DETAILED ACTION
Pending Claims
Claims 1-6 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonezaki (US 2012/0276376 A1) in view of Goodrich et al. (US 2019/0112435 A1).
Regarding claims 1-6, Yonezaki discloses: (1) a pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet (Abstract; paragraphs 0006-0024), comprising: a base material (paragraphs 0075-0078); and a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (paragraphs 0028-0074) formed of
a water-dispersed pressure-sensitive adhesive composition including a water-dispersed acrylic polymer (paragraphs 0029-0052: “acrylic emulsion polymer A”), and
an active energy ray-curable resin (paragraphs 0053-0070: “electron beam reactive isocyanate compound B”);
(4) wherein the water-dispersed acrylic polymer is a polymer obtained by emulsion polymerization using a reactive surfactant having a radically polymerizable functional group (paragraphs 0041-0042 & 0045-0046);
(5) wherein the active energy ray-curable resin contains urethane (meth)acrylate (paragraphs 0062-0064); and
(6) wherein the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet is used for semiconductor wafer processing (paragraph 0097: “production of a microfabricated component such as semiconductor”).
The pressure-sensitive adhesive of Yonezaki is initially heated/dried and subsequently irradiated with an electron beam to react their electron beam reactive isocyanate compound B, which enhances the anchoring force to the substrate (see paragraphs 0006-0014). Yonezaki fails to explicitly disclose a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer including: (1) a photopolymerization initiator.
Goodrich et al. disclose a similar composition (see paragraphs 0002 & 0012-0016) formulated with a water-based acrylic emulsion (see paragraphs 0023-0026) and (meth)acrylate monomer or oligomer (see paragraphs 0027-0030), which is applied to a substrate (see paragraph 0035). Similar to Yonezaki, this formulation allows for initial drying and subsequent electron beam reaction of their (meth)acrylate monomer or oligomer (see paragraphs 0021, 0031 & 0037-0038). Furthermore, Goodrich et al. establish that it is recognized in the art to alternatively provide UV-curability to this type of formulation by adding a photoinitiator (see paragraphs 0031 & 0038).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to formulae the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer of Yonezaki with a photoinitiator because: (a) the pressure-sensitive adhesive of Yonezaki is initially heated/dried and subsequently irradiated with an electron beam to react their electron beam reactive isocyanate compound B, which enhances the anchoring force to the substrate; (b) Goodrich et al. disclose a similar composition formulated with a water-based acrylic emulsion and (meth)acrylate monomer or oligomer, which is applied to a substrate; (c) similar to Yonezaki, the formulation of Goodrich et al. allows for initial drying and subsequent electron beam reaction of their (meth)acrylate monomer or oligomer; and (d) Goodrich et al. further establish that it is recognized in the art to alternatively provide UV-curability to this type of formulation by adding a photoinitiator.
The teachings of Yonezaki and Goodrich et al. fail to disclose that the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet resulting from their combined teachings has:
(1-6) a pressure-sensitive adhesive strength maintenance ratio of 75% or more;
(2) a pressure-sensitive adhesive strength after UV irradiation of 0.2 N/20 mm or less; and
(3) a pressure-sensitive adhesive strength after immersion in water at 23°C for 30 minutes of 5.0 N/20 mm or more.
However, the skilled artisan would have expected the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet resulting from the combined teachings of {Yonezaki and Goodrich et al.} to obviously embrace embodiments capable of satisfying these adhesive strength properties because the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet resulting from the combined teachings of {Yonezaki and Goodrich et al.} obviously satisfies all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed invention.
Therefore, the skilled artisan would have expected the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet resulting from the combined teachings of {Yonezaki and Goodrich et al.} to obviously embrace embodiments capable of satisfying the instantly claimed adhesive strength properties because: the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet resulting from the combined teachings of {Yonezaki and Goodrich et al.} obviously satisfies all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of copending Application No. 18/430,970 (US 2024/0271013 A1). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 5, copending claim 6 discloses: (1) a pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet (see claim 6, which is dependent from claim 1), comprising: a base material (see claim 6); and a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (see claim 6) formed of a water-dispersed pressure-sensitive adhesive composition including a water-dispersed acrylic polymer (see claim 1), an active energy ray-curable resin (see claim 1), and a photopolymerization initiator (see claim 1); and (5) wherein the active energy ray-curable resin contains urethane (meth)acrylate (see claim 1).
