DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 7-11, 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite “The electric vehicle of claim …” there is insufficient antecedent basis support for the limitation in the claims. Claims 7-11 and 17 depend from claims 1, 6 and 12. Claims 1, 6 and 12 are directed to “An electric vehicle charging station” and not to “An electric vehicle”. Applicant is advised to correct claims 7-11 and 17 by amending the preamble to recite “The electric vehicle charging station of claim …”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BROERE (US 2018/0342844 A1, hereinafter BROERE).
Regarding claim 1, BROERE discloses an electric vehicle charging station comprising:
a housing, where the housing is a longitudinally extending housing (See Fig.14A, discloses a power pedestal 1400A);
one or more charging components coupled to the housing (See Pars.5 and 78, discloses the power pedestal is used in charging electric vehicles i.e. it includes charging components); and
a release mechanism located along the housing (See Pars.17 and 22, discloses a stress relief structure such that when the pedestal is struck by a vehicle the pedestal breaks away from the base. Par.125 and Fig.28A, disclose the flanges 2810, 2820, and 2830 may be made to be thinner than the central plate 2850 such that the flanges deform while the base stays the same);
where upon impact to the housing the housing separates at the release mechanism (See Par.61, disclose the pedestal will break away completely from the base if the pedestal is accidentally struck).
Regarding claim 2, BROERE discloses the electric vehicle charging station of claim 1, where the release mechanism is formed integral the housing (See Fig.28A, discloses the release mechanism comprising the flanges 2810, 2820, and 2830 is part of the housing).
Regarding claim 3, BROERE discloses the electric vehicle of claim 1 as discussed above, where upon impact, the release mechanism separates the housing into two pieces (See Par.61, discloses the pedestal portion breaks away from the base).
Regarding claim 5, BROERE discloses the electric vehicle charging station of claim 1 as discussed above, the release mechanism comprising a weakened area at a predefined location in the housing (See Pas.120-123, disclose using a weaker material such that failure is localized to an area).
Regarding claim 6, BROERE discloses electric vehicle charging station of claim 1 as discussed above, the release mechanism comprising a weakened plate coupled to the housing (See Fig.28A and Par.122, disclose using a flange with a cut-out, different material i.e. weaker material or different thickness to cause failure at a localized area).
Regarding claim 7, BROERE discloses the electric vehicle of claim 6 as discussed above, where the plate is thinner than a wall of the housing (See Pars.125, discloses the flanges are different thickness than the central plate).
Regarding claims 8 and 11, BROERE discloses the electric vehicle of claim 6 as discussed above, where the plate is made of a material different than the housing (See Par.125, discloses central plate 2805 and flanges 2810, 2820, and 2830 to have different thicknesses or to be made from different materials).
Regarding claim 10, BROERE discloses the electric vehicle of claim 1 as discussed above, where the release mechanism comprises a hinged member (See Fig.28A and Par.25, disclose flanges 2810, 2820, and 2830 are folded i.e. hinged in relation to the central plate 2805).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BROERE.
Regarding claim 9, BROERE discloses the electric vehicle of claim 6, BROERE further discloses the charging station base comprising a central plate and release mechanism are made of different materials (See Pars.116 and 121-122, disclose the central plate and the flanges are made of different materials). However, BROERE does not explicitly disclose where the plate is made of aluminum.
However, the examiner explains that it is well known that Aluminum is a highly deformable material and It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BROERE by using Aluminum for the release mechanism for the benefit of providing a deformable release that allows the base to separate from the pedestal.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BROERE in view of LEGARE (US 2022/0324343 A1, hereinafter LEGARE).
Regarding claim 4, BROERE discloses the electric vehicle charging station of claim 1 as discussed above, However, BROERE does not explicitly disclose: where the release mechanism electrically disconnects the charging station.
LEGARE discloses an electric vehicle charging station comprising a release mechanism, where the release mechanism electrically disconnects the charging station (See Figs.3-4, Item#304 and 306 and Pars.47 and 49, disclose an electrical break-away connector which breaks the electrical connection of the charging station if force is applied).
BROERE and LEGARE are analogous art since they both deal with vehicle charging stations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BROERE with the teachings of LEGARE by adding the break-away connector disclosed by LEGARE for the benefit of electrically disconnecting the vehicle charging station when force is applied to the charging station.
