DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This non-final office action is in response to the Amendments filed on 15 April 2026, regarding application number 18/430,715.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 21-39 remain pending in the application. Claims 2-20 have been cancelled. Claims 21-39 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages , filed 15 April 2026, with respect to the rejections of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, and with respect to new claims 21-39, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made further in view of newly cited reference Murase et al. (US 20260042215 A1) and Markus et al. (US 11364640 B1). See full details below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and 21-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1
Claim 1 recites the limitation "cause the gripping member to insert the plurality of pins into the plurality of holes while the slide mechanism is unfixed". There is insufficient antecedent basis for the “the plurality of pins” and “the plurality of holes”. As such, the claim is indefinite because the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. Claims 21-39 are rejected by virtue of dependency on claim 1. For the purpose of compact prosecution, “the plurality of pins” and “the plurality of holes” will be interpreted as “a plurality of pins” and “a plurality of holes”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 21-22, 26, 28, 34-36 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eto et al. (US 20200147703 A1 and Eto hereinafter), in view of Murase et al. (US 20260042215 A1 and Murase hereinafter) and Markus et al. (US 11364640 B1 and Markus hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1
Eto teaches a jig positioning system (see all Figs., especially Figs. 4A-4B; [0008]), comprising:
a robot arm comprising a gripping member configured to grip an assembly jig designed to be positioned on an assembly table (see Figs. 1A-4B, robot arm 2, first jig base 5A and second jig base 5B and table 3; [0017], [0022], [0058 "As illustrated in FIG. 1A, a processing device 1 includes a transport robot 2 for transporting a workpiece W, and a palette P on which the workpiece W is placed during processing."], [0063 "As illustrated in FIG. 2A, the palette P includes a table 3, a sub-base 4 fixed onto the table 3, and a first jig base 5A and a second jig base 5B which are fixed onto the sub-base 4."]-[0064 "The first jig base 5A is provided with a first processing position A1 for performing the roughing on the front surface of the workpiece W, and a second processing position A2 for performing the roughing and the finishing on the rear surface of the workpiece W."] and [0069 "The second jig base 5B has a third processing position B1 for performing the final finishing on the front surface of the workpiece W. As illustrated in FIG. 2B, the workpiece W is installed at the third processing position B1."]), and
a control unit comprising circuitry configured to control motion of the robot arm (see [0077] and [0084]),
wherein the circuitry of the control unit is configured to select one or more assembly jigs in sequence for at least one assembly component (see Fig. 7, step S12 and Fig. 8, step S32; [0022], [0085 "First, in Step S11, a processing target item is selected from among several types of the workpiece W. Then, the first jig base 5A (refer to FIG. 2A) corresponding to the selected item is selected (Step S12)."] and [0099 "In Step S33A, the second jig base 5B and the detail are set at the third processing position B1."]), move the gripping member to a destination region of the assembly table corresponding to a planned position and orientation of a selected assembly jig for the at least one assembly component (see Figs. 2A-2B and 6, all; Fig. 7, steps S11-S12 and Fig. 8, steps S31-S32; [0022], [0064 "The first jig base 5A is provided with a first processing position A1 for performing the roughing on the front surface of the workpiece W, and a second processing position A2 for performing the roughing and the finishing on the rear surface of the workpiece W."], [0058]-[0061], [0085]-[0086 "The first jig base 5A corresponding to the selected jig base is set at the first processing position A1 or the second processing position A2 (Step S13). The first jig base 5A is set in a single operation by inserting the pin 23 into the quick clamping device 22 (refer to FIG. 4B) of the sub-base 4."] and [0121]-[0123]), cause the gripping member to insert the plurality of pins into the plurality of holes (see Fig. 4B, all; Fig. 7, step S13 and Fig. 8, step S33A; [0072], [0086 "The first jig base 5A corresponding to the selected jig base is set at the first processing position A1 or the second processing position A2 (Step S13). The first jig base 5A is set in a single operation by inserting the pin 23 into the quick clamping device 22 (refer to FIG. 4B) of the sub-base 4."] and [0099 "In Step S33A, the second jig base 5B and the detail are set at the third processing position B1. The second jig base 5B is mounted in a single operation by inserting the pin 23 into the quick clamping device 22 (refer to FIG. 4B) of the sub-base 4, and the detail 17 is mounted in a single operation by inserting the pin into the quick clamping device 24 (refer to FIG. 4B) of the second jig base 5B."]), and draw in and fix the plurality of pins respectively such that the selected assembly jig is positioned on the assembly table (see Figs. 4A-5, all, especially piping connectors 4a; [0072]-[0075], especially [0072 "A plurality of quick clamping devices 22 are disposed on the sub-base 4. The quick clamping device 22 has the same structure as that of the quick clamping device 20 disposed on the second jig base 5B, and grips and fixes a pin 23 fixed to the rear surface of the respective jig bases 5A and 5B (refer to FIG. 4B). In addition, as illustrated in FIG. 4A, the quick clamping device 22 has a suction piping 22 a, and communicates with a suction piping 5Ba formed in the second jig base 5B. The suction piping 5Ba formed in the second jig base 5B communicates with a suction piping 17 a formed in the detail 17. In this manner, gas is suctioned from a vacuum pump (suction means, not illustrated) via the suction pipings 4 a, 22 a, 5Ba, and 17 a, and the workpiece W is adsorbed on the upper surface of the detail 17."]).
Eto is silent regarding a slide mechanism configured to support and move the gripping member in a plane orthogonal to a direction of fit;
cause the slide mechanism to be unfixed such that the gripping member is movable in the plane orthogonal to the direction of fit;
insert the plurality of pins into the plurality of holes while the slide mechanism is unfixed, and
actuate clampers associated with the plurality of holes to draw in and fix the plurality of pins.
