DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yue (CN 105983175 A).
Regarding claim 1, Yue teaches a mobile phone protective case with static electricity elimination device (FIG. 14, page 9 “FIG. 14 illustrates an electrostatic elimination device 6 according to the present disclosure, a static removing device 6 has a first housing 61, a second housing 62”), comprising:
a case comprising a bottom wall and a side wall, the side wall protruding from a periphery of the bottom wall towards one side of the bottom wall, and the side wall and the bottom wall cooperatively enclosing an accommodation cavity for accommodating a mobile phone (FIG. 14, “FIG. 14 illustrates an electrostatic elimination device 6 according to the present disclosure, a static removing device 6 has a first housing 61, a second housing 62” Also see FIG. 15A and B which show cavity between bottom walls);
a static electricity elimination device installed in the case, and the static electricity elimination device comprising: a first conductive element (FIG. 14, 15A, B show “a second conductive element 621”) and a second conductive element (FIG. 14, 15A, B show “a first conductive element 611”) arranged spaced apart from each other, as well as a resistor (FIG. 14, FIG. 16 show “resistor 6531” which is part of voltage dividing unit 653) and an LED lamp (FIG. 14, FIG. 16 show “light emitting element 655”) electrically connected between the first and second conductive elements (FIG. 14 voltage dividing unit 653 and light emitting element 655 are connected to first conductive element 611 and second conductive element 621),
wherein the first and second conductive elements are at least partially exposed outside the case (FIG. 14 and 15A, B shows first conductive element 611 and second conductive element 621), a receiving groove is defined in an inner side of the case, and the resistor and the LED lamp are received in the receiving groove (FIG. 15B, page 9, fifth paragraph, “an inductive element 651 and a voltage dividing unit 653 embedded in the third housing 64 through the in-mold decoration process, a light emitting element 655 is also embedded on the surface of the third housing 64 by in-mould decoration process”).
Regarding claim 2, Yue teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the LED lamp and the resistor are connected in series between the first and second conductive elements (FIG. 16 shows resister 6531 and emitting element 655 are connected in series).
Regarding claim 11, Yue teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the case is substantially rectangular (FIG. 14), and the first conductive element is disposed on an outer side of one long side of the case at a middle portion (FIG. 14 shows conductive elements 621 are placed on long side and extend to the middle section of the long side of device 6).
Regarding claim 12, Yue teaches claim 11 and further teaches wherein the second conductive element is disposed outside a corner of the case (FIG. 14 shows one end of conductive elements 611 is placed next to a corner on the short side next to the long side of device 64).
Regarding claim 13, Yue teaches claim 11 and further teaches, wherein the second conductive element is disposed outside the corner that is adjacent to the long side of the case (FIG. 14 shows one end of conductive elements 611 is placed next to a corner on the short side next to the long side of device 64).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yue in view of Kasar (US 2015/0313003).
Regarding claim 3, Yue teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the static electricity elimination device further comprises {a flexible} circuit board, the resistor and the LED lamp are arranged on the {flexible} circuit board (FIGs. 14, 15A,B, 16 show circuit including light emitting element 655 and voltage dividing unit 653 including resistor 6531), and the {flexible} circuit board comprises a first conductive contact portion for electrically connecting to the first conductive element (FIG. 14 shows voltage dividing unit 653 is connected to first conductive element 611 via inductance element 651. Page 9, fifth paragraph, “an inductance element 651 of first end electrically connected with the first housing 61 of the first conductive element 611”) as well as a second conductive contact portion for electrically connecting to the second conductive element (FIG. 14 shows voltage dividing unit 653 and light emitting element 655 are connected to second conductive element 611. Page 9, fifth paragraph, “light-emitting element 655 is electrically connected to the voltage-dividing unit 653 of the third contact 653c and the second housing 62 of the second conductive element 621”).
Yue does not teach flexible circuit board. However, Yue teaches “in-mold decoration process” which is well known in the art the process performed for flexible material such as plastic. It would have been obvious to implement the circuits of FIG. 14-16 on a flexible circuit board to prevent breakage. Such process is mentioned by Kasar in [0005] “circuitry such as electrical components and wires and traces on flexible printed circuits can be embedded within injection-molded plastic structures.”
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature a flexible circuit board, as taught by Kasar in Yue to prevent breakage.
Regarding claim 4, Yue in view of Kasar teaches claim 3 and further teaches wherein the flexible circuit board is substantially Z-shaped (FIG. 14 element 611 and 2 connection segments connecting element 651, 653 and right side 621 have z shape) and compromises an elongated body portion (FIG. 14 connection segment connecting 611, 651 and 653), as well as first and second connecting portions respectively connected to two longitudinal ends of the body portion, the first and second connecting portions respectively extend towards two sides of the body portion, and the first and second conductive contact portions are respectively arranged on the first and second connecting portions (FIG. 14 “a first conductive element 611” and “a second conductive element 621” are located on different side of device 6) .
Regarding claim 5, Yue in view of Kasar teaches claim 3 and further teaches wherein an accommodation groove is defined in the inner side of the case, and the flexible circuit board is received in the accommodation groove (FIG. 15B, page 9,fifth paragraph, “an inductive element 651 and a voltage dividing unit 653 embedded in the third housing 64 through the in-mold decoration process, a light emitting element 655 is also embedded on the surface of the third housing 64 by in-mould decoration process”).
Regarding claim 6, Yue in view of Kasar teaches claim 5 and further teaches wherein conductive lines of the flexible circuit board, the resistor and the LED lamp are arranged on a surface of the flexible circuit board facing a bottom of the accommodation groove (FIG. 15A shows voltage dividing unit 653 and light emitting element 655 “touch” the outer end of housing 64. It should be noted, Kasar teach flexible circuit in [0005]).
