DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Status of Application/Amendments/claims
Applicant’s amendment filed on 7/28/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 4, 7-12, 28, 31-36, 52, 55-60 are amended.
Claims 1-63 are pending and have been examined, of which claims 1, 25 and 49 are independent.
Claim Rejections/Objections Withdrawn
In view of the amendment filed, the following rejections/objections are withdrawn.
Claim rejection under 35 USC 112(b) for claims 4-12, 22-24, 28-36, 46-48, 52-63 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections/Objections Maintained
In view of the amendment filed, the following rejections/objections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-14, 22-26, 28-38, 46-50, 52-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (US 20240298271) in view of Yi et al. (US 20230308237)
Regarding claim 1, Gao teaches an uplink (UL) transmission related method, adapted for a user equipment (UE) (abstract: systems and methods for power headroom reporting for uplink transmissions towards multiple Transmission and Reception Points (TRPs)), comprising:
receiving a sound reference signal (SRS) configuration (step 1902, fig 19), wherein the SRS configuration comprises a first SRS resource set, a second SRS resource set, and a usage of the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set, and the usage of the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set is for one of codebook scheme and non-codebook scheme (para 212: the base station 902 also configures the WCD 912 for uplink transmission with repetitions (e.g., PUSCH with repetitions) towards multiple TRPs (step 1902), this configuration may include a configuration of two SRS resource sets with usage set to ‘Codebook’ or ‘nonCodebook’ and a repetition factor);
receiving a configuration for UL, wherein the configuration for UL indicates a transmission scheme (para 214: the base station 902 schedules (e.g., via DCI or configuration such as, e.g., a configured grant PUSCH), for the WCD 912, an uplink transmission with repetitions towards multiple TRPs by indicating first and second SRIs (step 1906));
receiving a downlink control information (DCI) (para 214: the base station 902 schedules (e.g., via DCI or configuration such as, e.g., a configured grant PUSCH), for the WCD 912, an uplink transmission with repetitions towards multiple TRPs by indicating first and second SRIs (step 1906)), wherein the DCI indicates that a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state is associated with the first SRS resource set and a second TCI state is associated with the second SRS resource set for the transmission scheme (para 145-148: a TRP may be represented by an SRS resource set, an SRI field in UL scheduling DCI, a spatial relation, or an UL TCI state; para 175: PUSCH repetition to the two TRPs 1000-1, 1000-2 can be indicated either in a DCI scheduling the PUSCH transmission or in a configured grant configuration with two SRIs. Each of the two SRIs is associated with one of the two SRS resource sets; para 177: The spatial transmission filter and/or power control parameter set information to be used by the UE to transmit a PUSCH towards a TRP is indicated to the UE via an SRI or a UL TCI state. If a UE is to target PUSCH towards two different TRPs, then two SRIs or two UL TCI states need to be indicated to the UE); and
transmitting at least one UL transmission according to the DCI, wherein the at least one UL transmission comprises at least one power headroom report (PHR) (fig 19; para 214-215: the base station 902 schedules (e.g., via DCI or configuration such as, e.g., a configured grant PUSCH), for the WCD 912, an uplink transmission with repetitions towards multiple TRPs by indicating first and second SRIs (step 1906), the WCD 912 transmits the PHR MAC CE in the uplink transmission (step 1914)).
Gao teaches the power headroom reporting for uplink transmissions towards multiple Transmission and Reception Points (TRPs) and the configuration of uplink transmission indicated by DCI including corresponding TRP, SRS resource set, TCI state. It is noted that the claim does not limit the “multiple panels” to be comprised in UE, thus in broadest reasonable interpretation, the multiple TRP (collocated transmit receive antennas, para 65) are also considered multiple panels. However, for the claim interpretation of the multiple panels being comprised in the UE and uplink transmission performed via multiple panels, Gao reference does not teach UE with multiple panels. Yi is similarly directed to configuring plurality of TCI states for uplink transmission for multiple TRP through multi-panel (abstract, fig 20).
