Examiner’s Note
In reading through the applicant’s disclosure, the attested to ingenuity lies in the use of multiple rollers to co-act on cards to solve problems wherein prior card manipulation devices mis-perform with small numbers of light cards, and that such improvement therein can be accomplished without a pressing rod. The examiner acknowledges that other limitations are cited, and will be addressed, but the focus will be on that which is expressed in the summary. In examiner’s experience, those features not addressed in the summary of the disclosure section are in fact notoriously common in this area and will demonstrate such below. Furthermore, the figures of the cited reference are quite clear about their association with the claims, however where appropriate specific citations are highlighted.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-14 of copending Application No. 18430574 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a comparison of at least applicant’s claim 1 to reference application’s claim 1 + 14 demonstrates clearly that each limitation of instant claim 1 is recited in reference application’s 1 and 14. It is noted that the examiner is not providing detailed analysis of instant claims 2-16 and limitations may not currently be present in reference application; in the interest of time and the overlap of subject matter overall, the applicant is invited to be aware of overlapping limitations as each application evolves. The rejection over at least instant claim 1 must be overcome to overcome the Double Patenting rejection.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18091408 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a comparison of at least applicant’s claim 1 to reference application’s claim 1 demonstrates clearly that each limitation of instant claim 1 is recited in reference application’s 1 and 14. It is noted that the examiner is not providing detailed analysis of instant claims 2-16 and limitations may not currently be present in reference application; in the interest of time and the overlap of subject matter overall, the applicant is invited to be aware of overlapping limitations as each application evolves. The rejection over at least instant claim 1 must be overcome to overcome the Double Patenting rejection.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and/or (2) as being anticipated by Ho (2010/0283202).
Ho teaches:
Claim 1:
Housing/card compartment and ports: the cited reference describes a frame/housing with a receiving panel and an output/output end that correspond to a card compartment, receiving/access structures, and delivery/output ports ¶¶ [0019]– [0031];
Card-delivering and card-dealing mechanisms at the bottom: the cited reference discloses drawing roller groups mounted near the output end that draw cards through the gap to the output end, thereby functioning as card-delivering and card-dealing mechanisms. See ¶¶ [0019]– [0031]; particularly ¶[0021];
First and second card-delivering roller assemblies arranged in parallel, one adjacent to delivering port and one away from it: ¶[0021] expressly recites top roller assembly (21, 21A) and bottom roller assembly (22, 22A) mounted adjacent to each other near the output end with a gap that allows a single card to pass;
First motor and first transmission assembly: the cited reference and figures identify a drive motor that powers the drawing/delivering rollers. In the cited figures, reference numeral 31 denotes the first motor, which is depicted as the drive source for the drawing/delivering roller assemblies (see Fig. [insert figure number if used], ref. 31; ¶¶ [0019]–[0031]). The first motor (ref. 31) and associated transmission(s) thus perform the recited function of driving the first and second delivering roller assemblies to deliver playing cards to the card-delivering port;
Claim 2:
Paragraph [0021] and surrounding disclosure describe rotatably mounted top and bottom roller assemblies mounted “between the side panels,” which necessarily implies supporting structure for rotatable mounting (e.g., shafts/axles and frame mounts) and rollers fixed to those mounts. See ¶[0021]; ¶¶ [0019]–[0031]. To the extent a particular term (e.g., “shaft”) is not literally spelled out in the cited text, the presence of rotatable mounting and fixed rollers is inherent in the disclosure of rotatably mounted roller assemblies;
Claim 3:
The cited reference discloses rotatably mounted top and bottom roller assemblies positioned in close opposition and forming a gap allowing one card to pass. See ¶[0021]; the discontinuous or segmented roller surface (see Figures 1, 3 and 5, #20, 41-44, and/or 41A-44A, those raised regions constitute protrusions on the roller periphery; (a card driven through the described gap by such rollers will necessarily encounter periodic variations in surface height as raised regions traverse the contact patch; such necessary, periodic variation in contact constitutes imparting vibratory motion to the passing card; even if the rollers are characterized as generally smooth in the cited figures or description, practical roller surfaces possess microscopic surface asperities arising from materials and manufacturing processes; such microscopic surface asperities can impart micro-scale vibration to a passing card;
Claim 4:
The cited figures and description identify a second motor (reference numeral 51) that provides motive power to the dealing/output roller assembly through a transmission, ref. 51; ¶¶ [0019]–[0031]). Reference numeral 51 is therefore the second motor for purposes of claim 4 and is relied upon to meet the claim’s recitation of a second motor and second transmission assembly transmitting power to the card-dealing roller assembly.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and/or (2) as being anticipated by Grauzer et al (8118305).
