DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2.Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raduchel et al. (US 10846958) in view of Troesch et al. (US 20170270732)
Regarding claim 1, Raduchel discloses a smart intercom device that provides a visitor with a means for communicating with an occupant on an intercom list (fig.4, facility intercom allowing Fed Ex visitor to communicate with an occupant), the smart intercom device comprising: a scanning sticker comprising a QR code (Col.11 lines 50-55 and Col.15 lines 45-48: Raduchel discusses how a system receives a scan of an image on an entrance of a facility using a camera of a visitor device; how the image can be a matrix barcode, QR code); a software application (Col.1 lines 30-33 and Col.11 lines 46-55: Raduchel discusses how the an intercom system downloading a mobile app or a computer program for communicating with an occupant); and a smart phone (fig.1, 102, 104 and fig.12C); wherein the QR code is displayed outside a building (Col.11 lines 52-55: a QR code located on a door of the front entrance); wherein the QR code corresponds to an intercom list of the building and its occupants (Col.11 lines 46-67 and fig.2, 202: Raduchel discusses how a visitor attempting to communicate with an occupant of the facility while the visitor is at a front entrance of a facility; and how a visitor use their visitor device to obtain a barcode (such as, a QR code) located on a door of the front entrance to communicate with an occupant); wherein a visitor scans the QR code to access an interface of the intercom list of the building (Col.11 lines 46-67, Col.15 lines 41-67 and fig.2, 102, 202: Raduchel discusses scan a barcode at the entrance of a facility using a visitor device to obtains a directory of a units or floors for the facility and makes the directory accessible through the facility intercom app); wherein the visitor can communicate with a selected occupant from the intercom list while maintaining privacy and safety of the selected occupant (Col.1 lines 24-26, Col.15 lines 41-67 and fig.2, 102, 202: Raduchel discusses an intercom system maintains the privacy and safety of the occupant while allowing a visitor to communicate securely with the occupant); and wherein the scanning sticker further comprises an indicia (Col.11 lines 52-59, Col.5 lines 45-48 and fig.2, 202: Raduchel discusses an image of a matrix barcode 202 (e.g., a QR code) located on a door of the front entrance; and a scan of an image on an entrance of a facility to access the building)
Raduchel discloses the invention set forth above but does not specifically mentioning “the QR code is an alphanumeric QR code”
Troesch however discloses a system wherein the QR code is an alphanumeric QR code (Paragraphs: 0008 and 0036: Troesch discusses how the entrance identification information being provided by a visual code, such as an alphanumeric string).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Raduchel, and modify a system wherein the QR code is an alphanumeric QR code, as taught by Troesch, thus unauthorized access into the building is prevented; and the entrance is prevented from unlock or opening for someone other than the intended visitor, as discussed by Troesch.
Regarding claim 12, Raduchel discloses a method of creating an association between a QR code and an occupant's contact information and then using this association to communicate with the occupant (Col.11 lines 46-67, Col.15 lines 41-67 and fig.2, 102, 202: Raduchel discusses scanning a barcode such as QR code at the entrance of a facility using a visitor device to obtains a directory of a units or floors for the facility and makes the directory accessible through the facility intercom app), the method comprising the following steps: inputting an occupant's contact information (Col.4 lines 48-55 and Col.10 lines 28-38: visitor had entered a name of the occupant, the unit number or a floor of an occupant that the visitor attempted to contact); sending the occupant's contact information to a server system (Col.7 lines 11-15 and fig.1, 110, 112, 114: Raduchel discusses how the centralized computer system containing a database ("centralized data storage") which stores occupant information, visitor information, and request information, i.e. upon sending the occupant's contact information to a server system); generating a scanning sticker comprising (Col.11 lines 50-55 and Col.15 lines 45-48: Raduchel discusses how a system receives a scan of an image on an entrance of a facility using a camera of a visitor device; how the image can be a matrix barcode, QR code) a QR code with the occupant's contact information (Col.11 lines 50-67: allows a visitor to communicate with an occupant of the facility using a QR code located on a door of the front entrance); and displaying the QR code at a building, such that visitors can view and scan the QR code for an interface of the building's intercom list (Col.11 lines 52-55: a QR code located on a door of the front entrance); and wherein the association is configured to provide a timestamp when the QR code is accessed (Col.11 lines 3-11: Raduchel discusses how an authorized visitor able to lookup a name of an occupant, or a name and unit number of an occupant; and how the provided access code, last for specified period of time, work for certain dates and times ( e.g., based on the schedule of the authorized visitor)).
