DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argued CHEN fails to disclose the newly added limitation.
The Examiner respectfully submits that CHEN discloses RF transceiver 20 (figure 3, [0039]) including first process channel of LTE network standard and second process channel of NR network standard to read on the claimed first and second transmitting interfaces to process signals; and the switch 50 (figure 3) to read on the claimed pathway selection switch to route signals. CHEN further discloses PAMID ([0065]).
However CHEN fails to mention transceiver 20 and switch 50 are included in one RFIC.
This teaching is disclosed by KANG (US 20210297103 A1) (figures 3B, 7A and 8, [0172]: “a single pole double throw (SPDT) type switch may be provided in the RFIC corresponding to the controller 1250 to select transmitters (TXs) of two different communication systems”; RFIC 1250 includes the SPDT switch and TX chains 1200a and 1200b). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by KANG into the art of CHEN as to integrate circuits to reduce circuitry size and/or as an alternative embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (US 20250286566 A1) in view of KANG (US 20210297103 A1).
For claim 1. CHEN discloses (figure 8, [0039]-[0047], [0079]) A radio frequency (RF) front-end module, comprising: an RF transceiver, comprising a first transmitting interface (LB TX0), a second transmitting interface (LB TX1), a third transmitting interface (MB TX0), and a fourth transmitting interface (UHB TX1); a pathway selection switch ([0046], [0053], switch 50), connected to the first transmitting interface and the second transmitting interface, for selecting, from among the first and second transmitting interfaces, an interface matching with a frequency of a network cell in which the RF transceiver is currently located ([0039] e.g. the first group of transmit channels are 4G LTE signal; the second group of transmit channels are 5G NR signal); and a first amplifier module ([0053], figure 8 power amplification module 301), wherein the first transmitting interface and the second transmitting interface are selectively connected to the first amplifier module via the pathway selection switch ([0053], figure 8), wherein one of the first transmitting interface and the third transmitting interface is used as an interface for a first transmitting pathway ([0039] the first group of transmit channels are 4G LTE signal, figure 8 LB TX0 and MB TX0), and one of the second transmitting interface and the fourth transmitting interface is used as an interface for a second transmitting pathway ([0039] the second group of transmit channels are 5G NR signal, figure 8 LB TX1 and UHB TX1), wherein the first transmitting interface, the second transmitting interface, and the pathway selection switch configured to process and route signals received by the RF transceiver (figure 3, [0039], transmitting interfaces of transceiver 20 and switch 50), and wherein the first amplifier module includes a Power Amplifier Module Integrated Duplexer (PAMID) ([0065]).
However CHEN fails to mention wherein the first transmitting interface, the second transmitting interface, and the pathway selection switch are included in a radio frequency integrated circuit (RFIC).
This teaching is disclosed by KANG (figures 3B, 7A and 8, [0172]: “a single pole double throw (SPDT) type switch may be provided in the RFIC corresponding to the controller 1250 to select transmitters (TXs) of two different communication systems”; RFIC 1250 includes the SPDT switch and TX chains 1200a and 1200b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by KANG into the art of CHEN as to integrate circuits to reduce circuitry size and/or as an alternative embodiment.
For claim 2. CHEN in combination with KANG substantially teaches the RF front-end module according to claim 1, CHEN discloses further comprising: a second amplifier module connected to the third transmitting interface; and a third amplifier module connected to the fourth transmitting interface ([0065], [0079], figure 8, power amplification modules 302 and 303).
For claim 3. CHEN in combination with KANG substantially teaches the RF front-end module according to claim 2, CHEN discloses wherein the first amplifier module is a low frequency amplifier module, the second amplifier module is a medium-high frequency amplifier module, and the third amplifier module is a high frequency amplifier module ([0065], [0079], figure 8).
For claim 4. CHEN in combination with KANG substantially teaches the RF front-end module according to claim 1, CHEN discloses wherein the first transmitting interface is a long term evolution transmitting interface, the second transmitting interface is a 5G low frequency transmitting interface, the third transmitting interface is a medium-high frequency transmitting interface, and the fourth transmitting interface is an ultra-high frequency transmitting interface ([0039], [0065], [0079], figure 8).
For claim 5. CHEN in combination with KANG substantially teaches the RF front-end module according to claim 1, CHEN discloses wherein the first transmitting pathway and the second transmitting pathway are in an operating state simultaneously ([0037], [0042]).
