DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a learning device” in claims 8 and 9;
After reviewing the specification, the learning device appears to be drawn a computer installed in a server room (per Specification pg. 14, lines 8-15), or known equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 11-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FOR1 (JP2012172919A – provided by Applicant in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, FOR1 teaches a refrigeration cycle device (see Title) comprising:
a heat exchanger (16, Fig. 1, see Description) having a plurality of refrigerant flow paths including a first refrigerant flow path and a second refrigerant flow path (16, Fig. 1);
a plurality of flow rate adjusters that adjust flow rates of a refrigerant flowing through the respective refrigerant flow paths (21, 40, Fig. 6, see Description); and
a controller (see Description which notes controls being performed which implies a controller), wherein the controller adjusts the flow rates of the refrigerant flowing through the refrigerant flow paths by controlling opening degrees of the flow rate adjusters (see Description, “When energy saving control is performed, the refrigerant supplied from the high-pressure liquid receiver 13 to the first cooling coil system 36a or the second cooling coil system 36b by turning on / off the expansion valve 14 or the electromagnetic valve 21”), and
controls the opening degrees of the respective flow rate adjusters based on a first value that is a value representing overall efficiency of a refrigeration cycle (this limitation is not required as the claim is claimed in the alternative) or a second value that is a value representing overall efficiency of the heat exchanger (see Description, “the electromagnetic valve 21, respectively, and the electromagnetic valve 21 is turned on / off. As a result, the refrigerant to each of the cooling coil systems 36a, 36b, 36c can be stopped and the number of the refrigerants can be controlled to perform an energy saving operation” the energy saving is analogous to efficiency).
Regarding claim 2, FOR1 teaches the refrigeration cycle device according to claim 1, wherein the first value includes an electric power consumption value of a compressor that compresses the refrigerant or a pressure value of the refrigerant flowing through the heat exchanger (the first value is not required as claim 1 is claimed in the alternative and FOR1 teaches the second value).
Regarding claim 4, FOR1 teaches the refrigeration cycle device according to claim 2, wherein the first value or the second value further includes a temperature of air that exchanges heat with the refrigerant in the heat exchanger (the claim is not required as the limitation can be drawn to either the first or second value, and since FOR1 teaches the second value, and the second value is not positively recited the claim is not required as it is claimed in the alternative).
Regarding claim 5, FOR1 teaches the refrigeration cycle device according to claim 2, wherein the first value or the second value further includes a rotation speed of a fan that generates a flow of air that exchanges heat with the refrigerant in the heat exchanger (the claim is not required as the limitation can be drawn to either the first or second value, and since FOR1 teaches the second value, and the second value is not positively recited the claim is not required as it is claimed in the alternative).
Regarding claim 6, FOR1 teaches the refrigeration cycle device according to claim 2, wherein the first value or the second value further includes a rotation speed of the compressor (the claim is not required as the limitation can be drawn to either the first or second value, and since FOR1 teaches the second value, and the second value is not positively recited the claim is not required as it is claimed in the alternative).
Regarding claim 7, FOR1 teaches the refrigeration cycle device according to claim 2, wherein the first value or the second value further includes an opening degree of an expansion valve that adjusts the flow rate of the refrigerant (the claim is not required as the limitation can be drawn to either the first or second value, and since FOR1 teaches the second value, and the second value is not positively recited the claim is not required as it is claimed in the alternative).
Regarding claim 11, FOR1 teaches the refrigeration cycle device according to claim 3, wherein the first value or the second value further includes a temperature of air that exchanges heat with the refrigerant in the heat exchanger (the claim is not required as the limitation can be drawn to either the first or second value, and since FOR1 teaches the second value, and the second value is not positively recited the claim is not required as it is claimed in the alternative).
Regarding claim 12, FOR1 teaches the refrigeration cycle device according to claim 3, wherein the first value or the second value further includes a rotation speed of a fan that generates a flow of air that exchanges heat with the refrigerant in the heat exchanger (the claim is not required as the limitation can be drawn to either the first or second value, and since FOR1 teaches the second value, and the second value is not positively recited the claim is not required as it is claimed in the alternative).
Regarding claim 13, FOR1 teaches the refrigeration cycle device according to claim 4, wherein the first value or the second value further includes a rotation speed of a fan that generates a flow of air that exchanges heat with the refrigerant in the heat exchanger (the claim is not required as the limitation can be drawn to either the first or second value, and since FOR1 teaches the second value, and the second value is not positively recited the claim is not required as it is claimed in the alternative).
Regarding claim 14, FOR1 teaches the refrigeration cycle device according to claim 3, wherein the first value or the second value further includes a rotation speed of the compressor (the claim is not required as the limitation can be drawn to either the first or second value, and since FOR1 teaches the second value, and the second value is not positively recited the claim is not required as it is claimed in the alternative).
