DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “fixed slot is formed in the brush head body and is provided between the elastic arm and the fixed arm, the fixed slot is configured to snap-fit and fix a motor drive shaft” of claim 1, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites: “a fixed slot is formed in the brush head body and is provided between the elastic arm and the fixed arm, the fixed slot is configured to snap-fit and fix a motor drive shaft”. The specification in [0026-0029] discloses: “1-brush head body”; “2-brush head insert”; “200-fixed slot ”; “20-elastic arm”; “21-fixed arm”; “3-motor drive shaft”; “2201-snap-in portion”. As claimed and in view of figures 4 and 5, it is unclear how the fixed slot (200) is formed in the brush head body (1), the fixed slot (200) is configured to snap-fit (via 2201) and fix a motor drive shaft (3). As best understood, and with support from the drawings, the fixed slot which accommodates the motor shaft is formed in the brush head insert (2) and not in the brush head body (1).
Claim 7, which depends on claim 1, recites: “wherein a motor drive shaft is provided on the toothbrush handle”. As claimed, it is unclear whether the “motor drive shaft” of claim 7 is the same “motor drive shaft” introduced in claim 1, or an entirely different feature. For examination purposes, claim 7’s “a motor drive shaft” has been construed as “the motor drive shaft”, the same as in claim 1.
Claim 9 recites: “an elastic arm extending in a longitudinal direction and having elasticity in a radial direction” and “with elongated holes arranged in a longitudinal direction so that the elastic arm”. As claimed, it is unclear whether the second recited longitudinal direction is the same as the first longitudinal direction or an entirely different direction. For examination purposes, the second recited longitudinal direction has been construed as the first recited longitudinal direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dishon (US 20210100346 A1) and WU (CN113180867A).
Referring to claim 1: Dishon teaches a brush head (10 Fig. 1), comprising a brush head body (12 Figs. 1 and 9) and a brush head insert (20 Fig. 1), wherein a mounting slot (mounting slot of 12 shown in Fig. 9) is provided in the brush head body (12 Figs. 1 and 9),
the brush head insert (20 Fig. 1) is mounted in the mounting slot (mounting slot of 12 shown in Fig. 9), an elastic arm (47 Fig. 5) and a fixed arm (FA Fig. 1-A inserted below) are provided on the brush head insert (20 Fig. 1),
a fixed slot (44 Fig. 7) is formed in the brush head body (12 Figs. 1 and 9) and is provided between the elastic arm (47 Fig. 5) and the fixed arm (FA Fig. 1-A inserted below), the fixed slot (44 Fig. 7) is configured to snap-fit (snap-fit between 70 and 120 shown in Fig. 9) and fix a motor drive shaft (80 Fig. 9),
a groove (GR Fig. 1-A inserted below) is provided on both the elastic arm (47 Fig. 5) and the fixed arm (FA Fig. 1-A inserted below), and an elastomer (22 Fig. 5; “The spring clip 22 is generally a stamped metal product, although other resilient materials and formation methods may be used.” [0026]; Merriam-Webster: “elastomer: any of various elastic substances resembling rubber”; elastic:“1a: capable of recovering size and shape after deformation”) is embedded on the groove (GR Fig. 1-A inserted below), the elastomer is arranged between the brush head insert (20 Fig. 1) and an inner wall (inner wall of 12 shown in Fig. 9) of the brush head body (12 Figs. 1 and 9), but is silent on the elastomer is in an interference fit with the inner wall of the brush head body.
Wu in an analogous brush head (10 Fig. 1) teaches a similar configuration elastomer (136 Figs. 2 and 3) is in an interference fit (“The amount of interference between the ring 136 and the two wall surfaces is greater than or equal to 0.1 mm and less than or equal to 0.5 mm” [0084]) with the similar configuration inner wall (111 Figs. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brush head of Dishon with the interference fit as taught by Wu for the purpose of having sufficient friction between the two elements to prevent unintended decoupling, sealing against water, and to dampen vibrations ([0085] of Wu).
Referring to claim 2: Dishon as modified teaches the brush head according to claim 1, wherein both sides of the elastic arm (47 Fig. 5) are hollow (66 shown on both sides as HM in Fig. 1-A inserted above), so that the elastic arm (47 Fig. 5) deforms (“slots 66 that enable the bridge 47 to flex” [0024]) when squeezed to ensure that the motor drive shaft (80 Fig. 9) is stably snap-fitted (snap-fit between 70 and 120 shown in Fig. 9) into the fixed slot (44 Fig. 7).
