DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the fence portions" in lines 3 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 103378429 A.
In regard to claim 1, CN 103378429 A discloses a board coaxial connector adapted for mounting on a circuit board (see abstract), comprising:
a first insulator 32;
a first inner conductor 31 retained in the first insulator 32 and comprising a mating portion 36 and a first connecting portion 35 extending out of the first insulator 32;
a first outer conductor 34 having a third connecting portion (adjacent reference number 45 in fig. 1) and retaining the first insulator 32;
a second outer conductor 42 mounted on the circuit board (see abstract) and having a fourth connecting portion (the portion of 42 contacting 34); and
a second inner conductor 41 having a second connecting portion (the socket portion of 41) and a tail portion (opposite end the socket portion of 41) mounting on the circuit board;
wherein the first connecting portion 35 is connected with the second connecting portion (the socket portion of 41), the third connecting portion (adjacent reference number 45 in fig. 1) is connected with the fourth connecting portion (the portion of 42 contacting 34), and the first connecting portion 35 of the first inner conductor 31 is movable to slightly deviate from an axis of the second inner conductor 41.
In regard to claim 9, CN 103378429 A discloses the first inner conductor 31 is able to deviate relative to the axis of the second inner conductor 41 with angles within 5 degrees.
In regard to claim 10, CN 103378429 A discloses the mating portion 35 of the first inner conductor 31 is of a needle shape.
In regard to claim 11, CN 103378429 A discloses a board coaxial connector adapted for mounting on a circuit board (see abstract), comprising:
an insulator 32;
a first inner conductor 31 retained in the insulator 32 and comprising a mating portion 36 and a first connecting portion 35;
a second inner conductor 41 comprising a second connecting portion (the socket portion of 41) and a tail portion (opposite end the socket portion of 41) mounted on the circuit board (see abstract);
a first outer conductor 34 comprising a mating tube 33, 34 and a third connecting portion (adjacent reference number 45 in fig. 1), the insulator 32 being retained in the first outer conductor 34 and the mating portion 36 of the first inner conductor 31 being received in the mating tube 33, 34; and
a second outer conductor 42 comprising a fourth connecting portion (the portion of 42 contacting 34) and a mounting portion (adjacent reference number 40 in fig. 1) retained on the circuit board (see abstract);
wherein the third connecting portion (adjacent reference number 45 in fig. 1) is retainably engaged with the fourth connecting portion (the portion of 42 contacting 34), and the first connecting portion 35 is swiveled to the second connecting portion (the socket portion of 41).
Claim(s) 1, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maki (US 10916902 B2).
In regard to claim 1, Maki discloses a board coaxial connector adapted for mounting on a circuit board (see fig. 1), comprising:
a first insulator 22;
a first inner conductor 23 retained in the first insulator 22 and comprising a mating portion 23B and a first connecting portion 23C extending out of the first insulator 22;
a first outer conductor 21 having a third connecting portion 21C-1 and retaining the first insulator 22;
a second outer conductor 31 mounted on the circuit board (see fig. 1) and having a fourth connecting portion 31A-1; and
a second inner conductor 33 having a second connecting portion 33B and a tail portion 33A mounting on the circuit board (see fig. 1);
wherein the first connecting portion 23C is connected with the second connecting portion 33B, the third connecting portion 21C-1 is connected with the fourth connecting portion 31A-1, and the first connecting portion 23C of the first inner conductor 23 is movable to slightly deviate from an axis of the second inner conductor 33 (see fig. 8).
In regard to claim 9, Maki discloses the first inner conductor 23 is able to deviate relative to the axis of the second inner conductor 33 with angles within 5 degrees.
