DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response to application filed on 02/02/2024. Claims 1-20 were previously pending. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 02/02/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
4. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
in paragraph [0041], [0050] cited " RFPS" should be --RFSP--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5.1. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
5.2. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
5.3. Claims 1, 3-4, 7-10, 14-16, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Gundavelli et al., (“Gun”, US 2022/0060893 A1) in view of Sadek, (“Sad”, US 2025/0093179 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Gun teaches, a method performed by a mobility management node of a mobile core network, the method comprising:
obtaining, from a user equipment (UE) that is connected to first wireless wide area (WWA) radio access technology (RAT) type, a request for the UE to connect to a second WWA RAT type, wherein the request includes (Gun, FIG.1, UE 102, WWA 110, enterprise standalone non-public network (SNPN) 120, 130, access network infrastructure 111, [0028]: access network infrastructure 111 for a 5G WWA access network 110 may include any number of 5G mobile core network elements, [0032]: private WWA access networks (e.g., 3GPP 4G networks), as may be provided via enterprise SNPN 130; [0029]: SNPN 130 may are managed/operated by the enterprise entity associated with enterprise network 120; FIG.7A, [0095]: Request for SNPN credentials for the UE [enterprise UE Id, private WWA network metadata (“WWA RAT type”, location);
querying a subscription management element of the mobile core network to determine whether the UE is subscribed to connect to the second WWA RAT type at the location of the UE (Gun, FIG.7A, S704-S708, [0093-95]: determines whether UE 102 is to receive the SNPN provisioning service, validates the eligibility of UE 102 to participate in the SNPN credential management services/procedures (“2nd WWA RAT type”)); and
based, at least in part upon determining that the UE is subscribed to connect to the second WWA RAT type at the location, sending a policy to the UE that includes an indicator of the second WWA RAT type to cause the UE to connect to the second WWA RAT type (Gun, FIG.7B, S736: [0095]: UE can now connect to enterprise SNPN 120 (“2nd WWA RAT type”) using SNPN credentials ).
Gun does not expressly teach
the request includes a location indicator identifying a location of the UE.
Sad teaches (Sad, FIG.10, wireless device 1002, network node 1006, request 1008, [0113]: The request 1008 may include an indicator of a location (e.g., a cell ID) associated with the wireless device 1002).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “location indicator” of Sad into the invention of Gun. The suggestion/motivation would have been for facilitating wireless communication at a UE to employ multiple-access technologies (Sad, [0002-3]). Including the “location indicator” of Sad into the invention of Gun was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Sad.
Regarding Claim 3, Gun-Sad teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the mobility management node is an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) and the subscription management element is a Unified Data Management (UDM) element (Gu, FIG.1, access network infrastructure 111, [0028]: access network infrastructure 111 for a 5G WWA access network include any number of 5G mobile core network elements, such as AMF, UDM).
Regarding Claim 4, Gun-Sad teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the first WWA RAT type is a Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) Fifth Generation/New Radio RAT type and the second WWA RAT type is a 3GPP Fourth Generation/Long Term Evolution RAT type (Gun, [0028]: WWA 110 (“1st WWA RAT type”) is a 5G RAT network type, [0032]: private WWA access network 120 is 4G network (“2nd WWA RAT type”)).
Regarding Claim 7, Gun-Sad teaches, the method of claim 1, further comprising:
performing an authorization exchange with a policy function of the mobile core network to obtain the indicator of the second WWA RAT type from the policy function based on the UE being authorized to connect to the second WWA RAT type (Gun, FIG.7B, S702c, [0093]: determines UE needs SNPN credential provisioning service using UE capability and indication or network policy; S706, [0094-95]: validates if 5G WWA (“1st WWA RAT type”) should be allow for this service and validates device ID for eligibility of operation).
Regarding Claim 8, Gun-Sad teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the location indicator is a cell identifier for a radio node of the first WWA RAT type with which the UE is connected (Gun, FIG.7A, [0092]: UE 102 is connected to WWA 110 (“1st WWA RAT type”). Combined Gun, [0092]-Sad, [0113] teaches location indicator included in the request sent by UE 102 is a cell identifier of a WWA 110).
Regarding Claim 9, Gun-Sad teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the request is a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) request message obtained from the UE (Gun, [0056]: EAP framework and can be extended and/or otherwise enhanced/integrated into non-EAP based authentication protocols, such as Evolved Packet System (EPS) AKA (EPS-AKA) in which information/elements can be carried over the 3GPP Non-Access Stratum (NAS) protocol).