Yi further teaches an uplink (UL) transmission with multiple panels related method, adapted for a user equipment (UE) (fig 20, para 357: example of transmission and reception with multiple transmission reception points (TRPs) and/or multiple panels); receiving a configuration for UL, wherein the configuration for UL indicates a multi-panel transmission scheme (para 364: a wireless device, when configured with multiple panels, may determine to activate (or select) one of the multiple panels to receive downlink signals/channels transmitted from one of multiple TRPs of the base station. The activation/selection of one of the multiple panels may be based on receiving downlink signaling indicating the activation/selection; para 365-366: when receiving a DCI indicating an uplink grant, the wireless device may determine a panel and a transmission beam (or spatial domain transmission filter) on the panel, the panel may be explicitly indicated by a panel ID comprised in the DCI, the panel may be implicitly indicated by an SRS ID (or an SRS group/pool index), a UL TCI pool index of a UL TCI for uplink transmission, and/or a CORESET pool index of a CORESET for receiving the DCI); a second TCI state is associated with the second SRS resource set for the multi-panel transmission scheme (para 365-366: when receiving a DCI indicating an uplink grant, the wireless device may determine a panel and a transmission beam (or spatial domain transmission filter) on the panel, the panel may be explicitly indicated by a panel ID comprised in the DCI, the panel may be implicitly indicated by an SRS ID (or an SRS group/pool index), a UL TCI pool index of a UL TCI for uplink transmission, and/or a CORESET pool index of a CORESET for receiving the DCI). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine power headroom reporting to multiple TRP as taught by Gao with uplink transmission to multi-TRP using multi-panel UE as taught by Yi for the benefit of improving system throughput as taught by Yi in para 357.
Regarding claim 25, Gao teaches a user equipment (UE) (wireless communication device 912, UE, fig 19, 23), comprising:
a transceiver (transceiver(s) 2306, fig 23), used for transmitting or receiving signals (para 221: transceivers 2306 each including one or more transmitters 2308 and one or more receivers 2310 coupled to one or more antennas 2312);
a memory (memory 2304, fig 23), used for storing a program code (para 221: the functionality of the wireless communication device 912 (or UE) described above may be fully or partially implemented in software that is, e.g., stored in the memory 2304 and executed by the processor(s) 2302); and
a processor (processor 2302, fig 23), coupled to the transceiver and the memory, and configured for executing the program code (para 221: the functionality of the wireless communication device 912 (or UE) described above may be fully or partially implemented in software that is, e.g., stored in the memory 2304 and executed by the processor(s) 2302) to:
receive, through the transceiver, a sound reference signal (SRS) configuration (step 1902, fig 19), wherein the SRS configuration comprises a first SRS resource set, a second SRS resource set, and a usage of the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set, and the usage of the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set is for one of codebook scheme and non-codebook scheme (para 212: the base station 902 also configures the WCD 912 for uplink transmission with repetitions (e.g., PUSCH with repetitions) towards multiple TRPs (step 1902), this configuration may include a configuration of two SRS resource sets with usage set to ‘Codebook’ or ‘nonCodebook’ and a repetition factor);
receive, through the transceiver, a configuration for uplink (UL), wherein the configuration for UL indicates a transmission scheme (para 214: the base station 902 schedules (e.g., via DCI or configuration such as, e.g., a configured grant PUSCH), for the WCD 912, an uplink transmission with repetitions towards multiple TRPs by indicating first and second SRIs (step 1906));
receive, through the transceiver, a downlink control information (DCI) (para 214: the base station 902 schedules (e.g., via DCI or configuration such as, e.g., a configured grant PUSCH), for the WCD 912, an uplink transmission with repetitions towards multiple TRPs by indicating first and second SRIs (step 1906)), wherein the DCI indicates that a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state is associated with the first SRS resource set and a second TCI state is associated with the second SRS resource set for the transmission scheme (para 145-148: a TRP may be represented by an SRS resource set, an SRI field in UL scheduling DCI, a spatial relation, or an UL TCI state; para 175: PUSCH repetition to the two TRPs 1000-1, 1000-2 can be indicated either in a DCI scheduling the PUSCH transmission or in a configured grant configuration with two SRIs. Each of the two SRIs is associated with one of the two SRS resource sets; para 177: The spatial transmission filter and/or power control parameter set information to be used by the UE to transmit a PUSCH towards a TRP is indicated to the UE via an SRI or a UL TCI state. If a UE is to target PUSCH towards two different TRPs, then two SRIs or two UL TCI states need to be indicated to the UE); and
transmit, through the transceiver, at least one UL transmission according to the DCI, wherein the at least one UL transmission comprises at least one power headroom report (PHR) (fig 19; para 214-215: the base station 902 schedules (e.g., via DCI or configuration such as, e.g., a configured grant PUSCH), for the WCD 912, an uplink transmission with repetitions towards multiple TRPs by indicating first and second SRIs (step 1906), the WCD 912 transmits the PHR MAC CE in the uplink transmission (step 1914)).