Murase teaches a jig positioning system (see all Figs.; [0006]), comprising:
a robot arm comprising a gripping member configured to grip an assembly jig designed to be positioned on an assembly table (see gripper 3 and workpiece W1 in most Figs.; [0006]), and a slide mechanism configured to support and move the gripping member in a plane orthogonal to a direction of fit (see coupler 4 in Figs. 6, 15, 18 and 20; [0006], [0043]-[0045], [0061 "As illustrated in FIGS. 4, and 5 , the gripper 3 is coupled to the decentered body 42 through the tilt coupler 47. Accordingly, the gripper 3 can also move in the direction substantially orthogonal to the first reference axis X with respect to the rotation shaft 71 together with the decentered body 42."], [0069], [0164 "Accordingly, locking of movement of the decentering coupler 41 and the tilt coupler 47 is also released. Specifically, the gripper 3 can move in a direction substantially orthogonal to the first reference axis X and the gripper 3 can move such that the second reference axis α tilts with respect to the first reference axis X."] and [0175]-[0186], especially [0183 "Since the coupler 4 is movable, the gripper 3 moves together with the coupler 4 with the gripper 3 allowed to be freely decentered and tilted with respect to the first reference axis X."] and [0184 "Since locking of the coupler 4 by the lock 9 is released, the gripper 3 is allowed to be decentered or tilted with respect to the first reference axis X. That is, the workpiece W1 can change the posture such that the axis M coincides with the axis N, while being gripped by the gripper 3."]); and
a control unit comprising circuitry configured to control motion of the robot arm (see Fig. 1, controller 130; [0007] and [0039]),
wherein the circuitry of the control unit is configured to select one or more assembly jigs (see [0006] and [0174]), move the gripping member to a destination region of the assembly table corresponding to a planned position and orientation of a selected assembly jig (see [0006] and [0177]), cause the slide mechanism to be unfixed such that the gripping member is movable in the plane orthogonal to the direction of fit (see Figs. 6, 15 and 17-20, all; [0006], [0045], [0069], [0152], [0164 "Accordingly, locking of movement of the decentering coupler 41 and the tilt coupler 47 is also released. Specifically, the gripper 3 can move in a direction substantially orthogonal to the first reference axis X and the gripper 3 can move such that the second reference axis α tilts with respect to the first reference axis X."] and [0176]-[0186], especially [0181 "Then, in step S3, the controller 130 causes the hand 100 to perform an unlocking action and an introduction action. The unlocking action is an action of releasing locking of the coupler 4 by the lock 9."], [0183 "Since the lock 9 switches from the locked state to the unlocked state, the coupler 4 becomes movable. The coupler 4 advances in the direction of the first reference axis X while rotating about the first reference axis X. Since the coupler 4 is movable, the gripper 3 moves together with the coupler 4 with the gripper 3 allowed to be freely decentered and tilted with respect to the first reference axis X."] and [0184 "Since locking of the coupler 4 by the lock 9 is released, the gripper 3 is allowed to be decentered or tilted with respect to the first reference axis X. That is, the workpiece W1 can change the posture such that the axis M coincides with the axis N, while being gripped by the gripper 3."]), cause the gripping member to insert the pin into the hole while the slide mechanism is unfixed (see Figs. 17-20, all, especially Fig. 17, steps S3-S4; [0043]-[0045], [0069], [0164 "Accordingly, locking of movement of the decentering coupler 41 and the tilt coupler 47 is also released. Specifically, the gripper 3 can move in a direction substantially orthogonal to the first reference axis X and the gripper 3 can move such that the second reference axis α tilts with respect to the first reference axis X."] and [0175]-[0186], especially [0181 "Then, in step S3, the controller 130 causes the hand 100 to perform an unlocking action and an introduction action. The unlocking action is an action of releasing locking of the coupler 4 by the lock 9. The introduction action is an action of partially inserting the workpiece W1 into the hole H by operating the rotation actuator 7 with the first reference axis X tilted with respect to the axis N of the hole H."], [0183] and [0184 "As a result, the workpiece W1 pivots about the point P and is guided by the opening edge of the hole H so that an end of the workpiece W1 is fitted in the hole H (see the bold arrow). In this process, the workpiece W1 gradually changes the posture such that the axis M coincides with the axis N of the hole H. Since locking of the coupler 4 by the lock 9 is released, the gripper 3 is allowed to be decentered or tilted with respect to the first reference axis X."]).
Markus teaches a jig positioning system (see Col. 2, line 53 - Col. 3, line 9), comprising:
a robot arm comprising a gripping member configured to grip an assembly jig designed to be positioned on an assembly table (see Figs. 1A-1B, end effector 20 and QC subassembly 20; Col. 2, line 53 - Col. 3, line 9, especially "The QC subassembly attaches to a robotic end effector and includes a QC housing, one or more locking pins movably mounted to the QC housing, and one or more anchor pins projecting from the QC housing ...To mechanically attach the QC subassembly to an FB subassembly, the QC housing is juxtaposed with the FB housing, an anchor pin is inserted into a receiving end of a complementary key slot, and the anchor pin is slid into a locking end of the key slot."); and
a control unit comprising circuitry configured to control motion of the robot arm (see Col. 3, lines 44-48),
wherein the circuitry of the control unit is configured to select one or more assembly jigs (see Col. 2, line 53 - Col. 3, line 9), move the gripping member to a destination region of the assembly table corresponding to a planned position and orientation of a selected assembly jig, cause the gripping member to insert the plurality of pins into the plurality of holes (see Figs. 1A-1B, QC subassembly 20 and FB subassembly 32; Col. 2, line 53 - Col. 3, line 9, especially "The QC subassembly attaches to a robotic end effector and includes a QC housing, one or more locking pins movably mounted to the QC housing, and one or more anchor pins projecting from the QC housing ...To mechanically attach the QC subassembly to an FB subassembly, the QC housing is juxtaposed with the FB housing, an anchor pin is inserted into a receiving end of a complementary key slot, and the anchor pin is slid into a locking end of the key slot."), and actuate clampers associated with the plurality of holes to draw in and fix the plurality of pins respectively such that the selected assembly jig is positioned on the assembly table (see Figs. 2A-3B, locking pins 44 and/or magnets 62; Col. 8, line 27 - Col. 9, line 9, especially "After the anchor pins 50 are inserted into the receiving ends 65 of the key slots 63, and then slid to the locking ends 67 of the key slots 63, the spring-biased locking pins 44 automatically align with and slide into the FB pin holes 71 to thereby lock together the QC and FB subassemblies 30, 32. Optional FB magnets 62 may be mounted to each FB housing block 36, 38, e.g., fastened into respective FB magnet holes 69 by set screws 64. When placed face to face, each FB magnet 62 magnetically mates with a QC magnet 52 to operatively align a FB housing block 56, 58 with a QC housing block 36, 38.").