Regarding Claim 10, Gun teaches, one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations, comprising (Gun, claim 10: One or more non-transitory computer readable storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations):
obtaining, from a user equipment (UE) that is connected to first wireless wide area (WWA) radio access technology (RAT) type of a mobile core network, a request for the UE to connect to a second WWA RAT type, wherein the request includes (Gun, FIG.1, UE 102, WWA 110, enterprise standalone non-public network (SNPN) 120, 130, access network infrastructure 111, [0028]: access network infrastructure 111 for a 5G WWA access network 110 may include any number of 5G mobile core network elements, [0032]: private WWA access networks (e.g., 3GPP 4G networks), as may be provided via enterprise SNPN 130; [0029]: SNPN 130 are managed/operated by the enterprise entity associated with enterprise network 120; FIG.7A, [0095]: Request for SNPN credentials for the UE [enterprise UE Id, private WWA network metadata (“WWA RAT type”, location,);
querying a subscription management element of the mobile core network to determine whether the UE is subscribed to connect to the second WWA RAT type at the location of the UE (Gun, FIG.7A, S704-S708, [0093-95]: determines whether UE 102 is to receive the SNPN provisioning service, validates the eligibility of UE 102 to participate in the SNPN credential management services/procedures (“2nd WWA RAT type”)); and
based, at least in part upon determining that the UE is subscribed to connect to the second WWA RAT type at the location, sending a policy to the UE that includes an indicator of the second WWA RAT type to cause the UE to connect to the second WWA RAT type (Gun, FIG.7B, S736: [0095]: UE can now connect to enterprise SNPN 120 (“2nd WWA RAT type”) using SNPN credentials).
Gun does not expressly teach
the request includes a location indicator identifying a location of the UE.
Sad teaches (Sad, FIG.10, wireless device 1002, network node 1006, request 1008, [0113]: The request 1008 may include an indicator of a location (e.g., a cell ID) associated with the wireless device 1002).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “location indicator” of Sad into the invention of Gun. The suggestion/motivation would have been for facilitating wireless communication at a UE to employ multiple-access technologies (Sad, [0002-3]). Including the “location indicator” of Sad into the invention of Gun was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Sad.
Regarding Claim 14, Gun-Sad teaches, the media of claim 10, wherein the instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform further operations, comprising:
performing an authorization exchange with a policy function of the mobile core network to obtain the indicator of the second WWA RAT type from the policy function based on the UE being authorized to connect to the second WWA RAT type (Gun, FIG.7B, S702c, [0093]: determines UE needs SNPN credential provisioning service using UE capability and indication or network policy; S706, [0094-95]: validates if 5G WWA (“1st WWA RAT type”) should be allow for this service and validates device ID for eligibility of operation).
Regarding Claim 15, Gun-Sad teaches, the media of claim 10, wherein the location indicator is a cell identifier for a radio node of the first WWA RAT type with which the UE is connected ((Gun, FIG.7A, [0092]: UE 102 is connected to WWA 110 (“1st WWA RAT type”). Combined Gun, [0092]-Sad, [0113] teaches location indicator included in the request sent by UE 102 is a cell identifier of a WWA 110).
Regarding Claim 16, Gun teaches, a mobility management node of a mobile core network comprising (Gu, FIG.1, access network infrastructure 111, [0028]: access network infrastructure 111 for a 5G WWA access network include any number of 5G mobile core network elements):
at least one memory element for storing data; and at least one processor for executing instructions associated with the data, wherein executing the instructions causes the mobility management node to perform operations, comprising (Gun, claim 10: One or more non-transitory computer readable storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations):
obtaining, from a user equipment (UE) that is connected to first wireless wide area (WWA) radio access technology (RAT) type, a request for the UE to connect to a second WWA RAT type, wherein the request includes (Gun, FIG.1, UE 102, WWA 110, enterprise standalone non-public network (SNPN) 120, 130, access network infrastructure 111, [0028]: access network infrastructure 111 for a 5G WWA access network 110 may include any number of 5G mobile core network elements, [0032]: private WWA access networks (e.g., 3GPP 4G networks), as may be provided via enterprise SNPN 130; [0029]: SNPN 130 may are managed/operated by the enterprise entity associated with enterprise network 120; FIG.7A, [0095]: Request for SNPN credentials for the UE [enterprise UE Id, private WWA network metadata (“WWA RAT type”, location);
querying a subscription management element of the mobile core network to determine whether the UE is subscribed to connect to the second WWA RAT type at the location of the UE (Gun, FIG.7A, S704-S708, [0093-95]: determines whether UE 102 is to receive the SNPN provisioning service, validates the eligibility of UE 102 to participate in the SNPN credential management services/procedures (“2nd WWA RAT type”)); and
based, at least in part upon determining that the UE is subscribed to connect to the second WWA RAT type at the location, sending a policy to the UE that includes an indicator of the second WWA RAT type to cause the UE to connect to the second WWA RAT type (Gun, FIG.7B, S736: [0095]: UE can now connect to enterprise SNPN 120 (“2nd WWA RAT type) using SNPN credentials).
