DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Application No. CN 2021219046182 filed on 08/13/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The (2) information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/21/2025 and 02/02/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 11-13, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 210329335U (hereinafter CN’335, published on 04/17/2020)
Regarding Claim 1, CN’335 discloses a vaporization assembly (heating structure; para. 0004; figs. 7-8), comprising:
a porous substrate (liquid absorption element 33; fig. 7) (para. 0060); and
a heating element (heating element 34; fig. 7) (para. 0060),
wherein the porous substrate (liquid absorption element 33) comprises a vaporization surface (atomizing surface 335) (para. 0060), and the heating element is arranged on the vaporization surface (para. 0060; fig. 7), and
wherein the porous substrate (liquid absorption element 33) comprises a fence structure (sidewalls of liquid absorption element 33; annotated fig .7), and the fence structure surrounds the vaporization surface (atomizing surface 335), defining an accommodating groove (receiving groove 332) (para. 0066).
Regarding Claim 2, CN’335 discloses the vaporization assembly (heating structure; figs. 7-8), wherein the fence structure (annotated fig. 7 shown in claim 1) is arranged on a peripheral edge of a vaporization end of the porous substrate (atomizing surface 335 of liquid absorption element 33), and an area of the vaporization end (atomizing surface 335 of liquid absorption element 33) within the fence structure forms the vaporization surface (atomizing surface 335).
Regarding Claim 3, CN’335 discloses the vaporization assembly (heating structure; figs. 7-8), wherein the fence structure (annotated fig. 7 shown in claim 1) is arranged on a vaporization end of the porous substrate (liquid absorption element 33), a gap (annotated fig. 7) is provided between an outer wall surface of the fence structure and a peripheral edge of the vaporization end of the porous substrate (annotated fig. 7), and an area of the vaporization end within the fence structure forms the vaporization surface (atomizing surface 335).
Regarding Claim 4, CN’335 discloses the vaporization assembly (heating structure; figs. 7-8), wherein the fence structure (annotated fig. 7 shown in claim 1) and the porous substrate (liquid absorption element 33) are integrally formed, and comprise a same material (porous ceramic) (para. 0060).
Regarding Claim 5, CN’335 discloses the vaporization assembly (heating structure; figs. 7-8), wherein the vaporization surface (atomizing surface 335) comprises a flat surface (fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 11, CN’335 discloses the vaporization assembly (heating structure; figs. 7-8), further comprising:
two electrode portions (pins 341; fig. 7) connected to two ends of the heating element (both ends of the heating element 34) (para. 0063).
Regarding Claim 12, CN’335 discloses the vaporization assembly (heating structure; figs. 7-8), wherein one electrode portion of the two electrode portions (a portion of the pins 341) is arranged within the fence structure (annotated fig. 1 shown in claim 1) (fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 13, CN’335 discloses the vaporization assembly (heating structure; figs. 7-8), wherein a thickness of the one electrode portion is greater than a height of the fence structure.
Regarding Claim 16, CN’335 discloses the vaporization assembly (heating structure; figs. 7-8), wherein the porous substrate (liquid absorption element 33) comprises a porous ceramic substrate (porous ceramic) (para. 0060).
Regarding Claim 17, CN’335 discloses a vaporizer (atomizer 100), comprising:
the vaporization assembly (heating structure) of claim 1 (para. 0004).
Regarding Claim 18, CN’335 discloses an electronic vaporization device (electronic cigarettes), comprising:
the vaporizer (atomizer 100) of claim 17; and
a power supply (power supply device) electrically connected to the vaporizer (atomizer 100) (para. 0004).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 210329335U (hereinafter CN’335, published on 04/17/2020) in view of Chen (US 20180125118)
Regarding Claim 6, CN’335 discloses the heating element (heating element 34) is laid flat on the vaporization surface (atomizing surface 335) (fig. 7).
CN’335 does not disclose the heating element comprises a planar porous heating film.
However, Chen discloses an atomizing core 200, wherein a heating element (porous heating film 244) comprises a planar porous heating film (porous heating film 244) laid flat on the vaporization surface (atomizing surface 242b) (para. 0027; figs. 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the heating element 34 of CN’335 with the planar porous heating film as taught by Chen, because it involves a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain a predictable result, which is to atomize the liquid in the vaporization surface into smoke to be inhaled by the user (para. 0029 of Chen).
Regarding Claim 7, CN’335 discloses a height of the fence structure is greater than a thickness of the heating element (annotated fig. 7 of claim 1).
The modification does not disclose the height of the fence structure is at least 10 µm to 20 µm greater than a thickness of the heating element.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the height of the fence structure such that it is at least 10 µm to 20 µm greater than the thickness of the heating element, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation is to ensure that liquid in the atomizing surface 335 is contained within the fence structure to be sufficiently heated by the heating element 34.
Regarding Claim 8, Chen discloses a thickness of the heating element ranges from 0.8 µm to about 1 µm (para. 0032).
The modification does not disclose the thickness of the heating element ranges from 10 µm to 80 µm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the thickness of the heating element to range from 10 µm to 80 µm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation is to tailor the heating element to desired heating output to effectively atomize the liquid in the atomizing surface to generate smoke.
Regarding Claim 9, Chen discloses a pore size of a pore on the porous heating film (plurality of micropores on the porous heating film has a diameter of about 30 µm) ranges from 10 µm to 200 µm (30 µm) (para. 0032).
Regarding Claim 10, the modification does not disclose a porosity of the porous heating film ranges from 10% to 70%.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the porosity of the porous heating film (i.e. porous heating film 244 of Chen) to range from 10% to 70%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation is to increase a contact area for the liquid, thus enhancing an atomizing effect. The porous heating film can ensure uniform heating to the atomizing surface such that uniform atomized particles are generated (para. 0032 of Chen).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 210329335U (hereinafter CN’335, published on 04/17/2020) in view of Deng (US 20200359704)
Regarding Claim 14, the modification does not disclose a connection section configured to reduce a temperature gradient at a joint is arranged between the heating element and one electrode portion of the two electrode portions.
However, Deng discloses a connection section (connecting portion 132, abstract) configured to reduce a temperature gradient at a joint is arranged between the heating element (middle portion 131) and one electrode portion of the two electrode portions (electrode film 121) (para. 0021 and 0059; fig. 6) (it is noted according to MPEP 2114 when the cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus, it will be held that the prior art apparatus is capable of performing all of the claimed functional limitations of the claimed apparatus. The courts have held that: (1) "apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does; and (2) a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. In this case it is noted that width of the resistive connecting portion 132 of the heating resistive layer is increased toward the electrode film 121, it is expected that it generates less heat compared to the narrower resistive middle portion 131 of the heating resistive layer. Therefore, the connecting portion 132 is capable of reducing the temperature gradient at the joint arranged between the middle portion 131 and the electrode film 121).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the heating element 34 of CN’335 with the heating resistive layer of Deng that comprises the middle portion 131 and two connecting portions 132, because it involves a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain a predictable result, which is to atomize the liquid in the vaporization surface into smoke to be inhaled by the user (abstract and 0021 of Deng).
Regarding Claim 15, Deng discloses the connection section (connecting portion 132) comprises an inclined surface with smooth transition (annotated fig. 6).
Conclusion
/BONITA KHLOK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761