For claim 6. CHEN in combination with KANG substantially teaches the RF front-end module according to claim 1, CHEN discloses wherein the first amplifier module is selectively used for long-term evolution signal transmission and 5G low-frequency signal transmission ([0041], [0042], [0053], figure 8).
For claim 7. CHEN discloses (figure 8, [0039]-[0047], [0079]) A method of transmitting signals based on a radio frequency (RF) front-end module, the RF front-end module comprising an RF transceiver, a pathway selector switch ([0046], [0053], switch 50), and a first amplifier module ([0053], figure 8 power amplification module 301), wherein the RF transceiver comprises a first transmitting interface (LB TX0), a second transmitting interface (LB TX1), a third transmitting interface (MB TX0), and a fourth transmitting interface (UHB TX1), the first transmitting interface and the second transmitting interface being selectively connected to the first amplifier module via the pathway selector switch, the method comprising: selecting a first signal transmitting interface from among the first transmitting interface and the second transmitting interface of the RF transceiver and selecting a second signal transmitting interface from among the third transmitting interface and the fourth transmitting interface of the RF transceiver, based on a frequency of a network cell in which the RF transceiver is currently located (figure 8, [0037], [0042], [0039] e.g. the first group of transmit channels are 4G LTE signal; the second group of transmit channels are 5G NR signal); controlling the pathway selector switch to establish a first transmitting pathway by connecting the first signal transmitting interface to the first amplifier module ([0039], [0046], [0053], figure 8); and transmitting a first signal through the first transmitting pathway and transmitting a second signal through a second transmitting pathway corresponding to the second signal transmitting interface ([0039], [0046], [0053], figure 8), wherein the first transmitting interface, the second transmitting interface, and the pathway selection switch configured to process and route signals received by the RF transceiver (figure 3, [0039], transmitting interfaces of transceiver 20 and switch 50), and wherein the first amplifier module includes a Power Amplifier Module Integrated Duplexer (PAMID) ([0065]).
However CHEN fails to mention wherein the first transmitting interface, the second transmitting interface, and the pathway selection switch are included in a radio frequency integrated circuit (RFIC).
This teaching is disclosed by KANG (figures 3B, 7A and 8, [0172]: “a single pole double throw (SPDT) type switch may be provided in the RFIC corresponding to the controller 1250 to select transmitters (TXs) of two different communication systems”; RFIC 1250 includes the SPDT switch and TX chains 1200a and 1200b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by KANG into the art of CHEN as to integrate circuits to reduce circuitry size and/or as an alternative embodiment.
For claim 8. CHEN in combination with KANG substantially teaches the method according to claim 7, CHEN discloses wherein the RF front-end module further comprises: a second amplifier module connected to the third transmitting interface; and a third amplifier module connected to the fourth transmitting interface ([0065], [0079], figure 8, power amplification modules 302 and 303).
For claim 9. CHEN in combination with KANG substantially teaches the method according to claim 8, CHEN discloses wherein the first amplifier module is a low frequency amplifier module, the second amplifier module is a medium-high frequency amplifier module, and the third amplifier module is a high frequency amplifier module ([0065], [0079], figure 8).
For claim 10. CHEN in combination with KANG substantially teaches the method according to claim 7, CHEN discloses wherein the first transmitting interface is a long term evolution transmitting interface, the second transmitting interface is a 5G low frequency transmitting interface, the third transmitting interface is a medium high frequency transmitting interface, and the fourth transmitting interface is an ultra-high frequency transmitting interface ([0039], [0065], [0079], figure 8).
For claim 11. CHEN in combination with KANG substantially teaches the method according to claim 7, CHEN discloses wherein the first transmitting pathway and the second transmitting pathway are in an operating state simultaneously ([0037], [0042]).
For claim 12. CHEN in combination with KANG substantially teaches the method according to claim 7, CHEN discloses wherein the first amplifier module is selectively used for long-term evolution signal transmission and 5G low-frequency signal transmission ([0041], [0042], [0053], figure 8).