Claim(s) 12-15 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BROERE in view of SUGANO (US 2011/0266996 A1, hereinafter SUGANO).
Regarding claim 21, BREORE discloses at least one charging station comprises the electric vehicle charging station of claim 1, however BREORE does not disclose a plurality of charging spaces; and one or more charging stations located near the charging spaces.
SUGANO discloses a plurality of charging spaces; and one or more charging stations located near the charging spaces (See Fig.1, discloses a plurality of charging spaces for charging a plurality of vehicles 50-53. Fig.2 and Par.88, disclose a plurality of charging stands 21).
BREORE and SUGANO are analogous art since they both deal with vehicle charging stations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BREORE with the teachings of SUGANO by using a plurality of charging spaces and a plurality of charging stations for the benefit of simultaneously charging a plurality of vehicles.
Regarding claim 12, BREORE discloses an electric vehicle charging station comprising:
a housing having a first end and a second end (See Fig.14A, discloses a housing 1410 extending between base 1400B and a top 1420), and a longitudinally extending sidewall between the first end and the second end (See Fig.14A, discloses a housing 1400 between the base 1400B and the top 1420);
a base unit located proximate the second end (See Fig.14A, Item#1400B);
one or more charging components located within the housing (See Pars.5 and 78, disclose the power pedestal is used for vehicle charging. The charging components are inherently included in the charging station); and
a release mechanism located in the sidewall between the first end and the second end (See Pars.17 and 22, discloses a stress relief structure such that when the pedestal is struck by a vehicle the pedestal breaks away from the base. Par.125 and Fig.28A, disclose the flanges 2810, 2820, and 2830 may be made to be thinner than the central plate 2850 such that the flanges deform while the base stays the same).
However, BREORE does not disclose explicitly disclose a user interface located proximate the first end; a charging cable unit coupled to the housing.
SUGANO discloses a charging station comprising a user interface located proximate the first end (See Fig.2 and Par.88, disclose a display section 26); and
a charging cable unit coupled to the housing (See Fig.2, Item#35 and Par.88, disclose a charging cable).
BREORE and SUGANO are analogous art since they both deal with vehicle charging stations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BREORE with the teachings of SUGANO by adding a user interface to the charging station for the benefit of allowing the user monitor the charging status, it would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BREORE with the teachings of SUGANO by adding the charging cable for the benefit of charging the vehicle with the charging station without the need for each vehicle to have its own cable.
Regarding claim 13, BREORE and SUGANO disclose the electric vehicle charging station of claim 12, the release mechanism comprising a breakaway mechanism formed integral the sidewall (See BREORE Fig.28A, discloses the release mechanism comprising the flanges 2810, 2820, and 2830 is part of the housing).
Regarding claim 14, BREORE and SUGANO disclose the electric vehicle charging station of claim 12 as discussed above, where the user interface is located between the release mechanism and the first end (See BREORE Fig.14A discloses the release mechanism is below the housing 1410. SUGANO discloses the display 26 is near the top of the elongated housing. The combination discloses the display between the release mechanism and the first end [lid]), and the base unit is located between the release mechanism and the second end (See BREORE, discloses the release mechanism is between the base 1400B and the bottom end resting on the ground).
Regarding claim 15, BREORE and SUGANO disclose the electric vehicle charging station of claim 12 as discussed above, the housing having a vehicle contact zone, where the release mechanism is located between the vehicle contact zone and the second end (See BREORE, Fig.28C, and Par.118 disclose that the vehicle contact zone is above the release mechanism, such that an impact causes a failure of the release mechanism).
Claim(s) 16-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BROERE in view of SUGANO and in further view of KUCHENSKI et al. (US 2020/0250640 A1, hereinafter KUCHENSKI).
Regarding 16, BREORE and SUGANO disclose the electric vehicle charging station of claim 12 as discussed above, However BREORE and SUGANO do not disclose where the base unit comprises a charging station control system, and where the base unit is sealed at an interface between the base unit and the release mechanism.
KUCHENSKI discloses a modular device housing (See Fig.1, Item#10) comprising a base unit (See Fig.2, Item#14) and a top part (See Fig.2, Item#12), wherein the base unit comprises a power control system (See Fig.5, Item#74, discloses a power management system), and where the base unit is sealed at an interface between the base unit and the release mechanism (See Figs.2 and 5, disclose the base comprising shelf 16 to seal the components of the base 14 and electric interface is using a first socket half 24 and a second socket half 26. Par.30 discloses data and power signals are communicated through the socket pair 24,15 between the base 14 and the top 12).
