DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response to communication filed on 04/13/2026. Claims 1-18 were previously pending. Claims 3, 6, 9-12, 15-16 are objected, and Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 13-14, and 17-18 are rejected.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s arguments, with respect to Election/Restrictions have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the previous Election/Restriction request has been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 13 objected to because of the following informalities: “execute instructions” should be --execute instructions stored in memory--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5.1. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
5.2. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 13-14, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al.., (“Wang”, US 2022/0149997 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches, A method comprising:
receiving first configured grant (CG) configuration information from a network device (Wang, FIG.3, [0203]: receive a CG configuration and configures four sets of semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) parameters for this CG configuration, wherein the first set of semi-persistent from a base station indicates a frequency domain resource, a time domain resource, a pilot information (DMRS), an MCS, and a TBS by using a set of signaling);
obtaining first period duration M1 of a first CG period based on the first CG configuration information, wherein M1 is greater than zero (Wang, FIG.3, period P, [0203]: The time domain resource information indicates that the period P=1 (“M1”) slot);
obtaining a quantity X of CGs in the first CG period, wherein X is an integer greater than zero (Wang, FIG.3, [0203] CG configuration includes 4 sets (“quantity X”) of CGs in period P=1); and
sending uplink data to the network device based on the first period duration M1 and the quantity X of the CGs (Wang, [0204]: transmit the PDSCH/PUSCH on the time domain resources of multiple sets of SPS/CG configurations).
Regarding Claim 2, Wang teaches, The method according to claim 1, wherein sending the uplink data to the network device based on the first period duration M1 and the quantity X of the CGs further comprises:
determining a start location of at least one CG in the first CG period based on the first period duration M1 and the quantity X of the CGs (Wang, FIG.3, [0203; and
sending the uplink data to the network device based on the start location of the at least one CG in the first CG period (Wang, [0204]: in one period, the transmitting end may attempt to transmit the PDSCH/PUSCH on the time domain resources of multiple sets of SPS/CG configurations).
Regarding Claim 4, Wang teaches, The method according to claim 1, wherein obtaining the quantity X of CGs in the first CG period further comprises: obtaining the quantity X of the CGs in the first CG period based on the first CG configuration information (Wang, [0007]: For example, if the base station configures the period P of the CG transmission as 7 symbols, and assumes that the time length of the one PUSCH transmission is 2 symbols, the base station can configure K=3 repetitions at most, so that the time domain duration of the K CG PUSCHs is not more than the period; FIG.3, [0203]: includes four sets (X=4”) of CG configurations in the period P = 1 slot).
Regarding Claim 5, Wang teaches, The method according to claim 1, wherein obtaining the quantity X of CGs in the first CG period further comprises: obtaining the quantity X of the CGs in the first CG period based on downlink control information (DCI) (Wang, [0193]: Preferably, if base station configures multiple sets of SPS/CG configurations for the UE and one DCI can simultaneously indicate SPS parameters of multiple sets of SPS/CG configurations, the number/or index of SPS/CG configuration indicated in the DCI needs to be configured, and for each set of SPS/CG configuration, there are X bits respectively indicating one set of SPS parameters of the 2X sets of SPS parameters).
Regarding Claim 7, Wang teaches, A method comprising:
receiving second configured grant (CG) configuration information from a network device (Wang, [0203]: receive a CG configuration and configures four sets of semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) parameters for this CG configuration, wherein the first set of semi-persistent from a base station indicates a frequency domain resource, a time domain resource, a pilot information (DMRS), an MCS, and a TBS by using a set of signaling);
obtaining second period duration M2 of a second CG period based on the second CG configuration information, wherein M2 is greater than zero (Wang, FIG.3, period P, [0203]: The time domain resource information indicates that the period P=1 (“M2”) slot);
obtaining a reference offset o of a start location of a CG in the second CG period (Wang, FIG.7, [0266]: the starting symbol for transmitting the first SPS/CG PDSCH/PUSCH is determined to be the symbol #12 (rounded up ((mod (2.8 ms, one slot length)/one OFDM symbol length)) of the slot #2 (rounded down (mod (2.8 ms, one system frame length)/one slot length 1 ms)) of the SFN #0 (rounded down (2.8 ms/one system frame length 10 ms)) according to the time offset, wherein mod represents a modulo operation); and
sending uplink data to the network device based on the second period duration M2 and the reference offset o (Wang, [0267]: the SPS/CG PDSCH/PUSCH candidate transmission location is determined according to the configured data arrival time, the configured SPS/CG transmission period T2 (“M2”) and the time offset, and the SPS/CG PDSCH/PUSCH is transmitted in the candidate transmission location).