For claim 13. CHEN discloses (figure 8, [0039]-[0047], [0079]) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of an electronic device including an RF front-end module, the RF front-end module comprising an RF transceiver, a pathway selector switch ([0046], [0053], switch 50), and a first amplifier module ([0053], figure 8 power amplification module 301), wherein the RF transceiver comprises first, second, third and fourth transmitting interfaces (figure 8, LB TX0, LB TX1, MB TX0, UHB TX1), the first transmitting interface and the second transmitting interface being selectively connected to the first amplifier module via the pathway selector switch, cause the electronic device to:
selecting a first signal transmitting interface from among the first transmitting interface and the second transmitting interface of the RF transceiver and selecting a second signal transmitting interface from among the third transmitting interface and the fourth transmitting interface of the RF transceiver, based on the frequency of the network cell in which the RF transceiver is currently located (figure 8, [0037], [0042], [0039] e.g. the first group of transmit channels are 4G LTE signal; the second group of transmit channels are 5G NR signal); controlling the pathway selector switch to establish a first transmitting pathway by connecting the first signal transmitting interface to the first amplifier module ([0039], [0046], [0053], figure 8); and transmitting a first signal through the first transmitting pathway and transmitting a second signal through a second transmitting pathway corresponding to the second signal transmitting interface ([0039], [0046], [0053], figure 8), wherein the first transmitting interface, the second transmitting interface, and the pathway selection switch configured to process and route signals received by the RF transceiver (figure 3, [0039], transmitting interfaces of transceiver 20 and switch 50), and wherein the first amplifier module includes a Power Amplifier Module Integrated Duplexer (PAMID) ([0065]).
However CHEN fails to mention wherein the first transmitting interface, the second transmitting interface, and the pathway selection switch are included in a radio frequency integrated circuit (RFIC).
This teaching is disclosed by KANG (figures 3B, 7A and 8, [0172]: “a single pole double throw (SPDT) type switch may be provided in the RFIC corresponding to the controller 1250 to select transmitters (TXs) of two different communication systems”; RFIC 1250 includes the SPDT switch and TX chains 1200a and 1200b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by KANG into the art of CHEN as to integrate circuits to reduce circuitry size and/or as an alternative embodiment.
For claim 14. CHEN in combination with KANG substantially teaches the computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, CHEN discloses wherein the RF front-end module further comprises: a second amplifier module connected to the third transmitting interface; and a third amplifier module connected to the fourth transmitting interface ([0065], [0079], figure 8, power amplification modules 302 and 303).
For claim 15. CHEN in combination with KANG substantially teaches the computer-readable storage medium according to claim 14, CHEN discloses wherein the first amplifier module is a low frequency amplifier module, the second amplifier module is a medium-high frequency amplifier module, and the third amplifier module is a high frequency amplifier module ([0065], [0079], figure 8).
For claim 16. CHEN in combination with KANG substantially teaches the computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, CHEN discloses wherein the first transmitting interface is a long term evolution transmitting interface, the second transmitting interface is a 5G low frequency transmitting interface, the third transmitting interface is a medium high frequency transmitting interface, and the fourth transmitting interface is an ultra-high frequency transmitting interface ([0039], [0065], [0079], figure 8).
For claim 17. CHEN in combination with KANG substantially teaches the computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, CHEN discloses wherein the first transmitting pathway and the second transmitting pathway are in an operating state simultaneously ([0037], [0042]).
For claim 18. CHEN in combination with KANG substantially teaches the computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, CHEN discloses wherein the first amplifier module is selectively used for long-term evolution signal transmission and 5G low-frequency signal transmission ([0041], [0042], [0053], figure 8).
For claim 19. CHEN in combination with KANG substantially teaches the RF front-end module according to claim 1, CHEN discloses wherein the RFIC further includes a plurality of transmitting chains, each of the plurality of transmitting chains configured to process and route signals having a compatible signal different from each other ([0066], [0067], figure 6).
7. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (US 20250286566 A1) in view of KANG (US 20210297103 A1) and Nitsche (US 20090315746 A1).
For claim 20. CHEN in combination with KANG substantially teaches the RF front-end module according to claim 1, CHEN discloses wherein the RFIC comprises a digital front end (DFE), a digital-to-analog converter (DAC), and an upconverter ([0039] LTE and New Radio (NR) protocol standards).
But fails to mention a DC offset cancellation (DCOC) circuit, an adder.
This teaching is disclosed by Nitsche ([0036]-[0039], figure 1, c.sub.I(t)=a.sub.I(t)+V*E.sub.I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Nitsche into the art of CHEN as modified by KANG as to reduce DC offset and improve transmit signal.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
May 27, 2026
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643