DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The 112(b) rejection is withdrawn in view of arguments regarding amended claim 1.
Kinoshita (US-20200243924-A1) is combined with Kim (US-20220410663-A1) to teach amended claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinoshita (US-20200243924-A1), and in further view of Kim (US-20220410663-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kinoshita discloses a vehicle battery cooling device (see e.g., Kinoshita; [0004]-[0006], regarding the cooling device in vehicles) that cools a battery by circulating a refrigerant by a compressor (see e.g., Kinoshita; [0030], [0032], [0035], fig. 1, regarding compressor 42 which compresses a heat exchange medium) and through a first expansion valve (see e.g., Kinoshita; fig. 1, [0031], regarding expansion valve 46) and a battery cooler (see e.g., Kinoshita; fig. 1, [0031], regarding cooling heat exchanger 54), and cools air blown into a vehicle compartment (see e.g., Kinoshita; [0030], [0032], regarding cooling the interior of the host vehicle) by circulating the refrigerant by the compressor (see e.g., Kinoshita; [0031], fig. 1) and through an evaporator (see e.g., Kinoshita; [0031]-[0032], fig. 1, regarding evaporator 50), wherein when the battery is being rapidly charged, a rotation speed of the compressor is increased (see e.g., Kinoshita; [0041], regarding when the in-vehicle battery 32 is fast charged, the rotation speed of the compressor 42 is set to maximum such as to 8600 rpm).
As above, Kinoshita discloses wherein the refrigerant is circulated through the evaporator 50, which is in an HVAC unit not shown in the figure (see e.g., Kinoshita; [0032]). Kinoshita does not explicitly disclose circulating the refrigerant through a second expansion valve. However, Kim discloses wherein an HVAC unit may further comprise of another expansion valve (see e.g., Kim; [0071], [0083], fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the HVAC unit disclosed by Kinoshita have another expansion valve as disclosed by Kim corresponding to a second expansion valve in order to provide a cooling system in a vehicle that maximizes energy efficiency (see e.g., Kim; [0007]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Kinoshita teaches the vehicle battery cooling device according to claim 1, wherein when the battery is being rapidly charged, an upper limit rotation speed of the compressor is increased (see e.g., Kinoshita; [0041], regarding when the in-vehicle battery 32 is fast charged, the rotation speed of the compressor 42 is set to maximum such as to 8600 rpm).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kinoshita teaches the vehicle battery cooling device according to claim 2, wherein the increase in the upper limit rotation speed is determined based on a maximum allowable noise level during rapid charging of the battery (see e.g., Kinoshita; [0042]-[0044], fig. 3, regarding the upper limit rotation speed of the compressor based on the noise generated; wherein the upper limit rotation speed of the compressor is based on whether the volume of the background noise is equal to or greater than a predetermined value).
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinoshita (US-20200243924-A1) and Kim (US-20220410663-A1), and in further view of Miyakoshi (JP-2020001609-A) (see translation).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kinoshita teaches the vehicle battery cooling device according to claim 2. Kinoshita does not explicitly disclose wherein when the battery is rapidly charged and cooled air is supplied into the vehicle compartment, a target supply temperature for the cooled air blown into the vehicle compartment is increased. However, Miyakoshi discloses a vehicle air conditioning and battery cooling step that occurs during rapid battery charging (see e.g., Miyakoshi; [0052]) wherein by a priority control means, battery cooling operations are prioritized over air conditioning inside the vehicle (see e.g., Miyakoshi; [0055]), which corresponds with a target supply temperature for the cooled air blown into the vehicle compartment is increased; because the air cabin air conditioning is deprioritized, the target supply temperature for the cooled air blown into the vehicle is necessarily increased. Miyakoshi further describes the valves and sensors of the system to perform the prioritization function in [0055]. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle battery cooling device of Kinoshita to provide the valves and sensors as disclosed by Miyakoshi such that when the battery is rapidly charged and cooled air is supplied into the vehicle compartment, a target supply temperature for the cooled air blown into the vehicle compartment is increased. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent battery malfunctions caused by high temperatures (see e.g., Miyakoshi; [0007]-[0010]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kinoshita teaches the vehicle battery cooling device according to claim 3, wherein the increase in the upper limit rotation speed is determined based on a maximum allowable noise level during rapid charging of the battery (see e.g., Kinoshita; [0042]-[0044], fig. 3, regarding the upper limit rotation speed of the compressor based on the noise generated; wherein the upper limit rotation speed of the compressor is based on whether the volume of the background noise is equal to or greater than a predetermined value).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728