DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 10-12, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al (US 2022/0322202, hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a wireless communication method for use in a first wireless terminal, the wireless communication method comprising: communicating with a second wireless terminal for a proximity service on a first communication path, and checking a communication path policy after a communication path quality fails to satisfy at least one communication requirement of the proximity service, to determine whether to switch to a second communication path for the proximity service (proximity based services, Para [0003], UE can dynamically decide to choose the path, Para [0097], selecting path for UE to UE communication based on path selection policy that is sent to the UE, Para [0267], UE selects path based on different information such as QoS criteria or radio measurements, Para [0275], e.g. data rate performance degrades for 5GC path, the UE can switch to PC5 path, Para [0285]), wherein the first communication path is one of a direct communication path between the first wireless terminal and the second wireless terminal and an indirect communication path which involves a network and is between the first wireless terminal and the second wireless terminal, and the second communication path is another one of the direct communication path and the indirect communication path (UE can maintain two paths, one is Uu based and the other is PC5 based, Para [0097], path switch from direct path to indirect path and vice vera, Para [0006], UE to UE communication, Para [0267]).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Li discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1/11, wherein the direct communication path is a PC5 communication path and the indirect communication path is a Uu communication path (path switching between PC5 and Uu interface, Para [0003]).
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from a wireless network node, the communication path policy no later than registering to the network through the wireless network node (UE may request a path selection policy during registration, Para [0267]).
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses a wireless communication method for use in a wireless network node, the wireless communication method comprising: transmitting, to a wireless terminal, a communication path policy no later than that the wireless terminal registering to a network through the wireless network node, wherein the communication path policy is associated with a path switching between a first communication path and a second communication path for at least one proximity service (UE may request a path selection policy during registration, Para [0267] proximity based services, Para [0003], UE can dynamically decide to choose the path, Para [0097], selecting path for UE to UE communication based on path selection policy that is sent to the UE, Para [0267]), wherein the first communication path is one of a direct communication path between the first wireless terminal and the second wireless terminal and an indirect communication path which involves the network and is between the first wireless terminal and the second wireless terminal, and the second communication path is another one of the direct communication path and the indirect communication path (UE can maintain two paths, one is Uu based and the other is PC5 based, Para [0097], path switch from direct path to indirect path and vice vera, Para [0006], UE to UE communication, Para [0267]).
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses a first wireless terminal (WTRU, Fig. 35F), comprising: a communication unit (transceiver, Fig. 35F), configured to communicate with a second wireless terminal for a proximity service on a first communication path, and a processor (processor, Fig. 35F) configured to check a communication path policy after a communication path quality fails to satisfy at least one communication requirement of the proximity service, to determine whether to switch to a second communication path for the proximity service (proximity based services, Para [0003], UE can dynamically decide to choose the path, Para [0097], selecting path for UE to UE communication based on path selection policy that is sent to the UE, Para [0267], UE selects path based on different information such as QoS criteria or radio measurements, Para [0275], e.g. data rate performance degrades for 5GC path, the UE can switch to PC5 path, Para [0285]), wherein the first communication path is one of a direct communication path between the first wireless terminal and the second wireless terminal and an indirect communication path which involves a network and is between the first wireless terminal and the second wireless terminal, and the second communication path is another one of the direct communication path and the indirect communication path (UE can maintain two paths, one is Uu based and the other is PC5 based, Para [0097], path switch from direct path to indirect path and vice vera, Para [0006], UE to UE communication, Para [0267]).
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses a wireless network node (enodeB, Fig. 35C), comprising: a communication unit (transceiver, inherent), configured to transmit, to a wireless terminal, a communication path policy no later than that the wireless terminal registering to a network through the wireless network node, wherein the communication path policy is associated with a path switching between a first communication path and a second communication path for at least one proximity service (UE may request a path selection policy during registration, Para [0267] proximity based services, Para [0003], UE can dynamically decide to choose the path, Para [0097], selecting path for UE to UE communication based on path selection policy that is sent to the UE, Para [0267]), wherein the first communication path is one of a direct communication path between the first wireless terminal and the second wireless terminal and an indirect communication path which involves the network and is between the first wireless terminal and the second wireless terminal, and the second communication path is another one of the direct communication path and the indirect communication path (UE can maintain two paths, one is Uu based and the other is PC5 based, Para [0097], path switch from direct path to indirect path and vice vera, Para [0006], UE to UE communication, Para [0267]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 6-9, 13, 14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Li discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1/11, wherein the communication path policy comprises a mapping from at least one proximity service to at least one of the first communication path or the second communication path (policy information manages the QoS mapping over PC5, Para [0150], QoS rules associated with the PDU session, Para [0172]).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the communication path policy indicates that the proximity service supports the second communication path, and wherein checking the communication path policy for the proximity service, to determine whether to switch the proximity service to the second communication path comprises: switching the proximity service to the second communication path (selecting path for UE to UE communication based on path selection policy that is sent to the UE, Para [0267], UE selects path based on different information such as QoS criteria or radio measurements, Para [0275], communication mode can indicate a preferred path, Para [0276], obvious variation path selection policy could indicate if second path is supported, otherwise it couldn’t switch to a path that isn’t supported).
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the communication path policy indicates that the proximity service supports only the first communication path, and wherein checking the communication path policy for the proximity service, to determine whether to switch the proximity service to the second communication path comprises at least one of: terminating the proximity service, or downgrading a service quality of the proximity service (selecting path for UE to UE communication based on path selection policy that is sent to the UE, Para [0267], UE selects path based on different information such as QoS criteria or radio measurements, Para [0275], communication mode can indicate a preferred path, Para [0276], obvious variation path selection policy could indicate if second path isn’t supported, in which case the connection cab be released).
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the at least one communication requirement of the proximity service comprises at least one quality of service parameter of the proximity service (policy information manages the QoS mapping over PC5, Para [0150], QoS rules associated with the PDU session, Para [0172], QoS criteria for switching path, Para [0275]).
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the communication path quality fails to satisfy the at least one communication requirement if at least one quality of service parameter of the proximity service has become lower than the threshold associated with the proximity service (different criteria such as QoS or radio quality for switching paths, Para [0275], establishing direct path based on reaching a threshold, Para [0176], radio quality threshold for communicating via PC% or 5GC path, Para [0332]).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses the wireless communication method of claim 6, wherein the at least one quality of service parameter comprises at least one of a packet delay budget or a packet error rate (switching path based on data rate performance or packet loss rate, Para [0285]).
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses the wireless communication method of claim 7, wherein the threshold is preconfigured or is a parameter received from a policy control function (path selection policy may include a threshold radio measurement, Para [0420], policy is provisioned by the PCF, Para [0129]).
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses the wireless communication method of claim 11, wherein the communication path policy indicates whether each of the at least one proximity service supports at least one of the first communication path or the second communication path (selecting path for UE to UE communication based on path selection policy that is sent to the UE, Para [0267], UE selects path based on different information such as QoS criteria or radio measurements, Para [0275], communication mode can indicate a preferred path, Para [0276], obvious variation path selection policy could indicate if a path is supported).
Regarding claims 17-20, Li discloses a non-transitory computer-readable program medium (non-transitory readable medium, Para [0414]) having code stored thereupon, the code, when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to implement a wireless communication method recited in claim 1/2/11/12.
Conclusion
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461