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Eto to include a slide mechanism configured to support and move the gripping member in a plane orthogonal to a direction of fit; cause the slide mechanism to be unfixed such that the gripping member is movable in the plane orthogonal to the direction of fit; and insert the plurality of pins into the plurality of holes while the slide mechanism is unfixed, as taught by Murase, in order to allow the gripper to change posture in a flexible manner to facilitate inserting the plurality of pins into the plurality of holes.
It further would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Eto to actuate clampers associated with the plurality of holes to draw in and fix the plurality of pins respectively such that the selected assembly jig is positioned on the assembly table, as taught by Markus, in order to lock the assembly jig into place.
Regarding Claim 21
Modified Eto teaches the jig positioning system according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Eto further teaches wherein the planned position and orientation of the selected assembly jig are preprogrammed in connection with a shape of the at least one assembly component (see Figs. 2A-2B and 6, all; Fig. 7, steps S11-S12 and Fig. 8, steps S31-S32; [0022 "The jig base is detachably fixed onto the table via the sub-base. In this manner, a plurality of the jig bases corresponding to various workpieces having different shapes are prepared, thereby enabling processing corresponding to various workpieces to be performed."], [0027], [0070]-[0072], [0085]-[0086] and [0121]-[0123 "The jig bases 5A and 5B are detachably fixed onto the table 3 via the sub-base 4. In this manner, a plurality of the jig bases 5A and 5B corresponding to various workpieces V having different shapes are prepared, thereby enabling processing corresponding to various workpieces W to be performed."]).
Regarding Claim 22
Modified Eto teaches the jig positioning system according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Eto is silent regarding wherein the slide mechanism includes two linear guides orthogonal to each other in the plane orthogonal to the direction of fit.
Murase teaches wherein the slide mechanism includes two linear guides orthogonal to each other in the plane orthogonal to the direction of fit (see Fig. 6, first disc 71 c and second disc 71 d; [0059 "The rotation actuator 7 includes a rotation shaft 71 extending along the first reference axis X serving as a center axis of the rotation actuator 7, which will be described later in detail. A flange-shaped first disc 71 c and a second disc 71 d each expanding in a plane substantially orthogonal to the first reference axis X are located at a first end 71 a that is one of two ends of the rotation shaft 71 closer to the coupler 4 than the other end."]-[0065] and [0084]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the slide mechanism of the system of modified Eto to include two linear guides orthogonal to each other in the plane orthogonal to the direction of fit, as taught by Murase, in order to allow the gripper to change posture in a flexible manner to facilitate inserting the plurality of pins into the plurality of holes.
Regarding Claim 26
Modified Eto teaches the jig positioning system according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Eto is silent regarding wherein the circuitry of the control unit is configured to actuate the clampers when the pins are inserted into the holes by a predetermined distance.
Markus teaches wherein the circuitry of the control unit is configured to actuate the clampers when the pins are inserted into the holes by a predetermined distance (see Figs. 2A-3B, locking pins 44 and/or magnets 62; Col. 8, line 27 - Col. 9, line 9, especially "After the anchor pins 50 are inserted into the receiving ends 65 of the key slots 63, and then slid to the locking ends 67 of the key slots 63, the spring-biased locking pins 44 automatically align with and slide into the FB pin holes 71 to thereby lock together the QC and FB subassemblies 30, 32. Optional FB magnets 62 may be mounted to each FB housing block 36, 38, e.g., fastened into respective FB magnet holes 69 by set screws 64. When placed face to face, each FB magnet 62 magnetically mates with a QC magnet 52 to operatively align a FB housing block 56, 58 with a QC housing block 36, 38.").
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the system of modified Eto to actuate the clampers when the pins are inserted into the holes by a predetermined distance, as taught by Markus, in order to lock the assembly jig into place.
Regarding Claim 28
Modified Eto teaches the jig positioning system according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Eto further teaches wherein the circuitry of the control unit is configured to cause the gripping member to grip and lift the assembly jig such that the pins are withdrawn from the holes of the assembly table, respectively (see Figs. 4A-5, pins 23 and quick clamping devices 22; [0021 "Furthermore, the processing device according to the aspect of the present invention may include a sub-base installed on a table, and a jig base detachably fixed onto the sub-base."]-[0022 "The jig base is detachably fixed onto the table via the sub-base. In this manner, a plurality of the jig bases corresponding to various workpieces having different shapes are prepared, thereby enabling processing corresponding to various workpieces to be performed. In order to detachably fix the jig base to the sub-base, it is preferable to use a pin clamp unit including a pin fixed to one of the jig base the sub-base, and a pin fixing member fixed to the other of the jig base and the sub-base so as to accommodate and fix the pin. The pin clamp unit can be operated using pneumatic pressure, for example."], [0027] and [0123 "The jig bases 5A and 5B are detachably fixed onto the table 3 via the sub-base 4. In this manner, a plurality of the jig bases 5A and 5B corresponding to various workpieces V having different shapes are prepared, thereby enabling processing corresponding to various workpieces W to be performed."]).
