DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the amendment application on 12/30/2025.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on 30 December, 2025. Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 6, and 11 and 16 have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sayana et al. (US2012/0213261), hereinafter “D1”, in view of Seo et al. (International Publication No. WO 2012/099319 A1, hereinafter "D2''), and further in view of Hammarwall et al. (US 20150110064 A1), (hereinafter “D3”).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a method for transmitting channel state information (CSI) by a user equipment (UE) ([see, [0046-0047], CSI reference signal configurations transmitting]), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (BS), first configuration information ([see, [0025], base station transmits configuration information to at least one user equipment (UE)]) configuring a first interference measurement resource (IMR) ([see, [0076], performing interference measurements comprises performing a first interference estimate on a first zero-power reference signal of the two or more zero-power reference signals]);
receiving, from the BS, second configuration information ([see, [0067], BS 110 then transmits (1014) configuration information to the UE that corresponds to a set of Res]) configuring a second IMR ([see, [0076], performing a second interference estimate based on a second zero-power reference signal]), in case that the UE is configured with CSI subframe sets (i.e., set of Res) ([see, [0067, 0080], the CSI reference signal configuration that maps to a set of Res]);
receiving, from the BS, third configuration information configuring a zero-power (ZP) CSI-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource ([see, [0026, 0050], receiving configuration information of at least one zero-power reference signal with zero transmission power]); and
transmitting, to the BS, a CSI ([see, [0071], BS 110 then schedules (1020) a transmission for each reporting UE based on the received feedback information]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: the configuration information configuring a first interference measurement resource (IMR) and a second IMR.
However, D2 discloses the configuration information configuring a first interference measurement resource (IMR) and a second IMR ([see, page 4, lines 15-25, receiving first Channel Status Information (CSI) configuration information and second CSI configuration information from the serving cell, measuring CSI based on the first CSI configuration information in a subframe designated in the interference measurement subframe set]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of D1 to use the first configuration information configuring a first interference measurement resource (IMR) and a second IMR as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide radio access technologies continue to be developed results interference in wireless communication system is reduced while improving transmission reliability and transmission rate (D2, page 20, lines 9-11).
The combination of D1 and D2 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the ZP CSI-RS resource overlaps with at least one of the first IMR and the second IMR.
However, D3 discloses wherein the ZP CSI-RS resource overlaps with at least one of the first IMR and the second IMR ([see, [0103], and provisional on page 25 of 38, paragraph 3, IMR may be configured to be covered by, overlap with or coincide with Time-Frequency Resource Elements, TFREs, of a zero power Channel State Information-Reference Signal, CSI-RS, configuration applied for the receiving node 540]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of D1 to use the first configuration information configuring a first interference measurement resource (IMR) and a second IMR as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the ZP CSI-RS resource results improve data transmission capability that facilitating the high-speed packet data transmission and maximizing the throughput of the radio communication system (D2, ¶ [0005]).
As per Claim 11, D1 discloses a user equipment (UE) for transmitting channel state information (CSI) ([see, transmitting CSIs, Fig. 3]), the UE comprising:
a transceiver (see, the UE with receiving module disclosed, Fig. 9); and a processor coupled with the transceiver (see, the UE disclosed, Fig. 9) and configured to control to:
receive, from a base station (BS), first configuration information ([see, [0025], base station transmits configuration information to at least one user equipment (UE)]) configuring a first interference measurement resource (IMR) ([see, [0076], performing interference measurements comprises performing a first interference estimate on a first zero-power reference signal of the two or more zero-power reference signals]),
receive, from the BS, second configuration information ([see, [0067], BS 110 then transmits (1014) configuration information to the UE that corresponds to a set of Res]) configuring a second IMR ([see, [0076], performing a second interference estimate based on a second zero-power reference signal]), in case that the UE is configured with CSI subframe sets(i.e., set of Res) ([see, [0067, 0080], the CSI reference signal configuration that maps to a set of Res]),
receive, from the BS, third configuration information configuring a zero-power (ZP) CSI-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource ([see, [0026, 0050], receiving configuration information of at least one zero-power reference signal with zero transmission power]), and
transmit, to the BS, a CSI ([see, [0071], BS 110 then schedules (1020) a transmission for each reporting UE based on the received feedback information]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: the configuration information configuring a first interference measurement resource (IMR) and a second IMR.