Raduchel discloses the invention set forth above but does not specifically mentioning “the QR code is a numeric QR code”
Troesch however discloses a system wherein the QR code is a numeric QR code (Paragraph: 0036: Troesch discusses how the entrance identification information being provided by a visual code, such as, a number or a Metrix barcode)
Regarding claim 20, Raduchel discloses a method of scanning a QR code to communicate with an occupant on an intercom list (Col.11 lines 46-67 and fig.2, 202: Raduchel discusses how a visitor attempting to communicate with an occupant of the facility while the visitor is at a front entrance of a facility; and how a visitor use their visitor device to obtain a barcode (such as, a QR code) located on a door of the front entrance to communicate with an occupant), the method comprising the following steps: providing a smart intercom device comprising a scanning sticker comprising a (Col.11 lines 50-55 and Col.15 lines 45-48) scannable QR code that is associated with occupants on an intercom list for a specific building, office, home, or apartment (Col.11 lines 46-67 and fig.2, 202: Raduchel discusses how a visitor use their visitor device to obtain a barcode (such as, a QR code) located on a door of the front entrance to communicate with an occupant); scanning a specific QR code via a smart phone (Col.11 lines 46-67, Col.15 lines 41-67 and fig.2, 102, 202: Raduchel discusses scanning a barcode such as QR code at the entrance of a facility using a visitor device to obtains a directory of a units or floors for the facility and makes the directory accessible through the facility intercom app); contacting a specific occupant on the intercom list via the scanned QR code (Col.11 lines 46-67, Col.15 lines 41-67 and fig.2, 102, 202); and communicating with the specified occupant on the intercom list via the smart phone, as needed (Col.11 lines 50-67 and fig.2: allows a visitor to communicate with an occupant of the facility using a QR code located on a door of the front entrance); and wherein the scannable QR code is a kanji QR code (Col.11 lines 52-59 and fig.2, 202).
Raduchel discloses the invention set forth above but does not specifically mentioning “requiring a visitor to be within five meters of the specific building, office, home, or apartment prior to attempting to contact an occupant in the specific building, office, home, or apartment”
Troesch however discloses requiring a visitor to be within five meters of the specific building, office, home, or apartment prior to attempting to contact an occupant in the specific building, office, home, or apartment (Paragraphs: 0006 and 0008: Troesch discusses how a visitor is a person wishing to gain access into the building and requires permission to do so, and appropriate means to grant visitors access into the building; wherein the mobile device is regarded to be in close proximity of the entrance for instance when it is located within a distance of 20 m, in particular of 5 m, from the entrance)
Considering claim 2, Raduchel discloses the smart intercom device of claim 1, wherein the building includes a multi-unit dwelling, an apartment, a house, a townhouse, a condominium, a duplex, other residential facilities, an office, a gated area, or other commercial facilities (Col.4 lines 19-22: Raduchel discloses how a facility include, a multi-unit dwelling, an apartment, a house, a townhouse, a condominium, a duplex, other residential facilities, an office, a gated area, other commercial facilities, etc.).
Considering claim 3, Raduchel discloses the smart intercom device of claim 2, wherein the visitor includes a delivery person, a potential client, a client, a potential employee, an employee, a potential work associate, a work associate, or a social guest (Col.10 lines 50-57: Raduchel discusses how authorized visitors also include employees of the facility, contractors hired by the facility, etc.).
Considering claim 4, Raduchel discloses the smart intercom device of claim 3, wherein the QR code corresponds to the intercom list as a whole (Col.16 lines 5-10, Col.15 lines 45-67, fig.2, 202 and fig.17A: QR code for tenant directory).
Considering claim 5, Raduchel discloses the smart intercom device of claim 3, wherein the QR code corresponds to a specific occupant from the intercom list (Col.11 lines 36-59 and fig.9: Raduchel discusses visitor communicate with occupant of the facility while the visitor is at a front entrance using a QR code located on a door of a front entrance).
Considering 6, Raduchel discloses the smart intercom device of claim 5, wherein each occupant on the intercom list creates a profile on the corresponding software application (Col.1 lines 34-49, Col.7 lines 12-60 and fig.1. 110: Raduchel discusses how the centralized computer system containing a database ("centralized data storage”) which stores occupant information).
Considering claim 7, Raduchel discloses the smart intercom device of claim 6, wherein the profile is linked to an individual QR code (Col.11 lines 46-59 and fig.2, 102, 202: Raduchel discusses how a visitor can use their visitor device to obtain an image of a matrix barcode (e.g., a QR code) located on a door of the front entrance to communicating with an occupant).
Considering claim 8, Raduchel discloses the smart intercom device of claim 7, wherein the smart phone of a visitor is used to scan the individual QR code (fig.2, 102, 202).