Markus additionally teaches wherein the circuitry of the control unit is configured to cause the gripping member to grip and lift the assembly jig such that the pins are withdrawn from the holes of the assembly table, respectively (see Col. 9, lines 50-67, "By this means, the FD subassembly 34 automatically unlocks the FB subassembly 32 from the QC subassembly 30 such that the QC subassembly 30 can be mechanically decoupled and removed from the FB subassembly 32. To remove the FB subassembly 32 from the FD subassembly 34, the FB subassembly 32 is mechanically coupled to the QC subassembly 30 via the anchor pins 50, as described above. The end effector 20 then lifts the mated QC and FB subassemblies 30, 32 off of the FD base 68; this removes the release pins 80 from the FB pin holes 71 thus allowing the spring-biased locking pins 44 to insert into the pin holes 71.").
Regarding Claim 34
Modified Eto teaches the jig positioning system according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Eto further teaches wherein the at least one assembly component comprises an aircraft part (see [0001 "The present invention relates to a processing device and a processing method for processing an easily deformable workpiece, for example, such as a large component of an aircraft."] and [0056 "In the present embodiment, an easily deformable workpiece such as a large component of an aircraft is machined. The workpiece is made of metal such as an aluminum alloy, and is processed into a shape of an aircraft structure frame."]).
Regarding Claim 35
Modified Eto teaches the jig positioning system according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Eto further teaches wherein the assembly jig is a locator configured to locate or fasten the at least one assembly component on the assembly table (see Fig. 7, step S12 and Fig. 8, step S32; [0022], [0064 "The first jig base 5A is provided with a first processing position A1 for performing the roughing on the front surface of the workpiece W, and a second processing position A2 for performing the roughing and the finishing on the rear surface of the workpiece W."], [0069 "The second jig base 5B has a third processing position B1 for performing the final finishing on the front surface of the workpiece W. As illustrated in FIG. 2B, the workpiece W is installed at the third processing position B1."], [0085 "First, in Step S11, a processing target item is selected from among several types of the workpiece W. Then, the first jig base 5A (refer to FIG. 2A) corresponding to the selected item is selected (Step S12)."] and [0099 "In Step S33A, the second jig base 5B and the detail are set at the third processing position B1."]).
Regarding Claim 36
Modified Eto teaches the jig positioning system according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Eto further teaches wherein the circuitry of the control unit is configured to repeatedly reposition the one or more assembly jigs until all of selected assembly jigs for the at least one assembly component are repositioned (see Fig. 7-8, all; [0085], [0096]-[0099] and [0115 "The above-described steps are repeatedly performed. In this manner, if the subsequent item is a similar item, the processing can be efficiently performed using the respective processing positions A1, A2, and B1."]).
Regarding Claim 39
Modified Eto teaches the jig positioning system according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Modified Eto further teaches wherein the gripping member comprises an end effector comprising a grip mechanism configured to grip each of the one or more assembly jigs. That is:
Murase teaches wherein the gripping member comprises an end effector comprising a grip mechanism configured to grip each of the one or more assembly jigs (see gripper 3 and workpiece W1 in most Figs.; [0006] and [0043 "The hand 100 includes a hand body 2, a gripper 3 that grips a workpiece"]).
Markus additionally teaches wherein the gripping member comprises an end effector comprising a grip mechanism configured to grip each of the one or more assembly jigs (see Figs. 1A-1B, end effector 20 and QC subassembly 20; Col. 2, line 53 - Col. 3, line 9, especially "The QC subassembly attaches to a robotic end effector and includes a QC housing, one or more locking pins movably mounted to the QC housing, and one or more anchor pins projecting from the QC housing ...To mechanically attach the QC subassembly to an FB subassembly, the QC housing is juxtaposed with the FB housing, an anchor pin is inserted into a receiving end of a complementary key slot, and the anchor pin is slid into a locking end of the key slot.").
Claims 23 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eto (as modified by Murase and Markus) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Danmoto et al. (US 5825980 A and Danmoto hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 23
Modified Eto teaches the jig positioning system according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Eto is silent regarding wherein the slide mechanism is configured to be mobile and immobile by insertion and withdrawal of a pneumatic pin.
