DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rydkin et al. (US 2020/0055366 A1) in view of Aronson et al. (20130033789 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Rydkin teaches an appliance for an aircraft ( see TRU 12, 10, 14 para 0033-0035) not expressly teaching tan aircraft appliance; comprising: an input, wherein the appliance is configured to be powered by high voltage direct current (HVDC) power at the input (see 600 VDC, 420, 450, 460 fig.4 para 0040) a low voltage load path comprising at least one low voltage load and a DC/DC converter configured to convert HVDC power from the input to a low voltage DC output for use by low voltage loads (see 43, 48, 430, 480 fig.4 para 0038-0041); a high voltage load path comprising at least one high voltage load (see 12, and wherein the high voltage line path is configured to provide HVDC power via a HVDC power bus from the input to one or more high voltage loads for use by the one or more high voltage loads (see 42, 460 , fig.4 para 0040);; wherein the appliance does not include a transformer (see 401, fig.4 eliminating DC/AC para 0045).
Rydkin doesn’t expressly teach an appliance for an aircraft.
In an analogous art Aronson teaches an appliance for an aircraft (see 18, 20, 24 para 0012-0013 fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to apply the HVDC bus architecture of Rydkin to aircraft galley insert appliances as taught by Aronson in order to eliminate the DC-AC conversion stages within aircraft galley appliances thereby reducing weight improving efficiency and simplifying internal power conversion circuitry.
Regarding claim 2, combination of Rydkin and Aronson teaches invention set forth above, Aronson further teaches wherein the high voltage line path comprises: a sense/detect module configured to detect a fault in the appliance, and at least one safety relay configured to disconnect the HVDC input from the high voltage load(s) if a fault is detected by the sense/detect module (see 12, 14, 16, 24, 26, para 0012-0013, 0017) breaker performs relay disconnection upon detected condition..
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to incorporate programable circuit breaker architect of Aronson into the HVDC nodular appliance architecture of Rydkin in ordered to provide aircraft compatible fault responsive power disconnection and appliance integration, thereby improving operational safety and achieving predictable protection of aircraft power feeders and load.
Regarding claim 3, combination of Rydkin and Aronson teaches invention set forth above, Rydkin further teaches wherein the appliance is a Point of Use (POU) chiller (see 42, 44, 440, 441, 460 para 0038-0040) compressed based cooling appliance.
Regarding claim 4, combination of Rydkin and Aronson teaches invention set forth above, Aronson further teaches wherein the appliance is a galley insert (GAIN) (see 18, 20, 22, 24, para 0012-0014)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to incorporate programable circuit breaker architect of Aronson into the HVDC nodular appliance architecture of Rydkin in ordered to provide aircraft compatible fault responsive power disconnection and appliance integration, thereby improving operational safety and achieving predictable protection of aircraft power feeders and load.
Regarding claim 7, combination of Rydkin and Aronson teaches invention set forth above, Aronson further teaches wherein the GAIN is a chiller (see 18, 20, 22, 24, para 0012-0014), and Rydkin further teaches wherein the high voltage load(s) comprises a compressor powered directly from the HVDC power bus, and configured to be commanded by a microcontroller (see 42, 44, 440, 441, 460 fig.4 para 00338-0040).
Regarding claim 8, combination of Rydkin and Aronson teaches invention set forth above, Aronson further teaches wherein the at least one safety relay comprises at least one safety relay located at the power bus (see fig.1 12-16, 24 para 0012-0013).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to incorporate programable circuit breaker architect of Aronson into the HVDC nodular appliance architecture of Rydkin in ordered to provide aircraft compatible fault responsive power disconnection and appliance integration, thereby improving operational safety and achieving predictable protection of aircraft power feeders and load.
Regarding claim 9, combination of Rydkin and Aronson teaches invention set forth above, Aronson further teaches wherein the at least one safety relay comprises at least one solid state relay (See 12, 14, 16, 26 24 fig,1 para 0012, 0017).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to incorporate programable circuit breaker architect of Aronson into the HVDC nodular appliance architecture of Rydkin in ordered to provide aircraft compatible fault responsive power disconnection and appliance integration, thereby improving operational safety and achieving predictable protection of aircraft power feeders and load.
