Claims 1 – 9 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) change the parameter to satisfy the setting condition acquired from the second storage unit, which is a process that can be performed in the mind, such as identifying a parameter and changing the value to a setting condition for the parameter.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim elements such as storing data including a setting item for which a parameter is settable, and acquiring a setting condition of a parameter are directed to mere adding of insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the elements such as first storage unit, processing device, second storage unit, and computer readable medium are generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) the abstract idea of independent claim 1.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional element of newly acquire the setting information from the second storage unit at startup is mere adding of insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the second storage unit is generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) the abstract idea of independent claim 1.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because transmit the newly acquired setting condition is mere adding of insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the first storage unit, device or information processing device are generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) the abstract idea of independent claim 1.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because transmit the address information for accessing the newly acquired setting condition is mere adding of insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the first storage unit, device or information processing device are generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) the abstract idea of independent claim 1.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because inquiring whether or not the setting item is updated since previous acquisition and newly acquire the setting condition is mere adding of insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the first storage unit and second storage unit are generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) the abstract idea of independent claim 1.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because inquiring whether or not the setting item is updated since previous acquisition and not acquiring the setting condition is mere adding of insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the first storage unit and second storage unit are generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) the abstract idea of independent claim 1.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the plurality of information processing devices are a management target and acquire a setting condition determined for each information processing device are mere adding of insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the second storage unit and information processing devices are generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0041488 A1 issued to Shibata (hereinafter Shibata).
As to claim 1, Shibata discloses a data management system comprising:
a processor (processor, see Shibata: Para. 0007) configured to:
store data including a setting item for which a parameter is settable in a first storage unit in periodic synchronization with an information processing device that is a management target (The synchronization target information DB 450 records the setting of the setting item that can be synchronized by the data synchronization service 320. In other words, the synchronization target information DB 450 stores shared information indicating the setting item of the setting information that the server 120 is permitted to share with the multifunction peripheral, see Shibata: Para. 0087, and the content of the device setting information managed in the device setting DB 431. In the present exemplary embodiment, the device setting DB 431 is the database that stores the device setting information used in the multifunction peripheral 110. The setting information stored in the device setting DB 431 includes elements such as a setting information identifier for identifying the setting information, a value of the setting information, an initial value, a value range, and a display condition, see Shibata: Para. 0093);
acquire a setting condition of a parameter in a setting item of data from a second storage unit in which the setting condition is stored (the content of the device setting information managed in the device setting DB 431. In the present exemplary embodiment, the device setting DB 431 is the database that stores the device setting information used in the multifunction peripheral 110. The setting information stored in the device setting DB 431 includes elements such as a setting information identifier for identifying the setting information, a value of the setting information, an initial value, a value range, and a display condition, see Shibata: Para. 0093, and The setting management DB 460 is the database that stores the metadata regarding each of setting information managed by the server 120. The setting management DB 460 stores the setting information identifier for identifying the setting information when the server 120 communicates with the multifunction peripheral 110, the initial value, the value range, an applicable model/version, a condition of use of the setting information, a policy, and a cooperation specification. Each of the setting information managed in the setting management DB 460 may vary depending on whether the setting information exists, and the value range and the initial value of the setting information, according to the model of the multifunction peripheral 110 and the version of the firmware 300 of the multifunction peripheral 110, see Shibata: Para. 0102 – 0103); and
in a case where the parameter of the setting item of the data stored in the first storage unit is changed, change the parameter to satisfy the setting condition acquired from the second storage unit (update of the setting information at the multifunction peripheral is synchronized to the server when connected, and update of the setting information at the server is synchronized to the multifunction peripheral when connected, see Shibata: Para. 0053 – 0058, and determine whether condition of use is satisfied by item with setting information condition, setting item information to satisfy condition, see Shibata: Para. 0103 – 0104).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected using similar rationale to the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 2, Shibata discloses the data management system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to:
newly acquire the setting condition from the second storage unit at startup (synchronization starts at the initial connection, see Shibata: Para. 0103 – 0104, 0150 – 0151, 0156).
As to claim 3, Shibata discloses the data management system according to claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to:
transmit the newly acquired setting condition to at least one of the first storage unit, a device in which an application program for inputting the parameter by a user is executed, or the information processing device (synchronization of the setting item between the synchronization target db and the device setting db, see Shibata: Para. 0087, 0093, 0102 – 0104 and 0150 – 0151).
As to claim 4, Shibata discloses the data management system according to claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to:
transmit address information for accessing the newly acquired setting condition to at least one of the first storage unit, a device in which an application program for inputting the parameter by a user is executed, or the information processing device (Device ID, Individual Identifier, and Setting value identifier are used in synchronization for identifying the multifunction peripheral and individual setting for synchronization, see Shibata: Para. 0089 – 0093 and tables therein).
As to claim 5, Shibata discloses the data management system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to:
in a case where the parameter of the setting item of the data stored in the first storage unit is changed, inquire of the second storage unit whether or not the setting item is updated since previous acquisition and newly acquire, in a case where the setting item is updated, the setting condition from the second storage unit (update of the setting information at the multifunction peripheral is synchronized to the server when connected, and update of the setting information at the server is synchronized to the multifunction peripheral when connected, see Shibata: Para. 0053 – 0058, and When the update synchronization is received, the synchronization control unit 308 determines the data and the setting item to be synchronized, and requests the synchronization communication unit 309 to carry out communication for the update synchronization. Then, upon receiving a result of the communication from the synchronization communication unit 309, the synchronization control unit 308 notifies it to the control unit 301 as a result of the synchronization. When the acquisition synchronization is received, the synchronization control unit 308 acquires a last update time of the setting item to be synchronized, and requests the synchronization communication unit 309 to carry out communication for the update synchronization. Then, upon receiving a result of the communication from the synchronization communication unit 309, the synchronization control unit 308 notifies the setting management unit 304 of the content of the update to reflect the acquired content. Then, upon receiving a result of the update made to the data by the setting management unit 304, the synchronization control unit 308 notifies it to the control unit 301 as a result of the synchronization, see Shibata: Para. 0068 – 0069 and 0096).
As to claim 6, Shibata discloses the data management system according to claim 5, wherein the processor is configured to:
in a case where the parameter of the setting item of the data stored in the first storage unit is changed, inquire of the second storage unit whether or not the setting item is updated since previous acquisition and do not acquire, in a case where the setting item is not updated, the setting condition from the second storage unit (it is possible that the server 120 has already acquired the user simple settings from the already connected multifunction peripheral, and the newly connected multifunction peripheral does not have to notify the server 120 of the user simple settings, the multifunction peripheral 110 confirms with the server 120 whether the server 120 already holds this setting information before transmitting the setting information to the server 120. The multifunction peripheral 110 confirms with the server 120 whether the server 120 holds the setting information shared between the plurality of multifunction peripherals for each of the setting items, The multifunction peripheral 110 does not transmit the setting information confirmed to be already held by the server 120, see Shibata: Para. 0201 – 0208).
As to claim 7, Shibata discloses the data management system according to claim 1, wherein there are a plurality of information processing devices that are a management target (multiple multifunction peripherals connected to the server, see Shibata: Para. 0201 – 0208), and
the processor is configured to:
acquire a setting condition determined for each specification of the information processing device from the second storage unit and change the parameter to satisfy the setting condition (the multifunction peripherals can use individual configuration information where the content of the setting information varies between the plurality of multifunction peripherals, on the other hand, simple user settings may be used for setting information common to the multifunction peripherals, see Shibata: Para. 0201 – 0208).
Conclusion
/MARK E HERSHLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2164