Referring to claim 4: Dishon as modified teaches the brush head according to claim 2, wherein an abutting portion (70 Fig. 9) is further provided on the elastic arm (47 Fig. 5), the abutting portion (70 Fig. 9) is a projection facing (shown in Fig. 7) into the fixed slot (44 Fig. 7), the inner wall (inner wall of 12 shown in Fig. 9) of the brush head body (12 Figs. 1 and 9) has an inner wall projection (IWP Fig. 2-A inserted below), the inner wall projection is a projection facing the groove (GR Fig. 1-A inserted above), and the abutting portion (70 Fig. 9) and the inner wall projection (IWP Fig. 2-A inserted below) are capable of elastically (due to their flexible material, both are capable of elastically abutting; “The spring clip 22 is generally a stamped metal product, although other resilient materials and formation methods may be used.” [0026]; Merriam-Webster: “elastomer: any of various elastic substances resembling rubber”; elastic:“1a: capable of recovering size and shape after deformation”; “The sleeve 12 may be formed from a molded plastic”) abutting against the motor drive shaft (80 Fig. 9) and the elastomer (22 Fig. 5) respectively.
Referring to claim 5: Dishon as modified teaches the brush head according to claim 2, wherein the brush head insert (20 Fig. 1) comprises an insert top end (TE Fig. 1-A inserted above) and an insert bottom end (BE Fig. 1-A inserted above), at least one end of the elastic arm (47 Fig. 5) and the fixed arm (FA Fig. 1-A inserted above) is connected to or integrally formed with the insert top end (TE Fig. 1-A inserted above) or the insert bottom end, and both sides of a left side (LS Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the elastic arm (47 Fig. 5) are respectively provided with elongated holes (HM Fig. 1-A inserted above) arranged in a longitudinal direction (LD Fig. 1-A inserted above) so that both sides of the elastic arm (47 Fig. 5) form a hollow design (shown in Fig. 1-A inserted above).
Referring to claim 7: Dishon as modified teaches an electric toothbrush (10 and 110 Figs. 1 and 9; “electric toothbrush” [0027]), comprising the brush head (10 Fig. 1) according to claim 1 and a toothbrush handle (“The replacement head 10 is designed for attachment to an electric toothbrush drive unit 110. The structure and operation of drive units may vary, but will generally include a housing that forms a handle and houses a motor” [0027]), wherein a motor drive shaft (80 Fig. 9) is provided on the toothbrush handle (handle of 110 Fig. 9; [0027]), and the motor drive shaft (80 Fig. 9) is snap-fitted (snap-fit between 70 and 120 shown in Fig. 9) and fixed in the fixed slot (44 Fig. 7) of the brush head (10 Fig. 1).
Referring to claim 8: Dishon as modified teaches the electric toothbrush according to claim 7, wherein the motor drive shaft further comprises a first recess, the brush head insert further comprises a free arm, one end of the free arm is connected with the fixed arm, the other end thereof is a free end, the free end further comprises a snap-in portion, the snap-in portion is a projection facing into the fixed slot, and the snap-in portion is snapped into the first recess on the motor drive shaft; or the motor drive shaft (80 Fig. 9) comprises a first abutting surface (120 Fig. 9; “a recessed portion 120 shaped to receive the raised portion 70 of the coupling member 20” [0027]) abutting against the elastic arm (47 Fig. 5), and the first abutting surface (120 Fig. 9) has an area greater (greater area in order to accommodate 70 shown in Fig. 9) than an area (area of 70 Fig. 9) of the elastic arm (47 Fig. 5).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dishon (US 20210100346 A1), WU (CN113180867A), and Li (US 12295803 B2).