Considering claim 9, Raduchel discloses the smart intercom device of claim 8, wherein once the individual QR code is scanned, the interface is displayed on the visitor's smart phone (Col.11 lines 46-59 and fig.2, 102, 202).
Considering claim 10, Raduchel discloses the smart intercom device of claim 9, wherein the visitor can choose how to contact the specified occupant, either calling, messaging, or sending an alert (Col.17 lines 13-60 and Col.19 lines 11-15: communication between occupant and visitor by means of communication include, for example, a voice call, text message, video call, etc.).
Considering claim 11, Raduchel discloses the smart intercom device of claim 10, wherein the call, message, or alert is then sent to the specified occupant and the visitor is now able to communicate with the specified occupant to determine if they are home or can come pick up a package or open the building's door (Col.2 lines 23-39 and Col.5 lines 6-40: Raduchel discusses how the system unlock an entrance of the facility upon communicating between occupant and visitor; and how an occupant choose to initiate a conversation with the visitor to obtain additional information through a notification, a text message, a voice call, or a video call).
Considering claim 13, Raduchel discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the QR code is uniquely associated with the building's intercom list (Col.15 lines 45-67: Raduchel discusses how the computer system receives a scan of an image on an entrance of a facility using a camera of a visitor device; and obtains a directory of a units or floors for the facility and makes the directory accessible through the facility intercom app).
Considering claim 14, Raduchel discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the QR code uniquely identifies a specified occupant from the intercom list (Col.15 lines 45-67 and fig.12B: obtains a directory of a units or floors for the facility and makes the directory accessible through the facility intercom app).
Considering claim 15, Raduchel discloses the method of claim 14, wherein a database of QR codes is maintained on a server system with which a smart phone can communicate (Col.7 lines 5-22, Col.8 lines 1-19 and Col.11 lines 46-59).
Considering claim 16, Raduchel discloses the method of claim 15, wherein a software application on the smart phone can access the database to identify whether a QR code request is defined in the database (Col.7 lines 61-67, Col.11 lines 46-55 and Col.15 lines 45-67: Raduchel discusses how an intercom system may require that the visitor be within a certain area near the facility or a specific entrance of the facility before it established communication between the visitor and the occupant through a third-party application or system; and how in order to download a mobile app or a computer program for communicating with an occupant, or to gain access to a website for communicating with an occupant, a visitor can use their visitor device to obtain an image of a matrix barcode (e.g., a QR code) located on a door of the front entrance).
Considering claim 17, Raduchel discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the QR code requests can be timestamped, and identify a unit number, a floor, or a name of a specified occupant (Col.11 lines 46-67, fig.8B and fig.13A).
Considering claim 18, Raduchel discloses the method of claim 17, wherein a visitor needs to authenticate themselves on the interface or be within a predetermined boundary before contacting the specified occupant (Col.12 lines 33-51 and fig.18A: Raduchel discusses how the system verify that the visitor device is within one or more predetermined area, before sending a communication request from the visitor to an occupant of the facility).
Considering claim 19, Raduchel discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the visitor only lookups a unit number or a floor of the occupant without revealing name of the occupant; or looks up the name of the occupant without revealing the unit number, the floor, or phone number of the occupant (Col.3 lines 33-35 and Col.4 lines 37-47: Raduchel discusses intercom system provides increased privacy and security for the occupant by limiting a visitor's access to identifying information; and how the system allow a visitor to lookup a unit number or a floor of the occupant without revealing the name of the occupant and/or a phone number of the occupant).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicants argue, the amended claims now require a scanning sticker comprising QR code and the scanning sticker further comprises an indicia. Applicants also argue, the amended claims now require the QR codes to be an alphanumeric QR code and a numeric QR code. applicants further argue the newly amended claim now requiring “a visitor to be within five meters of the specific building, office, home, or apartment prior to attempting to contact an occupant in the specific building, office, home, or apartment”
Examiner respectfully disagrees . The newly found art disclose the argued claims limitations. The newly found art (Troesch et al.) discloses how the entrance identification information being provided by a visual code, such as an alphanumeric string and a code can be, a number or a Metrix barcode (Troesch: Paragraphs: 0008 and 0036). The newly found art (Troesch et al.) also discloses how a visitor is a person wishing to gain access into the building and requires permission to do so, and appropriate means to grant visitors access into the building; wherein the mobile device is regarded to be in close proximity of the entrance for instance when it is located within a distance of 20 m, in particular of 5 m, from the entrance (Troesch: Paragraphs: 0006 and 0008). Therefore, the prior arts of the record disclosed the argued claims limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
YOSEF K. LAEKEMARIAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2651
/YOSEF K LAEKEMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691