DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
2. Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-5, drawn to “a water-dispersed pressure-sensitive adhesive composition”, classified in C09J 7/30.
II. Claims 6-8, drawn to “a pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet”, classified in H01P 72/7402.
3. The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
4. Inventions II and I are related as combination and subcombination. Inventions in this relationship are distinct if it can be shown that (1) the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability, and (2) that the subcombination has utility by itself or in other combinations (MPEP § 806.05(c)). In the instant case, the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed because the pressure sensitive adhesive sheet of Group I loses its identity when formed into sheet comprising a pressure sensitive adhesive layer for re-peeling. The subcombination of Group I has separate utility such as non-re-peeling purposes or bonding agent/coatings.
5. The examiner has required restriction between combination and subcombination inventions. Where applicant elects a subcombination, and claims thereto are subsequently found allowable, any claim(s) depending from or otherwise requiring all the limitations of the allowable subcombination will be examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. See MPEP § 821.04(a). Applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
6. Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
(a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
(b) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter;
(c) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries);
(d) the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention; and/or
(e) the inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
7. Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
8. The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
9. Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
10. During a telephone conversation with Mr. Shu Muramoto on June 23, 2026, a provisional election was made WITHOUT traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-5 (“a water-dispersed pressure-sensitive adhesive composition”). Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 6-8 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Double Patenting
Double Patenting I
11. Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-5 of co-pending U.S. Application No. 18/430,970 (hereinafter referred to as “US Appl. ‘970”; corresponding to US PG PUB 2024/0271013) in view of Ueki et al. (US 2016/0264825).
The claims of the US Appl. ’970 and the present application are directed to water-dispersed pressure-sensitive adhesive composition comprising a water-dispersed acrylic polymer, an active energy ray-curable resin, and a photopolymerization initiator, wherein the water-dispersed acrylic polymer is a polymer obtained by emulsion polymerization using a reactive surfactant. Both the claims of US Appl. ‘970 and the present application also recite that its composition further comprises a cross-linking agent.
However, the claims of US Appl. ‘970 do not specify the acrylic polymer as a polymer obtained by subjecting a monomer composition containing a methacrylic acid ester having 2 or less carbon atoms to emulsion polymer as required by the claims of the present application. They also do not specifically mention the amount of such monomer used as required by present claim 2 or its glass transition temperature as required by present claim 3.
Nevertheless, Ueki et al. disclose the use of a water-dispersed acrylic polymer obtained by subjecting a monomer mixture (composition) containing a methacrylic acid ester having 2 or less carbon atoms to emulsion polymerization using a reactive surfactant in a water-dispersed pressure sensitive adhesive composition having excellent weatherability (Paragraph [0009]), comprising (Paragraphs [0034], [0047], [0065], [0069], [0107]), and [0125]). Ueki et al. also disclose that acrylic monomer including the claimed methacrylic acid ester accounts for 50% by weight or more of the monomers (all monomers) corresponding to the composition of the acrylic polymer (Paragraph [0034]), which overlaps with the presently claimed 10-60 wt.% of the methacrylic acid ester with respect to all monomer components in the monomer composition. Ueki et al. further disclose the acrylic polymer has a glass transition temperature of -40°C or higher (Paragraph [0088]).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the presently claimed amount of acrylic polymer having the presently claimed glass transition temperature obtained by subjecting a monomer composition containing a methacrylic acid ester having 2 or less carbon atoms to emulsion polymer taught by Ueki et al. in the water-dispersed pressure sensitive adhesive of US Appl. ‘970, with a reasonable expectation of successfully obtaining excellent weatherability.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Double Patenting II
12. Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-5 of co-pending U.S. Application No. 18/430,964 (hereinafter referred to as “US Appl. ‘964”; corresponding to US PG PUB 2024/0271020).
The claims of the US Appl. ’964 and the present application are directed to a water-dispersed pressure-sensitive adhesive composition comprising a water-dispersed acrylic polymer, an active energy ray-curable resin, and a photopolymerization initiator, wherein the water-dispersed acrylic polymer is a polymer obtained by emulsion polymerization using a reactive surfactant. Both the claims of US Appl. ‘964 and the present application also recite that its composition further comprises a cross-linking agent.
However, the claims of US Appl. ‘964 do not specify the acrylic polymer as a polymer obtained by subjecting a monomer composition containing a methacrylic acid ester having 2 or less carbon atoms to emulsion polymerization as required by the claims of the present application. They also do not recite the amount of such monomer as required by present claim 2.
Nevertheless, claim 1 of US Appl. ‘964 do recite employing a water-dispersed acrylic polymer that is a polymer obtained by subjecting a monomer composition containing a carboxyl group-containing monomer represented by formula (1) to emulsion polymerization, wherein R1 represents a methyl group, which is inclusive of the presently claimed methacrylic acid ester having 2 or less carbon atoms, for the purposes of preparing a water-dispersed pressure-sensitive adhesive composition. Claim 2 of US Appl. ‘964 also recite that the content ratio of the monomer is from 3-30 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of the total of all monomer components which overlap with the presently claimed 10-60% by weight of the methacrylic acid ester having 2 or less carbon atoms to emulsion polymerization.
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the presently claimed amount of water-dispersed acrylic polymer that is a polymer obtained by subjecting a monomer composition containing a methacrylic acid ester having 2 or less carbon atoms to emulsion polymerization recited in the clams of US Appl. 964, with reasonable expectation of successfully preparing a water-dispersed pressure-sensitive adhesive composition.
Double Patenting III
13. Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,570,876 (hereinafter referred to as “the patent”) in view of Ueki et al. (US 2016/0264825).