Gao teaches the power headroom reporting for uplink transmissions towards multiple Transmission and Reception Points (TRPs) and the configuration of uplink transmission indicated by DCI including corresponding TRP, SRS resource set, TCI state. It is noted that the claim does not limit the “multiple panels” to be comprised in UE, thus in broadest reasonable interpretation, the multiple TRP (collocated transmit receive antennas, para 65) are also considered multiple panels. However, for the claim interpretation of the multiple panels being comprised in the UE and uplink transmission performed via multiple panels, Gao reference does not teach UE with multiple panels. Yi is similarly directed to configuring plurality of TCI states for uplink transmission for multiple TRP through multi-panel (abstract, fig 20).
Yi further teaches to receive, through the transceiver, a configuration for uplink (UL), wherein the configuration for UL indicates a multi-panel transmission scheme (para 364: a wireless device, when configured with multiple panels, may determine to activate (or select) one of the multiple panels to receive downlink signals/channels transmitted from one of multiple TRPs of the base station. The activation/selection of one of the multiple panels may be based on receiving downlink signaling indicating the activation/selection; para 365-366: when receiving a DCI indicating an uplink grant, the wireless device may determine a panel and a transmission beam (or spatial domain transmission filter) on the panel, the panel may be explicitly indicated by a panel ID comprised in the DCI, the panel may be implicitly indicated by an SRS ID (or an SRS group/pool index), a UL TCI pool index of a UL TCI for uplink transmission, and/or a CORESET pool index of a CORESET for receiving the DCI); a second TCI state is associated with the second SRS resource set for the multi-panel transmission scheme (para 365-366: when receiving a DCI indicating an uplink grant, the wireless device may determine a panel and a transmission beam (or spatial domain transmission filter) on the panel, the panel may be explicitly indicated by a panel ID comprised in the DCI, the panel may be implicitly indicated by an SRS ID (or an SRS group/pool index), a UL TCI pool index of a UL TCI for uplink transmission, and/or a CORESET pool index of a CORESET for receiving the DCI). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine power headroom reporting to multiple TRP as taught by Gao with uplink transmission to multi-TRP using multi-panel UE as taught by Yi for the benefit of improving system throughput as taught by Yi in para 357.
Regarding claim 49, Gao teaches an UL reception related method, adapted for a network device (abstract: systems and methods for power headroom reporting for uplink transmissions towards multiple Transmission and Reception Points (TRPs)), the method comprising:
transmitting a sound reference signal (SRS) configuration (step 1902, fig 19), wherein the SRS configuration comprises a first SRS resource set, a second SRS resource set, and a usage of the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set, and the usage of the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set is for one of codebook scheme and non-codebook scheme (para 212: the base station 902 also configures the WCD 912 for uplink transmission with repetitions (e.g., PUSCH with repetitions) towards multiple TRPs (step 1902), this configuration may include a configuration of two SRS resource sets with usage set to ‘Codebook’ or ‘nonCodebook’ and a repetition factor);
transmitting a configuration for uplink (UL), wherein the configuration for UL indicates a transmission scheme (para 214: the base station 902 schedules (e.g., via DCI or configuration such as, e.g., a configured grant PUSCH), for the WCD 912, an uplink transmission with repetitions towards multiple TRPs by indicating first and second SRIs (step 1906));
transmitting a downlink control information (DCI) (para 214: the base station 902 schedules (e.g., via DCI or configuration such as, e.g., a configured grant PUSCH), for the WCD 912, an uplink transmission with repetitions towards multiple TRPs by indicating first and second SRIs (step 1906)), wherein the DCI indicates that a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state is associated with the first SRS resource set and a second TCI state is associated with the second SRS resource set for the transmission scheme (para 145-148: a TRP may be represented by an SRS resource set, an SRI field in UL scheduling DCI, a spatial relation, or an UL TCI state; para 175: PUSCH repetition to the two TRPs 1000-1, 1000-2 can be indicated either in a DCI scheduling the PUSCH transmission or in a configured grant configuration with two SRIs. Each of the two SRIs is associated with one of the two SRS resource sets; para 177: The spatial transmission filter and/or power control parameter set information to be used by the UE to transmit a PUSCH towards a TRP is indicated to the UE via an SRI or a UL TCI state. If a UE is to target PUSCH towards two different TRPs, then two SRIs or two UL TCI states need to be indicated to the UE); and
receiving at least one UL transmission according to the DCI, wherein the at least one UL transmission comprises at least one power headroom report (PHR) (fig 19; para 214-215: the base station 902 schedules (e.g., via DCI or configuration such as, e.g., a configured grant PUSCH), for the WCD 912, an uplink transmission with repetitions towards multiple TRPs by indicating first and second SRIs (step 1906), the WCD 912 transmits the PHR MAC CE in the uplink transmission (step 1914)).