Grauzer teaches: Claim 1: Housing/card compartment and ports: the housing is clear from Fig. 1; the card-delivering port is at #36; the card-dealing port corresponds on the front side of the housing; Fig. 1; Card delivering mechanism at the bottom delivering cards to the delivering port: the delivering mechanism includes first roller assembly #24 (adjacent to #36) and second roller assembly #26 (arranged parallel and away from #36); Fig. 1;Card dealing mechanism at the bottom between delivering mechanism and delivering port dealing cards from the dealing port: a dealing/dispensing mechanism located between the delivering mechanism and the delivering port is shown; Fig. 1; first motor and first transmission assembly: motor #19 drives first roller assembly #24 and second roller assembly #26 via a transmission path to deliver cards to #36; Fig. 1;
Claim 2: First/second delivering roller assemblies each include a shaft, frame body, and roller fixed on the shaft: shafts/axles and frame mounts supporting rollers #24 and #26 are depicted in Fig. 1; to the extent “shaft” or “frame body” is not explicitly labeled, rotatable mounting of #24/#26 inherently requires shafts and supporting frame structures; Fig. 1;
Claim 3: Protrusion on a peripheral side of the delivering roller(s) to vibrate cards during delivery: vibrations are caused by micro-protrusions on rollers; see col. 11, lines 1–23; micro-protrusions on the roller periphery engage cards during delivery and impart vibration; Fig. 1; col. 11, lines 1–23;
Claim 4: Card-dealing roller assembly located in the housing and on a lower side of the dealing port; card-pressing assembly above the dealing roller; second motor; second transmission assembly: a dealing roller assembly beneath #36 and an overlying pressing assembly are shown; the second motor is motor #19 and a second transmission path drives the dealing roller assembly; Fig. 1; motor #19;
Claim 6: Card-dealing roller assembly includes a dealing shaft located in the housing and on a lower side of the dealing port, and a dealing roller fixedly sleeved on the dealing shaft: the dealing shaft and roller fixedly sleeved thereon beneath #36 are shown;
Claim 7: First motor and second motor are the same motor; the motor output end connects to the first or second transmission; the first transmission connects to the second via a third transmission assembly: motor #19 serves as both the first and second motor; shared drive and coupling between transmissions are depicted;
Claim 8: Top and a side of the card compartment away from the delivering port are open structures defining an open card compartment: open structures are shown via Fig. 1 (top and side openings away from #36); Fig. 1;
Claim 9: Bottom surface of the card compartment is inclined from the open side to the delivering-port side: the inclined compartment surface is shown in Fig. 1 in the vicinity of #36 and #42; Fig. 1 near #36 and #42.
Claims (s) 1-6, 8-9, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and/or (2) as being anticipated by Krenn et al (8590896)
Claims 1–6, 8–9, and 14–15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by US 8,590,896 B2. The cited reference (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 4; col. 8, ll. 27–30; col. 10, ll. 50–64) discloses the housing and compartment (#106), delivering ports (#19, #901), delivering roller assemblies (#28, #18/#40), motors (#17, #20, #41), micro-protrusions causing vibration (col. 8, ll. 27–30), pressing spring/shaft (#213; col. 10, ll. 50–64), open compartment topology (Fig. 1, Fig. 4), inclined bottom surface (Fig. 1), rotating base (#403; Fig. 2), and sensors (#109, #125; Fig. 2) corresponding to the claimed elements.
Claim 1:
Housing/card compartment and ports: housing and card compartment #106, card access port on top/rear, card-delivering port at #19 (alt. #901) and corresponding card-dealing port shown (Fig. 1);
Card-delivering mechanism at bottom delivering cards to the delivering port: first card-delivering roller assembly #28 adjacent #19 and second card-delivering roller assembly #18 (alt. #40) arranged parallel and away from #19 convey cards to #19 (Fig. 1);
Card-dealing mechanism between delivering mechanism and delivering port dealing cards from the dealing port: dealing/dispensing mechanism located downstream of delivering assemblies and at the dealing port shown (Fig. 1);
First motor and first transmission assembly: motor #17 drives assemblies #28 and #18 via the illustrated drive/transmission path to rotate the rollers and deliver cards to #19 (Fig. 1).
Claim 2:
First card-delivering roller assembly and second card-delivering roller assembly include shafts, supporting frame structure, and rollers fixed on the shafts: assemblies #28 and #18 in Fig. 1 depict shafts/axles, frame mounting, and rollers fixed on those shafts (Fig. 1).
Claim 3:
Protrusion on peripheral side of delivering roller(s) to vibrate cards during delivery: roller surfaces include microscopic protrusions that engage passing cards and impart vibration (col. 8, ll. 27–30); these micro-protrusions on the roller periphery cause the claimed vibration during delivery (Fig. 1; col. 8, ll. 27–30).