The claims of the patent and the present application are directed to a water-dispersed pressure-sensitive adhesive composition comprising a water-dispersed acrylic polymer, an active energy ray-curable resin, and a photopolymerization initiator. The claims of the patent also recite that the water-dispersed acrylic polymer has a glass transition temperature of less than 0°C which overlaps with the presently claimed glass transition temperature of -40°C to 0°C. Both the claims of the patent and the present application further recite that its composition further comprises a cross-linking agent.
However, the claims of the patent do not specify the acrylic polymer as a polymer obtained by subjecting a monomer composition containing a methacrylic acid ester having 2 or less carbon atoms to emulsion polymerization as required by the claims of the present application. They also do not specifically mention the amount of such monomer used as required by present claim 2 or its glass transition temperature as required by present claim 3.
Nevertheless, Ueki et al. disclose the use of a water-dispersed acrylic polymer obtained by subjecting a monomer mixture (composition) containing a methacrylic acid ester having 2 or less carbon atoms to emulsion polymerization using a reactive surfactant in a water-dispersed pressure sensitive adhesive composition having excellent weatherability (Paragraph [0009]), comprising (Paragraphs [0034], [0047], [0065], [0069], [0107]), and [0125]). Ueki et al. also disclose that acrylic monomer including the claimed methacrylic acid ester accounts for 50% by weight or more of the monomers (all monomers) corresponding to the composition of the acrylic polymer (Paragraph [0034]), which overlaps with the presently claimed 10-60 wt.% of the methacrylic acid ester with respect to all monomer components in the monomer composition. Ueki et al. further disclose the acrylic polymer has a glass transition temperature of -40°C or higher (Paragraph [0088]).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the presently claimed amount of acrylic polymer having the presently claimed glass transition temperature obtained by subjecting a monomer composition containing a methacrylic acid ester having 2 or less carbon atoms to emulsion polymer taught by Ueki et al. in the water-dispersed pressure sensitive adhesive composition of the patent for purposes of obtaining advantageous weatherability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ukei et al. (US 2016/0264825) in view of HIRANO (WO 2022/092090; utilized US 2023/0416571 as its English equivalent).
It is noted that HIRANO (WO 2022/092090) is used for date purposes only, and all paragraph numbers cited below refer to its English equivalent, namely US 2023/0416571 because HIRANO is in Japanese.
As to Claims 1-5: Ueki et al. disclose a water-dispersed pressure sensitive adhesive composition (Paragraph [0009]), comprising a water-dispersed acrylic polymer obtained by subjecting a monomer mixture (composition) containing a methacrylic acid ester having 2 or less carbon atoms to emulsion polymerization using a reactive surfactant (Paragraphs [0034], [0047], [0065], [0069], [0107]), and [0125]). Ueki et al. also disclose that acrylic monomer including the claimed methacrylic acid ester accounts for 50% by weight or more of the monomers (all monomers) corresponding to the composition of the acrylic polymer (Paragraph [0034]), which overlaps with the claimed 10-60 wt.% of the methacrylic acid ester with respect to all monomer components in the monomer composition. Ueki et al. further disclose the acrylic polymer has a glass transition temperature of -40°C or higher (Paragraph [0088]). Moreover, Ueki et al. disclose that the composition comprises a crosslinking agent (Paragraph [0023]).
However, Ueki et al. do not specifically mention the addition of an active energy ray-curable resin and a photopolymerization initiator as required by the claims of the present application.
Nevertheless, HIRANO discloses the addition of an active energy ray-curable resin and a photopolymerization initiator to prepare a pressure-sensitive adhesive composition having adhesive reliability (Paragraphs [0010], [0069]-[0075] and [0162]).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the active energy ray-curable resin and photopolymerization initiator taught by HIRANO in the pressure-sensitive adhesive composition discussed in Ukei et al., with a reasonable expectation of successfully obtaining adhesive reliability.
15. Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIRANO (WO 2022/092090; utilized US 2023/0416571 as its English equivalent).
It is noted that HIRANO (WO 2022/092090) is used for date purposes only, and all paragraph numbers cited below refer to its English equivalent, namely US 2023/0416571 because HIRANO is in Japanese.
As to Claims 1-5: HIRANO discloses a water-dispersed pressure sensitive adhesive composition (Paragraphs [0074] and [0080] and see also abstract), comprising a water-dispersed acrylic polymer (Paragraph [0048]) obtained by emulsion polymerization using a reactive surfactant (Paragraphs [0076] and [0091]), an active energy ray-curable resin and a photopolymerization initiator (Paragraphs [0069]-[0075] and [0162]). HIRANO also discloses that the ratio of the monomers used to prepare the acrylic polymer is 10% by weight or higher (Paragraph [0053]), which overlaps with the claimed 10-60% by weight of the monomer. HIRANO further discloses the addition of a crosslinking agent to the composition (Paragraph [0088]).
However, HIRANO does not mention the claimed monomer composition containing a methacrylic acid ester having 2 or less carbon atoms to emulsion polymerization to form the water-dispersed acrylic polymer with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation within the meaning of 35 USC 102.
Nevertheless, HIRANO does disclose using an acrylic polymer formed from monomers selected from, among other things, alkyl methacrylate having a linear or branched alkyl group with 1 up to 20 carbon atoms at the ester terminus (which is inclusive of the claimed methacrylic acid ester having 2 or less carbon atoms) to prepare a pressure sensitive adhesive composition having desired adhesive reliability (Paragraphs [0010] and [0048])
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the claimed methacrylic acid ester having 2 or less carbon atoms as one of the alkyl methacrylate monomers to prepare the acrylic polymer, with a reasonable expectation of successfully preparing a pressure sensitive adhesive composition having desired adhesive reliability as suggested by HIRANO.
Correspondence
/HANNAH J PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764