Gao teaches the power headroom reporting for uplink transmissions towards multiple Transmission and Reception Points (TRPs) and the configuration of uplink transmission indicated by DCI including corresponding TRP, SRS resource set, TCI state. It is noted that the claim does not limit the “multiple panels” to be comprised in UE, thus in broadest reasonable interpretation, the multiple TRP (collocated transmit receive antennas, para 65) are also considered multiple panels. However, for the claim interpretation of the multiple panels being comprised in the UE and uplink transmission performed via multiple panels, Gao reference does not teach UE with multiple panels. Yi is similarly directed to configuring plurality of TCI states for uplink transmission for multiple TRP through multi-panel (abstract, fig 20).
Yi further teaches an UL reception with multiple panels related method, adapted for a network device (fig 20, para 357: example of transmission and reception with multiple transmission reception points (TRPs) and/or multiple panels); transmitting a configuration for uplink (UL), wherein the configuration for UL indicates a multi-panel transmission scheme (para 364: a wireless device, when configured with multiple panels, may determine to activate (or select) one of the multiple panels to receive downlink signals/channels transmitted from one of multiple TRPs of the base station, the activation/selection of one of the multiple panels may be based on receiving downlink signaling indicating the activation/selection; para 365-366: when receiving a DCI indicating an uplink grant, the wireless device may determine a panel and a transmission beam (or spatial domain transmission filter) on the panel, the panel may be explicitly indicated by a panel ID comprised in the DCI, the panel may be implicitly indicated by an SRS ID (or an SRS group/pool index), a UL TCI pool index of a UL TCI for uplink transmission, and/or a CORESET pool index of a CORESET for receiving the DCI); a second TCI state is associated with the second SRS resource set for the multi-panel transmission scheme (para 365-366: when receiving a DCI indicating an uplink grant, the wireless device may determine a panel and a transmission beam (or spatial domain transmission filter) on the panel, the panel may be explicitly indicated by a panel ID comprised in the DCI, the panel may be implicitly indicated by an SRS ID (or an SRS group/pool index), a UL TCI pool index of a UL TCI for uplink transmission, and/or a CORESET pool index of a CORESET for receiving the DCI). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine power headroom reporting to multiple TRP as taught by Gao with uplink transmission to multi-TRP using multi-panel UE as taught by Yi for the benefit of improving system throughput as taught by Yi in para 357.
Regarding claim 2, 26, and 50, Gao further teaches wherein the first TCI state is configured a TCI state for UL (para 177: if a UE is to target PUSCH towards two different TRPs, then two SRIs or two UL TCI states need to be indicated to the UE; fig 10, UE and TRP 1), and the second TCI state is configured as the TCI state for UL (para 177: if a UE is to target PUSCH towards two different TRPs, then two SRIs or two UL TCI states need to be indicated to the UE; fig 10, UE and TRP 2).
Regarding claim 4, 28, and 52, Gao further teaches wherein the at least one PHR comprises at least one of a first PHR and a second PHR (para 178: if a Type 1 PHR is determined to be calculated based on an actual PUSCH and the PUSCH is part of a PUSCH repetition towards multiple TRPs, in one embodiment, a PH associated with a PUSCH transmission occasion towards one of the TRPs is reported according one or more rules, for a given serving cell with two TRPs, the UE may report PH for one TRP in a first PHR and another PH for the other TRP in another PHR), and the method further comprises:
receiving (or transmitting) a configuration of a mode of the first PHR and the second PHR (para 183: whether the UE should follow behavior 1 or behavior 2 is configured to the UE either implicitly or explicitly, in the explicit configuration approach, a higher layer parameter (e.g., RRC parameter) is configured, e.g., as part of the PHR-Config information element in 3GPP TS 38.331 V16.4.1; as described in para 183, behavior 1 PHR is similar to fig 12 and behavior 2 PHR is similar to fig 13); and
providing (or receiving) at least one of the first PHR and the second PHR (para 215: the WCD 912 transmits the PHR MAC CE in the uplink transmission (step 1914); para 178: the UE may report PH for one TRP in a first PHR and another PH for the other TRP in another PHR), comprising at least one of:
providing (or receiving) the first PHR and a first configured maximum output power (fig 12 and 13 showing PH of type 1 and Pcmax; para 179: in FIG. 12, where the T bit field is used to indicate whether the PH is associated with a first TRP (e.g., TRP 1000-1) or second TRP (e.g., TRP 1000-2). For example, T=0 and T=1 may indicate the first TRP and the second TRP; para 32: Pcmax is nominal UE maximum transmit power); and
providing (or receiving) the second PHR and a second configured maximum output power (fig 12 and 13 showing PH of type 1 and Pcmax; para 179: in FIG. 12, where the T bit field is used to indicate whether the PH is associated with a first TRP (e.g., TRP 1000-1) or second TRP (e.g., TRP 1000-2). For example, T=0 and T=1 may indicate the first TRP and the second TRP; para 32: Pcmax is nominal UE maximum transmit power).