Danmoto teaches a jig positioning system (see all Figs.; Abstract), comprising:
a robot arm comprising a gripping member configured to grip an assembly jig designed to be positioned (see Fig. 2A, all; Abstract "A hand apparatus of a robot includes fingers for clamping a first workpiece and inserting a second workpiece into the first workpiece, a compliance device disposed between an arm of the robot and the fingers, and a calculator for determining shifting information between the first and second workpieces."), and a slide mechanism configured to support and move the gripping member in a plane (see Col. 18, lines 1-67, all, especially "Working compression air is introduced into the cylinder chamber 148a through the compression air introduction path 148g, so that the lock pin 148c is pushed down from its retracted position against the biasing force of the coil spring 148d, and is moved to a lock position. At the lock position, the lower end of the lock pin 148c is fitted in the lock hole 148f. In this manner, the lock structure 148 is operated, so that the upper and lower bases 142a and 142b are locked with each other in the lateral direction, and are integrally moved in the lateral direction ... In this manner, the two lock structures 148 and 150 are operated to be set in a lock operation state, and the lock pins 148c and 150c are brought to their lock positions to be fitted in the corresponding lock holes 148f and 150f, so that the pair of upper and lower mounting bases 142a and 142b are locked in the lateral direction. Thus, these bases 142a and 142b are moved together in the lateral direction.");
wherein the slide mechanism is configured to be mobile and immobile by insertion and withdrawal of a pneumatic pin (see Col. 18, lines 1-67, all, especially "Working compression air is introduced into the cylinder chamber 148a through the compression air introduction path 148g, so that the lock pin 148c is pushed down from its retracted position against the biasing force of the coil spring 148d, and is moved to a lock position. At the lock position, the lower end of the lock pin 148c is fitted in the lock hole 148f. In this manner, the lock structure 148 is operated, so that the upper and lower bases 142a and 142b are locked with each other in the lateral direction, and are integrally moved in the lateral direction ... In this manner, the two lock structures 148 and 150 are operated to be set in a lock operation state, and the lock pins 148c and 150c are brought to their lock positions to be fitted in the corresponding lock holes 148f and 150f, so that the pair of upper and lower mounting bases 142a and 142b are locked in the lateral direction. Thus, these bases 142a and 142b are moved together in the lateral direction.").
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the slide mechanism of the system of modified Eto to be mobile and immobile by insertion and withdrawal of a pneumatic pin, as taught by Danmoto, in order to automate locking and unlocking of the slide mechanism.
Regarding Claim 38
Modified Eto teaches the jig positioning system according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Eto is silent regarding wherein the slide mechanism includes two linear guides orthogonal to each other in the plane orthogonal to the direction of fit and is configured to be mobile and immobile by insertion and withdrawal of a pneumatic pin.
Murase teaches wherein the slide mechanism includes two linear guides orthogonal to each other in the plane orthogonal to the direction of fit (see Fig. 6, first disc 71 c and second disc 71 d; [0059 "The rotation actuator 7 includes a rotation shaft 71 extending along the first reference axis X serving as a center axis of the rotation actuator 7, which will be described later in detail. A flange-shaped first disc 71 c and a second disc 71 d each expanding in a plane substantially orthogonal to the first reference axis X are located at a first end 71 a that is one of two ends of the rotation shaft 71 closer to the coupler 4 than the other end."]-[0065] and [0084]).
Danmoto teaches wherein the slide mechanism is configured to be mobile and immobile by insertion and withdrawal of a pneumatic pin (see Col. 18, lines 1-67, all, especially "Working compression air is introduced into the cylinder chamber 148a through the compression air introduction path 148g, so that the lock pin 148c is pushed down from its retracted position against the biasing force of the coil spring 148d, and is moved to a lock position. At the lock position, the lower end of the lock pin 148c is fitted in the lock hole 148f. In this manner, the lock structure 148 is operated, so that the upper and lower bases 142a and 142b are locked with each other in the lateral direction, and are integrally moved in the lateral direction ... In this manner, the two lock structures 148 and 150 are operated to be set in a lock operation state, and the lock pins 148c and 150c are brought to their lock positions to be fitted in the corresponding lock holes 148f and 150f, so that the pair of upper and lower mounting bases 142a and 142b are locked in the lateral direction. Thus, these bases 142a and 142b are moved together in the lateral direction.").
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the slide mechanism of the system of modified Eto to include two linear guides orthogonal to each other in the plane orthogonal to the direction of fit, as taught by Murase, in order to allow the gripper to change posture in a flexible manner to facilitate inserting the plurality of pins into the plurality of holes.
It additionally would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the slide mechanism of the system of modified Eto to be mobile and immobile by insertion and withdrawal of a pneumatic pin, as taught by Danmoto, in order to automate locking and unlocking of the slide mechanism.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eto (as modified by Murase and Markus) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Otaki (JP 2011242201 A and Otaki hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 24
Modified Eto teaches the jig positioning system according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Eto is silent regarding wherein each of the pins has a chamfer at a tip thereof, each of the holes has a chamfer at an upper side thereof, and the chamfer of each of the pins is steeper than the chamfer of a respective one of the holes such that the pins are centered relative to the holes during insertion, respectively.
Otaki teaches a jig positioning system (see all Figs.; [0010]; see the corresponding paragraphs in the attached reference JP_2011242201_A), comprising:
insert a pin into a hole (see Fig. 7, all; [0010] and [0032]);
wherein the pin has a chamfer at a tip thereof, the hole has a chamfer at an upper side thereof, and the chamfer of the pin is steeper than the chamfer of a respective hole such that the pin is centered relative to the hole during insertion, respectively (see Fig. 7, all; especially conical portion 3c and chamfered portion 23; [0021 "The insertion pin 3 has a head portion 3a having a diameter larger than the hole diameter of the through hole 22 provided in the cylindrical part 20, and a body portion 3b having a diameter smaller than the hole diameter of the through hole 22, and further, A conical portion 3c is provided between the body portions. The conical portion 3c has a taper angle α smaller than the taper angle α1 of the chamfered portion 23 for the reason described later."] and [0032 "Since the conical portion 3c has a taper angle α smaller than the taper angle α1 of the chamfered portion 23, as shown in FIG. 7, it contacts the inner end of the chamfered portion 23 (intersection with the inner surface of the through hole 22). Therefore, the variation amount of the chamfer dimension appears as a variation amount of the distance from the reference surface 11 b to the top surface of the insertion pin 3."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the system of modified Eto to include a chamfer at the tip of each pin being steeper than a chamfer at each respective hole such that the pins are centered relative to the holes during insertion, as taught by Otaki, in order to facilitate insertion of the pins into the holes by allowing the chamfered portion of pin tips to contact the inner ends of the chamfered portions of the holes.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eto (as modified by Murase, Markus and Otaki) as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Sim et al. (US 5771553 A and Sim hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 25
Modified Eto teaches the jig positioning system according to claim 24 (as discussed above in claim 24),
Eto is silent regarding wherein one of the plurality of pins is a round locating pin and another of the plurality of pins is a diamond locating pin.