Regarding Claim 8, Wang teaches, The method according to claim 7, wherein sending the uplink data to the network device based on the second period duration M2 and the reference offset o further comprises: determining the start location of the CG in the second CG period based on the second period duration M2 and the reference offset o (Wang, FIG.8, [0269]: the first data arrives in slot #4 of SFN i, and therefore it is transmitted on the SPS PDSCH of slot #5, and the second data arrives in slot #9 of SFN i+1, which is later than the SPS PDSCH candidate transmission location in slot #5 of SFN I, therefore); and
sending the uplink data to the network device based on the start location of the CG (Wang, [0269]: transmitted on the next SPS PDSCH candidate transmission location, that is, the SPS PDSCH in the slot #5 of SFN i+2.).
Regarding Claim 13, Wang teaches, An apparatus comprising:
one or more processors to execute instructions that configure the apparatus to (Wang, FIG.11, UE 1100, [0365, 401]: an UE 1100 includes a processor; and a memory, configured to store machine readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the semi-persistent scheduling (SPS)):
receive first configured grant (CG) configuration information from a network device (Wang, ;
obtain first period duration M1 of a first CG period based on the first CG configuration information, wherein M1 is greater than zero (Wang, FIG.3, period P, [0203]: The time domain resource information indicates that the period P=1 (“M1”) slot);
obtain a quantity X of CGs in the first CG period, wherein X is an integer greater than zero (Wang, FIG.3, [0203] CG configuration includes 4 sets (“quantity X”) of CGs in period P=1); and
send uplink data to the network device based on the first period duration M1 and the quantity X of the CGs (Wang, [0204]: transmit the PDSCH/PUSCH on the time domain resources of multiple sets of SPS/CG configurations).
Regarding Claim 14, Wang teaches, The apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the apparatus is further configured to:
determine a start location of at least one CG in the first CG period based on the first period duration M1 and the quantity X of the CGs (Wang, FIG.3, [0203; and
send the uplink data to the network device based on the start location of the at least one CG in the first CG period (Wang, [0204]: in one period, the transmitting end may attempt to transmit the PDSCH/PUSCH on the time domain resources of multiple sets of SPS/CG configurations).
Regarding Claim 17, Wang teaches, The apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the apparatus is further configured to obtain the quantity X of the CGs in the first CG period based on the first CG configuration information (Wang, [0007]: For example, if the base station configures the period P of the CG transmission as 7 symbols, and assumes that the time length of the one PUSCH transmission is 2 symbols, the base station can configure K=3 repetitions at most, so that the time domain duration of the K CG PUSCHs is not more than the period; FIG.3, [0203]: includes four sets (X=4”) of CG configurations in the period P = 1 slot).
Regarding Claim 18, Wang teaches, The apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the apparatus is further configured to obtain the quantity X of the CGs in the first CG period based on downlink control information (DCI) (Wang, [0193]: Preferably, if base station configures multiple sets of SPS/CG configurations for the UE and one DCI can simultaneously indicate SPS parameters of multiple sets of SPS/CG configurations, the number/or index of SPS/CG configuration indicated in the DCI needs to be configured, and for each set of SPS/CG configuration, there are X bits respectively indicating one set of SPS parameters of the 2X sets of SPS parameters).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 3, 6, 9-12 and 15-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to teach neither singly nor in combination, the claimed limitations of
“((SFNi×a×n)+(ei×n)+gi)=((SFN1×a×n)+(e×n)+y+[(i−1)×M1/X])mod(1024×a×n)”
stated in claims 3, 6, 15-16;
“((SFN2×a2×n2)+(e2×n2)+y2)=(R×a2×n2+D×n2+S+j×M2+[j×o])mod(1024×a2×n2)”
stated in claims 9, 11;
“((SFN2×a2×n2)+(e2×n2)+y2)=(a2×n2×c+d×n2+f+j×M2+[j×o])mod(1024×a2×n2)”
stated in claims 10, 12.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Wang et al., US 2022/0149997 A1, Method For Scheduling Semi-persistent Performed By Base Station, Involves Performing Semi-persistent Scheduling Data Transmission Based On Configuration Information Of Semi-persistent Scheduling Parameters.
Wang et al., US 2022/0232639 A1, Method Related To Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) Repetitions, Involves Transmitting Message PUSCH For Transport Block (TB) And Selecting Number Of Repetitions From Set Of Candidate Numbers Based On Modulation And Coding Scheme (MCS) Field.
be directed to CHHIAN (AMY) LING whose telephone number is (571)270-1074. The examiner can
normally be reached M-F 9-6 ET.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
BRIAN J GILLIS can be reached on (571) 272-7952. The fax phone number for the organization where
this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions,
contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance
from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-
1000.
/C.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2446
/BRIAN J. GILLIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446