Regarding claim 5, 29 and 53, Gao further teaches wherein the first configured maximum output power is equivalent to the second configured maximum output power (para 119, fig. 8 illustrates an example in which a PUSCH repetition is scheduled to two TRPs, wherein the transmit power of PUSCH corresponding to the two TRPs are different, wherein the maximum transmission power of UE Pcmax is equivalent for both).
Regarding claim 6, 30 and 54, Gao further teaches wherein the first configured maximum output power corresponds to the first TCI state (fig 8 shows Pcmax that corresponds to Tx power to TRP1 and PH1; para 145: a TRP is represented by a TCI state; thus, the Pcmax corresponds to TCI state for TRP1), and the second configured maximum output power corresponds to the second TCI state (fig 8 shows Pcmax that corresponds to Tx power to TRP2 and PH2; para 145: a TRP is represented by a TCI state; thus, the Pcmax corresponds to TCI state for TRP2).
Regarding claim 7, 31 and 55, Gao further teaches
providing (or receiving) the first PHR and the first configured maximum output power associated with the first TCI state for an actual UL transmission (fig 10, 1st SRI, Tx power 1, 1st PUSCH and PHR to TRP#1; para 33: the type 1 PHR can be based on either an actual PUSCH transmission carrying the PHR report or a reference PUSCH transmission) using a spatial domain filter corresponding only to the first TCI state (para 177: the UE uses different (e.g., two or more) spatial transmission filters and/or power control parameter sets to target the PUSCH transmission towards two or more TRPs. The spatial transmission filter and/or power control parameter set information to be used by the UE to transmit a PUSCH towards a TRP is indicated to the UE via an SRI or a UL TCI state. If a UE is to target PUSCH towards two different TRPs, then two SRIs or two UL TCI states need to be indicated to the UE; thus, the spatial filter are specific to the indicated UL TCI state), and
providing (or receiving) the second PHR and the second configured maximum output power associated with the second TCI state for a reference UL transmission (fig 10, 2nd SRI, Tx power 2, 2nd PUSCH and PHR to TRP#2; para 33: the type 1 PHR can be based on either an actual PUSCH transmission carrying the PHR report or a reference PUSCH transmission) using a spatial domain filter corresponding only to the second TCI state (para 177: the UE uses different (e.g., two or more) spatial transmission filters and/or power control parameter sets to target the PUSCH transmission towards two or more TRPs. The spatial transmission filter and/or power control parameter set information to be used by the UE to transmit a PUSCH towards a TRP is indicated to the UE via an SRI or a UL TCI state. If a UE is to target PUSCH towards two different TRPs, then two SRIs or two UL TCI states need to be indicated to the UE; thus, the spatial filter are specific to the indicated UL TCI state).
Regarding claim 8, 32 and 56, Gao further teaches
providing (or receiving) the first PHR and the first configured maximum output power associated with the second TCI state for an actual UL transmission (fig 10, 1st SRI, Tx power 1, 1st PUSCH and PHR to TRP#1; para 33: the type 1 PHR can be based on either an actual PUSCH transmission carrying the PHR report or a reference PUSCH transmission) using a spatial domain filter corresponding only to the second TCI state (para 177: the UE uses different (e.g., two or more) spatial transmission filters and/or power control parameter sets to target the PUSCH transmission towards two or more TRPs. The spatial transmission filter and/or power control parameter set information to be used by the UE to transmit a PUSCH towards a TRP is indicated to the UE via an SRI or a UL TCI state. If a UE is to target PUSCH towards two different TRPs, then two SRIs or two UL TCI states need to be indicated to the UE; thus, the spatial filter are specific to the indicated UL TCI state), and
providing (or receiving) the second PHR and the second configured maximum output power associated with the second TCI state for a reference UL transmission (fig 10, 2nd SRI, Tx power 2, 2nd PUSCH and PHR to TRP#2; para 33: the type 1 PHR can be based on either an actual PUSCH transmission carrying the PHR report or a reference PUSCH transmission) using a spatial domain filter corresponding only to the first TCI state (para 177: the UE uses different (e.g., two or more) spatial transmission filters and/or power control parameter sets to target the PUSCH transmission towards two or more TRPs. The spatial transmission filter and/or power control parameter set information to be used by the UE to transmit a PUSCH towards a TRP is indicated to the UE via an SRI or a UL TCI state. If a UE is to target PUSCH towards two different TRPs, then two SRIs or two UL TCI states need to be indicated to the UE; thus, the spatial filter are specific to the indicated UL TCI state).