However, D2 discloses the configuration information configuring a first interference measurement resource (IMR) and a second IMR ([see, page 4, lines 15-25, receiving first Channel Status Information (CSI) configuration information and second CSI configuration information from the serving cell, measuring CSI based on the first CSI configuration information in a subframe designated in the interference measurement subframe set]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of D1 to use the first configuration information configuring a first interference measurement resource (IMR) and a second IMR as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide radio access technologies continue to be developed results interference in wireless communication system is reduced while improving transmission reliability and transmission rate (D2, page 20, lines 9-11).
The combination of D1 and D2 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the ZP CSI-RS resource overlaps with at least one of the first IMR and the second IMR.
However, D3 discloses wherein the ZP CSI-RS resource overlaps with at least one of the first IMR and the second IMR ([see, [0103], and provisional on page 25 of 38, paragraph 3, IMR may be configured to be covered by, overlap with or coincide with Time-Frequency Resource Elements, TFREs, of a zero power Channel State Information-Reference Signal, CSI-RS, configuration applied for the receiving node 540]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of D1 to use the first configuration information configuring a first interference measurement resource (IMR) and a second IMR as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Managing Resource Elements results improved if both the transmitter and the receiver are equipped with multiple antennas, which results in a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communication channel (D2, ¶ [0008]).
As per Claims 2, 12, D1 further discloses wherein the first configuration information includes a first subframe configuration and a first resource configuration for resource elements (REs), and wherein the second configuration information includes a second subframe configuration and a second resource configuration for REs ([see, 0193], the eNB can signal a first subframe pattern indicating an interference measurement resource set pattern and a second subframe pattern indicating a CSI measurement subframe pattern corresponding to the interference measurement resource set pattern to the UE]).
As per Claims 3, 13, D1 further discloses further comprising receiving, from the BS, fourth configuration information configuring a first CSI subframe set ([see, [0067, 0080], the CSI reference signal configuration that maps to a set of Res]), and a second CSI subframe set ([see, [0076], performing a second interference estimate]).
As per Claims 4, 14, D1 further discloses wherein the first IMR is based on a first subframe offset indicated by the first subframe configuration and REs configured based on the first RE resource configuration ([see, [0067, 0076, 0080], performing interference measurements comprises performing a first interference estimate, the CSI reference signal configuration that maps to a set of Res]), and wherein the second IMR is based on a second subframe offset indicated by the second subframe configuration and REs configured based on the second RE resource configuration ([see, [0076], performing a second interference estimate, the CSI reference signal configuration that maps to a set of Res]).
As per Claims 5, 15, D1 further discloses further comprising determining a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) RE mapping based on the second configuration information, the second configuration information being used to identify the ZP CSI-RS resource ([see, [0067, 0080], the CSI reference signal configuration that maps to a set of Res. In addition, on [0048], CSI-RS corresponding to an antenna port is allocated to a resource element (RE) pair in user data region 532, and more particularly to one of the RE pairs associated with OFDM symbols]).
