DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 27, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bassan et al. (hereafter “Bassan”)(US 2018/009019).
With regards to claim 1, Bassan discloses a method of mitigating wrinkles during a manufacture of a super-plastically formed part, the method comprising:
arranging a plurality of flat sheets into a part assembly, the plurality of flat sheets comprising a first outer sheet (P) and a second outer sheet (L) (P1);
applying a friction-modifying layer (P1, P2) to the first outer sheet of the part assembly,
wherein:
the first outer sheet comprises a first portion (portion where P1 is placed) having a first percentage of coverage and a second portion (portion where P2 is placed) having a second percentage of coverage, as seen in Figure 1B;
the friction-modifying layer is applied at a first thickness in the first portion and a second thickness in the second portion; and the first thickness and the second thickness are different thicknesses, as seen in Figure 1B;
placing the part assembly on a lower die (2) of a die system such that the first outer sheet is facing the lower die [while the drawings do not show this configuration paragraph 0042 states that the position of the elements P and L can be inverted and therefore Bassan discloses the first outer sheet P facing the lower die]; and
moving an upper die (3) of the die system in a forming direction toward the lower die to stretch and compress the part assembly between the upper die and the lower die and to super-plastically form the part assembly into a formed part (Q).
With regards to claim 8, Bassan discloses wherein the friction-modifying layer (P1, P2) is configured to precisely control a state of stress within the part assembly when super-plastically forming the part assembly into the formed part.
With regards to claim 10, Bassan discloses wherein the first thickness is less than the second thickness, as seen in Figures 1B.
With regards to claim 12, Bassan discloses a method of mitigating wrinkles during a manufacture of a super-plastically formed part, the method comprising:
subjecting a part assembly to a super-plastic forming process, as seen in Figures 2A-2F; and
controlling a state of stress within the part assembly during the super-plastic forming process by non-uniformly applying a friction-modifying layer (P1, P2) to an outer sheet of the part assembly prior to the super-plastic forming process, such that a thickness of the friction-modifying layer at least one wrinkle-prone location of the outer sheet is different than a thickness of the friction-modifying layer at other locations of the outer sheet, as seen in Figure 1B.
With regards to claim 13, Bassan discloses wherein the thickness of the friction-modifying layer at the at least one wrinkle-prone location is less than the thickness of the friction-modifying layer at other locations of the outer sheet, as seen in Figure 1B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bassan.
Bassan discloses another embodiment as seen in Figure 3, where the plurality of flat sheets further comprises at least one inner sheet (P) disposed between the first outer sheet (L1) and the second outer sheet (L2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the plurality of flat sheets to further comprise at least one inner sheet disposed between the first outer sheet and the second outer sheet as described in Bassan's embodiments because combining prior art elements according to known methods yields predictable results [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bassan in view of Kulkarni et al. (hereafter “Kulkarni”)(US Patent 7,672,816).
Bassan discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for further comprising simulating a super-plastic formation of a simulated part assembly into a simulated formed part to predict at least one wrinkle-prone location within the simulated formed part. Kulkarni is relied upon to teach predicting via simulations wrinkle prone locations on a workpiece prior to forming [as described in at least the Abstract]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Bassan’s method with a simulating step because combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results require only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bassan.
Bassan discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for further comprising, prior to applying the friction-modifying layer, increasing a surface irregularity in an irregular portion of the first outer sheet of the part assembly. It is considered to be well-known that prior to applying additional layers surface preparation is completed including applying adhesive or increasing a surface irregularity. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to increasing a surface irregularity to prepare the surface prior to applying another layer, since it would have been obvious to try this technique when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. SR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). See MPEP 2143(I)(E).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bassan.
Bassan discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein: the first outer sheet further comprises a third portion having a third percentage of coverage; the friction-modifying layer is applied at a third thickness in the third portion; and the third thickness is different than the first thickness and the second thickness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an additional or third portion with a third thickness, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and further show the state of the art: US Patent 4,607,512.
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725