DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUGIYAMA et al. (USPGPUB 2014/0203486) and further in view of Fukatsu et al. (USPGPUB 2011/0221115).
Regarding claim 1, SUGIYAMA et al. disclose a post-processing device comprising:
a loading section (see Figure 2) on which a bundle of recording media (SB) subjected to folding processing is loaded;
a pushing section (215) that moves in a thickness direction of the bundle of recording media, comes into contact with a surface of the bundle of recording media (see Figure 5), and pushes the bundle of recording media to form a folded portion (see paragraph [0069]); and
a rotating section (230) that starts an operation (see paragraph [0069]) from a stopped state (see Figure 4) after the pushing section moves to a predetermined position (see Figure 4), and sandwiches and rotates the folded portion of the bundle of recording media pushed by the pushing section to form a fold in the bundle of recording media (see Figures 5-6).
However, they do not disclose a rotating section that starts an operation from a stopped state after the pushing section moves to a predetermined position where the bundle of recording media folded by the pushing section comes into contact with the rotating section. Fukatsu et al. disclose a rotating section that starts an operation from a stopped state after the pushing section moves to a predetermined position where the bundle of recording media folded by the pushing section comes into contact with the rotating section (see Figure 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by SUGIYAMA et al. by including a rotating section that starts an operation from a stopped state after the pushing section moves to a predetermined position where the bundle of recording media folded by the pushing section comes into contact with the rotating section, as disclosed by Fukatsu et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing improved folding for stiff sheet bundles (see paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 2, SUGIYAMA et al. in view of Fukatsu et al. disclose the post-processing device according to claim 1. Furthermore, Fukatsu et al. disclose a device wherein the predetermined position is determined on the basis of an amount of movement of the pushing section from an initial position (see paragraph [0041] and Figure 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by SUGIYAMA et al. by including a device wherein the predetermined position is determined on the basis of an amount of movement of the pushing section from an initial position, as disclosed by Fukatsu et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing improved folding for stiff sheet bundles (see paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 5, SUGIYAMA et al. disclose the post-processing device according to claim 1,
wherein the pushing section stops at the predetermined position and then starts the operation together with the rotating section (see paragraph [0069]).
Regarding claim 6, SUGIYAMA et al. in view of Fukatsu et al. disclose the post-processing device according to claim 5. Furthermore, Fukatsu et al. discloses a device wherein the pushing section moves to the predetermined position, and stops by the surface of the bundle of recording media coming into contact with the rotating section in the stopped state, and thereafter the movement of the pushing section and the operation of the rotating section are started (see Figure 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by SUGIYAMA et al. by including a device wherein the pushing section moves to the predetermined position, and stops by the surface of the bundle of recording media coming into contact with the rotating section in the stopped state, and thereafter the movement of the pushing section and the operation of the rotating section are started, as disclosed by Fukatsu et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing improved folding for stiff sheet bundles (see paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 8, SUGIYAMA et al. disclose an image forming system comprising:
an image forming apparatus that forms an image on a recording medium (see paragraph [0052]); and
the post-processing device according to claim 1 that executes post-processing on the recording medium on which the image forming apparatus forms the image (see paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 9, SUGIYAMA et al. disclose an image forming system comprising:
an image forming apparatus that forms an image on a recording medium (see paragraph [0052]); and
the post-processing device according to claim 2 that executes post-processing on the recording medium on which the image forming apparatus forms the image (see paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 12, SUGIYAMA et al. disclose image forming system comprising:
an image forming apparatus that forms an image on a recording medium (see paragraph [0052]); and
the post-processing device according to claim 5 that executes post-processing on the recording medium on which the image forming apparatus forms the image (see paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 13, SUGIYAMA et al. disclose an image forming system comprising:
an image forming apparatus that forms an image on a recording medium (see paragraph [0052]); and
the post-processing device according to claim 6 that executes post-processing on the recording medium on which the image forming apparatus forms the image (see paragraph [0051]).
Claim(s) 3-4, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUGIYAMA et al. (USPGPUB 2014/0203486) in view of Fukatsu et al. (USPGPUB 2011/0221115) as applied to claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 12, and 13 above, and further in view of HIDAKA et al. (USPGPUB 2014/0206518).
Regarding claim 3, SUGIYAMA et al. in view of Fukatsu et al. disclose the post-processing device according to claim 2. However, they do not disclose a device wherein the amount of movement is determined on the basis of the number of loaded recording media and a basis weight of the recording media. HIDAKA et al. disclose a device wherein the amount of movement is determined on the basis of the number of loaded recording media and a basis weight of the recording media (see paragraph [0177]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by SUGIYAMA et al. in view of Fukatsu et al. by including a device wherein the amount of movement is determined on the basis of the number of loaded recording media and a basis weight of the recording media, as disclosed by HIDAKA et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing controls based on sheet weight and the number of sheets (see paragraph [0177]).
Regarding claim 4, SUGIYAMA et al. in view of Fukatsu et al. in view of HIDAKA et al. disclose the post-processing device according to claim 3. Furthermore, Fukatsu et al. disclose a device wherein the pushing section starts the operation after the amount of movement is determined (see paragraph [0041] and Figure 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by SUGIYAMA et al. in view of Fukatsu et al. in view of HIDAKA et al. by including a device wherein the pushing section starts the operation after the amount of movement is determined, as disclosed by Fukatsu et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing improved folding for stiff sheet bundles (see paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 10, SUGIYAMA et al. disclose an image forming system comprising:
an image forming apparatus that forms an image on a recording medium (see paragraph [0052]); and
the post-processing device according to claim 3 that executes post-processing on the recording medium on which the image forming apparatus forms the image (see paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 11, SUGIYAMA et al. disclose an image forming system comprising:
an image forming apparatus that forms an image on a recording medium (see paragraph [0052]); and
the post-processing device according to claim 4 that executes post-processing on the recording medium on which the image forming apparatus forms the image (see paragraph [0051]).
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUGIYAMA et al. (USPGPUB 2014/0203486) in view of Fukatsu et al. (USPGPUB 2011/0221115) as applied to claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 12, and 13 above, and further in view of OSADA et al. (USPGPUB 2016/0313687).
Regarding claim 7, SUGIYAMA et al. in view of Fukatsu et al. disclose the post-processing device according to claim 5. However, they do not disclose a device wherein in a case of forming the fold in the bundle of recording media, a pushing speed at which the pushing section pushes the bundle of recording media is faster than a rotation speed at which the rotating section sandwiches and rotates the folded portion of the bundle of recording media. OSADA et al. disclose a device wherein in a case of forming the fold in the bundle of recording media, a pushing speed at which the pushing section pushes the bundle of recording media is faster than a rotation speed at which the rotating section sandwiches and rotates the folded portion of the bundle of recording media (see paragraph [0130]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by SUGIYAMA et al. in view of Fukatsu et al. by including a device wherein in a case of forming the fold in the bundle of recording media, a pushing speed at which the pushing section pushes the bundle of recording media is faster than a rotation speed at which the rotating section sandwiches and rotates the folded portion of the bundle of recording media, as disclosed by OSADA et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing timing to prevent errors in the bundling process (see paragraph [0130]).
Regarding claim 14, SUGIYAMA et al. disclose an image forming system comprising:
an image forming apparatus that forms an image on a recording medium (see paragraph [0052]); and
the post-processing device according to claim 7 that executes post-processing on the recording medium on which the image forming apparatus forms the image (see paragraph [0051]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
M.K.C.
8/14/2026
/MICHAEL COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655