As per Claim 16, D1 discloses a base station (BS) for receiving channel state information (CSI) by a base station (BS) ([see, the UE transmitting CSIs to BS, Fig. 3]), the method comprising:
a transceiver (see, BS disclosed, Fig. 8); and
a processor coupled with the transceiver (see, BS disclosed, Fig. 8) and configured to control to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), first configuration information ([see, [0025], base station transmits configuration information to at least one user equipment (UE)]) configuring a first interference measurement resource (IMR) and a second IMR in case that the UE is configured with CSI subframe sets ([see, [0025], wherein the configuration information corresponds to a set of resource elements that are associated with a set of channel state information reference signals, and performs an interference measurement based on the at least one zero-power reference signal]);
transmit, to the UE, second configuration information configuring a zero-power (ZP) CSI-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource ([see, [0025], the UE that receives the configuration information performs an interference measurement based on the at least one zero-power reference signal]); and
receive, from the UE, a CSI based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information ([see, [0050-0051], and Fig. 5-7, the UE 101 perform channel measurements (i.e., CSI), based on the BS (i.e., communication system 100) transmits first configuration information of a set of non-zero-power reference signals and the second configuration information of at least one zero-power reference signal with zero transmission power from one or more of the multiple potential transmission points]),
wherein the ZP CSI-RS resource includes the interference measurement (IMR) ([see, [0050-0051], the UE also may perform interference measurements based on the at least one zero-power reference signal]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: the configuration information configuring a first interference measurement resource (IMR) and a second IMR.
However, D2 discloses the configuration information configuring a first interference measurement resource (IMR) and a second IMR ([see, page 4, lines 15-25, receiving first Channel Status Information (CSI) configuration information and second CSI configuration information from the serving cell, measuring CSI based on the first CSI configuration information in a subframe designated in the interference measurement subframe set]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of D1 to use the first configuration information configuring a first interference measurement resource (IMR) and a second IMR as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide radio access technologies continue to be developed results interference in wireless communication system is reduced while improving transmission reliability and transmission rate (D2, page 20, lines 9-11).
The combination of D1 and D2 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the ZP CSI-RS resource overlaps with at least one of the first IMR and the second IMR.
However, D3 discloses wherein the ZP CSI-RS resource overlaps with at least one of the first IMR and the second IMR ([see, [0103], and provisional on page 25 of 38, paragraph 3, IMR may be configured to be covered by, overlap with or coincide with Time-Frequency Resource Elements, TFREs, of a zero power Channel State Information-Reference Signal, CSI-RS, configuration applied for the receiving node 540]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of D1 to use the first configuration information configuring a first interference measurement resource (IMR) and a second IMR as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide Managing Resource Elements results improved if both the transmitter and the receiver are equipped with multiple antennas, which results in a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communication channel (D2, ¶ [0008]).
As per Claim 6, is the method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 16 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 16. Claim 6 is anticipated by method being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 16.
As per Claims 7, 17, D1 further discloses further comprising transmitting, to the UE, third configuration information configuring a first CSI subframe set and a second CSI subframe set ([see, [0043, 0050], the configuration information also corresponds to a set of resource elements that are associated with a set of channel state information reference signals, and the set of channel state information reference signals include the set of non-zero-power reference signals and the at least one zero-power reference signal).
As per Claims 8, 18, D1 further discloses wherein the first configuration information includes a first subframe configuration for the first IMR ([see, [0076], performing interference measurements comprises performing a first interference estimate]), a first resource element (RE) resource configuration for the first IMR ([see, [0067, 0080], the CSI reference signal configuration that maps to a set of Res]), a second subframe configuration for the second IMR, and a second RE resource configuration for the second IMR ([see, [0076], performing a second interference estimate]).
As per Claims 9, 19, D1 further discloses wherein the first IMR is based on a first subframe offset indicated by the first subframe configuration and REs configured based on the first RE resource configuration ([see, [0067, 0076, 0080], performing interference measurements comprises performing a first interference estimate, the CSI reference signal configuration that maps to a set of Res]), and wherein the second IMR is based on a second subframe offset indicated by the second subframe configuration and REs configured based on the second RE resource configuration ([see, [0076], performing a second interference estimate, the CSI reference signal configuration that maps to a set of Res]).
As per Claims 10, 20, D1 further discloses wherein a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) RE mapping is determined based on the second configuration information, the second configuration information being used to identify the ZP CSI-RS resource ([see, [0067, 0080], the CSI reference signal configuration that maps to a set of Res. In addition, on [0048], CSI-RS corresponding to an antenna port is allocated to a resource element (RE) pair in user data region 532, and more particularly to one of the RE pairs associated with OFDM symbols]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418