The copending claim fails to disclose that the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet has:
(1-3 & 5) a pressure-sensitive adhesive strength maintenance ratio of 75% or more;
(2) a pressure-sensitive adhesive strength after UV irradiation of 0.2 N/20 mm or less; and
(3) a pressure-sensitive adhesive strength after immersion in water at 23°C for 30 minutes of 5.0 N/20 mm or more.
However, the skilled artisan would have expected the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet of the copending claim to obviously embrace embodiments capable of satisfying these adhesive strength properties because the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet of the copending claim satisfies all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 6, the copending claim fails to explicitly disclose: (6) wherein the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet is used for semiconductor wafer processing. However, it has been found that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claims 1-3 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-7 of copending Application No. 18/430,964 (US 2024/0271020 A1). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 6, copending claims 6-7 disclose: (1) a pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet (see claims 6-7, where claim 6 is dependent from claim 1), comprising: a base material (see claims 6-7); and a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (see claims 6-7) formed of a water-dispersed pressure-sensitive adhesive composition including a water-dispersed acrylic polymer (see claim 1), an active energy ray-curable resin (see claim 1), and a photopolymerization initiator (see claim 1); and (6) wherein the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet is used for semiconductor wafer processing (see claim 7).
The copending claim fails to disclose that the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet has:
(1-3 & 6) a pressure-sensitive adhesive strength maintenance ratio of 75% or more;
(2) a pressure-sensitive adhesive strength after UV irradiation of 0.2 N/20 mm or less; and
(3) a pressure-sensitive adhesive strength after immersion in water at 23°C for 30 minutes of 5.0 N/20 mm or more.
However, the skilled artisan would have expected the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet of the copending claims to obviously embrace embodiments capable of satisfying these adhesive strength properties because the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet of the copending claims satisfies all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-3 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-8 of copending Application No. 18/430,933 (US 2024/0263056 A1). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 6, copending claims 6-8 disclose: (1) a pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet (see claim 6-8, where claim 6 is dependent from claim 1), comprising: a base material (see claims 6-8); and a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (see claim 6-8) formed of a water-dispersed pressure-sensitive adhesive composition including a water-dispersed acrylic polymer (see claim 1), an active energy ray-curable resin (see claim 1), and a photopolymerization initiator (see claim 1); and (6) wherein the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet is used for semiconductor wafer processing (see claim 8).
The copending claims fail to disclose that the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet has:
(1-3 & 6) a pressure-sensitive adhesive strength maintenance ratio of 75% or more;
(2) a pressure-sensitive adhesive strength after UV irradiation of 0.2 N/20 mm or less; and
(3) a pressure-sensitive adhesive strength after immersion in water at 23°C for 30 minutes of 5.0 N/20 mm or more.
However, the skilled artisan would have expected the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet of the copending claims to obviously embrace embodiments capable of satisfying these adhesive strength properties because the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet of the copending claims satisfies all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-3 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-9 of copending Application No. 18/430,956 (US 2024/0263047 A1). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 6, copending claims 6-9 disclose: (1) a pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet (see claim 6-9, where claim 6 is dependent from claim 1), comprising: a base material (see claims 6-9); and a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (see claim 6-9) formed of a water-dispersed pressure-sensitive adhesive composition including a water-dispersed acrylic polymer (see claim 1), an active energy ray-curable resin (see claim 1), and a photopolymerization initiator (see claim 1); and (6) wherein the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet is used for semiconductor wafer processing (see claim 9).
The copending claims fail to disclose that the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet has:
(1-3 & 6) a pressure-sensitive adhesive strength maintenance ratio of 75% or more;
(2) a pressure-sensitive adhesive strength after UV irradiation of 0.2 N/20 mm or less; and
(3) a pressure-sensitive adhesive strength after immersion in water at 23°C for 30 minutes of 5.0 N/20 mm or more.
However, the skilled artisan would have expected the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet of the copending claims to obviously embrace embodiments capable of satisfying these adhesive strength properties because the pressure-sensitive adhesive sheet of the copending claims satisfies all of the material/chemical limitations of the claimed invention.
Communication
/MICHAEL J FEELY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766
June 20, 2026