Sim teaches a jig positioning system (see all Figs.; Col. 4, lines 1-22):
wherein each of the pins has a chamfer at a tip thereof, each of the holes has a chamfer at an upper side thereof (see Fig. 2B, round pin 7 and/or diamond shaped pin 8; Col. 6, line 64 - Col. 7, line 8, "In FIG. 2B, a round pin 7 and a diamond shaped pin 8 constitute the location system for the sub-base 4c. This location method is recommended by manufacturers of jigs and fixtures as a practical location system that avoids redundancy. Pin 7 is precise and hardened and serves as the principal locator. In FIG. 2A, holes 6 in the grid hole base 3 constrain translational movement of sub-base 4c via pin 7. The diamond pin 8, on the other hand, acts as the second locator that prevents rotation of sub-base 4c about the axis of pin 7 after the complete fixture with sub-base 4c is inserted into two adjacent holes 6. Both pins 7 and 8 are commercially available as tooling pins."); and
wherein one of the plurality of pins is a round locating pin and another of the plurality of pins is a diamond locating pin (see Fig. 2B, round pin 7 and diamond shaped pin 8; Col. 6, line 64 - Col. 7, line 8, "In FIG. 2B, a round pin 7 and a diamond shaped pin 8 constitute the location system for the sub-base 4c. This location method is recommended by manufacturers of jigs and fixtures as a practical location system that avoids redundancy. Pin 7 is precise and hardened and serves as the principal locator. In FIG. 2A, holes 6 in the grid hole base 3 constrain translational movement of sub-base 4c via pin 7. The diamond pin 8, on the other hand, acts as the second locator that prevents rotation of sub-base 4c about the axis of pin 7 after the complete fixture with sub-base 4c is inserted into two adjacent holes 6. Both pins 7 and 8 are commercially available as tooling pins.").
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the plurality of pins of the system of modified Eto to include a round locating pin and a diamond locating pin, as taught by Sim, in order to provide locators while constraining translational and rotational movement.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eto (as modified by Murase and Markus) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kawakami et al. (US 20220032462 A1 and Kawakami hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 27
Modified Eto teaches the jig positioning system according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Eto is silent regarding wherein the robot arm includes an excitation device configured to vibrate the gripping member, and the circuitry of the control unit is configured to cause the excitation device to vibrate the gripping member while the pins are inserted into the holes, respectively.
Kawakami teaches a jig positioning system (see all Figs.; [0013]), comprising:
a robot arm comprising a gripping member configured to grip an assembly jig (see Figs. 1 and 19, arm 10 peg 22; [0013], [0052] and [0107]), and
a control unit comprising circuitry configured to control motion of the robot arm (see Figs. 1, controller 16; [0052]),
wherein the circuitry of the control unit is configured to move the gripping member to a destination region, cause the gripping member to insert the pin into the hole while the slide mechanism is unfixed (see [0013] and [0107]-[0108 "Simple harmonic movements are induced in the X direction and the Y direction while continuing to press in the Z direction, and the average of estimated positional displacement amounts of the peg is employed as the center of these simple harmonic movements so as to align the axes of the peg and the hole."]),
wherein the robot arm includes an excitation device configured to vibrate the gripping member (see [0108 "Simple harmonic movements are induced in the X direction and the Y direction while continuing to press in the Z direction, and the average of estimated positional displacement amounts of the peg is employed as the center of these simple harmonic movements so as to align the axes of the peg and the hole."]), and the circuitry of the control unit is configured to cause the excitation device to vibrate the gripping member while the pin is inserted into the hole, respectively (see [0107]-[0108 "Simple harmonic movements are induced in the X direction and the Y direction while continuing to press in the Z direction, and the average of estimated positional displacement amounts of the peg is employed as the center of these simple harmonic movements so as to align the axes of the peg and the hole. The positional displacement amount of the peg may be estimated using a similar method to that used to find the positional displacement amount Δp of the ring."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the system of modified Eto to include an excitation device configured to vibrate the gripping member and to cause the excitation device to vibrate the gripping member while the pins are inserted into the holes, as taught by Kawakami, in order to align the axes of the pins and holes to easily fit the components together.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eto (as modified by Murase and Markus) as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of Gottschalk et al. (US 20180206511 A1 and Gottschalk hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 29
Modified Eto teaches the jig positioning system according to claim 28 (as discussed above in claim 28),
Eto is silent regarding wherein the robot arm includes an excitation device configured to vibrate the gripping member, and the circuitry of the control unit is configured to cause the excitation device to vibrate the gripping member while the assembly jig is lifted such that the pins are withdrawn from the holes, respectively.
