of the PRACH mask index and indexes of starting PRACH occasions for groups of PRACH occasions,
the third value of the PRACH mask index maps to first indexes of first starting PRACH occasions for first groups of PRACH occasions, and
the group of PRACH occasions is selected among the first groups of PRACH occasions (see ¶ [0250], e.g., The RO indication field may be indicated as mask index wherein each index in the mask index corresponds to N ROs (N is the number of repetition for PRACH transmission) within multiple ROs associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index. a set of N ROs within ROs associated with an SS/PBCH are indexed as RO group (0, 1, 2, . . . ) and RO group index in RO indication field may indicate one or more of the RO groups as available ROs for the repetition of the PRACH transmission; see ¶ [0251], e.g., Regarding RO group associated with RO group index can be configured by higher-layer parameter or consecutively indexed in ascending order in frequency and/or time domain; see ¶ [0252], e.g., With this RO indication field, BS3 can schedule ROs for multiple PRACH transmission flexibly.),
however, it does not explicitly teach determining remaining PRACH occasions for the group of PRACH occasions based on the starting PRACH occasion.
MolavianJazi teaches, determining remaining PRACH occasions for the group of PRACH occasions based on the starting PRACH occasion (see ¶ [0174], e.g., In other words, a first RO for a first repetition of PRACH can be selected uniformly at random from among a first in time available set of PRACH occasions occurring simultaneously but on different subcarriers (i.e., FDMed), and a second RO for a second repetition of PRACH can be selected uniformly at random from among a second in time available set of PRACH occasions occurring simultaneously but on different subcarriers (i.e., FDMed), and so on; see ¶ [0097], e.g., For a PDCCH-order PRACH and CBRA and for BFR and CFRA when SSB is the DL RS for PRACH, a PRACH occasion is picked uniformly at random from among the consecutive PRACH occasions associated with the selected SSB. The next available PRACH occasion is determined based on following the Occasion Mask whose index is explicitly indicated by RRC or by PDCCH-order. This does not apply to CB-RA. For a BFR when the CSI-RS is the DL RS for PRACH, but no CFRA resource is associated with the selected CSI-RS, a PRACH occasion is picked uniformly at random from among the consecutive PRACH occasions associated with an SSB which is QCL with the selected CSI-RS. The next available PRACH occasion is determined by following Occasion Mask whose index is explicitly indicated by RRC.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified determining PRACH occasions of TAKAHASHI to incorporate the teachings of MolavianJazi to include determining remaining PRACH occasions for the group of PRACH occasions based on the starting PRACH occasion. Doing so would facilitate in achieving enhancing transmission of a PRACH preamble for UEs as suggested by MolavianJazi (see ¶ [0004], e.g., The present disclosure relates to enhancing transmission of a PRACH preamble for UEs.).
Regarding claim 18, TAKAHASHI as combined with MolavianJazi and LY teaches the limitations of Claim 17.
TAKAHASHI further teaches, wherein PRACH occasions are indexed in ascending order, first in a frequency domain and second in a time domain (see ¶ [0251], e.g., Regarding RO group associated with RO group index can be configured by higher-layer parameter or consecutively indexed in ascending order in frequency and/or time domain).
Regarding claim 19, TAKAHASHI as combined with MolavianJazi and LY teaches the limitations of Claim 17.
TAKAHASHI further teaches, wherein: the first mapping is among values of the PRACH mask index and indexes of groups of PRACH occasions, and
the group of PRACH occasions has an index that maps to the third value of the PRACH mask index based on the first mapping (see ¶ [0250], e.g., The RO indication field may be indicated as mask index wherein each index in the mask index corresponds to N ROs (N is the number of repetition for PRACH transmission) within multiple ROs associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index. a set of N ROs within ROs associated with an SS/PBCH are indexed as RO group (0, 1, 2, . . . ) and RO group index in RO indication field may indicate one or more of the RO groups as available ROs for the repetition of the PRACH transmission.).
Regarding claim 20, TAKAHASHI as combined with MolavianJazi and LY teaches the limitations of Claim 15.
TAKAHASHI further teaches, wherein the group of PRACH occasions:
include a number of consecutive PRACH occasions that is same as the number of repetitions for the PRACH preamble transmission (see ¶ [0250], e.g., The RO indication field may be indicated as mask index wherein each index in the mask index corresponds to N ROs (N is the number of repetition for PRACH transmission) within multiple ROs associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index. a set of N ROs within ROs associated with an SS/PBCH are indexed as RO group (0, 1, 2, . . . ) and RO group index in RO indication field may indicate one or more of the RO groups as available ROs for the repetition of the PRACH transmission; see ¶ [0251], e.g., Regarding RO group associated with RO group index can be configured by higher-layer parameter or consecutively indexed in ascending order in frequency and/or time domain; see ¶ [0253], e.g., The method may also comprise transmitting N (N>1) repetitions of physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission using N random access channel (RACH) occasions within a RACH attempt, based on the DCI (Step S1002).),
and is associated with the SS/PBCH block index and the PRACH preamble index ([0248] The DCI format for PDCCH order may include, in addition to a field indicating random access preamble index and a field indicating SS/PBCH index, an RO indication field indicating the multiple RACH occasions associated with a SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index to perform a repetition of the PRACH transmission.),
however, it does not explicitly teach having same frequency domain resources.
MolavianJazi teaches, has same frequency domain resources (see ¶ [0157], e.g., In another embodiment of time/frequency allocation (RACH occasion) for PRACH repetitions, for certain PRACH configurations, the existing PRACH (time/frequency) configurations can be used and for certain other PRACH (time) configurations, new/additional PRACH (time/frequency) configurations can be introduced. For example, as described in FIGS. 8A and 8B, the PRACH time/frequency configurations can remain the same ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified number of consecutive PRACH occasions that is same as the number of repetitions for the PRACH preamble transmission of TAKAHASHI to incorporate the teachings of MolavianJazi to include same frequency domain resources. Doing so would facilitate in achieving enhancing transmission of a PRACH preamble for UEs as suggested by MolavianJazi (see ¶ [0004], e.g., The present disclosure relates to enhancing transmission of a PRACH preamble for UEs.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/POONAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/KEVIN T BATES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472