In regard to claim 11, Maki discloses a board coaxial connector adapted for mounting on a circuit board (see abstract), comprising:
an insulator 22;
a first inner conductor 23 retained in the insulator 22 and comprising a mating portion 23B and a first connecting portion 23C;
a second inner conductor 33 comprising a second connecting portion 33B and a tail portion 33A mounted on the circuit board (see fig. 1);
a first outer conductor 21 comprising a mating tube 21B, 21C and a third connecting portion 21C-1, the insulator 22 being retained in the first outer conductor 21 and the mating portion 23B of the first inner conductor 23 being received in the mating tube; and
a second outer conductor 31 comprising a fourth connecting portion 31A-1 and a mounting portion 31B-3 retained on the circuit board (see fig. 1);
wherein the third connecting portion 21C-1 is retainably engaged with the fourth connecting portion 31A-1, and the first connecting portion 23C is swiveled to the second connecting portion 33B (see fig. 8).
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wagner (US 9160121 B2).
In regard to claim 1, Wagner discloses a board coaxial connector adapted for mounting on a circuit board 14, comprising:
a first insulator 6;
a first inner conductor 4 retained in the first insulator 6 and comprising a mating portion (opposite end of 8) and a first connecting portion 8 extending out of the first insulator 6;
a first outer conductor 5 having a third connecting portion (the portion contacting 7 in fig. 5) and retaining the first insulator 6;
a second outer conductor 7 mounted on the circuit board 14 and having a fourth connecting portion (the portion contacting 5 in fig. 5); and
a second inner conductor 3, 10 having a second connecting portion 10 and a tail portion 3 mounting on the circuit board 14;
wherein the first connecting portion 8 is connected with the second connecting portion 10, the third connecting portion (the portion contacting 7 in fig. 5) is connected with the fourth connecting portion (the portion contacting 5 in fig. 5), and the first connecting portion 8 of the first inner conductor 4 is movable to slightly deviate from an axis of the second inner conductor 3, 10.
In regard to claim 2, Wagner discloses one of the first connecting portion 8 and the second connecting portion 10 has a spherical end 9, the other of the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion has a concavity, and the spherical end 9 is received in the concavity.
In regard to claim 3, Wagner discloses the spherical end 9 is able to rotate in the concavity to offset an axis of the first inner conductor 4 from an axis of the second inner conductor 3, 10.
In regard to claim 4, Wagner discloses the second connecting portion 10 has a base portion 15 and a plurality of fence portions (between slits 24) extending upwardly from the base portion 15, and the concavity 10 is formed by the fence portions.
In regard to claim 7, Wagner discloses the first insulator 6 has a ring rib (see annotated drawing below) protruding radially from an outer face thereof and a receiving groove (see annotated drawing below) opening downwards, the ring rib is received in the protruding portion (see annotated drawing below), and the fence portions (between slits 24) and the spherical end 9 are received in the receiving groove.
In regard to claim 8, Wagner discloses the concavity of the second inner conductor 3, 10 is spaced from the receiving groove of the first insulator 6 by an offset gap, and the first insulator 6 is capable of swinging relative to the concavity when the spherical end 9 of the first inner conductor 4 rotates in the concavity.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (ring rib)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (protruding
portion)][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (receiving groove)]
In regard to claim 16, Wagner discloses a coaxial connector assembly comprising:
a circuit board 14;
a lower assembly comprising an outer conductor 7 and an inner conductor 3, 10 retained on the circuit board 14; and
an upper assembly 1 comprising an outer conductor 5, an insulator 6 retained in the outer conductor 5, and an inner conductor 4 retained in the insulator 6;
wherein the upper assembly 1 is assembled to the lower assembly, one of the inner conductors 4 and 3, 10 has a spherical end 8, 9, the other of the inner conductors has a concavity 10, and the spherical end 8, 9 is received in the concavity 10.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 11, 13, 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dahms (US 7717716 B2).
In regard to claim 1, Dahms discloses a board coaxial connector adapted for mounting on a circuit board 5, comprising:
a first insulator 50;
a first inner conductor 10 retained in the first insulator 50 and comprising a mating portion 11 and a first connecting portion 13, 23 extending out of the first insulator 50;
a first outer conductor 30 having a third connecting portion 38’ and retaining the first insulator 50;
a second outer conductor 45 mounted on the circuit board 5 and having a fourth connecting portion 48’; and
a second inner conductor 40 having a second connecting portion 41 and a tail portion 43 mounting on the circuit board 5;
wherein the first connecting portion 13, 23 is connected with the second connecting portion 41, the third connecting portion 38’ is connected with the fourth connecting portion 48’, and the first connecting portion 13, 23 of the first inner conductor 10 is movable to slightly deviate from an axis of the second inner conductor 40 (see fig. 8).
