DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “rapidly” and “rapid” in claims 1-5 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The terms “rapidly” and “rapid” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claims 1-5 are rendered indefinite because “rapidly” and “rapid” render the battery charging indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kinoshita (US-20200243924-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kinoshita discloses a vehicle battery cooling device (see e.g., Kinoshita; [0004]-[0006], regarding the cooling device in vehicles) that cools a battery by circulating a refrigerant by a compressor (see e.g., Kinoshita; [0030], [0032], [0035], fig. 1, regarding compressor 42 which compresses a heat exchange medium) and cools air blown into a vehicle compartment (see e.g., Kinoshita; [0030], [0032], regarding cooling the interior of the host vehicle), wherein when the battery is being rapidly charged, a rotation speed of the compressor is increased (see e.g., Kinoshita; [0041], regarding when the in-vehicle battery 32 is fast charged, the rotation speed of the compressor 42 is set to maximum such as to 8600 rpm).
Regarding claim 2, Kinoshita discloses the vehicle battery cooling device according to claim 1, wherein when the battery is being rapidly charged, an upper limit rotation speed of the compressor is increased (see e.g., Kinoshita; [0041], regarding when the in-vehicle battery 32 is fast charged, the rotation speed of the compressor 42 is set to maximum such as to 8600 rpm).
Regarding claim 4, Kinoshita discloses the vehicle battery cooling device according to claim 2, wherein the increase in the upper limit rotation speed is determined based on a maximum allowable noise level during rapid charging of the battery (see e.g., Kinoshita; [0042]-[0044], fig. 3, regarding the upper limit rotation speed of the compressor based on the noise generated; wherein the upper limit rotation speed of the compressor is based on whether the volume of the background noise is equal to or greater than a predetermined value).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinoshita (US-20200243924-A1), and in further view of Miyakoshi (JP-2020001609-A) (see translation).
Regarding claim 3, Kinoshita discloses the vehicle battery cooling device according to claim 2. Kinoshita does not explicitly disclose wherein when the battery is rapidly charged and cooled air is supplied into the vehicle compartment, a target supply temperature for the cooled air blown into the vehicle compartment is increased. However, Miyakoshi discloses a vehicle air conditioning and battery cooling step that occurs during rapid battery charging (see e.g., Miyakoshi; [0052]) wherein by a priority control means, battery cooling operations are prioritized over air conditioning inside the vehicle (see e.g., Miyakoshi; [0055]), which corresponds with a target supply temperature for the cooled air blown into the vehicle compartment is increased; because the air cabin air conditioning is deprioritized, the target supply temperature for the cooled air blown into the vehicle is necessarily increased. Miyakoshi further describes the valves and sensors of the system to perform the prioritization function in [0055]. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle battery cooling device of Kinoshita to provide the valves and sensors as disclosed by Miyakoshi such that when the battery is rapidly charged and cooled air is supplied into the vehicle compartment, a target supply temperature for the cooled air blown into the vehicle compartment is increased. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent battery malfunctions caused by high temperatures (see e.g., Miyakoshi; [0007]-[0010]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kinoshita teaches the vehicle battery cooling device according to claim 3, wherein the increase in the upper limit rotation speed is determined based on a maximum allowable noise level during rapid charging of the battery (see e.g., Kinoshita; [0042]-[0044], fig. 3, regarding the upper limit rotation speed of the compressor based on the noise generated; wherein the upper limit rotation speed of the compressor is based on whether the volume of the background noise is equal to or greater than a predetermined value).
Conclusion
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728