DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 08/21/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no search bu. This is not found persuasive because each group possess
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller et al. (DE102020106086A1, as cited in IDS dated 01/06/25, reference made to attached English translation), in view of Herron (US20100136448A1).
Regarding claim 1, Muller discloses a capture device (i.e. water separator, 8) comprising:
a body defining a chamber configured to receive liquid and gas from a fuel cell system, the chamber comprising an upper end region and a lower end region(i.e. separator housing 10, see upper and lower region in Fig. 3):
an outlet disposed at the body and in fluid communication with the lower end region of the chamber(water outlet 15):
a gas bypass hose including a first end at the body and in fluid communication with the upper end region of the chamber and a second end at the body and in fluid communication with the lower end region of the chamber(bypass line 13, see Fig. 3 open line connected to the upper and lower portions); and
a drain valve(9) disposed between the chamber and the outlet and operable between an open state permitting fluid communication between the chamber and the outlet to drain liquid and purge gas from the chamber and a closed state preventing fluid communication between the chamber and the outlet(¶[0002, opened as needed, see purge valve exhausts gases and water ¶[0020]), but does not disclose the valve is a solenoid valve.
Herron, related to fuel cells, teaches a purge assembly 30 to exhaust gas and water through a solenoid valve(¶[0020]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized using the solenoid valve as taught by Herron in place of the drain valve of Muller would provide an effective valve(¶[0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used the solenoid valve of Herron in place of the drain valve of Muller to provide an effective valve
Regarding claim 5, modified Muller discloses a capture device of claim 1 and Muller further discloses heating device 19 disposed at the outlet (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, modified Muller discloses a capture device of claim 1 and Muller further discloses wherein the gas bypass hose maintains fluid communication between the upper end region of the chamber and the lower end region of the chamber(Fig. 3 see fluid communication path).
Regarding claim 7, modified Muller discloses a capture device of claim 1 and Herron further discloses herein the solenoid valve operated in the open state and the closed state based on a control signal from a control module(i.e. controller 40) of an application equipped with the capture device(¶[0023]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Muller discloses a capture device of claim 7 and Herron further discloses wherein the solenoid valve is operated in the open state responsive to (i) the control signal instructing the capture device to drain liquid from the chamber and (ii) the control signal instructing the capture device to purge gas from the chamber (see purge valve exhausts gases and water ¶[0020]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Muller discloses a capture device of claim 7 and Herron further discloses wherein the solenoid valve is operated in the open state responsive to the control signal indicating startup of the application(¶[0021]-[0022] see operation based on process parameters). It would have been obvious to operate the valve when the process parameter is at a preset value at startup or anytime during use of the capture device.
Furthermore, the claim recites intended use limitations of the solenoid valve. Intended use limitations are given weight to the extent that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. See MPEP § 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115. These limitations will be treated alongside structural limitations for compact prosecution.
Regarding claim 10, modified Muller discloses a capture device of claim 1 and Muller further discloses wherein the upper end region of the chamber is oriented above the lower end region of the chamber(Fig. 3).
Claims 2-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller et al. (DE102020106086A1, as cited in IDS dated 01/06/25, reference made to attached English translation), in view of Herron (US20100136448A1) and further in view of Son(US20180323451A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, modified Muller discloses a capture device of claim 1 and Muller further discloses a sump at the lower end region of the chamber(i.e. collecting container 17, Fig. 3), but does not disclose the outlet and the second end of the gas bypass hose fluidly connected to the sump at respective positions above a maximum liquid line.
Son, related to fuel cells, teaches a separator 50 to separate the water and gas from the fuel cell system(Fig. 3, ¶[0034]) and when the system is not being operated after shutdown the water is removed from the separator to prepare for the next cycle and reduce freezing risk thereby making the maximum fill line when not operating at or near the bottom of the container.
One of ordinary skill would have recognizing making the max fill line at or near the bottom of the container while not being operated would prepare for the next cycle and reduce freezing risk thereby placing the outlet and second end of the gas bypass hose of Muller fluidically connected to the sump and above the maximum fill line.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to discharge the water of the capture device creating a very low max fill line while not being operated to prepare for the next cycle and reduce freezing risk.
Regarding claim 4, modified Muller discloses a capture device of claim 2 and Muller further discloses a valve conduit extending between the chamber and the outlet(pipe section 18, Fig. 3, ¶[0025]), the outlet and the second end of the gas bypass hose being fluidly connected to the valve conduit at respective positions above the maximum liquid line to permit fluid communication between the gas bypass hose and the outlet when the solenoid valve is in the open state(see Fig. 3 and rejection of claims 2 and 3 for max liquid line at bottom of sump).
Conclusion
/K.J.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1726 /RYAN S CANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726