Claim 4:
Card-dealing roller assembly beneath the dealing port and card-pressing assembly above it: dealing roller beneath #19 and an overlying card-pressing assembly are shown (Fig. 1; Fig. 4); Second motor and second transmission assembly: motor #20 is shown driving the dealing/output roller via its transmission path (Fig. 1; Fig. 4).
Claim 5:
Card-pressing assembly components and spring cavity: Fig. 4 and col. 10, ll. 50–64 show a card-pressing shaft with a spring (#213) that biases the shaft toward the dealing roller and a pressing wheel sleeved on the shaft; spring arrangement and spring cavity structure are shown in Fig. 4; col. 10, ll. 50–64.
Claim 6:
Card-dealing roller assembly includes a dealing shaft and a dealing roller fixedly sleeved on the dealing shaft: dealing shaft and fixed roller beneath the dealing port are depicted in Fig. 1 (see area adjacent #19).
Claim 8:
Open card compartment: top and side openings away from the delivering port defining an open card compartment are shown (Fig. 1 shows open top/side structures).
Claim 9:
Inclined bottom surface of the card compartment sloping toward the delivering port: Fig. 1 shows inclined bottom surfaces extending from the open side toward the card-delivering port.
Claim 14:
Rotating base and rotating structure for multi-direction dealing: rotatable base and rotating structure are shown in Fig. 2, base #403 and interposed rotating structure permit the housing to rotate relative to the base to deal cards in multiple directions (Fig. 2; ref. #403).
Claim 15:
Card-dealing sensor for vertical detection positioned upper and/or lower side of dealing port: sensors suitable for vertical card-dealing detection are shown at #109 and #125 (Fig. 2; sensor placement near the dealing port).
Claims (s) 1–6, 8–13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and/or (2) as being anticipated by Grauzer (20030052449).
Claim 1:
Housing/card compartment and ports: the housing is shown in Figures 1–4; a card access port is shown at ref. 60; the card-delivering port is shown at ref. 106 (alternatively ref. 216); the front-side card-dealing port corresponds to the delivering port; see Figs. 1–4, refs. 60, 106, 216.
Card-delivering mechanism at the bottom configured to deliver cards to the delivering port: a bottom-mounted delivering mechanism conveys cards from the compartment to port 106/216; see Figs. 1–4.
Card-dealing mechanism at the bottom, located between the delivering mechanism and the delivering port, and configured to deal cards from the dealing port: the dealing/dispensing mechanism positioned in the feed path adjacent the delivering port is depicted; see Figs. 1–4.
First card-delivering roller assembly adjacent the delivering port; second card-delivering roller assembly arranged parallel and away: first delivering roller assemblies are shown at refs. 162 and 172; a second delivering roller assembly is shown at ref. 150 (alternatively, second rollers are shown at ref. 218 in conjunction with the alternative delivering port); see Figs. 1–4, 12.
First motor and first transmission assembly driving both delivering assemblies: a first motor is shown at ref. 166 driving the delivering rollers via a transmission/drive arrangement to rotate and deliver cards to the delivering port; see Figs. 1–4 (to the extent “transmission assembly” is not explicitly labeled, the depicted gearing/belt/drive couplings necessarily transmit motor power; see MPEP § 2112 on inherency).
Claim 2:
Each delivering roller assembly includes a shaft, a frame body in the housing for the shaft, and a roller fixed on the shaft: the features depicting roller assemblies (e.g., refs. 162, 172 for the first assembly; ref. 150 or 218 for the second) show both rollers and their shafts supported by frame/mounting structures within the housing; see Figs. 1–4 (roller and shaft depiction is explicit in the figures).
Claim 3:
Protrusion on a peripheral side of the delivering rollers to vibrate cards during delivery: the rollers have finger-like extensions on their surfaces that impart vibration to cards during delivery; see paragraph 104 (finger-like extensions creating vibration).
Claim 4:
Card-dealing roller assembly in the housing on a lower side of the dealing port; card-pressing assembly above the dealing roller; second motor; second transmission assembly transmitting power to the dealing roller assembly: the output/dealing roller assembly beneath the dealing port is shown; pressing is imparted by ref. 68 positioned above the dealing roller; a second motor is shown at ref. 154 driving the dealing/output roller via its transmission path; see Figs. 1–4; refs. 68, 154.
Claim 5:
Card-pressing assembly includes a card-pressing shaft installed on the housing, a card-pressing spring that biases the shaft toward the dealing roller assembly, and a card-pressing wheel sleeved on the shaft; the housing includes a spring cavity with one end of the spring abutted against the cavity top and another end abutted against the pressing shaft: springs corresponding to the pressing/biasing function are shown at ref. 215 in Figure 12 (associated with the secondary set of rollers and biasing toward the roller set); pressing is provided by ref. 68; see Fig. 12, ref. 215; Figs. 1–4, ref. 68. To the extent cavity walls/tops are not labeled, the figure shows the spring ends seated against structural stops and the shaft, satisfying the abutment configuration.