BREORE, SUGANO and KUCHENSKI are analogous art since they all deal with housing comprising a top part and a bottom part coupled to one another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BREORE and SUGANO with the teachings of KUCHENSKI such that the base unit comprises a charging station control system, and where the base unit is sealed at an interface between the base unit and the release mechanism for the benefit of providing a vehicle charging station where upon impact the top is separated from the bottom without exposing the components of the base and also being a modular housing which be easily reassembled.
Regarding claim 17, BREORE, SUGANO and KUCHENSKI disclose the electric vehicle of claim 16 as discussed above, comprising power and control quick coupling device at an interface between the base unit and the release mechanism (See KUCHENSKI, Fig.5, Items#24,26 and Par.30).
Regarding claim 20, BREORE and SUGANO disclose the electric vehicle charging station of claim 12 as discussed above comprising:
the housing comprising an upper section (See BREORE, Fig.14A, Item#1420 discloses a lid) and a lower section the lower section comprising the base unit located at the second end (See BREORE, Fig.14A, Item#1400B, discloses a base), a vehicle contact zone (See BREORE, Fig.14A, discloses the area between the base and the lid is a vehicle contact zone), and the release mechanism positioned between the base unit and the vehicle contact zone (See BREORE, Fig.28C, and Par.118 disclose that the vehicle contact zone is above the release mechanism, such that an impact causes a failure of the release mechanism).
the housing upper section including the user interface, where the user interface is a graphical user interface (See Fig.2 and Par.88, disclose a display section 26).
However, BREORE and SUGANO do not disclose the base having a control system contained therein and power and control quick couple devices are located between the base unit and the release mechanism.
KUCHENSKI discloses a modular device housing (See Fig.1, Item#10) comprising a base unit (See Fig.2, Item#14) and a top part (See Fig.2, Item#12), wherein the base unit comprises a power control system (See Fig.5, Item#74, discloses a power management system), and where the base unit is sealed at an interface between the base unit and the release mechanism (See Figs.2 and 5, disclose the base comprising shelf 16 to seal the components of the base 14 and electric interface is using a first socket half 24 and a second socket half 26. Par.30 discloses data and power signals are communicated through the socket pair 24,15 between the base 14 and the top 12); and
power and control quick couple devices are located between the base unit and the release mechanism (See Fig.5, Items#24 and 26 and Par.30).
BREORE, SUGANO and KUCHENSKI are analogous art since they all deal with housing comprising a top part and a bottom part coupled to one another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BREORE and SUGANO with the teachings of KUCHENSKI such that the base unit comprises a charging station control system, and where the base unit is sealed at an interface between the base unit and the release mechanism for the benefit of providing a vehicle charging station where upon impact the top is separated from the bottom without exposing the components of the base and also being a modular housing which be easily reassembled.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BROERE in view of SUGANO and in further view of SHIN (WO2016/182229 A1, hereinafter SHIN).
Regarding claims 18-19, BROERE and SUGANO disclose the electric vehicle charging station of claim 12, However, BROERE and SUGANO do not disclose the electric vehicle comprising: a force detector located within the housing that detects the presence of an impact force to the housing, where upon detection of an impact force to the housing charging power and control power is disconnected from the charging station.
SHIN discloses a charging system comprising a force detector located within the housing that detects the presence of an impact force to the housing (See Page 15,3rd paragraph, discloses a collision sensor 112 which detects collision of the vehicle or impact applied to the vehicle), where upon detection of an impact force to the housing charging power and control power is disconnected from the charging station (See Page 16, 2nd paragraph discloses the main controller 114 generates control signal for disconnecting the power cable from the charging station), where the force detector comprises an accelerometer (See Page 15, 3rd Paragraph, discloses the force sensor is an acceleration sensor).
BROERE, SUGANO and SHIN are analogous art since they all deal with vehicle charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BROERE and SUGANO with the teachings of SHIN by adding a force detection sensor and controller to disconnect power from the housing upon detection of force for the benefit of improving safety.
Conclusion
/AHMED H OMAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859