Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15-20 have been allowed.
Regarding claim 6, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “maintaining two NAVs comprising the first NAV, wherein the first NAV is an intra-basic service set (intra-BSS) NAV; and updating, based on conditions being met, the intra-BSS NAV, wherein the conditions comprise: the first frame is an intra-BSS frame; a first duration that is for the data transmission and that is comprised in the first frame is greater than a second duration indicated by by the intra-BSS NAV; a receiver address of the first frame is not a media access control (MAC) address of the access point device; and the access address or the transmitter address is not associated with the non-access point device” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 7, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “maintaining two NAVs comprising the first NAV, wherein the first NAV is a basic NAV; and updating, based on conditions being met, the basic NAV, wherein the conditions comprise: the first frame is an inter-basic service set (inter-BSS) frame, or is not identified by any one of an inter-BSS or an intra-basic service set (intra-BSS); a first duration that is for the data transmission and that is comprised in the first frame is greater than a second duration indicated by the basic NAV; a receiver address of the first frame is not a media access control (MAC) address of the access point device; and the access address or the transmitter address is not associated with the non-access point device” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 15, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “….update a first network allocation vector (NAV) if when conditions are met, wherein the conditions comprise: a first duration that is for the data transmission and that is comprised in the first frame is greater than a second duration indicated by the first NAV; a receiver address of the first frame is not a first media access control (MAC) address of the access point device; and an access address of the first frame or a transmitter address of the first frame
is not a second MAC address of the non-access point device” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Claims 16-20 have been allowed because of their dependency on claim 15.
Claim Objection
Claims 1 and 10 are objected for claim language “…….maintaining, based on the first frame, a first network allocation vector (NAV)”. Examiner suggests the applicant to amend the claim to clarify the language.
Claim 8 is objected for claim “……maintaining, based on the received energy not exceeding a pre-determined energy threshold, the first NAV”. Examiner suggests the applicant to amend the claim language to clarify the language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 10-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asterjadhi (US 2015/0063251, hereinafter Asterjadhi).
Regarding claim 1, Asterjadhi discloses a communication method implemented by an access point device (para 0083; access point allocate the maximum TXOP for each transmission opportunity), wherein the method comprises:
obtaining a transmission opportunity (TXOP) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) (para 0059; 0083; first wireless device to transmit data during a transmission opportunity time period reserved for transmission of the second wireless device);
allocating, a first period in the TXOP to a non-access point device for data
transmission (para 0060; 0083; The time remaining in the transmission opportunity after all of its own data has been sent may be allocated to one or more other wireless devices, wherein other wireless devices are non-access point device - para 0083; access point allocate the maximum TXOP for each transmission opportunity);
receiving, in the first period, a first frame (para 0107; RTS fame), wherein an access address of the first frame or a transmitter address of the first frame is associated with the non-access point device (para 0114; 0121; AP transmits RTS to STA. The RTS frame includes a receiver address field, and a transmitter address field, STA receives RTS, therefore the receiver address is associated with the non-access point); and
maintaining, based on the first frame, a first network allocation vector (NAV) (para 0085; Network Allocation Vector (NAV)) unchanged (para 0106; 0108; 0122; 0190; 0274; generating the second message to indicate an unchanged NAV duration relative to a NAV duration indicated by the first message based on a duration field of the second message).
Regarding claim 10, Asterjadhi discloses an access point device (para 0083; access point allocates the maximum TXOP for each transmission opportunity), comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions (para 0082; a memory to store instructions); and
one or more processors (para 0082; a processor) coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to cause the access point device to:
obtain a transmission opportunity (TXOP) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) (para 0059; 0083; first wireless device to transmit data during a transmission opportunity time period reserved for transmission of the second wireless device);
allocate a first period in the TXOP to a non-access point device for data
transmission (para 0060; 0083; The time remaining in the transmission opportunity after all of its own data has been sent may be allocated to one or more other wireless devices, wherein other wireless devices are non-access point device - para 0083; access point allocate the maximum TXOP for each transmission opportunity);
receive a first frame in the first period (para 0107; RTS fame), wherein an access address of the first frame or a transmitter address of the first frame is associated with the non-access point device (para 0114; 0121; AP transmits RTS to STA. The RTS frame includes a receiver address field, and a transmitter address field, STA receives RTS, therefore the receiver address is associated with the non-access point); and
maintain, based on the first frame (para 0106; 0108; 0122; 0190; 0274; generating the second message to indicate an unchanged NAV duration relative to a NAV duration indicated by the first message based on a duration field of the second message), a first network allocation vector (NAV) (para 0085; Network Allocation Vector (NAV)).
Regarding claims 2, and 11, Asterjadhi discloses wherein the access point device maintains further comprising maintaining a single NAV comprising the first NAV (para 0009; 0014; generating the second message to indicate an unchanged NAV duration relative to a NAV duration indicated by the first message based on a duration field of the second message – an unchanged NAV duration is a single NAV).
Regarding claims 5, and 14, Asterjadhi discloses sending, before sending the data, a request to send (RTS) frame to at least one receiving device (350 of fig. 3C; Para 0115-0116); receiving, a clear to send (CTS) frame from the at least one receiving device in response to the RTS frame (352 of fig. 3C; Para 0115 - 0116); and sending, the data to the at least one receiving device in response to the CTS frame (354 of fig, 3C; and para 0106).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 9, 12-13, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi
in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0329642, hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claims 3, and 12, Asterjadhi does not explicitly disclose wherein the access address or the transmitter address of the first frame is a media access control (MAC) address of the non-access point device.
In an analogous art, Chen discloses wherein the access address or the transmitter address of the first frame is a media access control (MAC) address of the non-access point device (para 0066-0067; MAC address of non-AP STA). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asterjadhi’s method/system by having Chen’s disclosure in order to reduce packet loss in a communication system by improving routing process.
Regarding claims 4, and 13, Asterjadhi does not explicitly disclose
sending a multi-user request to send (MU-RTS)TXOP sharing (TXS) trigger frame (TF) to the non-access point device.
In an analogous art, Chen discloses sending a multi-user request to send (MU-RTS)TXOP sharing (TXS) trigger frame (TF) to the non-access point device (para 0141; MU-RTS trigger frame to identify a transmission opportunity (TxOP) for the target STAs or initiate a beamforming procedure for the target). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asterjadhi’s method/system by having Chen’s disclosure in order to reduce packet loss in a communication system by improving routing process.
Regarding claim 9, Asterjadhi does not explicitly disclose wherein the access point device is an extremely high throughput-Extremely High Throughput (EHT) access point.
In an analogous art, Chen discloses wherein the access point device is an extremely high throughput-Extremely High Throughput (EHT) access point (para 0033; EHT access point). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asterjadhi’s method/system by having Chen’s disclosure in order to increase the speed of the communication system to meet different needs of the users.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi
in view of Chu et al. (US 2017/0118725, hereinafter Chu).
Regarding claim 8, Asterjadhi does not explicitly disclose wherein maintaining the first NAV comprises:
determining, received energy of a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) used to carry the first frame; and maintaining, based on the received energy not exceeding a pre-determined energy threshold, the first NAV.
In an analogous art, Chu discloses determining, received energy of a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) used to carry the first frame; and maintaining (para 0035-0036; determining energy level of PPDU for comparing energy levels); based on the received energy not exceeding a pre-determined energy threshold, the first NAV (para 0062; 0083-0084; maintaining NAV based on the power level of PHY data units/PPDU). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asterjadhi’s method/system by having Chu’s disclosure in order to minimize power consumption in a communication system.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAMINA F CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462