DETAILED ACTION
Specification
JUMBO CASE - The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
TITLE - The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
ABSTRACT - The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it merely consists of a single run-on sentence without regard for proper grammatical form. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
the correcting section selectively executing the first operation and the second operation, as recited in claim 6
the first operation and the second operation selected according to a type of recording medium as recited in claim 7
the first operation and the second operation selected according to which of a first fixing device and a second fixing device fixes an image on the recording medium, as recited in claim 8
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A series of singular dependent claims is permissible in which a dependent claim refers to a preceding claim which, in turn, refers to another preceding claim. A claim which depends from a dependent claim should not be separated by any claim which does not also depend from said dependent claim. It should be kept in mind that a dependent claim may refer to any preceding independent claim. In general, applicant's sequence will not be changed. See MPEP § 608.01(n).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a loading section, a supporting section, a correcting section introduced in claims 1, 2, and 3; a folding section in claim 4; a first fixing device, a second fixing device in claim 8; an image forming section in claims 9-16. Every term that is referred to as a “device”, “part”, “section”, “member”, “unit”, or “portion” to execute a function without sufficient structure, is being considered a generic placeholder reciting a means-plus-function limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “along” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “along” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of examination over prior art, this limitation is interpreted as best construed.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: means or structure to fix an image on the recording medium with a first fixing device or a second fixing device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 9-12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2009/0127764 to Kamiya.
Kamiya teaches:
(claim 1) A post-processing device (500, Fig.1) comprising:
a loading section (803, Fig.1) that has a loading surface (15, Fig.3) directed obliquely upward and in which a recording medium (P1) is loaded on the loading surface in a state where one end of the recording medium is directed downward;
a supporting section (805, Fig.3) that supports the one end of the recording medium loaded on the loading surface; and
a correcting section (12, Fig.3) that has a facing surface (12a) facing toward the loading surface and that corrects deflection of the recording medium by coming into contact with the recording medium in a posture in which a lower end portion of the facing surface approaches closer to the loading surface than an upper end portion from a side of the recording medium, which is loaded on the loading surface, opposite to the loading surface and by thereafter coming into contact with the recording medium while moving such that the upper end portion approaches the loading surface in a state where the lower end portion is in contact with the recording medium (Fig.6A-7B).
(claim 2) A post-processing device comprising: a loading section (803, Fig.1) that has a loading surface (15, Fig.3) directed obliquely upward and in which a recording medium (P1) is loaded on the loading surface in a state where one end of the recording medium is directed downward; a supporting section (805) that supports the one end of the recording medium loaded on the loading surface; and a correcting section (12) that corrects deflection of the recording medium by coming into contact with a first part of the recording medium from a side of the recording medium, which is loaded on the loading surface, opposite to the loading surface and by thereafter coming into contact with a second part above the first part of the recording medium in a state of being in contact with the first part (Fig.6A-7B).
(claim 3) A post-processing device comprising: a loading section (803, Fig.1) that has a loading surface (15, Fig.3) directed obliquely upward and in which a recording medium (P1) is loaded on the loading surface in a state where one end of the recording medium is directed downward; a supporting section (805) that supports the one end of the recording medium loaded on the loading surface; and a correcting section (12) that corrects deflection of the recording medium by coming into contact with a part of the recording medium from a side of the recording medium, which is loaded on the loading surface, opposite to the loading surface and by thereafter coming into contact with the recording medium such that an area of the contact with the recording medium increases upward from the part (Fig.6A-7B).
(claim 4) The post-processing device according to claim 1, further comprising a folding section (800, Fig.1) that folds the recording medium by pushing an intermediate part (830) in an up-down direction of the recording medium in a state where the correcting section is in contact with the recording medium loaded on the loading surface [0059].
(claim 6) The post-processing device according to claim 1, wherein the correcting section is able to selectively execute a first operation of correcting deflection of the recording medium (of large size) by coming into contact with the recording medium in a posture in which the lower end portion of the facing surface approaches closer to the loading surface than the upper end portion from the side of the recording medium, which is loaded on the loading surface, opposite to the loading surface and by thereafter coming into contact with the recording medium while moving such that the upper end portion approaches the loading surface in a state where the lower end portion is in contact with the recording medium, and a second operation of correcting deflection of the recording medium (of small size) by coming into contact with the recording medium while being displaced upward in a posture, in which the facing surface is along the loading surface, from the side of the recording medium, which is loaded on the loading surface, opposite to the loading surface (Figs. 14-15).
(claim 7) The post-processing device according to claim 6, wherein the correcting section executes the first operation in a case where a first type recording medium is loaded on the loading surface, and executes the second operation in a case where a second type recording medium different from the first type recording medium is loaded on the loading surface (Fig.15).
(claims 9-12 and 14-15) An image forming apparatus (1000, Fig.1) comprising: an image forming section (300) that forms an image on a recording medium; and the post-processing (500) device according to claims 1-4 and 6-7 that executes post-processing on the recording medium on which the image forming section forms the image [0039].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0127764 to Kamiya, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of US 6,799,759 to McNamara et al.
Regarding claim 5, Kamiya teaches a post-processing device according to claim 4, but does not explicitly suggest the correcting section coming into contact with the recording medium under the folding section.
McNamara discloses a post-processing device comprising: a loading section (112) that has a loading surface directed obliquely upward and in which a recording medium (S) is loaded on the loading surface in a state where one end of the recording medium is directed downward; a supporting section (116) that supports the one end of the recording medium loaded on the loading surface; and a correcting section (132) that has a facing surface facing toward the loading surface and that corrects deflection of the recording medium by coming into contact with the recording medium, the correcting section comes into contact with the recording medium, which is loaded on the loading surface, under the folding section.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kamiya and McNamara to produce a post-processing apparatus according to claim 4 wherein the correcting section comes into contact with the recording medium, which is loaded on the loading surface, under the folding section, for at leas the purpose of eliminating curving and fluffing of the recording medium thus improving positioning control of the recording medium on the loading section.
Regarding claim 13, the combination further renders obvious an image forming apparatus comprising: an image forming section (Kamiya:300, McNamara:99) that forms an image on a recording medium; and the post-processing device according to claim 5 that executes post-processing on the recording medium on which the image forming section forms the image.
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0127764 to Kamiya, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of US 2008/0304887 to Horie.
Regarding claim 8, Kamiya teaches a post-processing device according to claim 6, but does not explicitly suggest the first operation and the second operation selected according to which of a first fixing device and a second fixing device fixes an image on the recording medium.
Horie discloses an image forming apparatus wherein thin sheets had the tendencies of curling in the way in which their printed surface sides were convex by passing through a fixing apparatus, and thick sheets had the tendencies of curling in the way in which their printed surface sides were conversely concave by passing through the fixing apparatus.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kamiya and Horie to produce a post-processing apparatus according to claim 6 wherein the correcting section executes the first operation in a case where a recording medium, on which a first fixing device fixes an image, is loaded on the loading surface, and executes the second operation in a case where a recording medium, on which a second fixing device different from the first fixing device fixes an image, is loaded on the loading surface for at least the purpose of effectively positioning recording media with different curl tendencies, after fixing an image, on the loading section.
Regarding claim 16, Kamiya as modified above further renders obvious an image forming apparatus (Kamiya:1000,Fig.2) comprising: an image forming section (Kamiya:300) that forms an image on a recording medium; and the post-processing device according to claim 6 that executes post-processing on the recording medium on which the image forming section forms the image [0039].
Conclusion
/Arlene Heredia Ocasio/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852