Regarding claim 7, Yue in view of Kasar teaches claim 5 and further teaches wherein the case is provided with first and second perforations penetrating inner and outer sides thereof at positions corresponding to the first and second connecting portions, respectively, and the first and second connecting portions extend through the first and second perforations, respectively, from the inner side of the case to the outer side of the case (FIG. 15B, page 9,fifth paragraph, “an inductive element 651 and a voltage dividing unit 653 embedded in the third housing 64 through the in-mold decoration process, a light emitting element 655 is also embedded on the surface of the third housing 64 by in-mould decoration process.” Page 10, fourth paragraph, “the first conductive element is placed on the casing substrate. in the step 1707, the second conductive element placed on the casing substrate.” Since the components are embedded inside the device housing while conductive elements are placed on surface of the substrate, it is understood there exists through material connection to connect the conductive elements and the embedded components).
Regarding claim 9, Yue in view of Kasar teaches claim 7 and further teaches wherein the case comprises a back shell forming the bottom wall and a frame forming the side wall (FIG. 14-15A,B – third housing 64 connecting a first housing 61 and a second housing 62), the back shell is integrally wrapped around by overmoulding, the accommodation groove is formed on an inner side of the back shell, the accommodation groove extends across the receiving groove (FIG. 15B, page 9,fifth paragraph, “an inductive element 651 and a voltage dividing unit 653 embedded in the third housing 64 through the in-mold decoration process”), and projection of the frame on a plane of the back shell is spaced apart from the LED lamp (FIG. 14 - light emitting element 655 is placed away from the edges of housing 64).
Regarding claim 14, Yue in view of Kasar teaches claim 7 and further teaches wherein the first perforation is defined in the side wall of the case (FIG. 14 shows connection between conductive elements 621 and components 653/655 is made on the longer side of the device 6), and the second perforation is defined in the bottom wall of the case (FIG. 14 shows connection between conductive elements 611 and component 651 is made on the shorter side of the device 6).
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yue in view of Kasar further in view of Kharitonov (US 2015/0312884)
Regarding claim 8, Yue in view of Kasar teaches claim 7 and further teaches wherein the first and second conductive elements are both {metal} pieces, and the first and second conductive elements are {snap-}connected to the outer side of the case (page 10, sixth paragraph “the first conductive element is placed on the casing substrate. in the step 1807, the second conductive element placed on the casing substrate”) and are electrically connected to the first and second conductive contact portions, respectively (page 10, sixth paragraph “an inductance element arranged on the shell base, and the inductance element is electrically connected to the first conductive element. in the step 1811, the a resistor placed on the casing substrate, and the resistor is electrically connected to the inductance element and a second conductive element”).
Yue does not teach conductive elements are both metal pieces and are snap-connected to the outer side of the case.
However, Yue teaches (page 10, sixth paragraph) “the first conductive element… the second conductive element placed on the casing substrate”. The Examiner submits, conductive elements are meant to be electrically conductive and are well known in the art to include metal based material. Further Kharitonov teaches “elements that comprise the case 101 may be made from durable materials such as aluminum, steel, other metals and metal alloys… one or more of the elements that comprise the case 101 may be coupled or removably connected by being press fit or snap fit together” ([0075]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature conductive elements are both metal pieces and are snap-connected to the outer side of the case, as taught by Kharitonov in Yue to provide the protection feature that is durable.
Regarding claim 10, Yue in view of Kasar and Kharitonov teaches claim 9 but fails to teach wherein the back shell is made of transparent materials or semi-transparent materials, and when the LED lamp illuminates, light emitted from the LED lamp passes through the back shell 11 and is thus visible from outside.
However, Yue teaches “light emitting element 655 is embedded in the third housing 64”. The Examiner submits that the light emitting element being used indicates that the from the light emitting element is meant to be visible by user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to implement the third housing 64 to be transparent materials or semi-transparent materials. Further Kharitonov teaches “a notification portal 16 may be made from rigid materials that are generally light transmissive, such as transparent or translucent rigid plastics, resins, glass, from transparent or translucent resilient materials such as silicone, rubber, and flexible plastics, or any other suitable material which may be used to conduct light from a display element 13 through a notification portal 16 to be observed by a user.”
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature transparent materials or semi-transparent materials, as taught by Kharitonov in Yue to notification to be observed by a user.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yue in view of Kasar further in view of and Gawley (US 2019/0208879).
Regarding claim 15, Yue in view of Kasar and Kharitonov teaches claim 9 but fails to teach wherein the back shell is made of plastic with higher hardness, and the frame is made of plastic or rubber with lower hardness and greater elasticity.
Gawley teaches wherein the back shell is made of plastic with higher hardness, and the frame is made of plastic or rubber with lower hardness and greater elasticity ([0010] “Softer more elastic or flexible materials (such as TPU, TPE, or rubber) may form all or portions of the side walls and top face perimeter lip of the case, while relatively more rigid materials (such as PC) may be employed to form other portions of the case including the back face of the case and back plate. In one embodiment the back face, a lower portion of the side walls, the outer surface of the back face, and the back plate of the protective case is formed of a relatively rigid material (e.g., PC), the sides walls, the internal surface of the back face, and the front face wall of the protective case are formed of a relatively more elastic or flexible material (e.g., TPU, TPE, rubber).”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the back shell is made of plastic with higher hardness, and the frame is made of plastic or rubber with lower hardness and greater elasticity, as taught by Gawley in Yue for ease to install with a mobile device while maintaining a degree of protection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a objected claim 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
Yang (US 2013/0220841) teaches a water-resistant casing for a portable electronic device.
Schwarz (US 2021/0034113) teaches explosion-proof cover for a tablet.
/QUOC THAI N VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642