E tDETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 08/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baek (US-20160204400-A1)2
Regarding claim 1, Baek discloses a traction battery assembly (see e.g., Baek; [0022], regarding traction battery 100), comprising: a plurality of battery cells disposed along an array axis (see e.g., Baek; fig. 2, [0022], [0028], regarding cells 106); a rounded endplate at an axial end of the plurality of battery cells (see e.g., Baek; fig. 2, [0028], regarding either endplate 110); and a wrap spanning the rounded endplate (see e.g., Baek; fig. 2, [0028], [0030], regarding retention strap 112).
Regarding claim 2, Baek discloses the assembly of claim 1, wherein a first side of the rounded endplate faces away from the plurality of battery cells, and an opposite, second side of the rounded endplate faces toward the plurality of battery cells, wherein the first side is rounded relative to the second side (see e.g., Baek; figs. 2, 3B, 3C, [0028], regarding endplates 110).
Regarding claim 3, Baek discloses the assembly of claim 2, wherein the first side is rounded about a first axis that is perpendicular to the array axis (see e.g., Baek; figs. 2, 3B, 3C, wherein the first axis may be the vertical direction in figs. 2 and 3B, and into the page of fig. 3C, and the rounding of the endplates 110 occur around the first axis).
Regarding claim 5, Baek discloses the assembly of claim 1, wherein the rounded endplate has a vertically upper edge opposite a vertically lower edge (see e.g., Baek; figs. 2, 3B, [0028], regarding vertical edges 120 corresponding to upper and lower edge, annotated fig. 3B), the rounded endplate rounded continuously from the vertically upper edge to the vertically lower edge (see e.g., Baek; fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 6, Baek discloses the assembly of claim 5, wherein the rounded endplate further includes respective first and second outboard edges that each extend from the vertically upper edge to the vertically lower edge (see e.g., Baek; annotated fig. 3B, regarding the top and bottom surface corresponding to first and second outboard edges), the rounded endplate rounded continuously from the first outboard edge to the second outboard edge (see e.g., Baek; fig. 3B, wherein the rounding progresses from the top to the bottom, and in receiving groove 124 as shown in the figure).
Regarding claim 9, Baek discloses the assembly of claim 1, wherein the wrap is wound around the plurality of battery cells and the rounded endplate (see e.g., Baek; fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Baek discloses the assembly of claim 1, wherein the rounded endplate is a first rounded endplate, and further comprising a second rounded endplate that is spanned by the wrap (see e.g., Baek; fig. 2, [0028], regarding endplates 110).
Regarding claim 11, Baek discloses the assembly of claim 10, wherein the wrap is wound around the first rounded endplate, the plurality of battery cells, and the second rounded endplate (see e.g., Baek; fig. 2) to compress the plurality of battery cells between the first and second rounded endplates (see e.g., Baek; [0029], fig. 3C, regarding force arrows 140 showing compression forces applied to cell array 104).
Regarding claim 12, Baek discloses the assembly of claim 1, further comprising a traction battery of an electrified vehicle, the traction battery having the plurality of battery cells and the endplate (see e.g., Baek; [0004]-[0005], fig. 1, [0021]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek (US-20160204400-A1).
Regarding claim 7, Baek discloses the assembly of claim 1. Baek discloses that the retention strap 112 may have various structural compositions (see e.g., Baek; [0030]). In the embodiment of fig. 2, Baek does not explicitly disclose wherein the wrap comprises a curable material. However, in the embodiment of fig. 5 comprising straps 210, Baek discloses wherein the strap comprises a curable material (see e.g., Baek; [0033], regarding manufacturing and material options for straps 210, which may be structural reaction molded with resins, or thermoplastic matrices with injection molding, with materials which are curable). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the straps of the embodiment of fig. 2 of Baek with the curable material straps 210 as disclosed by Baek in order to facilitate the joining of the first and second end (see e.g., Baek; [0030]).
Regarding claim 8, Baek discloses the assembly of claim 1, wherein the wrap is a tape that is polymer-based (see e.g., Baek; [0030], regarding strap 112 comprising polyester filament). Baek discloses that the retention strap 112 may have various structural compositions (see e.g., Baek; [0030]). In the embodiment of fig. 2, Baek does not explicitly disclose wherein the wrap has fiber reinforcement. However, Baek discloses straps 210 of the embodiment of figs. 5A-B being formed with a continuous fiber mesh or fiber mat, having carbon fibers, wherein the fibers are oriented along a direction of plastic flow during the injection molding process (see e.g., Baek; [0033]), which corresponds with providing fiber reinforcement. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the straps 112 of the embodiment of fig. 2 of Baek by providing the polymer-based material with carbon reinforcement as disclosed by Baek in order to facilitate the joining of the first and second end (see e.g., Baek; [0030]).
Regarding claim 13, Baek discloses the assembly of claim 1. In the embodiment of fig. 2, Baek does not explicitly disclose wherein the rounded endplate is a polymer-based material. However, in a different embodiment, Baek discloses wherein ceramic or thermoset material inserts 230 are molded into the endplate having a thermoplastic matrix (see e.g., Baek; fig. 6, [0034]), which corresponds with the claimed polymer-based material. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the endplates of the embodiment of fig. 2 of Baek to have ceramic or thermoset inserts in a thermoplastic matrix in order to assist in resisting high loads and the load of the battery cells (see e.g., Baek; [0034]).
Regarding claim 14, Baek discloses the assembly of claim 1. In the embodiment of fig. 2, Baek does not explicitly disclose wherein the rounded endplate is a composite-based material. However, in a different embodiment, Baek discloses wherein ceramic or thermoset material inserts 230 are molded into the endplate having a thermoplastic matrix (see e.g., Baek; fig. 6, [0034]), which corresponds with the claimed composite-based material. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the endplates of the embodiment of fig. 2 of Baek to have ceramic or thermoset inserts in a thermoplastic matrix to form a composite-based material in order to assist in resisting high loads and the load of the battery cells (see e.g., Baek; [0034]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek (US-20160204400-A1), and in further view of Kim (US-20070052390-A1).
Regarding claim 4, Baek discloses the assembly of claim 3. Baek does not explicitly disclose wherein the first side is rounded about a second axis that is perpendicular to both the first axis and the array axis. However, Kim discloses an assembly with a similar strap configuration on a battery array wherein endplates 20 are rounded about a second axis that may be perpendicular to a first axis and array axis (see e.g., Kim; fig. 1, [0043], [0060], [0061], wherein the endplates are rounded in the vertical direction of the figure, which is toward the longitude edge of the battery cells). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the endplates of Baek to be rounded about a second axis perpendicular to the first axis and the array axis, as in the direction of rounding as disclosed by Kim, in order to increase productivity by reducing time required for assembly (see e.g., Kim; [0014]).
Conclusion
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728