Gun does not expressly teach
the request includes a location indicator identifying a location of the UE.
Sad teaches (Sad, FIG.10, wireless device 1002, network node 1006, request 1008, [0113]: The request 1008 may include an indicator of a location (e.g., a cell ID) associated with the wireless device 1002).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “location indicator” of Sad into the invention of Gun. The suggestion/motivation would have been for facilitating wireless communication at a UE to employ multiple-access technologies (Sad, [0002-3]). Including the “location indicator” of Sad into the invention of Gun was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Sad.
Regarding Claim 18, Gun-Sad teaches, the mobility management node of claim 16, wherein the first WWA RAT type is a Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) Fifth Generation/New Radio RAT type and the second WWA RAT type is a 3GPP Fourth Generation/Long Term Evolution RAT type (Gun, [0028]: WWA 110 (“1st WWA RAT type”) is a 5G RAT network type, [0032]: private WWA access network 120 is a 4G network (“2nd WWA RAT type”)).
Regarding Claim 20, Gun-Sad teaches, the mobility management node of claim 16, wherein executing the instructions causes the mobility management node to perform further operations, comprising:
performing an authorization exchange with a policy function of the mobile core network to obtain the indicator of the second WWA RAT type from the policy function based on the UE being authorized to connect to the second WWA RAT type (Gun, FIG.7B, S702c, [0093]: determines UE needs SNPN credential provisioning service using UE capability and indication or network policy; S706, [0094-95]: validates if 5G WWA (“1st WWA RAT type”) should be allow for this service and validates device ID for eligibility of operation).
5.4. Claims 2, 11, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundavelli et al., (“Gun”, US 2022/0060893 A1) in view of Sadek, (“Sad”, US 2025/0093179 A1), and further in view of Faccin et al., (“Fac”, US 2015/0327129 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Gun-Sad teaches, the method of claim 1, but not expressly teaches wherein the indicator of the second WWA RAT type is a RAT/Frequency Selection Priority (RFSP) index for the second WWA RAT type.
Fac teaches (Fac, [0013]: receiving an indication instructing the mobile device to camp on a RAT associated with the WWAN; the indication comprises a RFSP index value prioritizing connection of the apparatus to the RAT)
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “RFSP” of Fac into the invention of Gun-Sad. The suggestion/motivation would have been enable RAT may be UTRAN in order to allow the mobile device to continue receiving RAN assistance information related to the WWAN (Fac, [0013]). Including the “RFSP” of Fac into the invention of Gun-Sad was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Fac.
Regarding Claim 11, Gun-Sad teaches, the media of claim 10, but not expressly teaches wherein the indicator of the second WWA RAT type is a RAT/Frequency Selection Priority (RFSP) index for the second WWA RAT type.
Fac teaches (Fac, [0013]: receiving an indication instructing the mobile device to camp on a RAT associated with the WWAN; the indication comprises a RFSP index value prioritizing connection of the apparatus to the RAT)
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “RFSP” of Fac into the invention of Gun-Sad. The suggestion/motivation would have been enable RAT may be UTRAN in order to allow the mobile device to continue receiving RAN assistance information related to the WWAN (Fac, [0013]). Including the “RFSP” of Fac into the invention of Gun-Sad was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Fac.
Regarding Claim 17, Gun-Sad teaches, the mobility management node of claim 16, but not expressly teaches wherein the indicator of the second WWA RAT type is a RAT/Frequency Selection Priority (RFSP) index for the second WWA RAT type.
