DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figs. 6 and 7 are cross-sectional views but lack proper cross-hatching. See 37 CFR 1.84(h)(3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “petal-like” which renders the claim indefinite because “like” extends the scope of “petal” to unknown bounds. It is unclear what is and is not encompassed by “petal-like”. Similarly, it is been held that the addition of the word "type" to an otherwise definite expression (e.g., Friedel-Crafts catalyst) extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite. Ex parte Copenhaver, 109 USPQ 118 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1955).
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Frey et al. (USP 4,105,226 hereinafter “Frey”).
In regards to claim 1, at the onset it is noted that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See MPEP § 2114. The recitation “oil tubing” is a nominal recitation of the intended manner of operation of the system, and does not add any further structure than the “connector". Therefore, little patentable weight is given to "oil tubing".
Frey discloses an oil tubing connector (see fig. 6 and fig. 3 for details of the connection), comprising:
a tube body (120), an oil nozzle (14), and a connector head (12);
a first connection structure disposed between the tube body and the oil nozzle, with the oil nozzle being snap-fitted (see snap fit ring 60) to one end of the tube body through the first connection structure;
a second connection structure disposed between the tube body and the connector head, with the connector head being snap-fitted (see snap fit ring 60) to the other end of the tube body through the second connection structure;
wherein both the first and second connection structures include a snap-fit component (60) and a snap-fit slot (40), with the snap-fit component being composed of two or more snap-fit pieces (see pieces between each slot 90a, 90b, 90c) ;
the snap-fit slot of the first connection structure is formed by a first groove (26) on the tube body and a second groove (40) on the oil nozzle, while the snap-fit slot of the second connection structure is formed by a third groove (40) on the tube body and a fourth groove (26) on the connector head;
the first connection structure also includes a first seal groove (100), a first sealing ring (102), a second seal groove (100), and a first sealing element (102), with the first seal groove located on the tube body and the second seal groove located on the oil nozzle.
In regards to claim 2, Frey further discloses the first sealing ring is fitted at the first seal groove, forming a first sealing structure between the tube body and the oil nozzle (shown in fig. 3).
In regards to claim 3, Frey further discloses the first sealing element includes any of the following: a second sealing ring (102), a sealing gasket ,or a sealing sleeve.
In regards to claim 5, Frey further discloses the snap-fit component has a “petal-like structure” (shown in fig. 1), with the snap-fit pieces including an L-shaped insertion part (62) and a bending part, where the bending part (66) extends outward.
In regards to claim 6, Frey further discloses the snap-fit pieces are made of elastic metal (see column 4, lines 48-57).
In regards to claim 8, Frey further discloses the third groove is located on the outer surface of the tube body, and the fourth groove is located on the inner surface of the connector head; the third groove includes an inward-facing third limiting slot, into which the protruding part of the L-shaped insertion part fits; the fourth groove includes an outward-facing fourth limiting slot, where the bending part is positioned (shown in fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frey as applied to claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 10, Frey discloses the connector of claim 1 but does not disclose the outer surface of the oil nozzle is provided with external threads, and the inner surface of the connector head is provided with internal threads, but rather shows external threads on the connector head and an open connection for welding to conduit on the oil nozzle.
The examiner is taking Official notice that internal threaded connections, external threading connections, and welded connections are well-known in the art of tubing connectors and are freely interchangeable depending on what is being connected.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the oil nozzle with external threads and the connecter head with internal threads in order to allow them to be threadedly connected to matching threading tubing, achieving no new or unexpected results.
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frey as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Mortensen et al. (USP 8,328,241 hereinafter “Mortensen”).
In regards to claim 4, Frey discloses the connector of claim 2, but does not disclose the second sealing ring, sealing gasket, or sealing sleeve is placed in the second seal groove, forming a second sealing structure between the tube body and the oil nozzle, i.e. both sealing rings and seal grooves being on the same side of the tube body.
However, Mortensen shows a similar snap-fit connection (see snap-fit 23) with two sealing grooves (17) and sealing rings (15) on one side of the connector.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the connection between the tube body and the oil nozzle with a second sealing ring and seal groove in order to create a redundant seal in case of a failure of the first sealing ring, thus preventing leakage.
In regards to claim 9, Frey discloses the connector of claim 1, but does not disclose the second connection structure also includes a third seal groove and a third sealing ring, with the third seal groove located on the tube body and the third sealing ring fitted on the tube body, forming a third sealing structure between the tube body and the connector head, i.e. a second sealing ring and groove between the tube body and the connector head.
However, Mortensen shows a similar snap-fit connection (see snap-fit 23) with two sealing grooves (17) and sealing rings (15) on one side of the connector.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the connection between the tube body and the connector head with a second sealing ring and seal groove in order to create a redundant seal in case of a failure of the first sealing ring, thus preventing leakage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of the remaining cited prior art shows a similar tubing connector.
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679
08/13/2025