Regarding claim 15, FOR1 teaches the refrigeration cycle device according to claim 4, wherein the first value or the second value further includes a rotation speed of the compressor (the claim is not required as the limitation can be drawn to either the first or second value, and since FOR1 teaches the second value, and the second value is not positively recited the claim is not required as it is claimed in the alternative).
Regarding claim 16, FOR1 teaches the refrigeration cycle device according to claim 5, wherein the first value or the second value further includes a rotation speed of the compressor (the claim is not required as the limitation can be drawn to either the first or second value, and since FOR1 teaches the second value, and the second value is not positively recited the claim is not required as it is claimed in the alternative).
Regarding claim 17, FOR1 teaches the refrigeration cycle device according to claim 3, wherein the first value or the second value further includes an opening degree of an expansion valve that adjusts the flow rate of the refrigerant (the claim is not required as the limitation can be drawn to either the first or second value, and since FOR1 teaches the second value, and the second value is not positively recited the claim is not required as it is claimed in the alternative).
Regarding claim 18, FOR1 teaches the refrigeration cycle device according to claim 4, wherein the first value or the second value further includes an opening degree of an expansion valve that adjusts the flow rate of the refrigerant (the claim is not required as the limitation can be drawn to either the first or second value, and since FOR1 teaches the second value, and the second value is not positively recited the claim is not required as it is claimed in the alternative).
Regarding claim 19, FOR1 teaches the refrigeration cycle device according to claim 5, wherein the first value or the second value further includes an opening degree of an expansion valve that adjusts the flow rate of the refrigerant (the claim is not required as the limitation can be drawn to either the first or second value, and since FOR1 teaches the second value, and the second value is not positively recited the claim is not required as it is claimed in the alternative).
Regarding claim 20, FOR1 teaches the refrigeration cycle device according to claim 6, wherein the first value or the second value further includes an opening degree of an expansion valve that adjusts the flow rate of the refrigerant (the claim is not required as the limitation can be drawn to either the first or second value, and since FOR1 teaches the second value, and the second value is not positively recited the claim is not required as it is claimed in the alternative).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FOR1 in view of Ochiai (US 2018/0051922).
Regarding claim 3, FOR1 teaches the refrigeration cycle device according to claim 1, but does not teach the second value includes an outlet temperature of the heat exchanger, after the refrigerant that has flowed out of the first refrigerant flow path and the refrigerant that has flowed out of the second refrigerant flow path have joined each other.
Ochiai teaches a refrigeration cycle apparatus (Ochiai, Title) which teaches computing the efficiency of the heat exchanger based on the outlet refrigerant temperature of the heat exchanger (Ochiai, paragraph [0189]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide FOR1 with determining the efficiency of the heat exchanger based on the outlet temperature of the heat exchanger, as taught by Ochiai, in order to assess how using the outlet temperature impacts the desired optimization of the system.
Regarding claim 10, FOR1 teaches the refrigeration cycle device according to claim 2, but does not teach the second value includes an outlet temperature of the heat exchanger, after the refrigerant that has flowed out of the first refrigerant flow path and the refrigerant that has flowed out of the second refrigerant flow path have joined each other.
Ochiai teaches a refrigeration cycle apparatus (Ochiai, Title) which teaches computing the efficiency of the heat exchanger based on the outlet refrigerant temperature of the heat exchanger (Ochiai, paragraph [0189]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide FOR1 with determining the efficiency of the heat exchanger based on the outlet temperature of the heat exchanger, as taught by Ochiai, in order to assess how using the outlet temperature impacts the desired optimization of the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art of record is FOR1 (JP2012172919A) in view of Yoshimi (US 2022/0268503).
The prior art of record when considered as a whole, either alone or in combination, does not anticipate or render obvious:
Regarding claim 8:
a learning device that associates with each other and learns a combination of the opening degrees of the plurality of flow rate adjusters and the first value or the second value when the opening degrees of the plurality of flow rate adjusters correspond to the combination of the opening degrees, wherein the learning device classifies the combination of the opening degrees in accordance with a level of a heat exchange capability of the heat exchanger, the level of the heat exchange capability being estimated from the first value or the second value, and the controller controls the opening degrees of the respective flow rate adjusters by using the combination of the opening degrees classified, by the learning device, into a class at which the heat exchange capability of the heat exchanger is higher than a predetermined value.
Regarding claim 9:
a learning device that associates with each other and learns a combination of the opening degrees of the plurality of flow rate adjusters and the first value or the second value when the opening degrees of the plurality of flow rate adjusters correspond to the combination of the opening degrees, wherein the learning device calculates the combination of the opening degrees, the combination improving the heat exchange capability of the heat exchanger, the heat exchange capability being estimated from the first value or the second value, and the controller controls the opening degrees of the respective flow rate adjusters by using the combination of the opening degrees calculated by the learning device.
In the Examiner’s opinion, it would not be obvious to further modify the prior art structures to arrive at the claimed invention, absent impermissible hindsight. Therefore, rendering independent claim 1, with dependent claims therefrom are considered allowable.
Conclusion
/NAEL N BABAA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763