Fac teaches (Fac, [0013]: receiving an indication instructing the mobile device to camp on a RAT associated with the WWAN; the indication comprises a RFSP index value prioritizing connection of the apparatus to the RAT)
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “RFSP” of Fac into the invention of Gun-Sad. The suggestion/motivation would have been enable RAT may be UTRAN in order to allow the mobile device to continue receiving RAN assistance information related to the WWAN (Fac, [0013]). Including the “RFSP” of Fac into the invention of Gun-Sad was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Fac.
5.5. Claims 5-6, 12-13, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundavelli et al., (“Gun”, US 2022/0060893 A1) in view of Sadek, (“Sad”, US 2025/0093179 A1), and further in view of Cho et al., ("Cho", US 2017/0339725 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Gun-Sad teaches, the method of claim 1, but not expressly teaches wherein the request further includes a cause indicator indicating a cause for the request for the UE to connect to the second WWA RAT type.
Cho teaches (Cho, [0107]: the request includes an event type indicating the quality of the Wi-Fi network (“1st WWA RAT type”) is bad and a cause for the request indicating transition from the Wi-Fi network to the cellular network (“2nd WWA RAT type”)).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “transition cause” of Cho into the invention of Gun-Sad. The suggestion/motivation would have been enabled efficiently performing connection between first and second network according to the virtual bearer (Cho, [0107]). Including the “transition cause” of Cho into the invention of Gun-Sad was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Cho.
Regarding Claim 6, Gun-Sad-Cho teaches, the method of claim 5, wherein the cause indicator indicates a poor quality of the first WWA RAT type (Cho, [0107]: the request includes an event type indicating the quality of the Wi-Fi network (“1st WWA RAT type”) is bad and a cause for the request indicating transition from the Wi-Fi network to the cellular network (“2nd WWA RAT type”)).
Regarding Claim 12, Gun-Sad teaches, the media of claim 10, but not expressly teaches wherein the request further includes a cause indicator indicating a cause for the request for the UE to connect to the second WWA RAT type.
Cho teaches (Cho, [0107]: the request includes an event type indicating the quality of the Wi-Fi network (“1st WWA RAT type”) is bad and a cause for the request indicating transition from the Wi-Fi network to the cellular network (“2nd WWA RAT type”)).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “transition cause” of Cho into the invention of Gun-Sad. The suggestion/motivation would have been enabled efficiently performing connection between first and second network according to the virtual bearer (Cho, [0107]). Including the “transition cause” of Cho into the invention of Gun-Sad was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Cho.
Regarding Claim 13, Gun-Sad teaches, the media of claim 10, but not expressly teaches wherein the cause indicator indicates a poor quality of the first WWA RAT type.
Cho teaches (Cho, [0107]: the request includes an event type indicating the quality of the Wi-Fi network (“1st WWA RAT type”) is bad and a cause for the request indicating transition from the Wi-Fi network to the cellular network (“2nd WWA RAT type”)).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “transition cause” of Cho into the invention of Gun-Sad. The suggestion/motivation would have been enabled efficiently performing connection between first and second network according to the virtual bearer (Cho, [0107]). Including the “transition cause” of Cho into the invention of Gun-Sad was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Cho.
Regarding Claim 19, Gun-Sad teaches, the mobility management node of claim 16, but not expressly teaches wherein the request further includes a cause indicator indicating a cause for the request for the UE to connect to the second WWA RAT type.
Cho teaches (Cho, [0107]: the request includes an event type indicating the quality of the Wi-Fi network (“1st WWA RAT type”) is bad and a cause for the request indicating transition from the Wi-Fi network to the cellular network (“2nd WWA RAT type”)).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “transition cause” of Cho into the invention of Gun-Sad. The suggestion/motivation would have been enabled efficiently performing connection between first and second network according to the virtual bearer (Cho, [0107]). Including the “transition cause” of Cho into the invention of Gun-Sad was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Cho.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Parikh et al., US 2022/0408301 A1, Method for facilitating radio access technology (RAT) Type usage differentiation for differential charging in fifth generation (5G) non-standalone (NSA) architecture deployment, involves sending message indicating request for charging to charging server.
be directed to CHHIAN (AMY) LING whose telephone number is (571)270-1074. The examiner can
normally be reached M-F 9-6 ET.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
BRIAN J GILLIS can be reached on (571) 272-7952. The fax phone number for the organization where
this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions,
contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance
from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-
1000.
/C.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2446
/BRIAN J. GILLIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446