In regard to claim 2, Dahms discloses one of the first connecting portion 13, 23 and the second connecting portion 41 has a spherical end, the other of the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion has a concavity, and the spherical end is received in the concavity.
In regard to claim 3, Dahms discloses the spherical end 41 is able to rotate in the concavity to offset an axis of the first inner conductor 10 from an axis of the second inner conductor 40 (see fig. 8).
In regard to claim 5, Dahms discloses the first outer conductor 30 has a ring 38’ of protruding portion bulging radially at a lower end thereof, an upper end of the second outer conductor 45 inclines inwardly for preventing the protruding portion of the first outer conductor 30 from separating from the fourth connecting portion 48 of the second outer conductor 45 (see fig. 6b).
In regard to claim 11, Dahms discloses a board coaxial connector adapted for mounting on a circuit board 5, comprising:
an insulator 50;
a first inner conductor 10 retained in the insulator 50 and comprising a mating portion 11 and a first connecting portion 13, 23;
a second inner conductor 40 comprising a second connecting portion 41 and a tail portion 43 mounted on the circuit board 5;
a first outer conductor 30 comprising a mating tube 31, 32 and a third connecting portion 38’, the insulator 50 being retained in the first outer conductor 30 and the mating portion 11 of the first inner conductor 10 being received in the mating tube; and
a second outer conductor 45 comprising a fourth connecting portion 48’ and a mounting portion 49 retained on the circuit board 5;
wherein the third connecting portion 38’ is retainably engaged with the fourth connecting portion 48’, and the first connecting portion 13, 23 is swiveled to the second connecting portion 41 (see fig. 8).
In regard to claim 13, Dahms discloses the third connecting portion 38’ bulges radially and forms a protruding portion at a lower end of the first outer conductor 30, and the fourth connecting portion 48’ converges at an upper end of the second outer conduct 45 for preventing the protruding portion of the third connecting portion 38’ from disengaging the fourth connecting portion.
In regard to claim 14, Dahms discloses the second outer conductor 45 is spaced a ring of gap (see annotated drawing below) from the second inner conductor 40, and the first insulator 50 defines a ring of rib (see annotated drawing below) retained in the protruding portion 38’ and a circumferential wall extending downwardly from the rib into the ring of gap (see annotated drawing below).
[AltContent: textbox (ring of rib)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (circumferential wall)]
[AltContent: textbox (ring of gap)]
In regard to claim 16, Dahms discloses a coaxial connector assembly comprising:
a circuit board 5;
a lower assembly comprising an outer conductor 45 and an inner conductor 40 retained on the circuit board 5; and
an upper assembly comprising an outer conductor 30, an insulator 50 retained in the outer conductor 30, and an inner conductor 10 retained in the insulator 50;
wherein the upper assembly is assembled to the lower assembly, one of the inner conductors 40 and 10 has a spherical end 41, the other of the inner conductors has a concavity 13, 23, and the spherical end 41 is received in the concavity 13, 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dahms.
In regard to claims 6, 15, Dahms discloses the protruding portion 38’ has a C-shaped cross section which inclines outwardly firstly and then inclines inwardly.
However, Dahms does not disclose the protruding portion 38’ has a V-shaped cross section which inclines outwardly firstly and then inclines inwardly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Dahms’ invention by having the protruding portion with a V-shaped configuration since applicants have presented no explanation that this particular V-shaped configuration of the protruding portion is significant or is anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing retaining surfaces between two members. A change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
In regard to claim 12, Dahms does not disclose the third connecting portion has a spherical end, and the fourth connecting portion has a concavity receiving the spherical end.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Dahms’ invention by constructing the third connecting portion has a spherical end, and the fourth connecting portion has a concavity receiving the spherical end since applicants have presented no explanation that these particular configurations of the engagement means are significant or are anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing engaging surfaces between two members and since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
Tdt
2/23/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834