Gottschalk teaches a jig positioning system (see all Figs.; [0008]), comprising:
a robot arm comprising a gripping member configured to grip an assembly jig (see Figs. 3-5, apparatus 10 and pin bone 11; [0008 "...at least two clamping jaws are associated, which clamping jaws define a resulting central axis M and are for clamping and releasing the pin bones…"], [0032] and [0045]-[0049]), and
a control unit comprising circuitry configured to control motion of the robot arm (see Figs. 3-5, control units 23 and/or 27; [0011] and [0042]),
wherein the circuitry of the control unit is configured to select one or more assembly jigs in
wherein the circuitry of the control unit is configured to cause the gripping member to grip and lift the assembly jig such that the pin is withdrawn from the hole (see Figs. 5-6, all; [0049 "...lowers the tool 13 (in x direction) so that the tool 13 can grip or clamp the pin bones 11, initiates the oscillating rotational movement of the clamping mechanism 14 until the pin bone 11 is detached, and raises the tool 13 again (in x direction) in order to pull the pin bone 11 out of the fish fillet 12 in the direction of growth."]);
wherein the robot arm includes an excitation device configured to vibrate the gripping member, and the circuitry of the control unit is configured to cause the excitation device to vibrate the gripping member while the assembly jig is lifted such that the pins are withdrawn from the holes, respectively (see Figs. 5-6, all; [0008], [0019] and [0049 "...lowers the tool 13 (in x direction) so that the tool 13 can grip or clamp the pin bones 11, initiates the oscillating rotational movement of the clamping mechanism 14 until the pin bone 11 is detached, and raises the tool 13 again (in x direction) in order to pull the pin bone 11 out of the fish fillet 12 in the direction of growth."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the system of modified Eto to include an excitation device configured to vibrate the gripping member and to cause the excitation device to vibrate the gripping member while the assembly jig is lifted such that the pins are withdrawn from the holes, as taught by Gottschalk, in order to facilitate detaching the assembly jig from the assembly component.
Claims 30, 31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eto (as modified by Murase and Markus) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujita (JP WO2017145349 A1 and Fujita hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 30
Modified Eto teaches the jig positioning system according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Eto is silent regarding wherein the gripping member includes a vision sensor configured to capture an image of a marker provided at the destination region of the assembly table.
Fujita teaches a jig positioning system (see all Figs.; [0007]-[0008]; see the corresponding paragraphs in the attached reference JP_WO2017145349_A1), comprising:
a robot arm comprising a gripping member configured to grip an assembly jig designed to be positioned on an assembly table (see Fig. 1, first robot 20 and jig plate P; [0007 "Wherein said first robot arm takes out a jig plate corresponding to a kind of work read by said information reading means from said jig plate accommodating means and provided in said jig plate"] and [0015]), and
a control unit comprising circuitry configured to control motion of the robot arm (see Fig. 1, system control unit 80; [0019]-[0020]),
wherein the circuitry of the control unit is configured to select one or more assembly jigs in sequence for at least one assembly component (see [0007 "Wherein said first robot arm takes out a jig plate corresponding to a kind of work read by said information reading means from said jig plate accommodating means and provided in said jig plate"] and [0015]),
move the gripping member to a destination region of the assembly table corresponding to a planned position and orientation of a selected assembly jig for the at least one assembly component, and cause the gripping member to insert the plurality of pins into the plurality of holes while the slide mechanism is unfixed (see [0007 "The position of the guide hole aligned with the position of the inserted portion of the workpiece And the second robot arm controls the first robot arm so as to place the workpiece on the jig plate and press the workpiece with the jig plate while the second robot arm utilizes the guide hole of the jig plate holding the workpiece"]-[0008] and [0015]-[0016]);
wherein the gripping member includes a vision sensor configured to capture an image of a marker provided at the destination region of the assembly table (see Fig. 1, first camera 24; [0015]-[0016] and [0022 "Specifically, the CPU 81 controls the first arm 21 to position the first camera 24 above the two-dimensional barcode of the workpiece W, and causes the first camera 24 to capture a two-dimensional barcode. Subsequently, the CPU 81 recognizes the jig plate type (step S130). Specifically, the CPU 81 recognizes the type of the workpiece W from the captured image of the two-dimensional barcode and compares the type of the jigplate P corresponding to the type of the workpiece W with the correspondence table 83T (FIG. 1 Refer to Fig. "]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the system of modified Eto to include a vision sensor configured to capture an image of a marker provided at the destination region of the assembly table, as taught by Fujita, in order to determine a type of assembly jig required by the marker for the robot arm to pick up.
Regarding Claim 31
Modified Eto teaches the jig positioning system according to claim 30 (as discussed above in claim 30),
Eto is silent regarding wherein the circuitry of the control unit is configured to correct a position of the gripping member based on the image of the marker before the pins are inserted into the holes, respectively.
Fujita teaches wherein the circuitry of the control unit is configured to correct a position of the gripping member based on the image of the marker before the pins are inserted into the holes, respectively (see [0017 "A two-dimensional bar code 58 is affixed to a portion of the substrate 51 where the component 53 is not placed. The two-dimensional barcode 58 indicates a workpiece type. Basically, like the workpiece 50, the workpiece W is a laminate in which bracketed parts are stacked on a substrate, and the shape of the bracket, the number and position of the screw insertion holes, the shape of the parts, the shape of the substrate, and the like The number and position of screw holes and the like are different for each type."], [0022 "Specifically, the CPU 81 controls the first arm 21 to position the first camera 24 above the two-dimensional barcode of the workpiece W, and causes the first camera 24 to capture a two-dimensional barcode. Subsequently, the CPU 81 recognizes the jig plate type (step S130). Specifically, the CPU 81 recognizes the type of the workpiece W from the captured image of the two-dimensional barcode and compares the type of the jigplate P corresponding to the type of the workpiece W with the correspondence table 83T (FIG. 1 Refer to Fig. "] and [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the system of modified Eto to correct a position of the gripping member based on the image of the marker before the pins are inserted into the holes, as taught by Fujita, in order to determine a type of assembly jig required by the marker for the robot arm to pick up and an appropriate position to place said picked assembly jig.
Regarding Claim 33
Modified Eto teaches the jig positioning system according to claim 30 (as discussed above in claim ),
Eto is silent regarding wherein the gripping member includes a grip mechanism positioned at a distal end of the gripping member, and the vision sensor is attached to a proximal end of the gripping member and oriented toward the distal end.