Referring to claim 9: Dishon teaches a brush head insert (20 Fig. 1), comprising: an insert top end (TE Fig. 1-A inserted above), an elastic arm (47 Fig. 5) extending in a longitudinal direction (LD Fig. 1-A inserted above) and having elasticity (“slots 66 that enable the bridge 47 to flex” [0024]) in a radial direction (RD Fig. 1-A inserted above); a fixed arm (FA Fig. 1-A inserted above) arranged opposite to the elastic arm (47 Fig. 5) and having substantially no elasticity (not configured to flex like 47) in the radial direction,
wherein the elastic arm (47 Fig. 5) and the fixed arm (FA Fig. 1-A inserted above) are arranged spaced apart or arranged around each other to form a fixed slot (44 Fig. 7) therebetween;
and an insert bottom end (BE Fig. 1-A inserted above), wherein at least one end of the elastic arm (47 Fig. 5) and the fixed arm (FA Fig. 1-A inserted above) is connected to or integrally formed with the insert top end (TE Fig. 1-A inserted above) or the insert bottom end; and
wherein both sides of a left side (LS Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the elastic arm (47 Fig. 5) are respectively provided with elongated holes (HM Fig. 1-A inserted above) arranged in a longitudinal direction (LD Fig. 1-A inserted above) so that the elastic arm (47 Fig. 5) has elasticity (“slots 66 that enable the bridge 47 to flex” [0024]) in the radial direction (RD Fig. 1-A inserted above);
a groove (GR Fig. 1-A inserted above) is provided on outer walls of the elastic arm (47 Fig. 5) and the fixed arm (FA Fig. 1-A inserted above), an elastomer (22 Fig. 5; “The spring clip 22 is generally a stamped metal product, although other resilient materials and formation methods may be used.” [0026]; Merriam-Webster: “elastomer: any of various elastic substances resembling rubber”; elastic:“1a: capable of recovering size and shape after deformation”) is embedded in the groove (GR Fig. 1-A inserted above), the elastomer (22 Fig. 5) is made of an elastic material (“The spring clip 22 is generally a stamped metal product, although other resilient materials and formation methods may be used.” [0026]; Merriam-Webster: “elastomer: any of various elastic substances resembling rubber”; elastic:“1a: capable of recovering size and shape after deformation”) embedded in the groove (GR Fig. 1-A inserted above); and an inner wall (inner wall of 12 shown in Fig. 9) of the brush head body (12 Figs. 1 and 9).
But is silent on the elastomer is in an interference fit with the inner wall of a brush head body; an amount of interference between the elastomer and the inner wall of the brush head body is 0.3-0.5 mm; and the elastomer is a flexible silicone ring and fitted to the groove.
Wu in an analogous brush head (10 Fig. 1) teaches a similar configuration elastomer (136 Figs. 2 and 3) is in an interference fit (“The amount of interference between the ring 136 and the two wall surfaces is greater than or equal to 0.1 mm and less than or equal to 0.5 mm” [0084]) with a similar configuration inner wall (111 Figs. 3); an amount of interference between the elastomer and the inner wall of the brush head body is 0.3-0.5 mm (“0.1 mm and less than or equal to 0.5 mm” [0084]); and the elastomer (136 Figs. 2 and 3) is a ring (“ring” [0084]) and fitted to the similar configuration groove (groove of 136 Figs. 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brush head of Dishon as modified with the interference amount and flexible ring as taught by Wu for the purpose of having a proper interference fit between the coupled members and the ring shaped elastomer for having an alternate elastomer capable of fitting in the groove.
Li teaches a similar configuration ring that is specifically flexible silicone (“The first sealing member 70 may be a solid structure, such as a rubber ring or a silicone ring, and its structure is relatively simple.” Col. 11, lines 65-67).
It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brush head of Dishon as modified with the flexible silicone material as taught by Li for the purpose of having a suitable material for sealing and/or provided suitable friction between the mating objects.
Referring to claim 10: Dishon as modified teaches the brush head insert according to claim 9, wherein an abutting portion (70 Fig. 9) is further provided on the elastic arm (47 Fig. 5), and the abutting portion is a projection facing (shown in Fig. 7) into the fixed slot (44 Fig. 7) for abutting against a motor drive shaft (80 Fig. 9); and one end (E1 Fig. 2-A inserted above) of the fixed arm (FA Fig. 1-A inserted above) is connected with or integrally formed with the insert top end (TE Fig. 1-A inserted above), and the other end thereof is formed as a free end (E2 Fig. 2-A inserted above), a snap-in portion (end of E2 is a portion which accommodates indentation of 80 shown in Figs. 7-9; “The inner surface 48 may define an opening 49 having a keyed shape to receive and angularly retain the drive shaft 80” [0024]) is provided on the free end, and the snap-in portion is a projection (shown in Figs. 7-9) facing into the fixed slot (44 Fig. 7);
and after assembly, the motor drive shaft (80 Fig. 9) abuts against at one side thereof a face where the abutting portion (70 Fig. 9) is located and is limited by the snap-in portion (end of E2 is a portion which accommodates indentation of 80 shown in Figs. 7-9) in the longitudinal direction (LD Fig. 1-A inserted above).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dishon (US 20210100346 A1) and WU (CN113180867A), as applied in claim 1, and in further view of Li (US 12295803 B2).