Regarding claim 9, 33, and 57, Gao further teaches
wherein for an actual UL transmission using a first spatial domain filter corresponding to the first TCI state and using a second spatial domain filter corresponding to the second TCI state (para 33: the type 1 PHR can be based on either an actual PUSCH transmission carrying the PHR report or a reference PUSCH transmission); para 177: the UE uses different (e.g., two or more) spatial transmission filters and/or power control parameter sets to target the PUSCH transmission towards two or more TRPs. The spatial transmission filter and/or power control parameter set information to be used by the UE to transmit a PUSCH towards a TRP is indicated to the UE via an SRI or a UL TCI state. If a UE is to target PUSCH towards two different TRPs, then two SRIs or two UL TCI states need to be indicated to the UE; thus, the spatial filter are specific to the indicated UL TCI state), the method further comprises:
providing (or receiving) the first PHR and the first configured maximum output power associated with the first TCI state (fig 10, 1st SRI, Tx power 1, 1st PUSCH and PHR to TRP#1; para 33: the type 1 PHR can be based on either an actual PUSCH transmission carrying the PHR report or a reference PUSCH transmission); and
providing (or receiving) the second PHR and the second configured maximum output power associated with the second TCI state (fig 10, 2nd SRI, Tx power 2, 2nd PUSCH and PHR to TRP#2; para 33: the type 1 PHR can be based on either an actual PUSCH transmission carrying the PHR report or a reference PUSCH transmission).
Regarding claim 10, 34, and 58, Gao further teaches
wherein for a reference UL transmission using a first spatial domain filter corresponding to the first TCI state and using a second spatial domain filter corresponding to the second TCI state (para 33: the type 1 PHR can be based on either an actual PUSCH transmission carrying the PHR report or a reference PUSCH transmission); para 177: the UE uses different (e.g., two or more) spatial transmission filters and/or power control parameter sets to target the PUSCH transmission towards two or more TRPs. The spatial transmission filter and/or power control parameter set information to be used by the UE to transmit a PUSCH towards a TRP is indicated to the UE via an SRI or a UL TCI state. If a UE is to target PUSCH towards two different TRPs, then two SRIs or two UL TCI states need to be indicated to the UE; thus, the spatial filter are specific to the indicated UL TCI state), the method further comprises:
providing (or receiving) the first PHR and the first configured maximum output power associated with the first TCI state (fig 10, 1st SRI, Tx power 1, 1st PUSCH and PHR to TRP#1; para 33: the type 1 PHR can be based on either an actual PUSCH transmission carrying the PHR report or a reference PUSCH transmission); and
providing (or receiving) the second PHR and the second configured maximum output power associated with the second TCI state (fig 10, 2nd SRI, Tx power 2, 2nd PUSCH and PHR to TRP#2; para 33: the type 1 PHR can be based on either an actual PUSCH transmission carrying the PHR report or a reference PUSCH transmission).
Regarding claim 11, 35, and 59, Gao further teaches
providing (or receiving) the first PHR and the first configured maximum output power associated with the first TCI state for an actual UL transmission (fig 10, 1st SRI, Tx power 1, 1st PUSCH and PHR to TRP#1; para 33: the type 1 PHR can be based on either an actual PUSCH transmission carrying the PHR report or a reference PUSCH transmission) using a spatial domain filter corresponding only to the first TCI state (para 177: the UE uses different (e.g., two or more) spatial transmission filters and/or power control parameter sets to target the PUSCH transmission towards two or more TRPs. The spatial transmission filter and/or power control parameter set information to be used by the UE to transmit a PUSCH towards a TRP is indicated to the UE via an SRI or a UL TCI state. If a UE is to target PUSCH towards two different TRPs, then two SRIs or two UL TCI states need to be indicated to the UE; thus, the spatial filter are specific to the indicated UL TCI state).
Regarding claim 12, 36, and 60, Gao further teaches
providing the second PHR and the second configured maximum output power associated with the second TCI state for an actual UL transmission (fig 10, 2nd SRI, Tx power 2, 2nd PUSCH and PHR to TRP#2; para 33: the type 1 PHR can be based on either an actual PUSCH transmission carrying the PHR report or a reference PUSCH transmission) using a spatial domain filter corresponding only to the second TCI state (para 177: the UE uses different (e.g., two or more) spatial transmission filters and/or power control parameter sets to target the PUSCH transmission towards two or more TRPs. The spatial transmission filter and/or power control parameter set information to be used by the UE to transmit a PUSCH towards a TRP is indicated to the UE via an SRI or a UL TCI state. If a UE is to target PUSCH towards two different TRPs, then two SRIs or two UL TCI states need to be indicated to the UE; thus, the spatial filter are specific to the indicated UL TCI state).