Regarding claim 10, combination of Rydkin and Aronson teaches invention set forth above, Aronson further teaches wherein the at least one safety relay comprises at least one electromechanical relay (see fig.1 12-16, 24 para 0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to incorporate programable circuit breaker architect of Aronson into the HVDC nodular appliance architecture of Rydkin in ordered to provide aircraft compatible fault responsive power disconnection and appliance integration, thereby improving operational safety and achieving predictable protection of aircraft power feeders and load.
Regarding claim 13, combination of Rydkin and Aronson teaches invention set forth above, Aronson further teaches an aircraft comprising; a HVDC power supply network, and at least one appliance as defined in claim 1.
Claim(s) 11, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rydkin et al. (US 2020/0055366 A1) in view of Anghel et al. (US 2000800111421 A1)
Regarding claim 11, Rydkin teaches, a modular system for use in an aircraft ( see TRU 12, 10, 14 para 0033-0035) not expressly teaching tan aircraft appliance; comprising; a low voltage control module configured to receive high voltage direct current, HVDC, at its input and control at least one low voltage DC load (see 41, 42, 43, 430, 431 fig.4 50, 42 fig.5 para 0038-0040) and at least one HVDC module configured to receive HVDC power at its input and provide power and control to a HVDC load (see 44, 440, 441, 460, 42fig.4 para 0038-0040); wherein the at least one HVDC module is operatively connected to and controlled by the low voltage control module (see 431, 441 fig.4 50 fig.5 para 0043-0044) wherein the appliance does not include a transformer (see 401, fig.4 eliminating DC/AC para 0045).
Rydkin doesn’t expressly teach an appliance for an aircraft.
In an analogous art Anghel teaches an appliance for an aircraft (see 18, 20, 24 para 0012-0013 fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to use modular scalable aircraft conversion architect of Anghel in the DC power bus system of Rydkin to implement the disclosed Dc voltage control units as modular aircraft power conversion modules thereby achieving scalable modular HVDC distribution with improved reliability and weight reduction in aircraft system.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Rydkin and Anghel teaches invention set forth above, Rydkin further teaches wherein the at least one HVDC module comprises one or more of; a heating module configured to power and control at least one HVDC heating element, a compressor module configured to power and control a compressor for a chiller a microwave module configured to power and control a microwave source (see 42, 43, 44, 48, 440, 441, 460 fig.4 para 0038-0040).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Rydkin and Anghel teaches invention set forth above, Anghel further teaches an aircraft comprising; a HVDC power supply network, and at least one modular system as defined in claim 11 (see 250, 255, 130(1-n) fig.3 para 0028-0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to implement the modular HVDC voltage control architecture of Rydkin within the aircraft modular power conversion system of Anghel in order to provide scalable modular HVDC load control within an aircraft morning, thereby improving system integration, redundancy and operation efficiency.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rydkin et al. (US 2020/0055366 A1) in view of Aronson et al. (20130033789 A1) further in view Brouwer et al. (2015/0102663 A1).
Regarding claim 5, combination of Rydkin and Aronson teaches invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach wherein the GAIN is an oven, and the one or more high voltage loads comprise a plurality of heating elements topologies connected in parallel to the HVDC power bus.
In an analogous art Brouwer further teaches wherein the GAIN is an oven; and the one or more high voltage loads comprise a plurality of heating elements topologies McAvoy further teaches connected in parallel Shipley further teaches to the HVDC power bus (see 520 a-c fig.5 para 0049, 0062).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the distributed solid state switching architecture of Brouwer in the aircraft HVDC appliance architecture of Rydkin and Aronson in order to provide fault responsive load protection and distributed high voltage switching to improve aircraft power system safety and achieving predictable protection of individual heating elements.
Regarding claim 6, combination of Rydkin, Aronson and Brouwer teaches invention set forth above, Brouwer further teaches wherein the at least one safety relay comprises at least one safety relay connected in series with each of the heating elements (see 520 a-c fig.5 para 0049, 0062).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the distributed solid state switching architecture of Brouwer in the aircraft HVDC appliance architecture of Rydkin and Aronson in order to provide fault responsive load protection and distributed high voltage switching to improve aircraft power system safety and achieving predictable protection of individual heating elements.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849