Referring to claim 3: Dishon as modified teaches the brush head according to claim 1, but is silent on wherein an amount of interference between the elastomer and the inner wall of the brush head body is 0.3-0.5 mm; or the groove is circumferentially recessed on an outer wall of the brush head insert, and the elastomer is a flexible silicone ring and is fitted to the groove.
Wu in an analogous brush head (10 Fig. 1) teaches wherein an amount of interference between the elastomer (136 Figs. 2 and 3) and the similar configuration inner wall is 0.3-0.5 mm (“The amount of interference between the ring 136 and the two wall surfaces is greater than or equal to 0.1 mm and less than or equal to 0.5 mm” [0084]); or the groove (groove of 136 Figs. 2 and 3) is circumferentially recessed on an outer wall of the similar configuration brush head insert (130 Figs. 2 and 3), and the elastomer (136 Figs. 2 and 3) is a ring (“ring” [0084]) and is fitted (shown in Figs. 2 and 3) to the groove.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brush head of Dishon as modified with the interference amount and flexible ring as taught by Wu for the purpose of having a proper interference fit between the coupled members and the ring shaped elastomer for having an alternate elastomer capable of fitting in the groove.
Li teaches a similar configuration ring that is specifically flexible silicone (“The first sealing member 70 may be a solid structure, such as a rubber ring or a silicone ring, and its structure is relatively simple.” Col. 11, lines 65-67).
It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brush head of Dishon as modified with the flexible silicone material as taught by Li for the purpose of having a suitable material for sealing and/or provided suitable friction between the mating objects.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dishon (US 20210100346 A1) and WU (CN113180867A), as applied in claim 5, and in further view of Craft (US 5697117 A) and Sauer (US 9561092 B2).
Referring to claim 6: Dishon as modified teaches the brush head according to claim 5, wherein the insert bottom end (BE Fig. 1-A inserted above) further comprises an insert base (IB Fig. 1-A inserted above), and both sides of the insert base (IB Fig. 1-A inserted above) are respectively provided with a first fixed strip (1FS Fig. 1-A inserted above) and a second fixed strip (2FS Fig. 1-A inserted above) arranged in a longitudinal direction (LD Fig. 1-A inserted above).
But is silent on wherein the insert top end comprises a cross-shaped positioning portion,
and an inside of the mounting slot has a cross-shaped groove corresponding to the cross-shaped positioning portion for quickly locating a mounting position of the brush head insert in the mounting slot;
a first boss and a second boss are further provided on an outer wall of the cross-shaped positioning portion, and the first boss and the second boss have elasticity;
Craft teaches a similar configuration insert top end (top end 32 of 28 Figs. 1-3) comprises a cross-shaped positioning portion (shown in Figs. 2 and 6),
and an inside of the similar configuration mounting slot (mounting slot 54 of 25 shown in Figs. 6, 8 and 9; “recess 54 is desirably formed in the shoulder 55 of the brush head defining the annular thrust surface 46 to receive the lugs 50” Col. 3, lines 49-51) has a cross-shaped groove corresponding to the cross-shaped positioning portion (shown in Fig. 4) for quickly locating a mounting position (shown in Figs. 8 and 9) of the similar configuration brush head insert (28 Figs. 1-3 and 7-9) in the mounting slot.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insert top end of Dishon as modified with the cross-shaped positioning portion as taught by Craft for the purpose of preventing unintentional rotational movement between the mated parts.
Sauer teaches a similar configuration insert top end (130 Figs. 4A and 4B) comprising a boss (139 Fig. 4A) having elasticity (“A stopper element 139 made from an elastomeric material” Col. 6, lines 47-48).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insert top end of Dishon as modified with the Sauer for the purpose of preventing unintended axial uncoupling.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insert top end of Dishon as modified with a second boss for the purpose of having an additional frictional member to prevent axial uncoupling in the case where the first boss fails, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723