Regarding claim 13 and 37, Gao further teaches determining a first UL transmission power and a second UL transmission power for the at least one UL transmission (fig 8, 10, TX power for TRP 1 and Tx power for TRP2; para 155: an example is shown in FIG. 8, where a PUSCH repetition is scheduled to two TRPs, wherein the transmit power of PUSCH corresponding to the two TRPs are different; para 175: for a PUSCH transmission occasion, the associated power control parameters (i.e., pathloss reference RS, P0, and α) is determined using the associated SRI as illustrated in FIG. 11).
Regarding claim 14 and 38, Gao further teaches wherein the first UL transmission power corresponds to a first indicated TCI state, and the second UL transmission power corresponds to a second indicated TCI state (para 177: the UE uses different (e.g., two or more) spatial transmission filters and/or power control parameter sets to target the PUSCH transmission towards two or more TRPs. The spatial transmission filter and/or power control parameter set information to be used by the UE to transmit a PUSCH towards a TRP is indicated to the UE via an SRI or a UL TCI state. If a UE is to target PUSCH towards two different TRPs, then two SRIs or two UL TCI states need to be indicated to the UE; fig 10).
Regarding claim 22, 46 and 61, Gao further teaches receiving (or transmitting) a field of indication for transmitting the at least one UL transmission (para 26-30: if P0-PUSCH-Set is provided to the UE and the DCI format includes an open-loop power control parameter set indication field), wherein a first codepoint of the field is associated with a first configured maximum output power, and a second codepoint of the field is associated with a second configured maximum output power (para 26-30: if P0-PUSCH-Set is provided to the UE and the DCI format includes an open-loop power control parameter set indication field, the UE determines a value of power from: a first P0-PUSCH-AlphaSet in p0-AlphaSets if a value of the open-loop power control parameter set indication field is ‘0’ or ‘00’, a first value in P0-PUSCH-Set with the lowest p0-PUSCH-SetID value if a value of the open-loop power control parameter set indication field is ‘1’ or ‘01’, a second value in P0-PUSCH-Set with the lowest p0-PUSCH-SetID value if a value of the open-loop power control parameter set indication field is ‘10’ else, the UE determines power from the value of the first P0-PUSCH-AlphaSet in p0-AlphaSets).
Regarding claim 23, 47 and 62, Gao further teaches wherein the field is a parameter set of power control (fig 4 and para 24-30 relate to the PUSCH power control parameters including the open-loop power control (OLPC) parameter set indication field).
Regarding claim 24, 48 and 63, Gao further teaches wherein in response to the first codepoint being indicated, a UL transmission power of the at least one UL transmission is limited by the first configured maximum output power (para 26-30: if P0-PUSCH-Set is provided to the UE and the DCI format includes an open-loop power control parameter set indication field, the UE determines a value of power from: a first P0-PUSCH-AlphaSet in p0-AlphaSets if a value of the open-loop power control parameter set indication field is ‘0’ or ‘00’); and in response to the second codepoint being indicated, the UL transmission power of the at least one UL transmission is limited by the second configured maximum output power (para 26-30: if P0-PUSCH-Set is provided to the UE and the DCI format includes an open-loop power control parameter set indication field, the UE determines a value of power from: a first value in P0-PUSCH-Set with the lowest p0-PUSCH-SetID value if a value of the open-loop power control parameter set indication field is ‘1’ or ‘01’).
Claims 3, 27 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (US 20240298271) in view of Yi et al. (US 20230308237) in further view of Yuan et al. (US 20230052449)
Regarding claim 3, 27, 51, Gao in view of Yi teaches the limitations of parent claim. The references fail to teach the multi-panel scheme being spatial division multiplexing or single frequency network. Yuan is directed to precoder indication for the UE with multiple panels.
Yuan further teaches wherein the multi-panel transmission scheme is spatial division multiplexing (SDM) scheme (para 23, 50: for a multi-panel transmission, the UE may use multiple antenna panels to transmit an uplink communication, such as in a spatial division multiplexing manner). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine power headroom reporting to multiple TRP using multi-panel UE as taught by Gao and Yi with SDM as multi-panel UE transmission scheme as taught by Yuan for the benefit of improving spectral efficiency and services as taught by Yuan in para 4.