Claim 6:
Card-dealing roller assembly includes a card-dealing shaft located in the housing beneath the dealing port, and a card-dealing roller fixedly sleeved on the card-dealing shaft: the dealing/output roller set beneath the port is depicted with its shaft and roller fixed thereon; see Figs. 1–4 (roller/shaft depiction is explicit).
Claim 8:
An open card compartment defined by an open top and a side away from the delivering port: Figures 1 and 12 show open structures (open top and side) forming an open card compartment as claimed; see Figs. 1, 12.
Claim 9:
Inclined bottom surface of the card compartment sloping from the open side toward the delivering-port side: inclined structures are shown from the beginning to the end of the device path, especially in Figures 1 and 12, sloping toward the delivering port; see Figs. 1, 12.
Claim 10:
Height adjustment mechanism for adjusting the height of the card-delivering port to limit the number of cards entering at a time: height adjustment via springs limiting the opening to a single card is described in paragraph 105; the mechanism limits entry to one card by spring-biased adjustment of the port opening; see paragraph 105.
Claim 11:
Height adjustment mechanism includes a lower card-distributing block at a middle of a lower side of the delivering port, an adjustment device for adjusting the height of the lower block, and an upper card-distributing block corresponding above the port: the limiting-opening mechanism disclosed (paragraph 105) includes spring-biased elements and a bump supporting structure that cooperate to bound the port opening from above and below, corresponding to upper/lower distributing elements and an adjustment device; see paragraph 105 (bump and dual-sided spring activity near the port).
Claim 12:
Adjustment device includes an adjustment cavity with an adjustment spring; one end of the spring abutted against a bottom of the cavity and another end abutted against the lower card-distributing block; at least one adjustment spring configured to lift the lower block; a screw adjustment hole arranged vertically in the cavity; an adjustment screw with one end connected to the lower block and another end inserted into the screw adjustment hole; the height is adjusted by the depth of screw insertion: paragraph 105 describes spring-based adjustment limiting the opening to a single card, with the spring(s) lifting/supporting the lower bounding element and a bump providing support; the figures show the cavity/seat structure for the spring; see paragraph 105; Fig. 12 (ref. 215). If explicit screw/hole labeling is not shown in the cited figure, the adjustment-mechanism function is nevertheless disclosed; further citation to the screw/hole depiction may be provided to strengthen the record.
Claim 13 recites two adjustment springs symmetrically arranged on a side of the adjustment cavity adjacent to the card-dealing port and a bump arranged on a side of the adjustment cavity away from the card-dealing port for supporting the lower card-distributing block so as to keep the lower card-distributing block balanced. Paragraph 105 describes the spring-based adjustment arrangement that limits the port opening and discusses dual-spring or dual-sided spring activity for balancing the lower distributing element; Figure 12 depicts spring elements at reference 215 associated with the secondary/adjustment roller set; the specification also describes a bump/supporting feature that cooperates with the spring(s) to support and balance the lower block.
Claim 15 recites a card-dealing sensor for detecting card dealing in a vertical direction provided on an upper side and/or a lower side of the card-dealing port; reference discloses sensors positioned to detect card movement proximate the dealing port and describes such sensing functionality in the specification. Paragraphs 105–106 describe sensor arrangements and detection functionality in proximity to the dealing port consistent with vertical detection of dealt cards.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of the references above in view of either of Brown (2731271) or Sampson (8844930).
Each of the references cited above in anticipation rejections set forth similar card dealing devices in the generic mold of card dealers. Each of these fails to teach a card pressing accessory with a main body and a rope, at the end of the rope is an accessory weighing down cards.
Brown teaches weighting down cards with the rib #72 attached to the mechanism of 53, each of these combined reads broadly on a rope and accessory. Sampson teaches features 68 and 70 which read broadly on rope and accessory as claimed.
It is notoriously well known to apply pressure to keep things in place; each of the references express a desire for the cards to remain in predictable locations while awaiting movement. The examiner takes official notice that utilizing a weight on a more narrowly defined rope is notoriously well known. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify any of the devices with a rope and accessory (as broadly or narrowly defined) for the purposes of controlling the location of cards in the process of the cards being operated on by a dealer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mazur 3666270, Shai 7472906, Mali 2010/0320684, Greitzer (4549738), Collins D485314 - each specifically for rotatable features in addition to other similarities.
Sampson 20150290528, Toyama et al (2008/0284096) in particular for height adjusting features in addition to other similarities.
JOSEPH S. DEL SOLE
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1700
/JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763