Fujita teaches wherein the gripping member includes a grip mechanism positioned at a distal end of the gripping member, and the vision sensor is attached to a proximal end of the gripping member and oriented toward the distal end (see Fig. 1, first camera 24 and jig plate grasping/holding/gripping unit 22; [0015 "The first camera 24 is adjacent to the jig plate holding unit 22 and is installed so as to be able to photograph the lower region of the tip of the arm."]-[0016] and [0022 "Specifically, the CPU 81 controls the first arm 21 to position the first camera 24 above the two-dimensional barcode of the workpiece W, and causes the first camera 24 to capture a two-dimensional barcode. Subsequently, the CPU 81 recognizes the jig plate type (step S130). "]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the system of modified Eto to include a vision sensor is attached to a proximal end of the gripping member and oriented toward the distal end, as taught by Fujita, in order to determine a type of assembly jig required by the marker for the robot arm to pick up.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eto (as modified by Murase, Markus and Fujita) as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Ooba et al. (US 20170066133 A1 and Ooba hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 32
Modified Eto teaches the jig positioning system according to claim 31 (as discussed above in claim 31),
Eto is silent regarding wherein the marker comprises a crisscross formed in a division of the assembly table including the plurality of holes.
Fujita teaches wherein the marker is formed in a division of the assembly table including the plurality of holes (see Figs. 1-2, all; [0017 "A two-dimensional bar code 58 is affixed to a portion of the substrate 51 where the component 53 is not placed. The two-dimensional barcode 58 indicates a workpiece type. Basically, like the workpiece 50, the workpiece W is a laminate in which bracketed parts are stacked on a substrate, and the shape of the bracket, the number and position of the screw insertion holes, the shape of the parts, the shape of the substrate, and the like The number and position of screw holes and the like are different for each type."], [0022 "Specifically, the CPU 81 controls the first arm 21 to position the first camera 24 above the two-dimensional barcode of the workpiece W, and causes the first camera 24 to capture a two-dimensional barcode."] and [0035]).
Ooba teaches a jig positioning system (see all Figs.; [0008]), comprising:
a gripping member including a vision sensor configured to capture an image of a marker provided at the destination region of a assembly table (see Figs. 1, 4 and 7, camera 88; [0008], [0041] and [0057]);
wherein circuitry of a control unit is configured to correct a position of the gripping member based on the image of the marker (see [0008] and [0089]);
wherein the marker comprises a crisscross formed in a division of the assembly table (see Fig. 4, all; [0056 "As shown in FIG. 4, each of the plurality of features 74 may have a profile, a pattern, a color, etc., which can be detected and identified by the sensor 76. The features 74 may be formed at predetermined positions on the surface of a flat plate-like jig 86, by various known techniques, such as printing, stamping, plating, etc. In the embodiment of FIG. 4, two features 74A, 74B having a mutually identical circular profile with inside crisscross pattern and mutually different colors, are formed with a fixed positional interrelationship on the surface of the jig 86. In the coordinate system setting apparatus 70, the jig 86 provided with two features 74A, 74B is fixedly placed for use on the article support surface of the movable part 72 of the conveyor 12. In this connection, on the premise that a fixed positional interrelationship is able to be maintained, a plurality of features 74 respectively formed on mutually separate members may also be used.'] and [0064]-[0066]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the marker of the system of modified Eto to be a crisscross formed in a division of the assembly table including the plurality of holes, as taught by Ooba, in order to detect the position of the marker by detecting the center of the crisscross pattern.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eto (as modified by Murase and Markus) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Asakawa et al. (US 5207554 A and Asakawa hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 37
Modified Eto teaches the jig positioning system according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Eto is silent regarding wherein the gripping member has a main body such that at least part of the main body comprises an elastic material positioned to compensate for relative misalignment between each of the pins and a respective one of the holes.
Asakawa teaches a jig positioning system (see Col. 3, lines 14-67), comprising:
a robot arm comprising a gripping member configured to grip an assembly jig designed to be positioned on an assembly table, and cause the gripping member to insert the plurality of pins into the plurality of holes (see Figs. 3-4, all; Col. 3, lines 14-67);
wherein the gripping member has a main body such that at least part of the main body comprises an elastic material positioned to compensate for relative misalignment between the pin and a respective the hole (see Figs. 3-4, all; Col. 3, lines 14-67 "A purpose of the present invention is to provide a supporting device which comprises a compliance means for compensating for misalignment of a member supported by the device with respect to a hole into which the member is to be inserted."; Col. 7, lines 9-33, "The arm 5 can also be shifted vertically, as is shown by the arrows G. A cylindrical rod member 7 is picked up and held by the hand 6 at a predetermined station (not shown) and is conveyed to a position above a hole 9 of a block 8. Then the rod member 7 is inserted into the hole 9 by a downward movement of the arm 5. The inlet edge of the hole 9 is chamfered so as to form an inclined surface 10. If the rod member 7 is misaligned with the hole 9 within the range of the chamfer 10, the rod member 7 abuts against the chamfer 10 when it is lowered, as is illustrated in FIG. 3. At this point, horizontal force components in the direction X and the direction Y are generated in accordance with the vertical insertion force H. Therefore, the parallel leaf spring assembly 3 is deformed and moved in the direction X and the direction Y, as is illustrated in FIG. 4, so that the rod member 7 is inserted into the hole 9, sliding downward along the chamfer 10.").
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the gripping member of the system of modified Eto to include a main body such with an elastic material positioned to compensate for relative misalignment between each of the pins and a respective one of the holes, as taught by Asakawa, in order to facilitate inserting the pins into the holes without having to reposition the robot arm when the pins are misaligned with the holes.
Conclusion
/TANNER L CULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656