Claims 15-16, 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (US 20240298271) in view of Yi et al. (US 20230308237) in further view of Wang et al. (US 20230037090)
Regarding claim 15 and 39, Gao in view of Yi teaches the limitations of parent claim. The references fail to teach total power of UE exceeding configured power. Wang is directed to multi-panel UE and per-panel power control for UL.
Wang further teaches in response to a total transmission power of the UE exceeding a third configured maximum output power (para 56: for per-panel uplink power control, the total output power from multiple simultaneously active panels should not exceed the maximum output power of the UE, i.e., Pcmax; para 58: the total Tx power should not exceed the maximum output power of the UE, i.e., P1+P2+P3+P4<=Pcmax), allocating power to the at least one UL transmission in which a total transmission power for the at least one UL transmission is smaller than or equal to the third configured maximum output power (para 56: for UE with 4 panels, the max Tx power from each panel is equally distributed among panels, i.e., the max power from each panel is Pcmax/4, the actual output power for PUSCH over different panels which are simultaneously active could be different). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine power headroom reporting to multiple TRP using multi-panel UE as taught by Gao and Yi with uplink power control in multi-panel UE as taught by Wang for the benefit of supporting uplink transmission over multiple panels simultaneously as taught by Wang in para 54.
Regarding claim 16 and 40, Gao in view of Yi fail to teach, but Wang further teaches wherein the total transmission power of the UE is associated with the first UL transmission power and the second UL transmission power (para 56: for per-panel uplink power control, the total output power from multiple simultaneously active panels should not exceed the maximum output power of the UE, i.e., Pcmax, for UE with 4 panels, the max Tx power from each panel is equally distributed among panels, i.e., the max power from each panel is Pcmax/4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine power headroom reporting to multiple TRP using multi-panel UE as taught by Gao and Yi with uplink power control in multi-panel UE as taught by Wang for the benefit of supporting uplink transmission over multiple panels simultaneously as taught by Wang in para 54.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to prior art on record Gao in view of Yi not teaching the limitations of receiving DCI and transmitting UL of claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Gao and Yi fail to teach two TCI states to be respectively associated with two SRS resource sets and a transmission of the PHR based on the DCI, indicating said association of the TCI states and the SRS resource sets. The applicant has cited the paragraphs of the references with emphasis. On page 22, first two para cites Para 67 and 68, however these paragraphs do not appear to be in the application specification, Gao or Yi reference. The examiner requests clarification of arguments or relevance of these paragraphs.
The applicant cites para 145, 212, 214-215 of Gao reference. Para 145 of Gao appears to define different parameters a TRP can be represented with. However, fig 19 and related paragraphs do not limit the information transmission between WCD and base station as mere representation of TRP. Fig 19 teaches the WCD receiving configuration of multiple SRS resource sets with usage set to codebook or non-codebook for multiple TRPs, and para 145 further teaches that TRP represented by the TCI states and SRIs (SRS resource indicator). The WCD in fig 19 receives configuration of TRPs (represented with TCI states), multiple SRS resource sets, DCI and transmits PHR based on configuration. Para 177 also teaches that the spatial transmission filter and/or power control parameter set information to be used by the UE to transmit a PUSCH towards a TRP is indicated to the UE via an SRI or a UL TCI state and if a UE is to target PUSCH towards two different TRPs, then two SRIs or two UL TCI states need to be indicated to the UE. Thus, the TRP being represented by TCI states and configuring multiple SRS resource sets for the PHR report transmission appears to teach the argued limitation.
Yi teaches UE with multi-panel transmission scheme and further teaches in para 364 that a panel and spatial filter are determined based on at least one (considered as more than one or both) of UL TCI indication of a DCI, SRI indication of DCI.
Thus, Gao in view of Yi appear to teach the argued limitation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-21, 41-45 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin et al. (US 20260223012): abstract: A method performed by a user equipment (UE) for simultaneous transmission with multi-panel (STxMP) operation is provided. The method includes receiving a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) parameter from a base station (BS) for indicating STxMP based physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission; receiving, from the BS, a first Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) state indication, a second TCI state indication, a first Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource set, and a second SRS resource set; performing a first PUSCH transmission associated with the first SRS resource set and a second PUSCH transmission associated with the second SRS resource set simultaneously; receiving, from the BS, a second RRC parameter that indicates to the UE to provide two Type-1 power headroom (PH) reports; and transmitting, to the BS, a power headroom report (PHR) medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) including a first Type-1 PH and a second Type-1 PH
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RINA C PANCHOLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 9/12/2026